Steve Hamilton - Night Work - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752893891
    • Publication date:05 Feb 2009

Night Work

By Steve Hamilton

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A superb stand-alone thriller from Edgar Award-winning author Steve Hamilton

A superb stand-alone thriller from Edgar Award-winning author Steve Hamilton

Joe Trumble is a probation officer with a tragedy in his past. Two years ago his fiancée Laurel was brutally killed three days before their wedding. No one has yet been caught. As the story opens, Joe is heading for a blind date with Marlene, a jewellery designer, his first encounter with a woman since Laurel's death.

The evening is a success, but the next day Marlene is reported missing. Two days later her body is found. As the last person to see her alive, Joe is at the very least a material witness and, as the evidence mounts and another body is found, suspicion begins to centre on him.

Biographical Notes

Born and raised in the Detroit area, Steve Hamilton lives in upstate New York with his wife and two children. He is a winner of the prestigious EDGAR AWARD. Visit his website: www.authorstevehamilton.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409131250
  • Publication date: 26 Aug 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Bad News

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

The explosive and hilarious final book in the Zack Walker series from bestselling author and master of the thriller Linwood Barclay.Metropolitan newspaper writer Zack Walker has a knack for stumbling onto deadly stories. But it's one that his good friend Trixie Snelling doesn't want told that's about to unleash a storm of trouble. As a professional dominatrix in the suburbs, Trixie has her share of secrets, but Zack has no idea what she's really hiding when a local newspaperman threatens to do an exposé on her - not until Zack finds a dead body strapped to the bondage cross in her basement dungeon.Now Zack is implicated in a murder, Trixie is missing, and everything he thought he knew about his friend, his town, even his own marriage, reveals a darker side. Zack's twisted trail to the truth will lead to a long-unsolved triple homicide, bikers, drug wars, and a stone-cold killer hell-bent on revenge. It's a story that's already cost him his job and possibly his wife, and, if Zack's not very lucky, it will cost him his life.

Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Bad Luck

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Zack Walker, the most unlikely of detectives, faces a new mystery to unravel in this brilliantly funny crime thriller from bestselling author Linwood Barclay.Newspaper writer, family man, and reluctant hero Zack Walker has stumbled onto some dicey stories before, but nothing like what he's about to uncover when a mutilated corpse is found at his father's lakeside fishing camp. As always, Zack fears the worst. And this time, his paranoid worldview is dead-on.While the locals attribute the death to a bear attack, Zack suspects something far more ominous-a predator whose weapons include arson, assault, and enough wacko beliefs to fuel a dozen hate groups. Then another body is discovered and a large supply of fertilizer goes missing, evoking memories of the Oklahoma City bombing. But it's when he learns that his neighbor is a classic Lone Wolf-FBI parlance for a solo fanatic hell-bent on using high body counts to make political statements-that Zack realizes the idyllic town of his childhood is under siege. The fuse is lit to a catastrophe of unimaginable terror. And with time running out, Zack must face off with a madman.

Orion

Bad Guys

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
W&N

The Child Finder

Rene Denfeld
Authors:
Rene Denfeld
Orion

Bad Move

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Paranoia-fuelled Zack Walker has trouble convincing his loved ones to obey his rules for keeping them out of harm's way. He's even uprooted his family and headed for the tranquillity of the suburbs. But then Zack stumbles upon a body, and a trail of deceit and murder leads right back to his own front door. Suddenly, the 'burbs is not looking nearly so safe... With a killer roaming around their neighbourhood and Zack's overactive imagination in overdrive, he's sure things can't get any worse. But then another local is murdered - and Zack's paranoid tendencies get him implicated in the crime. To protect his family - and avoid being busted for a crime he didn't commit - he's going to have to override his instincts, and track down the killer himself.

Orion

The Late Show

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

Rebus Anniversary Box Set

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

A must for collectors, this beautifully designed box set of KNOTS AND CROSSES, BLACK AND BLUE and EXIT MUSIC is a must for existing fans and newcomers to No.1 bestselling author Ian Rankin's Inspector Rebus novels. 'One of the most beguiling characters in the history of crime fiction' The Times Year 1: KNOTS AND CROSSES - the novel which first introduced John Rebus. Year 10: BLACK AND BLUE - the breakthrough novel, winner of the CWA Gold Dagger.Year 20: EXIT MUSIC - where Rebus retires... but will he ever be able to leave it all behind?'Rankin is a phenomenon . . .They call his work crime fiction, but the adjective is superfluous ... these novels are totally absorbing' Allan Massie, Spectator

Trapeze

Little Sister

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown

The gripping ebook bestseller. You trusted your sister... you shouldn't have.After sixteen years apart sisters Jessica and Emily are reunited. With the past now behind them, the warmth they once shared quickly returns and before long Jess has moved into Emily's comfortable island home. Life couldn't be better. But when baby Daisy disappears while in Jess's care, the perfect life Emily has so carefully built starts to fall apart.Was Emily right to trust her sister after everything that happened before?*********Fans of Rachel Abbott, Mark Edwards and Robert Dugoni will be gripped by this page-turning psychological thriller, guaranteed to keep you reading late into the night.'A missing baby girl, a marriage ravaged by mistrust, a sibling rivalry with a very dark heart: LITTLE SISTER had me gripped from start to finish.' Louise Candlish, author of THE SWIMMING POOL'A thoughtful, multi-layered and beautifully-written exploration of family dynamics with a dark mystery at its heart.' Tammy Cohen (Rachel Rhys), author of A DANGEROUS CROSSING 'A brilliant twisty and compelling story about family secrets and betrayal that draws you in right from the first page.' Sam Carrington, author of SAVING SOPHIE'Kept me up three nights in a row, I was desperate to race to the end but gutted to finish it.' Holly Seddon, author of DON'T CLOSE YOUR EYES'This thriller doesn't hesitate to pull you into the twisted world of family secrets and sibling rivalry. A great story with characters that just leap off the page and a thoroughly satisfying ending.' Katerina Diamond, author of THE TEACHER

Orion

Parting Shot

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

A gripping thriller packed with scandal in a small town, from the master of the twist you never saw coming - international bestseller, Linwood Barclay.When a young girl from Promise Falls is killed by a drunk driver, the community wants answers.It doesn't matter that the accused is a kid himself: all they see is that he took a life and got an easy sentence. As pack mentality kicks in and social media outrage builds, vicious threats are made against the boy and his family.When Cal Weaver is called in to investigate, he finds himself caught up in a cold-blooded revenge plot. Someone in the town is threatening to put right some wrongs...And in Cal's experience, it's only ever a matter of time before threats turn into action.

Trapeze

Ragdoll

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole

THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLERTHE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER'Superb thriller writing.' Peter Robinson'A brilliant, breathless thriller' M.J. Arlidge'A high concept solution to a mystery' Sophie HannahA body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together, nicknamed by the press as the 'Ragdoll'. Assigned to the shocking case are Detective William 'Wolf' Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Detective Emily Baxter.The 'Ragdoll Killer' taunts the police by releasing a list of names to the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them. With six people to save, can Fawkes and Baxter catch a killer when the world is watching their every move?Watch out for the next book in the Ragdoll Book crime thriller series Hangman

Orion

Framed

Ronnie O'Sullivan
Authors:
Ronnie O'Sullivan
Orion

The Four Legendary Kingdoms

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Orion

The Wrong Side of Goodbye

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Only Harry Bosch can uncover LA's darkest secrets in this new gripping thriller from global bestseller Michael Connelly.'What do you want me to do?' Bosch asked again.'I want you to find someone for me,' Vance said. 'Someone who might not have ever existed.'Harry Bosch is working as a part-time detective in the town of San Fernando outside of Los Angeles, when he gets the invitation to meet with the ageing aviation billionaire Whitney Vance. When he was eighteen Vance had a relationship with a Mexican girl called Vibiana Duarte, but soon after becoming pregnant she disappeared.Now, as he reaches the end of his life, Vance wants to know what happened to Vibiana and whether there is an heir to his vast fortune. And Bosch is the only person he trusts to undertake the assignment.Harry's aware that with such sums of money involved, this could be a dangerous undertaking - not just for himself, but for the person he's looking for - but as he begins to uncover Vibiana's tragic story, and finds uncanny links to his own past, he knows he cannot rest until he finds the truth.

Orion

The Twenty-Three

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Gollancz

13 Minutes

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough
Orion

No Safe House

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion

Still Midnight

Denise Mina
Authors:
Denise Mina

A brutal attack. A mysterious demand for money. An unexpected kidnap... A superb novel from the two-time winner of the THEAKSTONS OLD PECULIER CRIME NOVEL OF THE YEAR AWARD.It's a peaceful Sunday evening in suburban Glasgow until a battered van pulls up to one home and disgorges a group of armed men in balaclavas. They smash into the house and hold the family at gunpoint and demand millions of pounds. Baffled, the assembled people protest that they don't have access to that sort of money. The attackers kidnap the elderly grandfather and storm off into the night.Now senior policewoman Alex Morrow has been summoned to investigate the case. But there are so many mysteries. Who were the men? And why did they think a normal household concealed untold riches? The family is certainly not talking. But as she starts to delve deeper, she realises that there are dark secrets all around...

Orion

Let It Burn

Steve Hamilton
Authors:
Steve Hamilton
Orion

The Naming Of The Dead

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin