Carol Drinkwater - The Olive Tree of Provence - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780297857501
    • Publication date:09 Jun 2011

The Olive Tree of Provence

By Carol Drinkwater

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

In the bestselling Olive series by writer and actress Carol Drinkwater, author of THE FORGOTTEN SUMMER

Fifth volume in the bestselling Olive series by writer and actress Carol Drinkwater.

THE OLIVE TREE charts Carol Drinkwater's colourful and often dangerous journey in search of the routes that olive cultivation has taken over the centuries. Set during a springtime Mediterranean that is evocative and perennial, it is above all a tale of our time.

Troubled by challenges her own South of France farm is experiencing, Carol realises new approaches to farming are becoming essential.
Her quest takes her south through Spain, Morocco, Algeria and Italy before she finally returns to her farm.

Through her travels and vivid encounters, Carol confronts some of the critical issues of our time - land-care and the harsh realities of diminishing water reserves - and ends her momentous journey in the company of olive growers whose vision for the future is remarkable and ingenious.

Biographical Notes

Best known for her role as Helen Herriot in BBC Television's ALL CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL (for which she was awarded THE VARIETY CLUB TELEVISION PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR AWARD), Carol Drinkwater has enjoyed a long and distinguished career as both an actress and writer. During her acting career she has worked in film, television and theatre. Her credits include working with Laurence Olivier at the National Theatre and Stanley Kubrick on A CLOCKWORK ORANGE.

Carol is the author of six bestselling memoirs: THE OLIVE FARM, THE OLIVE SEASON, THE OLIVE HARVEST, THE OLIVE ROUTE, THE OLIVE TREE and RETURN TO THE OLICE FARM. Carol worked with UNESCO on a lavish documentary film series inspired by her two most recent books, THE OLIVE ROUTE and THE OLIVE TREE. The series is both travel and history based and will follow an Olive Heritage Trail around the Mediterranean Basin. The aim is to celebrate the cultural heritage of this sacred tree. The first transmissions will be in Canada in February and in Germany in April 2013.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780753826126
  • Publication date: 11 Jun 2009
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: W&N
Her writing captures the true spirit of the people and places she visits — Carolyn Boyd, TIMES
An honest tale that brings to life the sights, smells and tastes of the Mediterranean. — LIVING SPAIN
`the story contains some wonderfully evocative vignettes, written in prose that ignites the reader¿s imagination' — Jane Duru, GLOBALISTA
Drinkwater's passion and curiosity are contagious...lively prose holds unexpectedly poetic bursts and an insightful account of how the Mediterranean treats a woman travelling alone — Kathleen Wyatt, TIMES
Carol Drinkwater has gone in search of olive growers in the west Mediterranean, documenting her travels and travails with good humour and not a little fortitude. — CHOICE
'The Olive Tree is a thrilling tale tracing the journey of olive cultivation' — Paul Blezard, THE LADY
a tale of one lady's courageous, unusual and intrepid journey around the Mediterranean in the pursuit of something so many of us give little thought to in this country — REAL TRAVEL
The Olive Tree is travel writing of the highest order — Jenny Crwys-Williams, The Book Show, Radio 702 (South Africa)
Gripping and passionate — GOOD BOOK GUIDE
Her writing is often lyrical and unexpectedly poetic, making this book a surefire hit on many levels. — THE WEEKENDER (South Africa)
Orion

Death in Avignon

Serena Kent
Authors:
Serena Kent

Glamour, intrigue, and a mystery to die for... When Penelope Kite attends a gallery opening on the arm of the gorgeous mayor of St Merlot, her dream life in Provence seems finally to have become a reality. But beneath the glamour, scandal is brewing. Shockwaves ripple through the art world when a controversial painter, Roland Doncaster, chokes on an almond-stuffed olive.A tragic accident? Or a ruthless poisoning? Embroiled once more in a murder investigation, Penelope discovers that any number of jealous lovers and scheming rivals could be in the frame. And with dashing art dealers to charm, patisseries to resist, and her own friends under suspicion, Penelope will need all her sleuthing talents to uncover the truth... Return to the charm of Provence for the second delightful Penelope Kite mystery!

W&N

Hit Factories

Karl Whitney
Authors:
Karl Whitney
Orion

A Summer Reunion

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake

Amy, Anne, Kate and Jane were best friends at school. But now, as they approach their sixtieth birthdays, their lives have taken them in different directions. Successful, dissatisfied, seeking something different in equal measure, they know that life is not always easy. So when Amy invites the other three to her beautiful villa in Majorca for a long celebratory reunion weekend, each of them is drawn by curiosity... and each has a reason for wanting to get away from home for a while. Against the backdrop of the stunning Mallorcan hills, the four friends will look back over their lives - the choices they made, the families they have built - and they'll reassess what is important to them and whether now is the time to grasp those second chances, or whether this reunion will change everything...(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

W&N

The Shanghai Free Taxi

Frank Langfitt
Authors:
Frank Langfitt
W&N

Under the Camelthorn Tree

Kate Nicholls
Authors:
Kate Nicholls
Orion

The Peacock Summer

Hannah Richell
Authors:
Hannah Richell

A compelling story of hidden secrets and forbidden love, from the bestselling author of The Secrets of the Tides 'Completely captivating' Kate Riordan'Atmospheric and moving' Katherine WebbHidden deep in the dusty wing of an old manor house stands a locked room, forgotten by all - except one. Sixty years ago Lillian Oberon was mistress of Cloudesley, until one glittering summer, when a doomed love affair changed her life forever.Now frail and muddled, Lillian is the sole guardian of Cloudesley, and of its dark secrets. Only when Maggie, her devoted granddaughter, returns to nurse her - and her own heartbreak - do the walls of the past begin to crumble, threatening to bring the tragic consequences of that summer to light... Can Maggie unlock her family's tangled history, before all she holds dear is lost forever?Reviews for The Peacock Summer'A juicy mix of secrets and betrayals make The Peacock Summer by Hannah Richell a perfect holiday read.' Good Housekeeping'A heartwarming, compassionate story' PRIMA'A beautiful and compelling story of forbidden love, grief and guilt...' Liz Fenwick'A wonderfully atmospheric novel that skilfully weaves together past and present' REDONLINE'Wonderfully written, a visual treat, compelling and full of excellent characters - highly recommended' Cesca Major, author of The Silent Hours'Secrets, passion, sadness and sacrifice, more secrets... Wonderful book!' Susan Elliot Wright, author of The Things We Never Said

W&N

Hometown Tales: Birmingham

Maria Whatton, Stewart Lee
Authors:
Maria Whatton, Stewart Lee

Original tales by remarkable writersHometown Tales is a series of books pairing exciting new voices with some of the most talented and important writers at work today. Some of the tales are fiction and some are narrative non-fiction - they are all powerful, fascinating and moving, and aim to celebrate regional diversity and explore the meaning of home.In these pages on Birmingham, you'll find two unique tales. 'Silver in the Quarter' is a vivid coming-of-age fiction about a boy who finds himself caught up in the Birmingham pub bombings of 1974 by Maria Whatton. 'In the Ape's Shadow' is a fascinating exploration of the music scene that inspired him growing up in Birmingham, by BAFTA Award-winning comedian and author Stewart Lee.

W&N

Hometown Tales: Glasgow

Kirsty Logan, Paul McQuade
Authors:
Kirsty Logan, Paul McQuade
W&N

Hometown Tales: Highlands and Hebrides

Colin MacIntyre, Ellen MacAskill
Authors:
Colin MacIntyre, Ellen MacAskill
W&N

Hometown Tales: Lancashire

Jenn Ashworth, Benjamin Webster
Authors:
Jenn Ashworth, Benjamin Webster
W&N

Hometown Tales: Midlands

Kerry Young, Carolyn Sanderson
Authors:
Kerry Young, Carolyn Sanderson
W&N

Hometown Tales: South Coast

Gemma Cairney, Judy Upton
Authors:
Gemma Cairney, Judy Upton

Original tales by remarkable writersHometown Tales is a series of books pairing exciting new voices with some of the most talented and important writers at work today. Some of the tales are fiction and some are narrative non-fiction - they are all powerful, fascinating and moving, and aim to celebrate regional diversity and explore the meaning of home. In these pages on the South Coast, you'll find two unique tales. 'Margate Calling' is an intimate, honest and inspiring account of living in Margate by award-winning BBC broadcaster Gemma Cairney. 'Maisie and Mrs Webster' is a bold, fiercely funny and deeply moving piece of fiction about an obese young woman who is confined to her bed and longs to see the sea, by Brighton-based playwright Judy Upton.

W&N

Hometown Tales: Wales

Tyler Keevil, Eluned Gramich
Authors:
Tyler Keevil, Eluned Gramich
W&N

Hometown Tales: Yorkshire

Cathy Rentzenbrink, Victoria Hennison
Authors:
Cathy Rentzenbrink, Victoria Hennison
Orion

A Year at Hotel Gondola

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino

'Recipe For Life pulls off the rare trick of being both gritty and lyrical, heartrending and compelling. A novel about how easy it is to become an observer in your own life, and the joy of learning to live again. It also made me very hungry!' JOJO MOYES on Recipe for LifeA woman swaps her far-flung travels for her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.Kat has never wanted to live a small life. She's an adventurer, a food writer who travels the world visiting far-flung places and eating unusual things. Now she is about to embark on her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. She has fallen in love with an Italian man and is moving to live with him in Venice where she will help him run his small guesthouse, Hotel Gondola. Kat has lined up a book deal and will write about the first year of her new adventure, the food she eats, the recipes she collects, the people she meets, the man she doesn't really know all that well but is going to make a life with. But as Kat ought to know by now, the thing about adventures is that they never go exactly the way you expect them to...******'Venice comes alive...warm, engaging and truly delicious' Rosanna Ley, author of The Little Theatre by the Sea'A delicious and sensual adventure. I was whisked away to the sights and tastes of the most romantic - and mysterious - of cities. A story as evocative and captivating as Venice itself' Fiona Gibson, author of The Woman Who Met Her Match'With a wonderfully evocative setting and mouth-watering descriptions of Venetian food, A Year at Hotel Gondola is a refreshingly different take on the challenges of making a relationship when you're older' Pamela Hartshorne, author of The Cursed Wife

W&N

Heal Me

Julia Buckley
Authors:
Julia Buckley
W&N

The Best of A. A. Gill

A.A. Gill
Authors:
A.A. Gill
W&N

From Here to Eternity

Caitlin Doughty, Landis Blair
Contributors:
Caitlin Doughty, Landis Blair
Orion

The Dandelion Years

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

Summer at the Lake

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James