Michael Connelly - The Narrows - Orion Publishing Group

The Narrows

By Michael Connelly
Read by David Soul

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

He's back... Private investigator Harry Bosch confronts a villain who's long been in hiding - a fiend known as The Poet. Abridged edition.

Former FBI agent Rachel Walling is working a dead-end stint in South Dakota when she gets the call she's been dreading for four years. The Poet is back. And he has not forgotten Rachel. He has a special present for her.

Harry Bosch is adjusting to life in Las Vegas as a private investigator and as a new father. He gets a call, too, from the widow of a friend who died recently. Previously in his FBI career, the friend worked on the famous case tracking the killer known as The Poet. This fact alone makes some of the elements of his death doubly suspicious.

And Harry Bosch is heading straight into the path of the most ruthless and inventive murderer he has ever encountered...

Read by David Soul

(p) 2004 Orion Publishing Group

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752876580
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2006
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe

As featured in the Sunday Times, the first festive mystery in a new crime series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders.Iris Grey arrives at Mill Cottage in a picture-perfect Hampshire village, looking to escape from her crumbling marriage. She is drawn to the neighbouring Wetherby family, and is commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated crime writer.At the Wetherby's Christmas Eve party, the mulled wine is in full flow - but so too are tensions and rivalries among the guests. On Christmas Day, the youngest member of the Wetherby family, Lorcan, finds a body in the water. A tragic accident? Or a deadly crime? With the snow falling, Iris enters a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder.Read by Penelope Rawlins(p) Orion Publishing Group

Orion

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman
Orion

Shadow Man

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk
Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Orion

Bad News

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Harry Bosch works cold cases as a volunteer for the San Fernando police department when he's called out to a local drug store where a young pharmacist has been murdered. Bosch and the town's three-person detective squad sift through the clues, which lead into the dangerous, big business world of prescription drug abuse. Meanwhile, an old case from Bosch's LAPD days comes back to haunt him when a long-imprisoned killer claims Harry framed him and that there's new evidence which proves it. Bosch left the LAPD on bad terms, so his former colleagues aren't keen to protect his reputation. He must fend for himself in clearing his name and keeping a clever killer in prison.The two unrelated cases wind across each other like strands of barbed wire, and Bosch learns that there are two kinds of truth: the kind that sets you free and the kind that leaves you buried in darkness.Read by Titus Welliver(p) Hachette Book Group US 2017

Orion

Bad Luck

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

*THIS BOOK WAS PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED IN THE USA UNDER THE TITLE LONE WOLF*Zack Walker Mystery# 3Journalist, family man, and paranoid writer Zack Walker visits his father's lakeside fishing camp. But the fresh air, childhood memories and peaceful contemplation are ruined when a body is found.Locals say the mutilated corpse must have been the victim of a random bear attack. But Zack Walker, as always, fears the worst. When another body is discovered, it seems there is a more deadly predator on the prowl. A Lone Wolf killer who is hell-bent on laying siege to the idyllic town. The fuse is lit and time is running out. Zack must face down a madman - or find out first-hand what the grand finale is . . .

Orion

The Late Show

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Wrong Side of Goodbye

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Gollancz

Rhyming Rings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

David Gemmell was the UK's number one fantasy and historical novelist until his death in 2006. A regular Sunday Times bestseller, and international sensation, his legacy lives on through his novels, his influence on the genre, and through the David Gemmell Legend awards.Rhyming Rings is a never-before-seen Gemmell novel, discovered in his papers by his widow, Stella Gemmell. Merging autobiographical details of Gemmell's life as a journalist in South London with a serial killer and a tinge of the supernatural, this is perfect for fans of David's work, as well as readers of gritty crime novels. Set against the backdrop of a London simmering with poverty, change and racial tension, this taut thriller is a fitting legacy for the great writer.This book includes a brand new introduction from massive Gemmell fan Conn Iggulden, and an afterword by Gemmell's friend Stan Nicholls.An ambidextrous killer is murdering women, leaving virtually no evidence behind, and struggling journalist Jeremy Miller wishes he was covering the case. Instead, he's stuck with heart-warming local stories about paraplegic teenagers and elderly psychic ladies. So when his stories and the murder case start to converge no one is more surprised than Jeremy.Or, it turns out, more at risk.

Trapeze

Ragdoll

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole
Orion

Even Dogs in the Wild

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

The Crossing

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Burning Room

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Blood, Salt, Water

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina

*** SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA GOLD DAGGER 2016 ***Salt water lifts blood. Only salt water.Loch Lomond is a mile deep but the woman's body surfaced anyway. Found bludgeoned and dumped in the water, she now haunts Iain Fraser, the man who put her there. She trusted him and now that misplaced trust is gnawing through Iain's chest. He thinks it will kill him.Nearby Helensburgh is an idyllic Victorian town. One-time home to a quarter of all the millionaires in Britain, it is quaint, sleepy and chocolate-box pretty. But the real town is shot through with deception, lies and vested interests.As tensions rise and the police seek a killer, the conflicts that lurk beneath Helensburgh's calm waters threaten to explode. All Iain Fraser has to do is keep on lying.

Orion

The Dead Hour

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina

A gripping crime thriller from the two-time winner of the THEAKSTONS OLD PECULIER CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR AWARD.It seemed like just another domestic: a woman bleeding from a head injury behind a smart front door in one of Glasgow's nicer suburbs. She insists she doesn't need help, and the well-dressed man with her assures journalist Paddy Meehan that everything is fine.But Paddy is not convinced. Especially when she is given a £50 note to keep the story out the papers.The next morning, the woman is dead. Paddy has the story of a lifetime - but will lose everything if word gets out about the bribe. And it seems the police have their own reasons for twisting the evidence.As Paddy pursues the dark and brutal truth, it could make her career - or end her life...

Orion

Exile

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina

From the two-time winner of the THEAKSTONS OLD PECULIER CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR AWARD - a Scottish crime novel with a difference.The last time Maureen O'Donnell saw Ann Harris, she was in the Glasgow Women's Shelter smelling of a long binge on cheap drink. A month later Ann's mutilated body, stitched into a mattress, is washed up on the banks of the Thames. No-one seems to care what happened to her, and Maureen is the only person who thinks Ann's husband is innocent. But solving Ann's murder comes as light relief. Maureen's father is back in Glasgow, her best friend is sloping about like a nervous spy, and then there's Angus, Maureen's old therapist, who's twice as bright as she is and making her play a dangerous game with the police. In the long tradition of Scots in trouble, Maureen runs away to London where she becomes embroiled in a seedy world of deceit and violence. Alone in a strange city, Maureen starts to piece together Ann's final days. But time is not on her side, and Maureen needs just 12 hours, just 12, to put things right, and she doesn't care what it costs...

Orion

Switchblade

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

When the department's sorter takes a call from an anonymous witness to a cold case murder, she takes it straight to Harry Bosch who finds the accused in San Quentin. He's locked away for a different murder but only a few months away from a parole hearing which is likely to see him walking free. New methods find DNA on the murder weapon but having sat in an archive for 20 years, it's not strong enough to take to court. To keep him behind bars, Bosch has no choice but to find the witness who doesn't want to be found.Read by Len Cariou(p) 2014 Hachette Audio

Orion

The Gods of Guilt

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

The 'Lincoln Lawyer' grapples with a haunting case in a gripping thriller from bestselling author Michael Connelly.Mickey Haller gets the text 'Call me ASAP - 187', and the California penal code for murder immediately gets his attention.Suddenly, Mickey's not just trying to get his client off a murder charge, but there is a more personal connection: the victim was Gloria Dayton - his own former client, a prostitute he thought he had rescued and put on the straight and narrow. Far from saving her, Haller may have been her downfall.Haunted by the ghosts of his own past, and with his own guilt or redemption on the line, he desperately needs to find out who Gloria really was and who, ultimately, was responsible for her death.Read by Peter Giles(p) 2013 Hachette Audio

Gollancz

Shakespeare's Counselor

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris