James M. Cain - Serenade - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780220208
    • Publication date:23 Jun 2011

Serenade

By James M. Cain

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'Cain has established a formidable reputation of furious pace, harsh and masterful realism, tough, raw speech right out of the mouths of the people' SATURDAY REVIEW

'Cain has established a formidable reputation of furious pace, harsh and masterful realism, tough, raw speech right out of the mouths of the people' SATURDAY REVIEW

Serenade is the story of the eternal triangle - with a difference. John Howard Sharp is an American opera singer down on his luck, having just bombed in Rigoletto in Mexico City when he first encounters the beautiful Mexican-Indian prostitute called Juana. Miraculously, she offers him the chance to rebuild his career in Hollywood and New York but then Winston Hawes, the young, rich and well-connected conductor who had first launched Sharp, comes back into his life with terrible consequences.

Biographical Notes

James M. Cain was born in Annapolis, Maryland, in 1892. Having served in the US Army in World War 1, he became a journalist in Baltimore and New York in the 1920's. He later worked as a screenwriter in Hollywood. Cain died in 1977

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409132400
  • Publication date: 09 Sep 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
W&N

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide

Isaiah Quintabe has, against many odds, built a proper life for himself: a respected detective in his hometown of East Long Beach, a well-kept home, a growing library, and even a rehabilitated horse-sized pit bull (courtesy of his previous client). But something is wrong: the death of his older brother nearly a decade ago has sent him down a dark path, one that he's never truly been able to escape. RIGHTEOUS is the story of Isaiah's investigation of his brother's death, a quest that will lead him to his greatest adversary, a man who may be IQ's own Moriarty.RIGHTEOUS is also the story of Sarita, Isaiah's older brother's girlfriend, for whom Isaiah feels a lasting, troubling love. Sarita's younger sister, an erratic DJ and gambling addict, has gone missing in Las Vegas, with a frightening bookie, Chinese Triad gangsters, and her own deadbeat boyfriend hot on her tail.On the case once more with Dodson, Isaiah's fast-talking, don't-call-me-a-sidekick partner, mayhem is sure to ensue. With gun battles, car chases, and twice as many mental puzzles as before, RIGHTEOUS is a rollicking, ingenious, and thrilling roller coaster ride. It swerves from the streets of South Central to the hotels of Beverly Hills, from the casinos and massage parlors of Las Vegas to the mountains of the desert Southwest.

Orion

Thin Air

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver

The Himalayas, 1935.Kangchenjunga. Third-highest peak on earth. Greatest killer of them all.Five Englishmen set off from Darjeeling, determined to conquer the sacred summit. But courage can only take them so far - and the mountain is not their only foe.As the wind dies, the dread grows. Mountain sickness. The horrors of extreme altitude. A past that will not stay buried.And sometimes, the truth does not set you free.

W&N

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
W&N

Dinner at the Centre of the Earth

Nathan Englander
Authors:
Nathan Englander
Trapeze

The Devil's Claw

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman
Orion

You Don't Know Me

Brooke Magnanti
Authors:
Brooke Magnanti

'Hugely impressive . . . Brooke writes the kind of women we want to see in crime fiction' Russel McLeanA body is found and questions must be answered - the conspiracy runs right to the top . . .Miri Goldstein was a call girl with connections to powerful men. Now that she's dead, some can breathe more easily. But the grave is not always good at keeping secrets. As the media dig into Miri's past, her old friend Denise worries that her own will rise to the surface. Meanwhile in Scotland, controversial forensic pathologist Harriet Hitchin is put in a bind when the body turns up on her patch. Police think they have their killer but Harriet is certain they made a mistake. If she's wrong, it will end her career. If she's right it could cost her life.The case will play games with all who come near and force them to ask - how many of us are living a lie? With taut pace and a twisted sense of humour, You Don't Know Me is a sexy thriller from someone who knows exactly what it means to live a double life.

Orion

Caring for the Dying

Henry Fersko-Weiss
Authors:
Henry Fersko-Weiss
Orion

The Forever House

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Gollancz

Rhyming Rings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
W&N

Don't Let Go

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi

Picture the scene - an idyllic resort on the island of Réunion. Martial and Liane Bellion are enjoying the perfect moment with their six-year-old daughter. Turquoise skies, clear water, palm trees, a warm breeze...Then Liane Bellion disappears. She went up to her hotel room between 3 and 4pm and never came back. When the room is opened, it is empty, but there is blood everywhere. An employee of the hotel claims to have seen Martial in the corridor during that crucial hour.Then Martial also disappears, along with his daughter. An all-out manhunt is declared across the island. But is Martial really his wife's killer? And if he isn't, why does he appear to be so guilty?

Trapeze

Little Sister

Isabel Ashdown
Authors:
Isabel Ashdown

After sixteen years apart sisters Jessica and Emily are reunited. With the past now behind them, the warmth they once shared quickly returns and before long Jess has moved into Emily's comfortable island home. Life couldn't be better. But when baby Daisy disappears while in Jess's care, the perfect life Emily has so carefully built starts to fall apart.Was Emily right to trust her sister after everything that happened before?*********'A missing baby girl, a marriage ravaged by mistrust, a sibling rivalry with a very dark heart: LITTLE SISTER had me gripped from start to finish.' Louise Candlish, author of THE SWIMMING POOL'A thoughtful, multi-layered and beautifully-written exploration of family dynamics with a dark mystery at its heart.' Tammy Cohen (Rachel Rhys), author of A DANGEROUS CROSSING 'A brilliant twisty and compelling story about family secrets and betrayal that draws you in right from the first page.' Sam Carrington, author of SAVING SOPHIE'Kept me up three nights in a row, I was desperate to race to the end but gutted to finish it.' Holly Seddon, author of DON'T CLOSE YOUR EYES'This thriller doesn't hesitate to pull you into the twisted world of family secrets and sibling rivalry. A great story with characters that just leap off the page and a thoroughly satisfying ending.' Katerina Diamond, author of THE TEACHER

Trapeze

Too Young to be a Mum

Maggie Hartley
Authors:
Maggie Hartley
Orion

Parting Shot

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

A gripping thriller packed with scandal in a small town, from the master of the twist you never saw coming - international bestseller, Linwood Barclay.When a young girl from Promise Falls is killed by a drunk driver, the community wants answers.It doesn't matter that the accused is a kid himself: all they see is that he took a life and got an easy sentence. As pack mentality kicks in and social media outrage builds, vicious threats are made against the boy and his family.When Cal Weaver is called in to investigate, he finds himself caught up in a cold-blooded revenge plot. Someone in the town is threatening to put right some wrongs...And in Cal's experience, it's only ever a matter of time before threats turn into action.

Orion

Don't Look For Me

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross

'Mason Cross is a thriller writer for the future who produces the kind of fast-paced, high octane thrillers that I love to read.' Simon Kernick'Terrific stuff!' Ian RankinDon't look for me.It was a simple instruction. And for six long years Carter Blake kept his word and didn't search for the woman he once loved. But now someone else is looking for her.He'll come for you.Trenton Gage is a hitman with a talent for finding people - dead or alive. His next job is to track down a woman who's on the run, who is harbouring a secret many will kill for.Both men are hunting the same person. The question is, who will find her first?Mason Cross, author of THE SAMARITAN, a Richard & Judy Book Club pick, returns with his gripping new thriller - perfect for fans of David Baldacci, Linwood Barclay and Mark Billingham.

Orion

Lovemurder

Saul Black
Authors:
Saul Black

Orion

The Twenty-Three

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

The final book in the Promise Falls trilogy, The Twenty-Three is a pulse-pounding, race-against-time thriller. The day begins like any other Saturday - a shower, coffee, breakfast. But suddenly, all hell breaks loose in the town of Promise Falls. People are dying in the street - the hospital and emergency services are overwhelmed by sheer numbers. Is it mass food poisoning, a virus, or something more sinister? Has someone, rather than something, caused this?Detective Barry Duckworth is already investigating two murders and an explosion at the town's drive-in. He starts to wonder if these crimes and the new attacks are connected to the mysterious incidents in Promise Falls involving the number twenty-three. But who is sending these deadly messages, and how can they be stopped?

Orion

The Deepest Grave

Harry Bingham
Authors:
Harry Bingham

Orion

Rather Be the Devil

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

Some cases never leave you.For John Rebus, forty years may have passed, but the death of beautiful, promiscuous Maria Turquand still preys on his mind. Murdered in her hotel room on the night a famous rock star and his entourage were staying there, Maria's killer has never been found.Meanwhile, the dark heart of Edinburgh remains up for grabs. A young pretender, Darryl Christie, may have staked his claim, but a vicious attack leaves him weakened and vulnerable, and an inquiry into a major money laundering scheme threatens his position. Has old-time crime boss Big Ger Cafferty really given up the ghost, or is he biding his time until Edinburgh is once more ripe for the picking?In a tale of twisted power, deep-rooted corruption and bitter rivalries, Rather Be the Devil showcases Rankin and Rebus at their unstoppable best.

Gollancz

The Hanging Tree

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Orion

The Wrong Side of Goodbye

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Only Harry Bosch can uncover LA's darkest secrets in this new gripping thriller from global bestseller Michael Connelly.'What do you want me to do?' Bosch asked again.'I want you to find someone for me,' Vance said. 'Someone who might not have ever existed.'Harry Bosch is working as a part-time detective in the town of San Fernando outside of Los Angeles, when he gets the invitation to meet with the ageing aviation billionaire Whitney Vance. When he was eighteen Vance had a relationship with a Mexican girl called Vibiana Duarte, but soon after becoming pregnant she disappeared.Now, as he reaches the end of his life, Vance wants to know what happened to Vibiana and whether there is an heir to his vast fortune. And Bosch is the only person he trusts to undertake the assignment.Harry's aware that with such sums of money involved, this could be a dangerous undertaking - not just for himself, but for the person he's looking for - but as he begins to uncover Vibiana's tragic story, and finds uncanny links to his own past, he knows he cannot rest until he finds the truth.