James M. Cain - Serenade - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780220208
    • Publication date:23 Jun 2011

Serenade

By James M. Cain

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'Cain has established a formidable reputation of furious pace, harsh and masterful realism, tough, raw speech right out of the mouths of the people' SATURDAY REVIEW

'Cain has established a formidable reputation of furious pace, harsh and masterful realism, tough, raw speech right out of the mouths of the people' SATURDAY REVIEW

Serenade is the story of the eternal triangle - with a difference. John Howard Sharp is an American opera singer down on his luck, having just bombed in Rigoletto in Mexico City when he first encounters the beautiful Mexican-Indian prostitute called Juana. Miraculously, she offers him the chance to rebuild his career in Hollywood and New York but then Winston Hawes, the young, rich and well-connected conductor who had first launched Sharp, comes back into his life with terrible consequences.

Biographical Notes

James M. Cain was born in Annapolis, Maryland, in 1892. Having served in the US Army in World War 1, he became a journalist in Baltimore and New York in the 1920's. He later worked as a screenwriter in Hollywood. Cain died in 1977

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409132400
  • Publication date: 09 Sep 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
Orion

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato

When Katharine is found dead at the foot of her stairs, it is the mystery of her life which consumes daughter, Laura.The medical examiner's report, in which precious parts of Katharine's body are weighed and categorized, motivates Laura to write her own version of events. To bear witness to the unbearable blank space between each itemized entry.What emerges is a picture of life lived in the shadows, as well as an attempt to discover how and why her mother died. To make sense of her own grief Laura must piece her mother's body back together and in doing so, she is forced to confront a woman silenced by her own mother and wronged by her husband. A woman who felt shackled by motherhood and unable to love freely.With the heart of a memoir and the pace of a thriller, An Unremarkable Body reveals the overwhelming desire of those who mourn to protest that an unremarkable body does not mean an unremarkable life.(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
W&N

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

Eliza Altairsky-Lointaine is the toast of Moscow society, a beautiful actress in an infamous theatre troupe. Her love life is a colourful as the parts she plays. She is the estranged wife of a descendant of Genghis Khan. And her ex-husband has threatened to kill anyone who courts her.He appears to be making good on his promise.Fandorin is contacted by concerned friend - the widowed wife of Chekhov - who asks him to investigate an alarming incident involving Eliza. But when he watches Eliza on stage for the first time, he falls desperately in love . . . Can he solve the case - and win over Eliza - without attracting the attentions of the murderer he is trying to find?

Gollancz

Rhyming Rings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

David Gemmell was the UK's number one fantasy and historical novelist until his death in 2006. A regular Sunday Times bestseller, and international sensation, his legacy lives on through his novels, his influence on the genre, and through the David Gemmell Legend awards.Rhyming Rings is a never-before-seen Gemmell novel. An ambidextrous killer is raping and murdering women, leaving virtually no evidence behind, and struggling journalist Jeremy Miller wishes he was covering the case. Instead, he's stuck with heart-warming local stories about paraplegic teenagers and elderly psychic ladies. So when his stories and the murder case start to converge no one is more surprised than Jeremy.Or, it turns out, more at risk.

Trapeze

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman
W&N

IQ

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
Orion

I, The Jury

Mickey Spillane
Authors:
Mickey Spillane
Orion

The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley

Even ghosts have secrets... Two deaths, ten years apart, give Flavia de Luce the distraction she needs at a time when her family are more remote and dysfunctional than ever. Especially when a bizarre series of deadly events is casting a long shadow over everyone at Buckshaw.For Flavia, a gruesome crime to solve is only one of the mysteries confronting her, as she begins to unravel the shocking revelations surrounding the mysterious disappearance of her mother. And as she starts putting the clues together, she discovers an extraordinary tale of espionage and betrayal that may also be the key to her own destiny.Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries: 'The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite' Mail on Sunday 'A cross between Dodie Smith's I Capture The Castle and the Addams family...delightfully entertaining' Guardian Fans of M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries: 1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie 2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag 3. A Red Herring Without Mustard 4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows 5. Speaking From Among the Bones 6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches 7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust 8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd 9. The Grave's a Fine and Private Place If you're looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries. * Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *

Orion

The Black Echo

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

LAPD detective Harry Bosch is a loner and a nighthawk. One Sunday he gets a call-out on his pager. A body has been found in a drainage tunnel off Mulholland Drive, Hollywood. At first sight, it looks like a routine drugs overdose case, but the one new puncture wound amid the scars of old tracks leaves Bosch unconvinced.To make matters worse, Harry Bosch recognises the victim. Billy Meadows was a fellow 'tunnel rat' in Vietnam, running against the VC and the fear they all used to call the Black Echo. Bosch believes he let down Billy Meadows once before, so now he is determined to bring the killer to justice.

Orion

The Watcher

Charlotte Link
Authors:
Charlotte Link

An atmospheric crime novel from the multi-million-copy bestselling Charlotte Link.Carla Roberts lives alone in a high-rise in Hackney. The lift keeps stopping on her floor, but nobody gets out. Days later, she's found brutally murdered.Samson Segal has taken to spying on his neighbours, particularly beautiful and successful Gillian Ward. And when Gillian's daughter finds herself locked out the house, Samson takes her in. But her lack of appreciation makes him angry, and he vents to his diary, unaware that his sister-in-law cracked his password long ago...When Gillian's husband is murdered, Samson finds himself under intense scrutiny. And the only man making any progress on the case shouldn't be working on it. Yet he's the only one who believes Samson is innocent...

The Murder Room

Miami Blues

Charles Willeford
Authors:
Charles Willeford
Orion

Rage Against the Dying

Becky Masterman
Authors:
Becky Masterman
Orion

Dead Over Heels

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Orion

A Fool and His Honey

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris

The Aurora Teagarden mystery series - from the bestselling author of the TRUE BLOOD novels.Roe Teagarden's life finally seems to have settled into a comfortable pattern. Her marriage to Martin is going well, she's back at work at the Lawrenceton library - and she hasn't found a dead body in quite a while. But then one afternoon her handyman goes crazy in her side yard and Roe suspects this is a sign of bad things to come. She's soon proved right as Martin's niece, Regina, shows up with a baby that nobody knew she had. Then she disappears, leaving behind the child - and a murdered husband. To find her, Roe and Martin retrace her steps from sunny Georgia back to snowy Ohio, where they find a nest of dark family secrets. Secrets which put them in peril ...

Orion

A Bone to Pick

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
Orion

Real Murders

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris
W&N

The Honey Guide

Richard Crompton
Authors:
Richard Crompton
W&N

Raylan

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
Orion

Demolition Angel

Robert Crais
Authors:
Robert Crais
Gollancz

Crimes by Moonlight

Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Charlaine Harris