Elmore Leonard - Valdez is Coming - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780223612
    • Publication date:16 Feb 2012

Valdez is Coming

By Elmore Leonard

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The Wild West comes alive in the hands of Elmore Leonard, America's greatest storyteller.

No writer chronicles the battles of misfits, underdogs and renegades like Elmore Leonard ...

VALDEZ IS COMING is a stunning stale of morality and justice in which a simple, honest man is transformed into a killer - and begins a long journey of revenge against those who scarred his soul for ever.

Elmore Leonard's Western novels stand as some of the most vivid writing of his career. With all of his trademark sharp dialogue and set against a beautifully evoked landscape, this is a classic work that captures the wild and glorious spirit of the American West.

Biographical Notes

Elmore Leonard was born in New Orleans on 11 October 1925. He wrote forty-five books during his phenomenal career, including the bestsellers Mr Paradise, Tishomingo Blues, Be Cool and The Hot Kid. Many have been made into successful movies, including Get Shorty with John Travolta, Out of Sight with George Clooney and Rum Punch, which became Tarantino's Jackie Brown. He is the recipient of the Cartier Diamond Dagger Award and the PEN USA Lifetime Achievement Award. He died on 20 August 2013 in Detroit.

www.elmoreleonard.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780753819128
  • Publication date: 03 Nov 2005
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: W&N
W&N

Charlie Martz and Other Stories

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

'Elmore Leonard is the crime-writer's crime-writer, king of all he surveys. For sharp plots and spot-on dialogue, he's in a different league' Ian RankinWhen Elmore Leonard died in 2013, he left behind a 60-year legacy of crime novels, many of which have become modern classics. He also left behind a treasure trove of unpublished early stories. Largely written during his years as a copywriter at a Detroit ad agency, these stories introduce us to unforgettable Leonard characters, some of whom star in his later works. Razor-sharp and effortlessly entertaining, this collection reveals a master who honed his craft from a young age, and reminds us why Leonard is so sorely missed.

W&N

Summer Lies

Bernhard Schlink
Authors:
Bernhard Schlink
W&N

The Translation of the Bones

Francesca Kay
Authors:
Francesca Kay

A searingly powerful novel about passion and isolation, about the nature of belief, about love and motherhood, for fans of Ali Smith and Maggie O'FarrellIn a church in Battersea, Mary-Margaret O'Reilly sees blood on her hands and believes she has witnessed a miracle. The consequences are both profound and devastating - not just for her but for others, too: Father Diamond, the parish priest, struggling with his own faith. Stella, adrift in her marriage and aching for her ten-year old son, away at boarding school. Alice, counting the days until her soldier son comes home. And Mary-Margaret's mother, imprisoned in a tower block with nothing but her thoughts for company... What happens to Mary-Margaret will send ripples through this tight community, raising questions about the nature of devotion - in all its forms - and the cost of loving in a confusing world.'Unfailingly gripping, filled with the essential ingredients - tension and emotion.' Patricia Duncker, LITERARY REVIEW'Beautifully musical sentences with carefully judged rhythms.' Philip Womack, DAILY TELEGRAPH'Skillfully constructed and beautifully written.' Peter Parker, SUNDAY TIMES

W&N

Season of Light

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon
W&N

The Switch

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

Ordell Robbie and Louis Gara have lots in common - time in the same gaol, convictions for auto theft, and a grand plan. They're going to snatch the wife of a Detroit developer and collect some easy ransom money. At least that's what they think...What they haven't figured on is the fact that the husband has a secret mistress and has absolutely no desire to get his wife back. So now it's time for Plan B. With the help of one seriously ticked-off housewife they are going to take the scumbag for everything he's got...THE SWITCH has been adapted for the big screen as LIFE OF CRIME, starring Jennifer Aniston, Tim Robbins and Isla Fisher.

W&N

Glitz

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

'The night Vincent was shot he saw it coming...'After being shot by a mugger, Lt. Vincent Mora is convalescing in Puerto Rico. There he meets Iris, a beautiful young woman who is bored and frustrated, looking for excitement and a new life. Then she is offered a job as a 'hostess' at a casino in Atlantic city by Tommy Donovan. But Vincent figures out there is more to this job than Iris realises and he decides to pay Donovan a visit. To complicate matters, Iris isn't the only one interested in Vincent - he is being stalked by a man he sent down seven and a half years before, a man out to get his revenge.

W&N

La Brava

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
W&N

10 Rules of Writing

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
W&N

Swag

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

Elmore Leonard is 'the man other crime writers call the Boss' DAILY TELEGRAPH.There aren't any textbooks on armed robbery. The only way to learn is through experience, and small-time crooks Frank and Stick are determined to do as much learning on the job as possible. In 1970s' Detroit they embark on a crime spree, holding up liquor stores and supermarkets. They invent their 'Ten Golden Rules for Successful Armed Robbery' and for a short time the cash is rolling in. But then they bend their own rules, and it looks like trouble is heading their way...

W&N

Last Stand at Saber River

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
W&N

The Complete Western Stories

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

A bull's-eye of a short fiction collection that spans the master's career.In 1950, fresh out of college and keen to make his name as a writer, Elmore Leonard decided he needed to pick a market, a big one, which would give him a better chance to be published while he learned to write. In choosing between crime and Westerns, the latter had an irresistible pull - Leonard loved movies set in the West. As he researched deeper into settings, Arizona in the 1880s captured his imagination: the Spanish influence, the stand-offs and shoot-outs between Apache Indians and the US cavalry. This is a fantastic collection of over five decades' worth of stories.

W&N

City Primeval

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

'As gritty and hard-driving a thriller as you'll find . . . The action never stops, the language sings and stings' Washington PostClement Mansell knows how easy it is to get away with murder. The crazed killer is back on the Detroit streets - thanks to some nifty courtroom moves by his lawyer - and this time he's feeling invincible enough to execute a crooked Motown judge. Homicide Detective Raymond Cruz thinks the 'Oklahoma Wildman' crossed the line long before this latest outrage, and he's determined to see that the psycho does not slip through the legal system's loopholes a second time. But that means a good cop is going to have to play somewhat fast and loose with the rules - in order to manoeuvre Mansell into a showdown that he won't be walking away from.

W&N

52 Pickup

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
W&N

Stick

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
W&N

Cuba Libre

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

The New York Times bestselling author of BE COOL and GET SHORTY.War in Cuba isn't Ben Tyler's concern. Still, sailing mares and guns into Havana harbor in 1898 - right past the submerged wreckage of the U.S. battleship Maine - may not be the smartest thing the recently prison-sprung horse wrangler ever did. Neither is shooting one of the local Guardia, though the pompous peacock deserved it. Now Tyler's sitting tight in a vermin-infested Cuban stockade waiting to face a firing squad. But he's not dying until he gets the money he's owed from a two-timing American sugar baron. And there's one smart, pistol-hot lady at the rich man's side who could help Ben get everything he's got rightfully coming...even when the whole damn island's going straight to hell.

W&N

Split Images

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

Robbie Daniels is a Palm Beach playboy. He's the kind of guy who gets away with everything - even murder - until a vacationing Motown cop, Bryan Hurd, starts asking questions. When this millionaire reptile reveals the psychopath beneath his slippery skin, Hurd finds out this is one helluva way for an out-of-town lawman to spend his vacation.

W&N

Cat Chaser

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
W&N

Out of Sight

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

OUT OF SIGHT was made into the highly-acclaimed movie starring George Clooney and Jennifer Lopez.Jack Foley was busting out of Florida's Glades Prison when he ran head-on into Karen Sisco with a shotgun. Suddenly the world-class gentleman felon was sharing a cramped car trunk with a disarmed federal marshal - whose Chanel suit cost more than the take from Foley's last bank job - and the chemistry was working overtime. Here's a lady Jack could fall for in a big way, if she weren't a dedicated representative of the law that he breaks for a living. And as soon as she escapes, he's already missing her. But there are some seriously bad men and a major score waiting for Jack in Motown. And there's a good chance that when his path crosses Karen's again, she's going to be there for business, not pleasure.

W&N

Hombre

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

A classic tale of the American west from the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author.John Russell has been raised as an Apache. Now he's on his way to live as a white man. But when the stagecoach passengers learn who he is, they want nothing to do with him. That is, until outlaws ride down on them and they must rely on Russell's guns and his ability to lead them out of the desert. He can't ride with them, but they must walk with him or die...

W&N

Rum Punch

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

From America's top writer of hardboiled crime, the novel that became Tarantino's hit film JACKIE BROWN.Ordell Robbie makes a fine living selling illegal high-powered weaponry to the wrong people. Jackie Burke couriers Ordell's profits from Freeport to Miami. But the feds are on to Jackie - and now the aging, but still hot, flight attendant will have to do prison time or play ball, which makes her a prime 'loose end' that Ordell needs to tie up...permanently. Jackie, however, has other plans. And with the help of Max Cherry - an honest but disgruntled bail bondsman looking to get out - she could even end up with a serious nest egg in the process.