Ella Griffin - Postcards from the Heart - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409122401
    • Publication date:20 Jan 2011

Postcards from the Heart

By Ella Griffin

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

'A fresh, funny new voice. Ella Griffin can make you laugh and then cry in the turn of a page' MARIAN KEYES

'A fresh, funny new voice. Ella Griffin can make you laugh and then cry in the turn of a page' MARIAN KEYES

Life is looking up for Saffy. She has a great job, a gorgeous flat in the most desirable part of Dublin and - after six years - it looks like her boyfriend, Greg, is going to propose. Greg (just voted the 9th most eligible man in Ireland) is on a high, too - he's about to swap his part as a heart-throb in an Irish soap for a break in Hollywood.

His best mate Conor wakes up every morning with Jess, the most beautiful woman on the planet but, even after seven years and two kids, she won't marry him. He spends his days teaching teenagers and his nights writing the book he hopes will change everything, including Jess's mind.

But their happy endings are playing hard to get. It seems everyone's keeping secrets - one night stands, heartbreak, grief and loss are all in the mix. It's going to take some tough questions and even tougher answers before anyone's being honest - even with themselves.

Biographical Notes

Ella Griffin was born in Dublin. She was an award-winning advertising copywriter before she took the leap into fiction. She has written three novels since 2011. She writes about love and loss and loves making readers laugh and cry (sometimes on the same page.) Ella lives with her husband in County Wicklow in Ireland.

You can find Ella at www.ellagriffin.com, Facebook/EllaGriffinAuthor and @EllaGriffin1

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409120698
  • Publication date: 15 Sep 2011
  • Page count: 432
  • Imprint: Orion
Written with warmth and humour Irish authors appear so good at — Sarah Broadhurst, BOOKSELLER
'A brilliant debut novel' (4 stars) — HEAT
A fresh, funny new voice. Ella Griffin can make you laugh and then cry in the turn of a page. — Marian Keyes
A touching story that reminds us all that love's never as simple as it sounds. — WOMAN
This thrilling story of romance and deceit is too good to put down. — CLOSER
As debut novels go this is one stomping entry into the world of storytelling. Like all good romcoms, Postcards from the Heart is a love story with a twist, but its also got the added element of wit, humour and the odd tear here and there. A fabulous read. — RTE GUIDE
A smart portrayal of four friends' efforts to find a path through the undergrowth of thirtysomething life. — DAILY TELEGRAPH
Following the lives of four thirty-something friends, it has all the elements of great chick-lit: think the humour of Marian Keyes, the warmth of Cathy Kelly, with just a sprinkling of Jackie Collins naughtiness thrown in for good measure. — IRISH INDEPENDENT
Ella Griffin's hugely enjoyable debut ... deftly mixes light and shade, humour and conflict ... like Allison Pearson in I don't know how She Does It, Griffin puts a fresh spin on the having-it-all conundrum of juggling relationships and caring from children and parents with the demands of a career. — IRISH SUNDAY INDEPENDENT
A brilliant read which I found it hard to put down. — SOUTH WALES ARGUS
packed with characters, plot twists and humorous incident ... a journey on which many readers will be happily swept away — IRISH TIMES
'A funny, zany romp through the glitzier side of Dublin' — IRISH EXAMINER
W&N

The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Authors:
Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Orion

The Memory Shop

Ella Griffin
Authors:
Ella Griffin
Trapeze

The After Wife

Cass Hunter
Authors:
Cass Hunter
Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

'Gripping, electrifying, heartbreaking' - Erin Kelly, author of HE SAID / SHE SAID, on TATTLETALEThe new psychological thriller from Sarah J Naughton, author of TATTLETALE, for fans of Clare Mackintosh's LET ME LIE, Cara Hunter's CLOSE TO HOME and Lara Marshall's FRIEND REQUEST*************'Intelligent. Gripping. Colourful. Great setting. Absorbing characters.' - Jane Corry, bestselling author of MY HUSBAND'S WIFE and BLOOD SISTERSIt was meant to be the perfect honeymoon.A five-star resort in paradise.White sands, a private villa and world-class cuisine.A chance for newlyweds Asha and Ollie Graveney to recover from a recent tragedy, and enjoy the holiday of their dreams.Except someone has other plans...And paradise has turned into a nightmare.If you like Clare Mackintosh, BA Paris, Jenny Blackhurst, Rachel Abbott, Laura Marshall, Elle Croft, Cara Hunter or Lisa Jewell then you will be utterly gripped by this dark, twisty tale************* "From the moment Asha and Ollie set off on honeymoon the cracks begin to show, as Naughton skilfully weaves three timelines into a chilling drama... As the tension rose, I turned the pages faster and faster - until the denouement hit me like a juggernaut." - Alison Belsham, author of THE TATTOO THIEF"I am sleep deprived having stayed awake desperate to find out what happened to Asha & Ollie in Vietnam. I wasn't disappointed, this is a very well setup ending, everyone is under suspicion with lots of clever red herrings." - Amazon reviewer, 5 stars Praise for Sarah J. Naughton's Tattletale: 'A perfect example of how a psychological thriller should be written - intricately plotted and full of shocking surprises.' Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me'a fast paced, brilliant page-turner...I predict a hit' Liz Nugent'...deliciously clever - I still haven't stopped thinking about the magnificent, twisted construction of it' Emma Kavanagh, author of THE MISSING HOURS'It's one of the best debuts I've read. It deserves to be MASSIVE.' Julia Crouch'Lies, mystery and murder wrought by childhood trauma in this compulsive, twisty thriller.' Helen Smith, author of BEYOND BELIEF'Like any great mystery, Tattletale would, at every twist, lead me to think I'd put the pieces together - only to turn the puzzle upside down.' Grazia'A twisty thriller that will leave you gasping your way through it as the story twists and turns.' Goodreads'This is a psychological thriller with a twist, and a very twisted heart. This story is what happens when two people from very broken beginnings are brought together. This story is what happens when fear eclipses the need for justice and fairness, when the strong and arrogant prey upon the weak. This book is one which deserves every bit of praise it is undoubtedly going to get.' Goodreads

Orion

You Can Run

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby
W&N

The Woman on the Stairs

Bernhard Schlink
Authors:
Bernhard Schlink
Orion

The Flower Arrangement

Ella Griffin
Authors:
Ella Griffin

Golden peonies bowing their heads beneath blue delphinium bells. Delicate pink anemones threaded between freckled green orchids. Soft apricot roses woven together with velvety purple irises.Every bouquet tells a story.And every story begins at Blossom & Grow, a tiny jewel-like flower shop in the heart of Dublin. Here, among the buckets of fragrant blooms, beneath the flickering candles and lanterns, Lara works her magic. Translating feelings into flower arrangements that change hearts and lives.But what about her own heart? Has she really healed since she lost her chance to be a mother? What will happen when her own story takes a sudden turn?Can the flowers that heal the customers work their magic on the florist?Drawing together a delightful cast of characters, Ella Griffin brings her warmth, wit and wisdom to a captivating tale woven around a Dublin florist.

Orion

A Little Bit of Summer

Ella Griffin
Authors:
Ella Griffin

The stories of three women's lives are tied together as they grapple with the thorny issue of love.Ciara spends her third wedding anniversary alone, wondering if she will ever mend her broken heart.Seven years into a relationship, Katy isn't looking for someone - until he appears.Lara, still getting over a broken marriage, is trying not to fall for a much younger man...For a bouquet of sunshine, romance - and surprises - pick A LITTLE BIT OF SUMMER. The perfect holiday read.

Orion

The Heart Whisperer

Ella Griffin
Authors:
Ella Griffin

Christopher Priest

Christopher Priest's novels have built him an inimitable dual reputation as a contemporary literary novelist and a leading figure in modern SF and fantasy. His novel THE PRESTIGE is unique in winning both a major literary prize (THE JAMES TAIT BLACK AWARD and a major genre prize THE WORLD FANTASY AWARD); THE SEPARATION won both the ARTHUR C. CLARKE and the BRITISH SCIENCE FICTION AWARDS. THE ISLANDERS won both the BSFA and John W. Campbell awards. He was selected for the original BEST OF YOUNG BRITISH NOVELISTS in 1983.

Donna Hay

Donna Hay's first novel, 'Waiting in the Wings', won her the RNA New Writers' Award, and since then she has attracted praise from critics for 'Kiss & Tell', 'Such a Perfect Sister', 'Some Kind of Hero', 'Goodbye, Ruby Tuesday' and 'No Place for a Woman'. She writes regularly for TV TIMES and WHAT'S ON TV magazine. She lives in York with her husband and daughter.

Elise Chidley

Elise Chidley is South African by birth but now lives in Connecticut with her husband and three children. She has written short stories and has been shortlisted for the Nadine Gordimer award and the Ian St James awards.

Elizabeth Haydon

Having travelled the world extensively Elizabeth Haydon now lives on the East coast of America with her family. She is an editor in educational publishing. In her spare time she plays music.

Enrique de Heriz

Enrique de Heriz was born in Barcelona in 1964. He has worked as an editor and translator including translations to Spanish of writers such as Annie Proulx, Nadine Gordimer, Stephen King, Peter Carey, and John Fowles. Travelling, music and the lives of magicians in the Victorian era are his main interests.

Fletcher Pratt

Fletcher Pratt (1897-1956) was an American SF and fantasy author. He worked in collaboration with L. Sprague de Camp on many books, most famously the Harold Shea series.

Gemma Townley

Gemma Townley is the author of five previous novels. Before turning to fiction Gemma worked in magazines. She now lives in London with her husband, Mark, and two children.

H.C. Carlton

Harold Carlton sketched the Paris collections for many years for the Sunday Times, the Observer and other publications including Elle magazine. He worked as assistant designer for two Paris maisons de couture, Nina Ricci and Courreges. Subsequently he illustrated Mademoiselle magazine and the New York Times and wrote for the Village Voice. He returned to London to become Menswear Editor of the Sunday Times. He is the author of Labels, which sold more than 1 million copies Stateside.

Holly Lisle

Holly Lisle lives and works in the USA - she is the author of a number of successful fantasy novels and has collaborated with many household names.

Jean Fullerton

Jean Fullerton is the author of seven historical novels. She is a qualified District and Queen's nurse who has spent most of her working life in the East End of London, first as a Sister in charge of a team, and then as a District Nurse tutor. She is also a qualified teacher and spent twelve years lecturing on community nursing studies at a London university. She now writes full-time. Find out more at www.jeanfullerton.com

Jenny White

Jenny White is a tenured professor of anthropology at Boston University, specializing in Turkish studies. She's written monographs on 20th-century politics and has been studying the Islamic party that recently won the elections in Turkey. Her book on that party became required reading in the State Department.