Elmore Leonard - Valdez is Coming - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780223612
    • Publication date:16 Feb 2012

Valdez is Coming

By Elmore Leonard

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The Wild West comes alive in the hands of Elmore Leonard, America's greatest storyteller.

No writer chronicles the battles of misfits, underdogs and renegades like Elmore Leonard ...

VALDEZ IS COMING is a stunning stale of morality and justice in which a simple, honest man is transformed into a killer - and begins a long journey of revenge against those who scarred his soul for ever.

Elmore Leonard's Western novels stand as some of the most vivid writing of his career. With all of his trademark sharp dialogue and set against a beautifully evoked landscape, this is a classic work that captures the wild and glorious spirit of the American West.

Biographical Notes

Elmore Leonard was born in New Orleans on 11 October 1925. He wrote forty-five books during his phenomenal career, including the bestsellers Mr Paradise, Tishomingo Blues, Be Cool and The Hot Kid. Many have been made into successful movies, including Get Shorty with John Travolta, Out of Sight with George Clooney and Rum Punch, which became Tarantino's Jackie Brown. He is the recipient of the Cartier Diamond Dagger Award and the PEN USA Lifetime Achievement Award. He died on 20 August 2013 in Detroit.

www.elmoreleonard.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780753819128
  • Publication date: 03 Nov 2005
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

An old case from his LAPD past threatens Bosch's reputation in a gripping new thriller. Harry Bosch is back as a volunteer working cold cases for the San Fernando police and is called out to a local drug store where a young pharmacist has been murdered. Bosch and the town's 3-person detective squad sift through the clues, which lead into the dangerous, big business world of prescription drug abuse. Meanwhile, an old case from Bosch's LAPD days comes back to haunt him when a long-imprisoned killer claims Harry framed him and seems to have new evidence to prove it. Bosch left the LAPD on bad terms, so his former colleagues aren't keen to protect his reputation. He must fend for himself in clearing his name and keeping a clever killer in prison. The two unrelated cases wind across each other like strands of barbed wire. Along the way Bosch discovers that there are two kinds of truth: the kind that sets you free and the kind that leaves you buried in darkness. Praise for Michael Connelly: 'A superb natural storyteller' Lee Child 'One of the great crime writers' Daily Mail 'Connelly is a crime writing genius' Independent on Sunday ** The Harry Bosch series can be enjoyed as standalone thrillers or read in order ** (p) 2017 Hachette Audio

W&N

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

Eliza Altairsky-Lointaine is the toast of Moscow society, a beautiful actress in an infamous theatre troupe. Her love life is a colourful as the parts she plays. She is the estranged wife of a descendant of Genghis Khan. And her ex-husband has threatened to kill anyone who courts her.He appears to be making good on his promise.Fandorin is contacted by concerned friend - the widowed wife of Chekhov - who asks him to investigate an alarming incident involving Eliza. But when he watches Eliza on stage for the first time, he falls desperately in love . . . Can he solve the case - and win over Eliza - without attracting the attentions of the murderer he is trying to find?

W&N

Charlie Martz and Other Stories

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
Orion

Innocent Blood

James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrell
Authors:
James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrell

From NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author James Rollins and award-winning author Rebecca Cantrell comes the second gothic thriller in the Blood Gospel series - perfect for fans of THE DA VINCI CODE.An attack at a ranch in California thrusts archaeologist Erin Granger back into the fold of the Sanguines, an immortal order founded on the blood of Christ and tasked with protecting the world from the beasts haunting its shadows. Following the prophetic words found in the Blood Gospel, a tome written by Christ and lost for centuries, Erin must join forces with Army Sergeant Jordan Stone and Father Rhun Korza to find and protect a boy believed to be an angel.But an enemy of immense power and terrifying ambition seeks the same child - not to save the world, but to hasten its destruction. For any hope of victory, Erin must discover the truth behind Christ's early years and understand His first true miracle, an event wrapped in sin and destruction that holds the only hope for the world. Her search will take Erin and the others across centuries and around the world, from the Holy Land to the Arctic Ocean, from the catacombs of Rome to an iron fortress in the Mediterranean Sea, and to the very gates of Hell itself, where their destiny, and the fate of mankind, awaits.

Orion

The Dandelion Years

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
W&N

The Pleasure of my Company

Steve Martin
Authors:
Steve Martin
W&N

James Wong's Homegrown Revolution

James Wong
Authors:
James Wong
W&N

Raylan

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
Orion

Tracker

James Rollins
Authors:
James Rollins
W&N

The Hot Kid

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

Gun molls, speakeasies, bank robbers and murder ... Another fantastic thriller from the grandmaster of US crime fiction.Set in Oklahoma during the 1930s, THE HOT KID is a powerfully entertaining story and introduces Carl Webster, one of the coolest lawmen ever to draw on a fugitive felon.At 21, Carl Webster's on his way to becoming the most famous Deputy US Marshal in America. He has shot and killed notorious bank robber Emmet Long and is now tracking Jack Belmont, the no-good son of an oil millionaire with dreams of becoming Public Enemy Number One. True Detective writer Tony Antonelli is following the story, and this one's big, full of beautiful women, Tommy guns and a former lawman who believes in vigilante justice. THE HOT KID is an exhilarating story played out against the flapper period of gun molls and Prohibition.

W&N

Unknown Man Number 89

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
W&N

The Hunted

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

Al Rosen was doing just fine, hiding out in Israel - until he decided to play Good Samaritan and rescue some elderly tourists from a hotel fire. Now his picture's been published in the press, and the guys he's been hiding from know exactly where he is. What's more, they're coming to find him - crooked lawyers, men with guns and money, and assorted members of the Detroit mob who are harbouring a serious grudge. Playtime in paradise is officially over; Rosen's a million miles from home but with a bull's-eye on his back. His only ally is a US marine who's been looking for war ... and has now found one.

W&N

La Brava

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

A vintage title by Elmore Leonard - The New York Times bestselling author of Be Cool and Get ShortyPhotographer Joe LaBrava specialises in capturing the soul of Miami's street life - and since he used to do dirty jobs for the Government, he understands his subject very well. So when his friend Maury enlists his help to sort out a problem with an ex-film star Joe fell for when he was twelve, the low-grade hustlers behind a ransom scam would need to be a lot smarter than they seem to pull it off.But there's a surprise in the bag for Joe - some people really are smarter than they seem.

W&N

10 Rules of Writing

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

The classic, must-have guide for every aspiring or successful writer from one of America's most respected authors."These are rules I've picked up along the way to help me remain invisible when I'm writing a book, to help me show rather than tell what's taking place in the story." - Elmore LeonardFor aspiring writers and lovers of the written word, this concise guide breaks down the writing process with simplicity and clarity. From adjectives and exclamation points to dialect and what he calls 'hooptedoodle', Elmore Leonard explains what to avoid, what to aspire to, and what to do when it sounds like "writing" (rewrite).Beautifully designed, filled with free-flowing, elegant illustrations, and specially priced, ELMORE LEONARD'S 10 RULES OF WRITING is the perfect writer's - and reader's - guide.

W&N

City Primeval

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
W&N

Djibouti

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

Dara Barr, documentary filmmaker, is at the top of her game. She's covered Bosnian women and post-Katrina New Orleans, but now she's looking for a bigger challenge. So she and her right-hand-man, Xavier head to Djibouti on the Horn of Africa to tackle modern-day pirates. But once they start filming, they find a whole lot more than they bargained for, and quickly learn that almost no one in Djibouti is what he seems. A mob of colourful characters patrols the seas, including a pirate chief with a taste in fine cars, and an Oxford-educated sheikh with scams of his own. And then there's the gun-toting playboy Billy Wynn: Texan billionaire, collector of supermodels, and law unto himself. But even he hasn't reckoned on an appearance from James Russell, an American al Qaeda convert who wants to blow up something big. As hijacked tankers line up like floating bombs, Dara and Xavier know it's time for a showdown.

Orion

The Skeleton Key

James Rollins
Authors:
James Rollins

From New York Times bestselling author James Rollins comes a thrilling short story that delves deep beneath the city of Paris to a dark necropolis, where the only means for escape is... The Skeleton Key.Seichan is ripped out of the Sigma Force series for an adventure all her own - but can she survive? The beautiful and elusive assassin wakes in a hotel in Paris with a deadly electronic collar fastened to her throat. Joined by a boy who is similarly threatened, she must rescue the son of a hated enemy, who has fallen under the sway of the nefarious leader of an apocalyptic cult. To survive, she must venture into the dark world beneath the City of Lights, into the infamous catacombs of Paris. Caught between two enemies, she must fight for her life - while time ticks down toward a fiery apocalypse. But in the dark, surrounded by the moldering bones of the dead, even success does not equal survival. In the end, the only true hope for the world lies in a stunning act of betrayal.

W&N

Up In Honey's Room

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
W&N

Glitz

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
W&N

Cat Chaser

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard