Mil Millington - A Certain Chemistry - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780221953
    • Publication date:06 Oct 2011

A Certain Chemistry

By Mil Millington

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Is this love or just oxytocin? The brilliant second novel by the bestselling author of Things my Girlfriend and I Have Argued About

Is this love or just oxytocin? The brilliant second novel by the bestselling author of Things my Girlfriend and I Have Argued About

Tom Cartwright is a ghost-writer: eking out a living in Edinburgh, he is always ready to assumethe persona of a struggling working mother-of-four, or a round-the-world yachtsman, or a 'sensual' aromatherapist - indeed anyone his agent asks him to be, so long as it brings in money. When he is offered the highly lucrative task of ghosting the autobiography of glamorous young soap star Georgina Nye, he and his girlfriend Sara are thrilled: Sara is a big fan of George's and Tom will finally be able to afford some new carpets for their house.

But soon things go awry when Tom finds himself drawn to George by forces outside his control (even though they are inside his own body). Does his relationship with Sara stand a chance in the face of this explosion of chemistry? Is this love or just oxytocin - and is there a difference?

Biographical Notes

Mil Millington is the creator of the cult website www.thingsmygirlfriendandIhavearguedabout.com and co-founder of www.theweekly.co.uk. He writes for various newspapers and magazines and was named by the Guardian as one of the top five debut novelist of 2002. Mil lives in the West Midlands with his girlfriend and their two children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780753820728
  • Publication date: 26 Jan 2006
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

Fandorin receives a phone call to say a woman is in great danger. Eliza Altairskaya-Lauanten, the lead actress in a Moscow theatre troupe, is the estranged wife of a descendant of Genghis Khan. Her ex-husband has vowed to kill anyone who courts her, and has apparently already killed two men. But the mystery deepens when strange messages begin arriving at the theatre and another killer appears to be in the frame. When Fandorin watches Eliza on stage for the first time, he falls desperately in love with the actress... But can he solve the case - and win over Eliza - without attracting the attentions of the murderer he is trying to find?

Orion

The Arrangement

Sonya Lalli
Authors:
Sonya Lalli
Orion

Our Summer Together

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake

OUR SUMMER TOGETHER is an uplifting story about family, friendship and the happy surprise of finding love later in life. Caro knows how to be a mother - advising her grown-up daughters on career and relationship worries. She knows how to be a grandmother - enjoying the hectic energy of her three-year-old grandson. She knows how to be a daughter - helping her aging mother retain her independence. She thought she knew everything about being a wife, but when her husband suddenly leaves her for another woman, everything is thrown in the air. So, when a chance meeting introduces her to Damir - younger, intriguing and attentive - she realises that opening up to a man so different from everyone else in her life, might also mean getting to know who she really is...Your favourite authors love Fanny Blake:'Fanny Blake has the gift of creating wonderful page turners from very domestic situations; and then making them warm and funny as well' Penny Vincenzi'I love the way Fanny Blake proves that women just become more and more fascinating' Adele Parks'I love that she writes about women our age, and the painful and wise truths we know' Marian Keyes

W&N

Greatest Hits

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett
W&N

Here Comes Trouble

Simon Wroe
Authors:
Simon Wroe

A STORY FOR OUR TROUBLED TIMES'Nineteen Eighty-Four crossed with Adrian Mole' Daily Mail'Scarily prophetic about news, freedom and truth' Antonia HodgsonEllis Dau dreams of the West - of London, New York and Ashford, Kent. But he is growing up in Kyrzbekistan, a secretive nation where revolution barely makes the news. A country where the newspapers peddle outright lies, and larger-than-life characters make promises they can't keep.Following his expulsion from school, Ellis is sent to work with his father. His father is editor of The Chronicle, the last bastion of free speech in their strange, strange land. And it is under threat.As Ellis navigates his collapsing, blacked-out city - and his feelings for the local oligarch's daughter - he realises that some things are worth fighting for. But can he save his family and the newspaper fuelled only by youth, grain spirit and unrequited love?

Orion

We All Begin As Strangers

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings
Orion

The Last Debutante

Lesley Lokko
Authors:
Lesley Lokko

A captivating family drama about sisters and long-held secrets spanning from the 1930s to the present day, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. 1936, Chalfont Hall, Dorset. As the dressmaker puts the last pins in her dress, thirteen-year-old Kit is wondering why she has to go through the charade of seeing her sister Lily presented at Court. With her waves of auburn hair and her piercing green eyes, Kit knows that her sister's place on the social scene is guaranteed regardless of her dress, and as the door to a life of parties and eligible young men opens for Lily, Kit must make do with tiptoeing around the gallery of Chalfont, eavesdropping on the conversations of the grown-ups. But the arrival of a German visitor one evening soon sets in motion a chain of events that none of the family could have anticipated. Years later, the aftershock of events will be felt by a new generation . . .

Orion

The Four Legendary Kingdoms

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly

There are sixteen contestants, but only one will survive.The last thing Jack West Jr remembers is arriving for a meeting at a top-secret military base with his family in tow.Now he awakes to find himself in a hellish scenario. Jack has been selected to take part in the Games, a series of deadly challenges designed to fulfil an ancient ritual. If he chooses not to compete, both he and his daughter will be killed.With the fate of the Earth at stake, Jack will have to traverse diabolical mazes, fight ruthless assassins and face unimaginable horrors that will test him to the limit.In the process, he will discover the mysterious and powerful group of individuals behind it all: the four legendary kingdoms.The thrilling new Jack West adventure from the bestselling author of The Great Zoo of China and The Five Greatest Warriors.

Orion

Secrets of a Happy Marriage

Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly
W&N

Augustown

Kei Miller
Authors:
Kei Miller
Orion

Song of the Skylark

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Burning Angels

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

A prehistoric corpse entombed within an Arctic glacier, crying tears of blood.A jungle island overrun by rabid primates - escapees from a research laboratory's Hot Zone.A massive seaplane hidden beneath a mountain, packed with a Nazi cargo of mind-blowing evil.A penniless orphan kidnapped from an African slum, holding the key to the world's survival.Four terrifying journeys. One impossible path. Only one man to attempt it.Will Jaeger. The Hunter.

Orion

A Few of the Girls

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

'The Irish do love telling stories, and we are suspicious of people who don't have long, complicated conversations. There used to be a rule in etiquette books that you should invite four talkers and four listeners to a dinner party. That doesn't work in Ireland, because nobody knows four listeners' Maeve Binchy Maeve Binchy's multi-million-copy-selling novels not only tell wonderful stories, they also give an insight in to how Ireland has changed over the decades, but how people remain the same: they still fall in love, sometimes unsuitably; they still have hopes and dreams; they have deep, long-standing friendships, and some that fall apart. From her earliest writing to her most recent, Maeve's work has included wonderfully nostalgic pieces and also sharp, often witty writing which is insightful and topical. But at the heart of all Maeve's fiction are the people and their relationships with each other. A FEW OF THE GIRLS is a glorious collection of the very best of her stories, full of the warmth, charm and humour that has always been an essential part of all of Maeve's writing.

W&N

The Versions of Us

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett

What if you had said yes . . . ?Eva and Jim are nineteen, and students at Cambridge, when their paths first cross in 1958. Jim is walking along a lane when a woman approaching him on a bicycle swerves to avoid a dog. What happens next will determine the rest of their lives. We follow three different versions of their future - together, and apart - as their love story takes on different incarnations and twists and turns to the conclusion in the present day.The Versions of Us is an outstanding debut novel about the choices we make and the different paths that our lives might follow. What if one small decision could change the rest of your life?

Orion

Chestnut Street

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
W&N

Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Maria Semple
Authors:
Maria Semple
W&N

The Diamond Chariot

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
Orion

Seasons of My Life

Hannah Hauxwell
Authors:
Hannah Hauxwell

The classic and much-loved memoir by Hannah Hauxwell about life in remote Yorkshire in the 1970s.Hannah Hauxwell first came to the nation's attention on Yorkshire television's award-winning documentary TOO LONG A WINTER, when she captured the hearts and imaginations of millions who were captivated by her ability to single-handedly run her family's farm in an isolated area in Yorkshire. Since the age of 35, following the deaths of her parents and uncle, she lived a self-sufficient life without electricity or running water at Low Birk Hatt Farm. What most enchanted people about Hannah was that she survived sixty years of gruelling work and weather with unimpaired serenity and good humour. Her love of the countryside, her passion for animals and her appreciation of the right values make Hannah a remarkable woman and in this classic book she tells her unique and inspiring story. SEASONS OF MY LIFE is an enduring and affectionate look at rural life in a world where everything is changing.

Orion

Wycliffe and the House of Fear

W.J. Burley
Authors:
W.J. Burley

Detective Superintendent Wycliffe gets drawn into the troubled world of an ancient Cornish family.The Kemps were a Cornish Catholic family who had held on to Kellycoryk, their family home, for almost five hundred years. But it was beginning to look as though the present century would be their last. Roger, head of the shrinking clan, was desperate to save the house and land. His second marriage, to the shrewd and tough businesswoman, Bridget, offered a way out. Bridget, prosperous head of her own company, wanted to take Kellycoryk over for development and although Roger hated the idea Bridget refused to save the estate in any other way.Then - suddenly - Bridget disappeared and old memories began to be raked over. hadn't Julia, Roger's first wife (also a wealthy woman) disappeared mysteriously, presumably in a boating accident? Did Roger, his sister and his disturbed children know more about the past than had ever been revealed? Wycliffe, supposed to be recuperating from an illness in the neighbourhood, found there was too much that was intriguing about the Kemps for him to ignore.

Orion

Wycliffe and the Four Jacks

W.J. Burley
Authors:
W.J. Burley