Jim Thompson - The Grifters - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409130208
    • Publication date:22 Jul 2010

The Grifters

By Jim Thompson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Reissue of a true classic - 'One of the toughest crime novels ever' (Newsweek).

Reissue of a true classic - 'One of the toughest crime novels ever' (Newsweek).

Roy Dillon is young, good-looking and devastatingly charming. He's also a completely amoral con man. Lily, his mother, works for the mob. Moira Langtry, Roy's mistress, is always looking for the main chance, and so is Carol Roberg, the nurse brought in to look after Roy when a bad choice of mark means he has an unfortunate encounter with a baseball bat and a bad case of internal bleeding.

Together they make up a perverse quadrangle of love and greed in a coruscating novel of corruption.

Biographical Notes

Jim Thompson (1906-1977) was born in Anadarko, Oklahoma. After an itinerant childhood during which his sheriff father was driven from office for embezzlement; and as a roughneck in the Texan oil fields of the 1920s, Thompson became successful as a writer with the pulp fiction houses of the 1950s, writing a dozen of his more enduring novels in just 19 months. Among his many novels are The Killer Inside Me, The Grifters, The Getaway and After Dark, My Sweet. He also wrote two screenplays (for the Stanley Kubrick films The Killing and Paths of Glory). Pop. 1280 was an acclaimed French film under the title Coup de Torchon.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752879598
  • Publication date: 03 Aug 2006
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Orion
I don't read many books twice but Jim Thompson novels - due to their concise, dirty power, their relentless violence and purity - can always draw me in for a second time. Some of the most psychological crime writing ever done. I love James M Cain and Elmore Leonard but Jim Thompson holds a special place in my heart. — Bruce Springsteen
Orion

The Deepest Grave

Harry Bingham
Authors:
Harry Bingham

Orion

Lovemurder

Saul Black
Authors:
Saul Black
Orion

Narrowing the Field

A.P. McCoy
Authors:
A.P. McCoy

Everything seems to be going right for brilliant young jockey Duncan Claymore. A career on the up, a beautiful wife, and all the trappings of wealth. But Duncan is haunted by the death of one of his arch-rivals. He may not have pulled the trigger, but he still has blood on his hands.As Duncan struggles to keep his focus on the job, Michelle O'Brien - a friend and talented fellow jockey - is killed and Duncan knows this was far from a tragic accident. He's never liked William Osborne, but now he will stop at nothing to avenge Michelle's death.With Duncan's seemingly perfect world starting to come apart at the seams, can he balance his desire for victory on the field with his desire to see justice served?

Orion

The Dead House

Harry Bingham
Authors:
Harry Bingham

'Chilling, atmospheric and so gripping it hurts. The Dead House is a masterpiece. You won't read a better crime novel this year' MARK EDWARDSOn a wild October night, the body of a young woman is found in a remote country churchyard. She's wearing nothing but a thin, white dress. There are no marks of violence and no obvious cause of death. Who is the victim? Why is she here? But another young woman went missing from the area a few years back, and DC Fiona Griffiths soon suspects a crime even more chilling than she first imagined. Will she unlock the secrets of the dead house? Or will she become its next victim?Praise for the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:'One of the most interesting and complicated protagonists in current UK crime fiction. Truly unforgettable' Mick Herron'In a word - brilliant. One of the most enjoyable crime novels I've read in a while' James Oswald'This cleverly plotted police procedural introduces a likeable, maverick detective destined for a bestseller following' Choice'Compelling...a new crime talent to treasure' Daily Mail 'Gritty, compelling...a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year' USA Today Fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Ann Cleeves will be gripped by the other titles in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series: 1. Talking to the Dead2. Love Story, With Murders3. The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths4. This Thing of Darkness5. The Dead House 6. The Deepest Grave (coming soon!)If you're looking for a crime thriller series to keep you hooked, then go no further: you've just found it.** Each Fiona Griffiths thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order **

W&N

Charlie Martz and Other Stories

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
Orion

Even Dogs in the Wild

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
W&N

Charcoal Joe: The Latest Easy Rawlins Mystery

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

Seymour Brathwaite, a young physicist, was found standing over the body of a murdered man. Charcoal Joe, one of the deadliest men in America, wants Brathwaite cleared. Easy Rawlins, a renowned Los Angeles PI, cannot refuse Charcoal Joe. But what links the king of the LA underworld to Seymour Brathwaite? And can Easy find the evidence before he gets embroiled in something much, much worse?

Orion

Mockingbird Songs

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
Orion

This Thing of Darkness

Harry Bingham
Authors:
Harry Bingham

A hanged man. A stolen painting. An impossible crime.A marine engineer is found hanged in a locked apartment. Some artwork is stolen, then mysteriously returned. And a security guard is found dead at the base of a Welsh cliff.When Fiona Griffiths is tasked to look through a stackload of cold cases, her bosses don't expect her to find anything of interest. But then she discovers that an impossible robbery really happened. That the supposed suicide was anything but. That the dead security guard was almost certainly murdered.Before long, Fiona is embroiled in what will become the most terrifying case of her career so far - one that forces her to enter the heart of darkness, and a journey that will test her mental toughness to its very limits.Praise for the Fiona Griffiths mystery series: 'A stunner with precision plotting, an unusual setting, and a deeply complex protagonist' The Seattle Times'This cleverly plotted police procedural introduces a likeable, maverick detective destined for a bestseller following' Choice'Compelling...a new crime talent to treasure' Daily Mail 'Gritty, compelling...a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year' USA Today 'An original and complex character; a different kind of policewoman. Fiona Griffiths is a truly fascinating character' ShotsFans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Ann Cleeves will be gripped by the other titles in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series: 1. Talking to the Dead2. Love Story, With Murders3. The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths4. This Thing of Darkness5. The Dead House 6. The Deepest Grave (coming soon!)If you're looking for a crime thriller series to keep you hooked, then go no further: you've just found it.** Each Fiona Griffiths thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order **

Gollancz

Empire V

Victor Pelevin
Authors:
Victor Pelevin

Roman thought he'd found the perfect opportunity to rebel. He may have been wrong.He awakens strapped to a set of parallel bars in a richly appointed sitting room, and begins a conversation with a masked man which will change his life. His world has been a facade - one which the mysterious Brahma is about to tear away.A stunning novel about the real world, and about the hidden channels of power behind the scenes, EMPIRE V is a post-modern satirical novel exploring the cults and corruption of politics, banking and power. And not only are these cults difficult to join - it turns out they may be impossible to leave . . .

Orion

Blood, Salt, Water

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina

*** SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA GOLD DAGGER 2016 ***Salt water lifts blood. Only salt water.Loch Lomond is a mile deep but the woman's body surfaced anyway. Found bludgeoned and dumped in the water, she now haunts Iain Fraser, the man who put her there. She trusted him and now that misplaced trust is gnawing through Iain's chest. He thinks it will kill him.Nearby Helensburgh is an idyllic Victorian town. One-time home to a quarter of all the millionaires in Britain, it is quaint, sleepy and chocolate-box pretty. But the real town is shot through with deception, lies and vested interests.As tensions rise and the police seek a killer, the conflicts that lurk beneath Helensburgh's calm waters threaten to explode. All Iain Fraser has to do is keep on lying.

Orion

Stealing People

Robert Wilson
Authors:
Robert Wilson

In the space of 32 hours, the children of six billionaires are taken off the streets of London in a well-planned kidnapping. The perpetrators demand £25 million per hostage. For 'expenses'. Not ransom.And when your child goes missing, you need Charles Boxer. A man who will stop at nothing. The wealthy parents of the missing children know that Boxer will do more than the police can, but that doesn't mean the law will leave it to him. Soon the investigation goes beyond the corridors of power and into even darker corners.But still nobody knows what this mysterious kidnap gang ultimately want - and, if they have a cause, what the hell is it?

W&N

Jemima Shore at the Sunny Grave

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
W&N

Jemima Shore's First Case

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
Orion

Going to the Dogs

Dan Kavanagh
Authors:
Dan Kavanagh
Orion

Do Not Disturb

A.R. Torre
Authors:
A.R. Torre

This explosive new erotic thriller series is equal parts DEXTER and FIFTY SHADES OF GREY.I broke the rules. I left, I killed, I loved itDeanna Madden locked herself away for three years. She never left the apartment. Never allowed herself contact with another human being.Tried to stop herself acting out her homicidal urges . . .Now, recently reacquainted with the outside world, Deanna is working out a new balance between her work on the sex cams and her life outside the walls of 6E.But her equilibrium is about to be shattered as violence and evil begin to close in . . .

Orion

Fear the Darkness

Becky Masterman
Authors:
Becky Masterman

Brigid Quinn has been shot at, stabbed in the spleen with a nail file and used as serial-killer bait. But she's always been able to trust her instincts and her FBI-training to help her out of danger.Now, retired from the Bureau and investigating the tragic death of a neighbour's teenage son, Brigid starts to suffer unexplained bouts of paranoia, hallucination and memory loss. And for the first time in her life, she feels vulnerable.But with a mass poisoning at the church, a dead man found in town and a grieving family convinced their son's death wasn't an accident, Brigid needs to put the pieces together - fast. Because evil has entered her life once more, and it's much closer than she thinks . . .

Orion

Cold Cold Heart

Tami Hoag
Authors:
Tami Hoag
Orion

Touching Distance

Graham Hurley
Authors:
Graham Hurley
Orion

Fiddle City

Dan Kavanagh
Authors:
Dan Kavanagh