Michael Connelly - The Black Echo - Orion Publishing Group

The Black Echo

By Michael Connelly

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The first ever Harry Bosch novel - from the No. 1 bestselling author of The Lincoln Lawyer and The Gods of Guilt.

BOSCH TV STARTS FEBRUARY 2015.

LAPD detective Harry Bosch is a loner and a nighthawk. One Sunday he gets a call-out on his pager. A body has been found in a drainage tunnel off Mulholland Drive, Hollywood. At first sight, it looks like a routine drugs overdose case, but the one new puncture wound amid the scars of old tracks leaves Bosch unconvinced.

To make matters worse, Harry Bosch recognises the victim. Billy Meadows was a fellow 'tunnel rat' in Vietnam, running against the VC and the fear they all used to call the Black Echo. Bosch believes he let down Billy Meadows once before, so now he is determined to bring the killer to justice.

Biographical Notes

A former police reporter for the Los Angeles Times, Michael Connelly is the author of the Harry Bosch thriller series as well as several other bestsellers, including the highly acclaimed legal thriller The Lincoln Lawyer, which was selected for the Richard & Judy Book Club. Michael Connelly has been President of the Mystery Writers of America. His books have been translated into 31 languages and have won awards all over the world, including the Edgar and Anthony Awards. He lives in Tampa, Florida, with his family. To find out more, visit www.michaelconnelly.co.uk or @Connellybooks.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409109259
  • Publication date: 19 Jul 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Thirteen

Steve Cavanagh
Authors:
Steve Cavanagh

'Plotting that takes the breath away' Ian Rankin'Steve is a fantastic thriller writer' Mark BillinghamHollywood actor Robert Soloman stands accused of the brutal stabbings of his wife and her lover but he is desperately pleading that he had nothing to do with it. This is the trial of the century and the defence want Eddie Flynn on their team.The biggest case Eddie has ever tried before, he decides to take it on despite the overwhelming evidence that Robert is guilty. As the trial starts, Eddie becomes sure of Robert's innocence but there's something else he is even more sure of - that there is something sinister going on in the jury box. Because of this, he is forced to ask the question: What if the killer isn't on the stand? What if he's on the jury?Read by Adam Sims(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Orion

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe

As featured in the Sunday Times, the first festive mystery in a new crime series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer Murders.Iris Grey arrives at Mill Cottage in a picture-perfect Hampshire village, looking to escape from her crumbling marriage. She is drawn to the neighbouring Wetherby family, and is commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated crime writer.At the Wetherby's Christmas Eve party, the mulled wine is in full flow - but so too are tensions and rivalries among the guests. On Christmas Day, the youngest member of the Wetherby family, Lorcan, finds a body in the water. A tragic accident? Or a deadly crime? With the snow falling, Iris enters a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and murder.Read by Penelope Rawlins(p) Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Late Show

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Wrong Side of Goodbye

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Only Harry Bosch can uncover LA's darkest secrets in this new gripping thriller from global bestseller Michael Connelly.'What do you want me to do?' Bosch asked again.'I want you to find someone for me,' Vance said. 'Someone who might not have ever existed.'Harry Bosch is working as a part-time detective in the town of San Fernando outside of Los Angeles, when he gets the invitation to meet with the ageing aviation billionaire Whitney Vance. When he was eighteen Vance had a relationship with a Mexican girl called Vibiana Duarte, but soon after becoming pregnant she disappeared.Now, as he reaches the end of his life, Vance wants to know what happened to Vibiana and whether there is an heir to his vast fortune. And Bosch is the only person he trusts to undertake the assignment.Harry's aware that with such sums of money involved, this could be a dangerous undertaking - not just for himself, but for the person he's looking for - but as he begins to uncover Vibiana's tragic story, and finds uncanny links to his own past, he knows he cannot rest until he finds the truth.

Orion

The Crossing

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Burning Room

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Los Angeles Detective Harry Bosch tackles a cold case unlike any he's ever worked, in the new legal thriller from the bestselling author of THE LINCOLN LAWYER and THE BLACK ECHO, Michael Connelly.In the LA Police's Open-Unsolved Unit, not many murder victims die almost a decade after the crime. So when a man succumbs to complications from being shot by a stray bullet ten years earlier, Bosch catches a case in which the body is still fresh, but any other evidence is virtually non-existent.Now Bosch and his new partner, rookie Detective Lucia Soto, are tasked with solving what turns out to be a highly charged, politically sensitive case. Starting with the bullet that's been lodged for years in the victim's spine, they must pull new leads from years-old information, which soon reveals that this shooting may have been anything but random in this gripping police procedural.

Orion

The Poet

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

The apparent suicide of his policeman brother sets Denver crime reporter Jack McEvoy on edge. Surprise at the circumstances of his brother's death prompts Jack to look into a whole series of police suicides, and puts him on the trail of a cop killer whose victims are selected all too carefully. Not only that, but they all leave suicide notes drawn from the poems of writer Edgar Allan Poe in their wake. More frightening still, the killer appears to know that Jack is getting nearer and nearer. An investigation that looks like the story of a lifetime might also be Jack's ticket to a lonely end.

Orion

The Gods of Guilt

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

The 'Lincoln Lawyer' grapples with a haunting case in a gripping thriller from bestselling author Michael Connelly.Mickey Haller gets the text 'Call me ASAP - 187', and the California penal code for murder immediately gets his attention.Suddenly, Mickey's not just trying to get his client off a murder charge, but there is a more personal connection: the victim was Gloria Dayton - his own former client, a prostitute he thought he had rescued and put on the straight and narrow. Far from saving her, Haller may have been her downfall.Haunted by the ghosts of his own past, and with his own guilt or redemption on the line, he desperately needs to find out who Gloria really was and who, ultimately, was responsible for her death.

Orion

Switchblade

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

When the department's sorter takes a call from an anonymous witness to a cold case murder, she takes it straight to Harry Bosch who finds the accused in San Quentin. He's locked away for a different murder but only a few months away from a parole hearing which is likely to see him walking free. New methods find DNA on the murder weapon but having sat in an archive for 20 years, it's not strong enough to take to court. To keep him behind bars, Bosch has no choice but to find the witness who doesn't want to be found.Read by Len Cariou(p) 2014 Hachette Audio

Orion

The Black Box

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Safe Man

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Mulholland Dive

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Three stories, brought together in one ebook, from 'crime-writing genius' Michael ConnellyIn the title story, a fatal accident on Mulholland Drive turns out to be part of an ingenious plot - but is it too ingenious? In Two Bagger, a dedicated cop working for the Gang Intelligence Unit finally gets the payoff he's worked so hard for - but it's not what he's expecting. In Cahoots, a team of scam artists meet for a high-stakes poker game but who is scamming who?Also including an exclusive extract from The Black Box, this collection is a must read for all Connelly fans.

Orion

Michael Connelly - The Harry Bosch Collection (ebook)

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Lincoln Lawyer Novels

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Suicide Run: Three Harry Bosch Stories

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

In SUICIDE RUN, the apparent suicide of a beautiful young starlet turns out to be much more sinister than it seems. In CIELO AZUL, Bosch is haunted by a long-ago closed case - the murder of a teenage girl who was never identified. As her killer sits on death row, Bosch tries one last time to get the answers he has sought for years. In ONE DOLLAR JACKPOT, Bosch works the murder of a professional poker player whose skills have made her more than one enemy. Whether investigating a cold case or fresh blood, Bosch relentlessly pursues his quarry, always on the lookout for the "tell". In this first collection of Harry Bosch stories, Michael Connelly once again demonstrates that he is 'the greatest living American crime writer' (MIRROR).Read by Len Cariou(p) 2011 Hachette Audio

Orion

The Drop

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Is it the end of the line for Harry Bosch? When evidence links a brutal murder in 1989 to a convicted rapist named Clayton Pell, the case should be watertight. Pell's DNA was found on the victim - but he was only eight years old at the time. This is not the only mystery Harry Bosch has to solve. A man jumped - or was pushed - from a window. The victim's father is Councilman Irving, who's been intent on destroying Harry's career for years. Now Irving wants Harry to head up the investigation. Harry uncovers traces of two of the city's deepest secrets: a killer operating for as many as three decades without being detected, and a conspiracy that goes back into the dark history of the police department . . .Read by Len Cariou(p) 2011 Hachette Audio

Orion

Angle of Investigation: Three Harry Bosch Short Stories

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Fifth Witness

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Reversal

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Mickey Haller and Harry Bosch together take on a seemingly unwinnable case in blistering legal thriller from Number One bestseller Michael Connelly.When defence lawyer Mickey Haller is invited by the Los Angeles County District Attorney to prosecute a case for him, he knows something strange is going on. Mickey's one of the best American legal brains in the business, and to switch sides likes this would be akin to asking a fox to guard the hen-house. But the high-profile case of Jason Jessup, a convicted child killer who spent almost 25 years on death row before DNA evidence freed him, is an intriguing one . . .Eager for the publicity and drawn to the challenge, Mickey takes the case, with LAPD Detective Harry Bosch on board as his lead investigator. But as a new trial date is set, it starts to look like he's been set up. Mickey and Harry are going to have to dig deep into the past and find the truth about what really happened to the victim all those years ago in this nail-biting courtroom drama.