Jim Thompson - The Grifters - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409130208
    • Publication date:22 Jul 2010

The Grifters

By Jim Thompson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Reissue of a true classic - 'One of the toughest crime novels ever' (Newsweek).

Reissue of a true classic - 'One of the toughest crime novels ever' (Newsweek).

Roy Dillon is young, good-looking and devastatingly charming. He's also a completely amoral con man. Lily, his mother, works for the mob. Moira Langtry, Roy's mistress, is always looking for the main chance, and so is Carol Roberg, the nurse brought in to look after Roy when a bad choice of mark means he has an unfortunate encounter with a baseball bat and a bad case of internal bleeding.

Together they make up a perverse quadrangle of love and greed in a coruscating novel of corruption.

Biographical Notes

Jim Thompson (1906-1977) was born in Anadarko, Oklahoma. After an itinerant childhood during which his sheriff father was driven from office for embezzlement; and as a roughneck in the Texan oil fields of the 1920s, Thompson became successful as a writer with the pulp fiction houses of the 1950s, writing a dozen of his more enduring novels in just 19 months. Among his many novels are The Killer Inside Me, The Grifters, The Getaway and After Dark, My Sweet. He also wrote two screenplays (for the Stanley Kubrick films The Killing and Paths of Glory). Pop. 1280 was an acclaimed French film under the title Coup de Torchon.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752879598
  • Publication date: 03 Aug 2006
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Orion
I don't read many books twice but Jim Thompson novels - due to their concise, dirty power, their relentless violence and purity - can always draw me in for a second time. Some of the most psychological crime writing ever done. I love James M Cain and Elmore Leonard but Jim Thompson holds a special place in my heart. — Bruce Springsteen
W&N

Black Betty

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
W&N

A Red Death

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

It's 1953 in Red-baiting, blacklisting Los Angeles, a moral tar pit ready to swallow Easy Rawlins. Easy is out of "the hurting business" and into the housing (and favor) business when a racist IRS agent nails him for tax evasion. Special Agent Darryl T. Craxton, FBI, offers to bail him out if he agrees to infiltrate the First American Baptist Church and spy on alleged communist organizer Chaim Wenzler. That's when the murders begin....

W&N

White Butterfly

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
W&N

Down the River Unto the Sea

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Orion

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe

As featured in the Sunday Times, the first festive mystery in a new crime series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders.Iris Grey arrives at Mill Cottage in a picture-perfect Hampshire village, looking to escape from her crumbling marriage. She is drawn to the neighbouring Wetherby family, and is commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated crime writer.At the Wetherby's Christmas Eve party, the mulled wine is in full flow - but so too are tensions and rivalries among the guests. On Christmas Day, the youngest member of the Wetherby family, Lorcan, finds a body in the water. A tragic accident? Or a deadly crime? With the snow falling, Iris enters a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder.Read by Penelope Rawlins(p) Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Bad News

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Shadow Man

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk

'Shadow Man is a harrowing and horrific game of consequences.' Val McDermid A gripping Scottish crime thriller from the winner of the Good Housekeeping Novel Writing competition 2016.Two sistersJust before her wedding day, Morven Murray, queen of daytime TV, is found murdered. All eyes are on her sister Anna, who was heard arguing with her hours before she was killed.Two murdersOn the other side of Inverness, police informant Kevin Ramsay is killed in a gangland-style execution. But what exactly did he know?One killer?As ex-Met Detective Inspector Lukas Mahler digs deeper into both cases, he discovers that Morven's life was closer to the Inverness underworld than anyone imagined. Caught in a deadly game of cat and mouse, is Lukas hunting one killer, or two?'A new star of tartan noir is born. Kirk has written a brilliantly tense, atmospheric debut. I can't wait to read more in this highland crime series.' Cass Green, Number 1 ebook bestselling author of THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR.

Orion

Bad Luck

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

*THIS BOOK WAS PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED IN THE USA UNDER THE TITLE LONE WOLF*Zack Walker Mystery# 3Journalist, family man, and paranoid writer Zack Walker visits his father's lakeside fishing camp. But the fresh air, childhood memories and peaceful contemplation are ruined when a body is found.Locals say the mutilated corpse must have been the victim of a random bear attack. But Zack Walker, as always, fears the worst. When another body is discovered, it seems there is a more deadly predator on the prowl. A Lone Wolf killer who is hell-bent on laying siege to the idyllic town. The fuse is lit and time is running out. Zack must face down a madman - or find out first-hand what the grand finale is . . .

W&N

Charcoal Joe: The Latest Easy Rawlins Mystery

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

Seymour Brathwaite, a young physicist, was found standing over the body of a murdered man. Charcoal Joe, one of the deadliest men in America, wants Brathwaite cleared. Easy Rawlins, a renowned Los Angeles PI, cannot refuse Charcoal Joe. But what links the king of the LA underworld to Seymour Brathwaite? And can Easy find the evidence before he gets embroiled in something much, much worse?

Orion

The Deepest Grave

Harry Bingham
Authors:
Harry Bingham
Orion

Kings of America

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
Gollancz

Rhyming Rings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Orion

Thin Air

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver

Chosen for Simon Mayo's Radio 2 Book Club, this is the chilling new ghost story from the bestselling author of Dark Matter.The Himalayas, 1935.Kangchenjunga. Third-highest peak on earth. Greatest killer of them all.Five Englishmen set off from Darjeeling, determined to conquer the sacred summit. But courage can only take them so far - and the mountain is not their only foe.As the wind dies, the dread grows. Mountain sickness. The horrors of extreme altitude. A past that will not stay buried.And sometimes, the truth does not set you free.

Orion

Far From True

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

It began with Broken Promise. Now the mystery deepens in the second of the Promise Falls trilogy.A freak accident has killed Lucy Brighton's father. And when she goes to his house, she's convinced that someone has broken in. She asks private investigator Cal Weaver to look into it - but isn't prepared for what he'll find. Cal discovers a secret 'playroom' in the basement, complete with video equipment, and it looks as though there's a missing recording. How does the stolen DVD connect to the other disturbing events that are happening in the town? As Cal investigates further, and more people start dying in mysterious circumstances, it's clear that someone is targeting Promise Falls. But who - and how far will they go?

Orion

The Killer Inside Me

Jim Thompson
Authors:
Jim Thompson
W&N

Rose Gold

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

Easy Rawlins is back - and this time it's personal . . .When four armed policemen turn up at Easy Rawlins' door, he thinks he's in trouble. He is. They want him to find Rosemary Goldsmith, the daughter of a millionaire arms dealer. And Easy can't afford to say no. They think she's with Bob Mantle, a boxer turned radical. As a black man in post-war LA, Easy has access to Mantle's world. The LAPD does not. But Mantle's world is a dangerous one. When Easy is almost gunned down on his first day on the case, he realises he'll need more than his wits to find Rose Gold. Has she been kidnapped? Is she colluding? And what does her father really want? Taking you to the beating heart of a wild, corrupt city, Rose Gold matches an iconic detective with his most explosive case yet.

Orion

The Watcher

Charlotte Link
Authors:
Charlotte Link
W&N

Little Green

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Orion

Caught

Harlan Coben
Authors:
Harlan Coben

'This latest from crime master Coben is a thrillingly tense yet emotional tale concerning a missing seventeen year old girl' HEATSeventeen-year-old Haley McWaid never gave her parents a moment's worry. Until one morning her mother wakes to find that Haley didn't come home the night before. Three months quickly pass without a word, and everyone assumes the worst.Wendy Tynes is a reporter on a mission: to identify and bring down sexual predators via televised sting operations. Her latest target is Dan Mercer, a social worker known as a friend to troubled teens. But his story soon becomes more complicated than Wendy could have imagined.CAUGHT tells the story of a missing girl, the community stunned by her loss, the predator who may have taken her, and the reporter who suddenly realises she can't trust her own instincts about this story - or the motives of the people around her...

W&N

Cinnamon Kiss

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley