C. S. Forester - The African Queen - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780226965
    • Publication date:17 Oct 2013

The African Queen

By C. S. Forester

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The film of this famous love and adventure story which starred Katharine Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart became one of the most popular films ever made.

The film of this famous love and adventure story which starred Katharine Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart became one of the most popular films ever made.

The African Queen is an old, dirty, ugly, unreliable steamboat - not the kind of boat anyone would take down a dangerous river through the jungles of Central Africa. But Rose Sayer and Charlie Allnut do just that.

Why do they do it? The First World War has just begun, and Rose has a crazy plan. She and Charlie set off down the river and come close to death many times, but they survive all dangers - except the danger of falling in love.

Biographical Notes

Cecil Scott Forester was born in 1899 in Cairo and educated in England. He went to Hollywood during the opening years of World War II to help write and produce 'propaganda' films that would convince U.S. filmgoers that the they should take the side of the British and Allies in the War, which led to such films as Eagle Squadron (1941). He is most famous for his celebrated Hornblower series. He died in 1966.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780753820797
  • Publication date: 01 Nov 2006
  • Page count: 192
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

Fandorin receives a phone call to say a woman is in great danger. Eliza Altairskaya-Lauanten, the lead actress in a Moscow theatre troupe, is the estranged wife of a descendant of Genghis Khan. Her ex-husband has vowed to kill anyone who courts her, and has apparently already killed two men. But the mystery deepens when strange messages begin arriving at the theatre and another killer appears to be in the frame. When Fandorin watches Eliza on stage for the first time, he falls desperately in love with the actress... But can he solve the case - and win over Eliza - without attracting the attentions of the murderer he is trying to find?

Orion

The Arrangement

Sonya Lalli
Authors:
Sonya Lalli
Orion

The Forbidden

Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas
Orion

Our Summer Together

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake

OUR SUMMER TOGETHER is an uplifting story about family, friendship and the happy surprise of finding love later in life. Caro knows how to be a mother - advising her grown-up daughters on career and relationship worries. She knows how to be a grandmother - enjoying the hectic energy of her three-year-old grandson. She knows how to be a daughter - helping her aging mother retain her independence. She thought she knew everything about being a wife, but when her husband suddenly leaves her for another woman, everything is thrown in the air. So, when a chance meeting introduces her to Damir - younger, intriguing and attentive - she realises that opening up to a man so different from everyone else in her life, might also mean getting to know who she really is...Your favourite authors love Fanny Blake:'Fanny Blake has the gift of creating wonderful page turners from very domestic situations; and then making them warm and funny as well' Penny Vincenzi'I love the way Fanny Blake proves that women just become more and more fascinating' Adele Parks'I love that she writes about women our age, and the painful and wise truths we know' Marian Keyes

Orion

All I Am

Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas

A new novella featuring Drew from the Sunday Times and New York Times bestselling This Man trilogy

W&N

Greatest Hits

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett

One day. Sixteen songs. The soundtrack of a lifetime...Alone in her studio, Cass Wheeler is taking a journey back into her past. After a silence of ten years, the singer-songwriter is picking the sixteen tracks that have defined her - sixteen key moments in her life - for a uniquely personal Greatest Hits album.In the course of this one day, both ordinary and extraordinary, the story of Cass's life emerges - a story of highs and lows, of music, friendship and ambition, of great love and great loss. But what prompted her to retreat all those years ago, and is there a way for her to make peace with her past?Daughter. Mother. Singer. Lover. What are the memories that mean the most?In this bittersweet and poignant follow-up to the Number One bestselling The Versions of Us, Laura Barnett cements her position as one of the most talented storytellers of her generation.

W&N

Augustown

Kei Miller
Authors:
Kei Miller

Autoclaps: (Noun). Jamaican dialect. An impending disaster; Calamity; Trouble on top of trouble. One April day in Augustown, Jamaica. Ma Taffy, old and blind, sits in her usual spot on the veranda. No matter how the world tilts around her, come hurricane or riot, she knows everything that goes on in this small community. Which is why, when her six-year-old nephew returns home from school with his dreadlocks shorn, she realises that trouble won't be far behind. And so she tells him the story of Alexander Bedward, the flying preacherman. She remembers what happened to the Rastaman and his helper, Bongo Moody; she thinks of Soft-Paw, the leader of the Angola gang, and what lies beneath her house. For trouble is brewing once more among the ramshackle lanes of Augustown, and as Ma Taffy knows, each day contains much more than its own hours, or minutes, or seconds. In fact, each day contains all of history...

W&N

Here Comes Trouble

Simon Wroe
Authors:
Simon Wroe

A STORY FOR OUR TROUBLED TIMES'Nineteen Eighty-Four crossed with Adrian Mole' Daily Mail'Scarily prophetic about news, freedom and truth' Antonia HodgsonEllis Dau dreams of the West - of London, New York and Ashford, Kent. But he is growing up in Kyrzbekistan, a secretive nation where revolution barely makes the news. A country where the newspapers peddle outright lies, and larger-than-life characters make promises they can't keep.Following his expulsion from school, Ellis is sent to work with his father. His father is editor of The Chronicle, the last bastion of free speech in their strange, strange land. And it is under threat.As Ellis navigates his collapsing, blacked-out city - and his feelings for the local oligarch's daughter - he realises that some things are worth fighting for. But can he save his family and the newspaper fuelled only by youth, grain spirit and unrequited love?

Orion

We All Begin As Strangers

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings
Orion

Wycliffe and the House of Fear

W.J. Burley
Authors:
W.J. Burley
Orion

The Last Debutante

Lesley Lokko
Authors:
Lesley Lokko

A captivating family drama about sisters and long-held secrets spanning from the 1930s to the present day, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. 1936, Chalfont Hall, Dorset, and as the dressmaker puts the last pins in her dress, thirteen-year-old Kit is wondering why she has to go through the charade of seeing her sister Lily presented at Court. With her waves of auburn hair and her piercing green eyes, Kit knows that her sister's place on the social scene is guaranteed regardless of her dress, and as the door to a life of parties and eligible young men opens for Lily, Kit must make do with tiptoeing around the gallery of Chalfont, eavesdropping on the conversations of the grown-ups. But the arrival one evening of a distinctly German visitor soon sets in motion a chain of events that none of the family could have anticipated. Years later, the aftershock of events will be felt by a new generation . . .

Orion

The Four Legendary Kingdoms

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Orion

Secrets of a Happy Marriage

Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly
Orion

Burning Angels

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls
Orion

Song of the Skylark

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

A Few of the Girls

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

'The Irish do love telling stories, and we are suspicious of people who don't have long, complicated conversations. There used to be a rule in etiquette books that you should invite four talkers and four listeners to a dinner party. That doesn't work in Ireland, because nobody knows four listeners' Maeve Binchy Maeve Binchy's multi-million-copy-selling novels not only tell wonderful stories, they also give an insight in to how Ireland has changed over the decades, but how people remain the same: they still fall in love, sometimes unsuitably; they still have hopes and dreams; they have deep, long-standing friendships, and some that fall apart. From her earliest writing to her most recent, Maeve's work has included wonderfully nostalgic pieces and also sharp, often witty writing which is insightful and topical. But at the heart of all Maeve's fiction are the people and their relationships with each other. A FEW OF THE GIRLS is a glorious collection of the very best of her stories, full of the warmth, charm and humour that has always been an essential part of all of Maeve's writing.

W&N

The Versions of Us

Laura Barnett
Authors:
Laura Barnett

What if you had said yes . . . ?Eva and Jim are nineteen, and students at Cambridge, when their paths first cross in 1958. Jim is walking along a lane when a woman approaching him on a bicycle swerves to avoid a dog. What happens next will determine the rest of their lives. We follow three different versions of their future - together, and apart - as their love story takes on different incarnations and twists and turns to the conclusion in the present day.The Versions of Us is an outstanding debut novel about the choices we make and the different paths that our lives might follow. What if one small decision could change the rest of your life?

Orion

Chestnut Street

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy

A delightful collection of linked stories from No. 1 bestselling author - simply the best.Just round the corner from St Jarlath's Crescent (featured in MINDING FRANKIE) is Chestnut Street. Here, the lives of the residents are revealed in Maeve Binchy's wonderfully compelling tales:Bucket Maguire, the window cleaner, who must do more than he bargained for to protect his son. Nessa Byrne, whose aunt comes to visit from America for six weeks every summer and turns the house - and Nessa's world - upside down. Lilian, the generous girl with a big heart, and the fiancé not everyone approves of. And Melly, whose gossip about the neighbours leads to trouble in the form of the fortune teller, 'Madame Magic'...No one rivals Maeve Binchy for stories of warmth, kindness, love, loss - and life not always turning out as expected.

W&N

The Gun

C. S. Forester
Authors:
C. S. Forester

A classic novel about the Peninsular War from the celebrated author of the HORNBLOWER seriesAbandoned by the retreating Spanish army during the Peninsular War, the gun is an eighteen pounder bronze cannon, thirteen feet long, weighing three tons. When a group of Spanish partisans come across it two years later they see in it a chance for victory against the French - but first they must haul it across the mountains with nothing but a handful of donkeys and half-starved oxen. On its epic journey the cannon begins to gain almost mystical significance. For, with the gun, they are no longer a band of Spanish irregulars, they are an army able to take on the cream of Napoleon's troops...

Orion

Wycliffe and the Four Jacks

W.J. Burley
Authors:
W.J. Burley