Peter James - Twilight - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409181309
    • Publication date:13 Sep 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409133476
    • Publication date:04 Nov 2010

Twilight

By Peter James

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A terrifying novel of suspense and the supernatural from 'Britain's closest equivalent to Stephen King' Sunday Times

A terrifying novel of suspense and the supernatural from 'Britain's closest equivalent to Stephen King' Sunday Times

Three muffled thuds ring from the partially filled grave of the newly wed girl. Only the verger hears them and he dismisses the noise as his imagination. But over the next few days others also hear faint sounds.

An exhumation order is granted. Reporter Kate Hemingway sneaks into the small suburban churchyard when the coffin is opened, and the scene she witnesses is so horrific she can never forget it. As she starts work on the story, Kate finds herself caught up in a sinister and macabre cover-up.

At the centre is a respected anaesthetist who has a secret obsession. He believes people can exist outside their bodies and that if he can prove it he will provide the answer to the question that has haunted mankind through the ages: is there life after death? Nothing - and no one - is going to stand in the way of his driving ambition . . .

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752876795
  • Publication date: 17 Nov 2005
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

The Darker Arts

Oscar de Muriel
Authors:
Oscar de Muriel

Madame Katerina, Detective 'Nine Nails' McGray's most trusted clairvoyant, hosts a séance for three of Edinburgh's wealthiest families.The following morning everyone is found dead, with Madame Katerina being the only survivor. When questioned she alleges a tormented spirit killed the families for revenge.McGray, even though he believes her, must find a rational explanation that holds up in court, else Katerina will be sentenced to death.Inspector Ian Frey is summoned to help, which turns out to be difficult as he is still dealing with the loss of his uncle, and has developed a form of post-traumatic stress (not yet identified in the 19th century).This seems an impossible puzzle. Either something truly supernatural has occurred - or a fiendishly clever plot is covering a killer's tracks...

W&N

The Reunion

Guillaume Musso
Authors:
Guillaume Musso
Orion

Inspection

Josh Malerman
Authors:
Josh Malerman
W&N

Call Him Mine

Tim MacGabhann
Authors:
Tim MacGabhann
Orion

Blood Relations

Jonathan Moore
Authors:
Jonathan Moore
Orion

What Lies Buried

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk

'Shadow Man is a harrowing and horrific game of consequences' Val McDermid THE BRILLIANTLY COMPELLING SECOND NOVEL IN THE DI LUKAS MAHLER SERIESA skeleton is discovered, buried deep in the earth, on the Farr View Heights construction site. That's nothing new in the Highlands - bones are often discovered in the old graves of Picts and Vikings. But it's not the skull itself that makes the crew stop in horror - it's the bullet hole above the eye-socket.So begins an investigation that takes DI Lukas Mahler deep into Inverness's criminal underworld - one of organised crime, murder and betrayal - and even deeper into his own harrowing past.WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT MARGARET KIRK'S DEBUT NOVEL SHADOW MAN:'Gripping''Kept me on my toes right to the end''Another great detective is born''Shadow Man has a taut plot, maintains suspense cleverly and is crisply written''The city of Inverness is almost a character in its own right''A top-notch crime thriller, full of intricate twists with a disturbing insight into the mind of a cold blooded killer''Dark and atmospheric, I just couldn't put it down'

Orion

The Night Before

Wendy Walker
Authors:
Wendy Walker

'A dazzling hall-of-mirrors thriller: ferociously smart, furiously paced, and - best of all - honest-to-goodness surprising. All hail Wendy Walker.' AJ Finn Rosie Ferro and Laura Heart are sisters, but as different as it is possible to be. One is lucky in love and has a conventional family: a husband, and a small son. The other has a troubled past she is still struggling to break free from.When Laura disappears after going on a date with a stranger she met online, Rosie, her protector since they were young, springs into action to look for her. But as she slowly uncovers more about the situation, Rosie begins to fear that her sister might have been more of a danger than the man she went out with. Told in duel timelines - the night of and the night before, Wendy Walker's new novel is a riveting examination of family loyalty, obsession, and how just how far we will go for love.

Trapeze

Dark Sky Island

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

DCI Michael Gilbert is called out to Sark - the world's first dark sky island - after bones are found on Derrible Bay. He is followed by journalist Jennifer Dorey, driven by a secret in her own past. The remains are decades old, but after a body is discovered Jennifer and Michael fear there may be a killer on the island. Together they follow a dark trail of bad blood and a conspiracy of silence.Everyone on the island is under suspicion. No one is what they seem. And the murderer could strike again at any time... If you love Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths, you'll love the latest atmospheric thriller from Lara Dearman. Dark Sky Island will keep you guessing until the very last page.Read by Penelope Rawlins(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

W&N

The River

Peter Heller
Authors:
Peter Heller
W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti

THERE'S A MONSTER LURKING IN THESE WOODS...'Creepy and evocative' Guardian 'Impeccable crime writing' Maxim Jakubowski, Crime Time'Set to give tyneside's Vera a run for her money' Lancashire PostIn a quiet village surrounded by the imposing Italian Alps, a series of brutal assaults take place. Police inspector Teresa Battaglia is called in when the first body is found. Soon more victims are discovered - all horrifically mutilated - and when a new-born baby is kidnapped, Teresa's investigation becomes a race against the clock. But Teresa is also fighting a battle against her own body, weighed down by age and diabetes, and her mind, once invincible and now slowly gnawing away at her memory... THE SENSATIONAL TOP 10 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER FOR FANS OF WILL DEAN'S DARK PINES, CHRIS HAMMER'S SCRUBLANDS AND LIAM McILVANNEY'S THE QUAKER 'I was rooting for Teresa Battaglia from the start' Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill'A deliciously dark and action-packed thriller... I loved this book' Karen Dionne, author of Home'I totally fell for the tough-but-vulnerable Teresa Battaglia. Great to see an older woman in this role' Roz Watkins, author of The Devil's Dice'Teresa Battaglia is one of the most interesting detectives to emerge in recent years... An astonishing debut' M. W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show 'A brilliant protagonist, an eerie setting and a community hiding dark secrets' Dead Good (Debut crime novels to watch out for in 2019)

Orion

The Silent Patient

Alex Michaelides
Authors:
Alex Michaelides
Trapeze

The Woman Inside

E. G. Scott
Authors:
E. G. Scott
Orion

The Botanist's Daughter

Kayte Nunn
Authors:
Kayte Nunn

'Fast-moving and full of surprises...while delivering a poignant and heart-warming story of romance and new beginnings ' Kate ForsythA buried secret... Present day: Anna is focused on growing her new gardening business and renovating her late grandmother's house. But when she discovers a box hidden in a wall cavity, containing water colours of exotic plants, an old diary and a handful of seeds, she finds herself thrust into a centuries-old mystery. One that will send her halfway across the world to Kew Gardens and then onto Cornwall in search of the truth.A lady adventurer...1886: Elizabeth Trebithick is determined to fulfil her father's dying wish and continue his life's work as an adventurer and plant-hunter. So when she embarks on a perilous journey to discover a rare and miraculous flower, she will discover that the ultimate betrayal can be found even across the seas...Two women, separated by centuries. Can one mysterious flower bring them together?

Trapeze

Deep Dark Water

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

An atmospheric new crime series set in the Channel Islands, for readers of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and LJ Ross, introducing investigative journalist Jennifer Dorey. Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe. Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years. Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.And home is the last place she should be.DEEP DARK WATER introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert. Previously published as The Devil's Claw*************************What readers are saying about Lara Dearman's Channel Island mysteries:'I've never been to Guernsey but this book has made me add it to my bucket list!' 'Reminds me of the excellent "Bergerac" detective series.''I can't wait for the next Jennifer Dorey instalment''Guernsey makes a wonderful setting for the book''Found it very gripping and could not put it down.'

Orion

The Truth

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Trapeze

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman
Orion

The Liar

Steve Cavanagh
Authors:
Steve Cavanagh
Gollancz

Black Heart

Holly Black
Authors:
Holly Black

The conclusion to the gripping Curse Workers series from bestselling author Holly BlackCassel Sharpe knows he's been used as an assassin, but he's trying to put all that behind him. He's trying to be good, even though he grew up in a family of con artists and cheating comes as easily as breathing to him. He's trying to do the right thing, even though the girl he loves is inextricably connected with crime. And he's trying to convince himself that working for the Feds is smart, even though he's been raised to believe the government is the enemy.But with a mother on the lam, the girl he loves about to take her place in the Mob, and new secrets coming to light, the line between what's right and what's wrong becomes increasingly blurred. When the Feds ask Cassel to do the one thing he said he would never do again, he needs to sort out what's a con and what's truth. In a dangerous game and with his life on the line, Cassel may have to make his biggest gamble yet - this time on love.

Orion

Peter James - 10 GREAT NOVELS

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Gollancz

Hungry For You

Lynsay Sands
Authors:
Lynsay Sands

As one of the most ancient in the Argeneau clan, Cale Valens has given up on finding a life mate. His friends and family, however, have not. In fact, they believe they've finally found his perfect match. Getting them together, however, requires one little white lie ...Alexandra Willan is in a panic. Her restaurant is due to open in two weeks, but her chef just walked out. Then a highly recommended replacement arrives, an impossibly handsome culinary genius who sends electric tingles racing through her body ...Except he can't cook. In fact, Cale hasn't eaten real food in two thousand years. Yet he's determined to prove to Alex his prowess in the kitchen ... and elsewhere. Because never has he hungered so for any mortal woman. And not just for a taste of her, but for the whole delicious feast!