Kate Mosse - The Winter Ghosts - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409156406
    • Publication date:23 Oct 2014
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409112297
    • Publication date:15 Oct 2009

The Winter Ghosts

By Kate Mosse
Read by Julian Rhind-Tutt

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A haunting story from the French mountains. Unabridged edition.

March 1928. The Great War has been over for ten years, but Freddie still hasn't recovered from the loss of his brother. Even now, on holiday in south-west France, he cannot escape his grief. When his car crashes, Freddie stumbles down from the hills to a village nearby. There he meets Marie, a beautiful young woman who is also mourning a lost generation.

Her story of the fate of her family moves him deeply. But it will also lead Freddie to the caves above the village - and to the heart of a shocking secret. By turns thrilling, poignant and haunting, this is a story of two lives touched by war and transformed by courage.

Read by Julian Rhind-Tutt

(p) 2009 Orion Publishing Group

Biographical Notes

Kate Mosse is an international bestselling author with sales of more than five million copies in 42 languages. Her fiction includes the novels Labyrinth (2005), Sepulchre (2007), The Winter Ghosts (2009), Citadel (2012), and The Taxidermist's Daughter (2015), as well as an acclaimed collection of short stories, The Mistletoe Bride & Other Haunting Tales (2013).

Kate is the Co-Founder and Chair of the Board of the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (previously the Orange Prize) and in June 2013, was awarded an OBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to literature. She lives in Sussex.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409113270
  • Publication date: 01 Oct 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Mosse's story-telling packs a punch — THE INDEPENDENT
Trapeze

The Bad Mothers' Book Club: Part 3

Keris Stainton
Authors:
Keris Stainton
W&N

A Double Life

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry

HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO TO PROTECT YOUR PRIVILEGED EXISTENCE?A Double Life is a razor-sharp take on privilege, wealth and class - The Secret History meets Big Little Lies and Leïla Slimani's Lullaby.Claire is a hardworking doctor living a simple, quiet life in London. She is also the daughter of the most notorious murder suspect in the country, though no one knows it.Nearly thirty years ago, while Claire and her infant brother slept upstairs, a brutal crime was committed in her family's townhouse. Her father's car was found abandoned near the English Channel the next morning, with bloodstains on the front seat. Her mother insisted she'd seen him in the house that night, but his powerful, privileged friends maintained his innocence. The first Lord accused of murder in more than a century, he has been missing ever since.When the police tell Claire they've found her father, her carefully calibrated existence begins to fracture. She doesn't know if she's the daughter of a murderer or a wronged man, but Claire will soon learn how far she'll go to finally find the truth.Praise for Flynn Berry and her first novel Under the Harrow:'Thrilling' NEW YORK TIMES'Berry transfixes the reader' GUARDIAN'The book's triumph is Nora's voice' THE SUNDAY TIMES'An exquisitely taut and intense debut' WASHINGTON POST'Like Broadchurch written by Elena Ferrante' CLAIRE MESSUD, AUTHOR OF THE WOMAN UPSTAIRS'Compulsively readable' ROSAMUND LUPTON, AUTHOR OF SISTER

Orion

An Italian Summer

Fanny Blake
Authors:
Fanny Blake
Orion

The House of Shadows

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams
Orion

The Last of Us

Harriet Cummings
Authors:
Harriet Cummings

82-year-old Nettie still hears the occasional gossiping, but most have forgotten what she did.Now, living alone in a run-down farmhouse, she surrounds herself with memories of her late husband and estranged daughter Catherine.When Catherine's friend James appears out of the blue, Nettie is grateful for the company and keen to learn more about her daughter.But soon James starts asking Nettie questions she doesn't want to answer; about some things she can't remember and others she's tried to forget.As her memory fails her, how can Nettie be certain she did the terrible things everyone says she did?

Orion

Corkscrew

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester

Flirting in the vineyard, hotting up under the sun, falling for a sexy Frenchman...Jenna Jenkins is in trouble. She's been unceremoniously sacked from her job and it's make or break time with her boyfriend Angus. She needs to get away, so she accepts a summer job at the beautiful Chateau Montmorency in the South of France. Organising the party of the century, dining out with suave Frenchmen and getting tempted among the vines seem all part of a day's work... but is there a secret lurking in the cellars of the glamorous chateau?Caught in a trap she can't talk - or drink - herself out of, she's well and truly corkscrewed. Angus is nowhere to be found when she needs him, but a mysterious benefactor helps her out of her jam. Funny how he seems so familiar though...?This summer grab a glass and head for the South of France for some fun in the vineyards!

Trapeze

The Bad Mothers' Book Club: Part 1

Keris Stainton
Authors:
Keris Stainton
Orion

Spring at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe
Orion

A Planet for the President

Alistair Beaton
Authors:
Alistair Beaton
W&N

Here Comes Trouble

Simon Wroe
Authors:
Simon Wroe

Welcome to Kyrzbekistan, winner of Most Corrupt Country 2011 and 2012. A place where anyone can be happy - as long they aren't poor, ill, foreign, a pedestrian, or in any way interested in the truth. A country that takes fake news and false promises to new levels. Expelled from school, Ellis Dau has been forced to help his father out at the Chronicle, the last bastion of free speech in this strange world. But when the country's power supply fails and dark voices threaten the Chronicle's future, Ellis finds himself in an unlikely fight for freedom.'I loved this rollercoaster of a ride into a corrupt, fictitious country that feels only too hideously real' Deborah Moggach, author of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Trapeze

We Own The Sky

Luke Allnutt
Authors:
Luke Allnutt
Orion

Saturday Bloody Saturday

Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher
Authors:
Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher
Orion

Valentine's Day at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe

Searching for love? You'll find it at The Café at the End of the Pier...*An exclusive free short story and the start of a heartwarming new series.*When Jo's beloved grandparents ask for her help in running their little café at the end of the pier in Salthaven-on-Sea she jumps at the chance. The café is a hub for many people: the single dad who brings his little boy in on a Saturday morning; the lady who sits alone and stares out to sea; the woman who pops in after her morning run.Jo soon realises that each of her customers is looking for love - and she knows just the way to find it for them. She goes about setting each of them up on blind dates - each date is held in the café, with a special menu she has designed for the occasion.But Jo has never found love herself. She always held her grandparents' marriage up as her ideal and she hasn't found anything close to that. But could it be that love is right under her nose...?An exclusive free short story to celebrate the start of a feelgood new series from Kindle bestseller Helen Rolfe.*******Readers love The Café at the End of the Pier:'Brings a smile to your face and a tear to your eye' - Goodreads reviewer'Heartwarming and made me smile... I can't wait to read more' - Goodreads reviewer'Perfectly charming and totally yummy' - Amazon reviewer

W&N

Restless Souls

Dan Sheehan
Authors:
Dan Sheehan

'It never stops being a page-turner . . . a great debut' Colum McCann'A terrific debut novel, bold and wise, each page lit with wit and with feeling' Jonathan Lee'The funniest sad book I've read in a long time . . . A terrific debut from a dynamic new writer' J. Robert LennonTom, Karl and Baz grew up together in down-on-its-luck Dublin. Friends since childhood, their lives diverged when Tom left home to be a war correspondent. Now, after three years embedded in the Siege of Sarajevo, he returns a haunted shell of the lad who went away. Karl and Baz have no idea what they're doing but they are determined to see him through the darkness, even if it means travelling halfway around the world. Hearing about an unlikely cure - an experimental clinic called Restless Souls - they embark on a road trip across California. But as they try to save Tom from his memories, they must confront their own - of what happened to their childhood friend Gabriel. And in doing so, they must ask how their boisterous teenage souls became weighed down, and why life got so damn complicated and sad.

Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
W&N

Under the Harrow

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
Gollancz

13 Minutes

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
Orion

Ghost Flight

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

'Unputdownable!' Sir Ranulph FiennesA murder. A mystery that will change everything.Will Jaeger's family are gone, and they're not coming back.But there's one thing he can fix. His best friend has been found dead, and he's going to catch the monsters that killed him.To do it, Jaeger assembles an expert team of ex-SAS soldiers. They must head deep into the Amazon rainforest. It seems his friend was on the trail of an old Nazi bomber.And someone definitely wants it kept secret. As things go wrong, and Jaeger closes the net on his friend's killer, he comes to realise one thing.Everything is connected. And, for one man, the War never ended . . .A modern, edge-of-your-seat thriller, shrouded in the shadows cast by Nazi Germany. Great for fans of Gregg Hurwitz, James Swallow, and I Am Pilgrim.What readers are saying about BEAR GRYLLS: GHOST FLIGHT:'A gripping thriller set in the darkest of days', Jonathan Ross'Men don't come much tougher than daredevil climber and adventurer, Bear Grylls', SUN'A great adventure, superbly written!' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'If you want a page-turning, action packed adventure story with hints of WWII then look no further', Amazon reviewer, 5 stars'Will resonate with fans of classic spy thrillers', MAIL ON SUNDAY'I loved it from beginning to end, and I can't wait to read what happens next', Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars'Once I finished this one I went straight back & got the next in the Will Jaeger series!', Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Orion

The Taxidermist's Daughter

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse

The enthralling new Sunday Times bestselling gothic novel from the author of THE WINTER GHOSTS, CITADEL and LABYRINTH.The clock strikes twelve. Beneath the wind and the remorseless tolling of the bell, no one can hear the scream . . .1912. A Sussex churchyard. Villagers gather on the night when the ghosts of those who will not survive the coming year are thought to walk. And in the shadows, a woman lies dead. As the flood waters rise, Connie Gifford is marooned in a decaying house with her increasingly tormented father. He drinks to escape the past, but an accident has robbed her of her most significant childhood memories. Until the disturbance at the church awakens fragments of those vanished years . . .

Orion

The Mistletoe Bride and Other Haunting Tales

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse