Damian Horner and Siobhan Horner - For Better For Worse, For Richer For Poorer - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780297857808
    • Publication date:11 Jun 2009

For Better For Worse, For Richer For Poorer

By Damian Horner and Siobhan Horner

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A hilarious, true story of life-change, no going back, 40th birthdays and mid-life crisis. Follow the adventures of a husband and wife (plus two small children) as they take a barge through the French canals towards the Bourgogne and Canal du Midi - with The Mediterranean and Spain beckoning.

A hilarious, true story of life-change, no going back, 40th birthdays and mid-life crisis. Follow the adventures of a husband and wife (plus two small children) as they take a barge through the French canals towards the Bourgogne and Canal du Midi - with The Mediterranean and Spain beckoning.

Damian Horner is scared that fifteen years in advertising have turned him into a bastard. As he approaches his fortieth birthday, he wants to see if he can be a good husband and a good father before it's too late. Siobhan, his wife, would like to find out too but has other worries. Do marriage and kids mean she's now trapped in a world of suburban domesticity?

It takes a miserable day and a bottle of wine to change everything. Suddenly Damian and Siobhan decide to throw their lives in the air and escape to the French canals, taking with them their son Noah who is two years old and can barely talk, and their daughter India who is one and cannot walk.

Told in two voices, we hear both sides of their story and get the whole truth as Damian and Siobhan describe coming to terms with themselves and their life on board an old fishing boat in France with no space, no fridge, no charts, no deadlines and no flushing toilet.

Biographical Notes

Damian Horner (Author)
Damian Horner is a highly successful PR and marketing expert. At WCRS, one of London's top agencies, he worked on the iconic 'I bet he drinks Carling Black label' campaign. He was the youngest ever business director at Lowes, and then helped launch Mustoes, where he worked with clients as diverse as Sony, Lever Brothers and Prudential. This is his first book.

Siobhan Horner (Author)
Siobhan Horner is a highly successful PR and marketing expert. She had a highly successful career in the travel industry before starting a family. Her favourite job was as Marketing Director for the New Zealand Tourism Board. She left to become a freelance marketer covering travel as well as non-travel brands such as NEW SCIENTIST magazine.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780753823224
  • Publication date: 10 Jun 2010
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: W&N
This compelling travel memoir will attract even those who have no interest in canals, boat travel, or France. — LIBRARY JOURNAL (US)
Orion

The Sty's the Limit

Simon Dawson
Authors:
Simon Dawson
Orion

Mountain

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion

I Laughed, I Cried

Viv Groskop
Authors:
Viv Groskop
Orion

The Storms of War

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams

The first novel in Kate Williams' groundbreaking new historical series which begins in the First World War. For fans of BIRDSONG and DOWNTON ABBEY.In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. German Rudolf and his aristocratic English wife Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter, Emmeline, while their eldest son Arthur is studying in Paris and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood, and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped out future and exploring the world.But with the onslaught of war, the de Witts find themselves in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts her and those she loves in danger.With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war.

The Murder Room

The Last One Left

John D. MacDonald
Authors:
John D. MacDonald
W&N

The Vanished Landscape

Paul Johnson
Authors:
Paul Johnson
Orion

The Mistletoe Bride and Other Haunting Tales

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
W&N

Brazil

Michael Palin
Authors:
Michael Palin
W&N

The Golden Door

A.A. Gill
Authors:
A.A. Gill
Orion

Citadel

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
W&N

A.A. Gill is Further Away

A.A. Gill
Authors:
A.A. Gill
Orion

Click, Click

Joyce Kavanagh, June Kavanagh, Paula Kavanagh
Authors:
Joyce Kavanagh, June Kavanagh, Paula Kavanagh
W&N

The Olive Season

Carol Drinkwater
Authors:
Carol Drinkwater
Orion

Evelyn

Evelyn Doyle
Authors:
Evelyn Doyle

Told through the eyes of his daughter Evelyn, this is the true story of a father's fight to reclaim his children from the Irish government in the 1950s, now a major film.Desmond Doyle, 29, a painter and decorator, is married with six children and living in the infamous Fatima Mansions in Dublin in 1953. One day he comes home to find his wife has left him. He decides to go to England to find work and is advised to put his children into the state Industrial Schools system for a short time until he returns. When he returns he is told to his horror that the children have been consigned to the state until they are 16. This is the story of how Desmond Doyle fought the Irish legal system to change the law and win back his family.

Orion

Nothing Green

Evelyn Doyle
Authors:
Evelyn Doyle
W&N

Histories of the Hanged

David Anderson
Authors:
David Anderson

The true story of the Mau Mau rebellion of 1952-60 in Kenya, told for the first timeThis book tells for the first time the story of the dirty war the British fought in Kenya, in the run-up to the country's independence in 1964. In 1952, after years of tension and bitterness, the grievances of the Gikuyu people of central Kenya exploded into open rebellion. Only 32 European settlers died in the subsequent fighting, but more than 1,800 African civilians, over 3,000 African police and soldiers, and 12,000 Mau Mau rebels were killed. Between 1953 and 1956 Britain sent over a thousand Kenyans to the gallows, often on trumped up or non-existent charges. Meanwhile 70,000 people were imprisoned in camps without trial for between two and six years. David Anderson provides a full and convincing account of a war in which all sides behaved badly, and therefore few of the combatants can be either fully excused, or blamed. These events are still within living memory, and eye-witness testimonies provide the backbone of this controversial story.

W&N

The Real Bravo Two Zero

Michael Asher
Authors:
Michael Asher

The true story of the most famous SAS operation in history.'Bravo Two Zero' was the code-name of the famous SAS operation: a classic story of bravery in the face of overwhelming odds. BRAVO TWO ZERO by patrol commander 'Andy McNab' became an international bestseller, as did the book by 'Chris Ryan' (THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY). Both men became millionaires. Three members of the patrol were killed. One, veteran sergeant Vince Phillips, was blamed in both books for a succession of mistakes. As Michael Asher reveals, the stories in BRAVO TWO ZERO and THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY grew considerably in the telling. Their heroic tales of taking out tanks with their rocket launchers, mowing down hundreds of Iraqi soldiers, the silent stabbing of the occasional sentry, were never mentioned at their post-war debriefings... In an investigation literally in the footsteps of the patrol, Michael Asher tells the true story.

W&N

Scream of Eagles

Robert K Wilcox
Authors:
Robert K Wilcox

The real Top Gun - the dramatic account of the US Navy's fighter pilots and how they took back the skies over VietnamIn the darkest days of the Vietnam War, the US Navy's kill ratio had fallen to 2:1 - a deadly decline in pilot combat effectiveness. To improve the odds, a corps of hardened fighter pilots founded the Fighter Weapons School, a.k.a. Top Gun. Utilising actual enemy fighter planes in brutally realistic dogfights, the Top Gun instructors dueled with their students and each other to achieve a lethal new level of fighting expertise. The training paid off and the Top Gunners dominated the skies over Vietnam.This gripping account takes you inside the cockpit for an adventure more explosive than any fiction, in the dramatic true story of the legendary military school that has created the most dangerous fighter pilots the world had ever seen.

W&N

A Crowd Is Not Company

Robert Kee
Authors:
Robert Kee

Journalist and broadcaster Robert Kee was an RAF bomber pilot in the Second World War. When his plane was shot down over Nazi-occupied Holland, he was captured and spent three years and three months in a German POW camp. From the beginning he was intent on escape. After several false starts, he finally made it. First published in 1947 as a novel, but now revealed to be an autobiography, A Crowd Is Not Company recounts Kee's experiences as a prisoner of war and describes in compelling detail his desperate journey across Poland - a journey that meant running the gauntlet of Nazism.

W&N

Bad Times In Buenos Aires

Miranda France
Authors:
Miranda France

A funny and poignant account of life in Buenos Aires, by a young prize-winning writer.In 1993 Miranda France moved to South America, drawn to Buenos Aires as the intellectual hub of the continent, with its wealth of writers and its romantic, passionate and tragic history. She found that is was all these things, but it was also a terrible place to live.The inhabitants of Buenos Aires are famously unhappy. All over South America they are known for their arrogance, their fixation of Europe and their moodiness. Very soon, Miranda France encounters' bronca' - the simmering and barely controllable rage that is a staple feature of life in the Argentinian capital. She finds that 'bronca' has deep roots: the violence and racism of the first European settlers; the dictatorships, especially in the 1970s when so many 'disappeared'; even Evita Peron, for there was no rage to rival Evita's.