Erica James - Hidden Talents - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409107460
    • Publication date:23 Dec 2009
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752889238
    • Publication date:29 Nov 2006

Hidden Talents

By Erica James

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Bestselling author Erica James explores the stories of a potent mix of characters who meet at a creative writers' group.

Bestselling author Erica James explores the stories of a potent mix of characters who meet at a creative writers' group.

Dulcie Ballantyne knows that creative writers' groups attract an unlikely mix of people, so when she starts up Hidden Talents, she is well prepared for the assortment of people she is bringing together.

Beth King is facing empty-nest syndrome as her only son, Nathan, leaves home for university. Jack Solomon, a local estate agent, is having trouble coming to terms with the shock of his wife leaving him for his best friend. Jaz Rafferty is an intensely private seventeen-year-old girl who writes to escape her large, boisterous family. Victor Blackmore is a know-it-all, who claims to be writing the blockbuster novel every publisher will be clamouring for.

What they all have in common is a need to escape, as well as a desire to keep their lives as private as possible. As they grow more confident in their writing skills, friendships develop, and gradually they come to realise that a little openness isn't necessarily a bad thing.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752883496
  • Publication date: 01 May 2008
  • Page count: 496
  • Imprint: Orion
W&N

I Want What I Want

Geoff Brown
Authors:
Geoff Brown

'I want what I want ... not what other people think I ought to want' Roy Clark insists to all those who attempt to help him: to the psychiatrist at the mental hospital in which he briefly finds himself; to his baffled but affectionate sister, whose clothes he has stolen; to his father, who is appalled that he has produced such a son.For Roy Clark wants to be Wendy Ross. When a small legacy enables him - not to have the operation on which he has set his heart - but at least to dress and live his life as a woman, he feels brilliantly alive for the first time. But then he meets a man called Frank and, realising he can't live without love, the stage is set for tragedy. I Want What I Want is an extraordinary portrait of a young man struggling with his gender identity. Devastating and deeply moving, it is a modern classic and was made into a film by the same title starring Anne Heywood.

Orion

The Hour of Separation

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon

March 1939Christa is the only child of middle-class parents, living a protected life in the London suburbs. She longs for adventure and to break free from the life expected of her. Estelle is the headstrong daughter of a heroine of the Resistance - a woman who disappeared during the Great War, supposedly killed while she was helping two airmen to escape. One of those airmen was Christa's father. But when Estelle goes looking for answers about the mother she never really knew, she finds something unexpected. An intense friendship grows between the two young women and Estelle invites Crista to spend the summer at De Eikenhove, the family farm in Belgium. During that long hot summer, passions run high. Christa meets Estelle's two brothers - steady, dependable golden-haired Pieter and his tempestuous brooding brother Robbe. When war breaks out Christa is forced to return home, but not before she has done something she will regret for the rest of her life. Christa returns to England a changed woman. As the conflict escalates, Estelle decides to follow in her mother's footsteps and joins the Resistance. But what she doesn't know is that her mother was betrayed by someone close to them at De Eikenhove, and that person may betray them once more...(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Corkscrew

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester
Orion

Summer at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe
Orion

Bear Grylls: The Hunt

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

Someone has stolen uranium, hidden for decades, from a secret Nazi hideout. When Will Jaeger finds the murder scene covering it up, he knows he's caught the scent of something important.But he's lost something precious, too. His wife Ruth, whom he spent four years searching for, has been kidnapped. Someone clearly has it in for Jaeger, and the only thing to do is hunt them down.The trail takes him around the world, from South America to deepest China, in his search for answers. There's only one thing someone could want that much uranium for, and Jaeger knows the world is counting on him to stop them.But all is not as it seems. As Jaeger - the hunter - closes in, he must accept the truth might worse than he could ever imagine.And some old enemies might not be as finished as he thought.

Orion

A Family Recipe

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Orion

The Lido

Libby Page
Authors:
Libby Page
Orion

Music Across the Mersey

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

When a Dublin family is torn apart, can a new start in Liverpool help heal the wounds? 1940s DublinHandsome widower Johnny Cassidy is out of work, broken-hearted and lost as to how to look after his four children. At his lowest ebb, he's forced to realise that help sometimes comes from the strangest places. With Johnny's family over the sea in Liverpool, it's his wife's spinster cousin Nora who comes to the rescue and has her life turned upside down by this brood of children. With Nora around, Ella Cassidy can be a teenager again rather than trying to raise her younger siblings, while older brother, Sean, finds that music might be his salvation. It seems that each member of the Cassidy family cherishes secret dreams, but will they bring them together or tear them apart?A warm and inviting story of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews.

Trapeze

The After Wife

Cass Hunter
Authors:
Cass Hunter
Orion

One Cornish Summer

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick
Orion

Spring at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe

Orion

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi
Orion

The Year that Changed Everything

Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly
Orion

Valentine's Day at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe

Orion

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit
Authors:
Dirk Kurbjuweit
W&N

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato

'A haunting debut about grief, loss and motherhood - and a woman's identity beyond that role' The Pool'An intriguing tale of love, loss and missed opportunities . . . although infused with sadness, it is written with verve and delivers an amazing twist' Sunday Mirror'Tender and moving, this part-thriller, part-memoir will leave you floored' Emerald Street When Katharine is found dead at the foot of her stairs, it is the mystery of her life that consumes her daughter, Laura.The medical examiner's report, in which precious parts of Katharine's body are weighed and categorised, motivates Laura to write her own version of events; to bear witness to the unbearable blank space between each itemised entry.It forces her to confront a new version of the woman she knew only as her mother - a woman silenced by her own mother, and wronged by her husband. A woman who felt shackled by tradition and unable to love freely.With the heart of a memoir and the pace of a thriller, An Unremarkable Body reveals an overwhelming desire to make sense of an unfulfilled life - and to prove that an unremarkable body does not mean an unremarkable life.'Beautiful, sensitive, and poignant' Clarissa Goenawan, author of Rainbirds'Spare, confident and affecting. A compelling read' Joanna Barnard, author of Precocious and Hush Little Baby'An incredibly moving story of maternal love, sacrifice, and how little we know those closest to us' Chloë Mayer, author of The Boy Made of Snow

Gollancz

The Name of the Wind

Patrick Rothfuss
Authors:
Patrick Rothfuss

This anniversary hardcover includes more than 50 pages of extra content!- Beautiful, iconic cover by artist Sam Weber and designer Paul Buckley- Gorgeous, never-before-seen illustrations by artist Dan Dos Santos- Detailed and updated world map by artist Nate Taylor- Brand-new author's note- Appendix detailing calendar system and currencies- Pronunciation guide of names and places'I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep. My name is Kvothe.You may have heard of me'So begins the tale of Kvothe - currently known as Kote, the unassuming innkeepter - from his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, through his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-riddled city, to his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a difficult and dangerous school of magic. In these pages you will come to know Kvothe the notorious magician, the accomplished thief, the masterful musician, the dragon-slayer, the legend-hunter, the lover, the thief and the infamous assassin.The Name of the Wind is fantasy at its very best, and an astounding must-read title.

W&N

Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Maria Semple
Authors:
Maria Semple

'Like A VISIT FROM THE GOON SQUAD written by Tina Fey' Sam Baker, RED MAGAZINEShortlisted for the 2013 Women's Prize for FictionA NEW YORK TIMES bestsellerCOMING SOON: The film adaptation, directed by Richard Linklater and starring Cate Blanchett, Kristen Wiig and Billy Crudup Bernadette Fox is notorious. To Elgie Branch, a Microsoft wunderkind, she's his hilarious, volatile, talented, troubled wife. To fellow mothers at the school gate, she's a menace. To design experts, she's a revolutionary architect. And to 15-year-old Bee, she is a best friend and, quite simply, mum. Then Bernadette disappears. And Bee must take a trip to the end of the earth to find her.WHERE'D YOU GO, BERNADETTE is a compulsively readable, irresistibly written, deeply touching novel about misplaced genius and a mother and daughter's place in the world.

Orion

The Truth

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James

A thrilling tale of suspense from the bestselling author of DEAD SIMPLE.Susan and John Carter are crazy about each other and life is perfect but for one thing - they are on the brink of financial disaster. Surely being a surrogate mother to another man's child won't harm such a strong relationship? Especially when the mysterious Mr Sarotzini is offering to save their home and business - everything they've worked for.What seems to be a perfect solution begins to feel like an impossible situation. Susan's pregnancy is disturbingly painful but no-one will tell her why. It becomes apparent that Sarotzini wields immense power and Susan begins to doubt everything she knows. As she realises the terrifying origin of the dark forces Saratzini controls she is in fear for herself and John but most of all for her unborn baby ...

Orion

Sweet Heart

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James