Jim Thompson - The Grifters - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409130208
    • Publication date:22 Jul 2010

The Grifters

By Jim Thompson

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Reissue of a true classic - 'One of the toughest crime novels ever' (Newsweek).

Reissue of a true classic - 'One of the toughest crime novels ever' (Newsweek).

Roy Dillon is young, good-looking and devastatingly charming. He's also a completely amoral con man. Lily, his mother, works for the mob. Moira Langtry, Roy's mistress, is always looking for the main chance, and so is Carol Roberg, the nurse brought in to look after Roy when a bad choice of mark means he has an unfortunate encounter with a baseball bat and a bad case of internal bleeding.

Together they make up a perverse quadrangle of love and greed in a coruscating novel of corruption.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752879598
  • Publication date: 03 Aug 2006
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: Orion
I don't read many books twice but Jim Thompson novels - due to their concise, dirty power, their relentless violence and purity - can always draw me in for a second time. Some of the most psychological crime writing ever done. I love James M Cain and Elmore Leonard but Jim Thompson holds a special place in my heart. — Bruce Springsteen
W&N

Call Him Mine

Tim MacGabhann
Authors:
Tim MacGabhann

Jaded reporter Andrew and his photographer boyfriend, Carlos, are sick of telling just another story. From cartel massacres to corrupt politicians, sifting the dregs of Mexico's drug war, they think they've seen it all. But when they find a body even the police are too scared to look at, what started out as just another reportage becomes the sort of story all reporters dream of.Until Carlos pushes for answers too fast, and winds up murdered, leaving Andrew grief-stricken and flailing for answers, justice, and revenge. Caught in a web of dirty money that stretches from the boardrooms of the United States to the death squads of El Salvador, Andrew must decide whether to save himself - or find out who killed the man he loves, and destroyed the only home he's ever known.(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019

W&N

A Double Life

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
Orion

Now You See Me

Chris McGeorge
Authors:
Chris McGeorge
Gollancz

The October Man

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Orion

What Lies Buried

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk
Orion

The Disappearance

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
W&N

Cape May

Chip Cheek
Authors:
Chip Cheek
Orion

The Hollow Man

John Dickson Carr
Authors:
John Dickson Carr
Trapeze

You Die Next

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Gateway

Down River

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

Johnny Mays has the moral conscience of a selfish child in the frame of a plain-clothes cop. The city is his playground, the rest of us his toys. He likes to find out where we work, and where we live, and what will scare us most. And Johnny never had a toy he didn't break.But Johnny starts a car chase, and he pushes it too far. Soon they're fishing for his body at the foot of a dam, and his partner Nick Frazier has been left behind. They were friends, once, a long time ago. Nick had hoped that he might save Johnny.Johnny's last words still echo in Nick's mind: "I'm going to remember this," he said, a dark fire in his eyes. "I'm coming back for you."Then the killings start. Killings of people Johnny didn't like. And Johnny's car is dredged up, empty.

Orion

The Lies We Tell

Niki Mackay
Authors:
Niki Mackay
Orion

Shadows of Athens

JM Alvey
Authors:
JM Alvey

The Persian War is over and an unaccustomed decade of peace has come to ancient Athens. Philocles, an aspiring comic playwright, is making his living as a writer for hire; but this year is the highlight of his career - he has a play in the drama competition at the prestigious Dionysia Festival. The last thing he wants to find on his doorstep the day before is a body with its throat cut.Just who is this dead man? Is it just a robbery gone wrong? With the play that could make his name on the horizon, Philocles must find out who this man is, why he has been murdered - and why the corpse was in his doorway. He soon realises that he has been caught up in something far bigger than he could have imagined, and there are players in this game who don't want him looking any further...(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019

Gollancz

From Distant Stars

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters

Inspector Keon has finally got over the death of his wife Alysha in a terrorist attack five years ago. The illegal AI copy of her - Liss - that he created to help him mourn has vanished, presumed destroyed. His life is back on track. But a deadly shooting in a police-guarded room in a high-security hospital threatens to ruin everything. Who got past the defences? Why did they kill the seemingly unimportant military officer who had been in a coma for weeks? And why did the scanners pick up the deceased man the next day on the other side of the planet, seemingly alive and well?As Keon digs into the mysteries he begins to realise that the death was connected to a mysterious object, potentially alien, discovered buried in ice under the north pole. Someone has worked out what is hidden there, and what its discovery will mean for mankind. Someone who is willing to kill.And another player has entered the game. Someone who seems to know more about Keon than is possible.Someone who might be using Liss's information against him.Or who might be Alysha, back from the dead.

Orion

The New Iberia Blues

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke

Detective Dave Robicheaux first met Desmond Cormier on the backstreets of New Orleans. He was a young pretender who dreamt of stardom whilst Robicheaux had his path all figured out. Now, twenty-five years later, their roles have reversed. When Robicheaux knocks on Cormier's door, he sees a successful Hollywood director. It seems dreams can come true. But so can nightmares.A young woman has been crucified, wearing only a small chain on her ankle, and all the evidence points to Cormier. Robicheaux wants to believe his old friend wouldn't be capable of such a crime - but Cormier's silence is deafening.And he isn't the only ghost from Robicheaux's past which comes back to haunt him...

Orion

For the Missing

Lina Bengtsdotter
Authors:
Lina Bengtsdotter

'This smash hit Swedish debut breathes new life into a few well-worn det-fic themes to create a thriller that lingers in the memory' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUBThe award-winning, international bestselling Swedish crime debut about a missing girl, and the detective who must return home and confront her darkest secrets in order to find her - for fans of MISSING, PRESUMED by Susie Steiner, I'M TRAVELLING ALONE by Samuel Bjork, and THEN SHE WAS GONE by Lisa Jewell.She must find Annabelle. Before it's too late.THE MISSINGNora's daughter Annabelle has disappeared, last seen on her way home from a party.THE LOSTGullspång's inexperienced police are wilting under the national media spotlight - and its residents desperate for answers.THE CLOCK IS TICKING . . .Stockholm DI Charlie Lager must return home to find Annabelle, and then get out of town as soon as she can. Before everyone discovers the truth about her . . .**********If you liked MISSING, PRESUMED by Susie Steiner, I'M TRAVELLING ALONE by Samuel Bjork, and THEN SHE WAS GONE by Lisa Jewell, or THE MISSING by C.L. Taylor, you will love FOR THE MISSING.What real readers are saying about FOR THE MISSING:'Oh My Gosh! This is epic!''This is a great crime mystery''An interesting and fascinating read''Highly recommended''I am just amazed when a debut author presents a crime thriller in a fresh way''The tension grows and grows up to a stunning conclusion'

Orion

For Better and Worse

Margot Hunt
Authors:
Margot Hunt

'Margot Hunt's cleverly constructed thriller kept me guessing till the very end.' Peter SwansonIt was the perfect marriage - until everything went perfectly wrong...On their first date back in law school, Natalie and Will Clarke bonded over drinks, dinner and whether they could get away with murder. Now married, they'll put the latter to the test when an unchecked danger in their community places their son in jeopardy. Working as a criminal defense attorney, Nat refuses to rely on the broken legal system to keep her family safe. She knows that if you want justice...you have to get it yourself.Shocked to discover Nat's taken matters into her own hands, Will has no choice but to dirty his, also. His family is in way too deep to back down now. He's just not sure he recognizes the woman he married. Nat's always been fiercely protective, but never this ruthless or calculating. With the police poking holes in their airtight plan, what will be the first to fall apart: their scandalous secret - or their marriage?

Orion

Dark Sacred Night

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

In a House of Lies

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

The Man Who Came Uptown

George Pelecanos
Authors:
George Pelecanos
Orion

A Noise Downstairs

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

'One of the world's finest thriller writers on the top of his game. A Noise Downstairs is a blinder - his best yet'PETER JAMES * * * * *EVERY STEP...Paul Davis forgets things - he gets confused, he has sudden panic attacks. But he wasn't always like this.TAKES YOU CLOSER...Eight months ago, Paul found two dead bodies in the back of a co-worker's car. He was attacked, left for dead, and has been slowly recovering ever since. His wife tries her best but fears the worst...TO THE TRUTH...Therapy helps during the days, but at night he hears things - impossible things - that no one else can. That nobody else believes. Either he's losing his mind - or someone wants him to think he is.Just because he's paranoid doesn't mean it's not happening...* * * * *'Vintage Barclay-an utterly compelling read with a twist you won't see coming. I loved it!'SHARI LAPENA 'Linwood Barclay's novels - as intelligent as Michael Connelly's, as compelling as Harlan Coben's - never fail to astonish. A Noise Downstairs, his best work yet, is a cobra of a story: smooth, slippery, unnerving . . . and likely to strike when you least expect it. I devoured this book'A. J. FINN'A suspense master'STEPHEN KING'No one can thrill you and chill you better than Barclay' TESS GERRITSEN'One of the best thriller writers in the world'MARK BILLINGHAM'Barclay writes terrific thrillers'DAILY MAILLOCK THE DOORS AND KEEP THE LIGHTS ON.A NOISE DOWNSTAIRS WILL KEEP YOU AWAKE ALL NIGHT.