John Connor - The Ice House - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409133681
    • Publication date:18 Jun 2015

The Ice House

By John Connor

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Adrenaline-fuelled pace, deadly secrets and a mother's desperate search for her missing child, John Connor returns with his gripping new thriller.

A taut and twisty thriller about a mother's secrets and the desperate search for her missing daughter - perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, J.B. Turner, Mark Dawson, and Tony Parsons.

*

Her mother's lies brought her here.

Rebecca's mother, Julia, warned her daughter to be careful.

She told her not to freeze, that if she sees someone coming for her, she should run. Julia learnt that rule the hard way.

When her daughter disappears, it seems the lessons of her past have come back to haunt her.

Now, she must find Rebecca - before anybody else does.

*

Praise for John Connor


'A first-rate thriller with a terrific climax' Sunday Telegraph

'His plot is enthralling,his characters sharp and vital' Financial Times

'He's created a beguilingly complex character, perfectly suited to his taut thrillers' Mirror

'John Connor drives his complex tale of secrecy and betrayal along at a cracking pace' Irish Independent

'The police procedural novel is given the kind of spruce up it has been in need of for some time' Daily Express

Biographical Notes

John Connor left his job as a barrister to write full time. During the fifteen years of his legal career he prosecuted numerous homicide cases in West Yorkshire and London. He advised the police in numerous proactive drugs and organised crime operations, many involving covert activity. He now lives in Brussels with his wife and two children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409136156
  • Publication date: 02 Jun 2016
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Inspection

Josh Malerman
Authors:
Josh Malerman

Orion

The Opposite of Mercy

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Trapeze

Dark Sky Island

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman
Trapeze

The Woman Inside

E. G. Scott
Authors:
E. G. Scott
Orion

Narrowing the Field

A.P. McCoy
Authors:
A.P. McCoy
Orion

The Prophecy of Bees

R.S. Pateman
Authors:
R.S. Pateman
Orion

The Daughter's Secret

Eva Holland
Authors:
Eva Holland

A pupil. A teacher. A mother's worst nightmare An addictive novel of psychological suspense. A gripping crime thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies and Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard.My daughter is a liar. A liar, liar, liar. And I'm starting to see where she gets it from.When Rosalind's fifteen-year-old daughter, Stephanie, ran away with her teacher, this ordinary family became something it had never asked to be. Their lives held up to scrutiny in the centre of a major police investigation, the Simms were headline news while Stephanie was missing with a man who was risking everything.Now, six years on, Ros takes a call that will change their lives all over again. He's going to be released from prison. Years too early. In eleven days' time.As Temperley's release creeps ever closer, Ros is forced to confront the events that led them here, back to a place she thought she'd left behind, to questions she didn't want to answer. Why did she do it? Where does the blame lie? What happens next?Readers love this gripping psychological thriller:'Unputdownable''Compelling' 'Leaves its mark' 'Tense and emotionally charged'

W&N

Jemima Shore at the Sunny Grave

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
Orion

Robert Ludlum's The Janson Equation

Robert Ludlum, Douglas Corleone
Authors:
Robert Ludlum, Douglas Corleone
Orion

The Samaritan

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
W&N

And Sometimes I Wonder About You

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

IN NEW YORK, IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM NO ONE ELSE CAN SOLVE, YOU CALL LEONID McGILL Ex-boxer, hard drinker, in a business that trades in cash and favours, McGill's an old-school P.I. working a city that's got fancy all around him. When McGill is approached by a small-time office manager to track down his long lost cousin, he declines the case. He can almost smell the desperation on the man. But then McGill's office is broken into, and his potential client is found dead. Soon, McGill finds himself drawn into the underbelly of an establishment family, and a Pandora's box of secrets and lies. Taking you from the moneyed haunts of Uptown to the shady streets of Downtown, Mosley is the Chandler of Obama's America, and one of the finest crime writers in the world.

W&N

Woman of the Dead

Bernhard Aichner
Authors:
Bernhard Aichner
W&N

Your Royal Hostage

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

'We don't want to hurt her. We must remember that. All of us. She is after all innocent ... Well, isn't she?'As preparations for the royal wedding advance, a secret organisation is formulating plans that will have dangerous consequences. They need a gesture that will call attention to the rights and wrongs of those who have no voice of their own. And what better way than to target the royal bride?Meanwhile, Jemima Shore is grappling with the royal wedding in her own way - as a commentator. So she happens to be on hand when things go badly wrong...

Orion

Fear the Darkness

Becky Masterman
Authors:
Becky Masterman

Brigid Quinn has been shot at, stabbed in the spleen with a nail file and used as serial-killer bait. But she's always been able to trust her instincts and her FBI-training to help her out of danger.Now, retired from the Bureau and investigating the tragic death of a neighbour's teenage son, Brigid starts to suffer unexplained bouts of paranoia, hallucination and memory loss. And for the first time in her life, she feels vulnerable.But with a mass poisoning at the church, a dead man found in town and a grieving family convinced their son's death wasn't an accident, Brigid needs to put the pieces together - fast. Because evil has entered her life once more, and it's much closer than she thinks . . .

W&N

Oxford Blood

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

Lord Saffron, one of the young bloods at Oxford University, is heir to a considerable fortune. But while making a documentary about the exotic lifestyles of the university's over-privileged set, Jemima Shore discovers that this handsome young man, with his lavish dances and sumptuous weekend parties, is not quite what he seems. And when a student is murdered and a series of attempts are made on Saffron's life, Jemima realises that she has started a terrible chain of events...

Orion

Cold Cold Heart

Tami Hoag
Authors:
Tami Hoag

In COLD COLD HEART, Tami Hoag - the Sunday Times bestselling author of A THIN DARK LINE - with the gripping follow-up to THE 9TH GIRL. Dana Nolan has escaped from notorious serial killer Doc Holliday. But can she ever be safe?She was the only one to make it out alive.Dana Nolan was a promising young TV reporter until she was kidnapped by a notorious serial killer. A year has passed since she survived the ordeal, but Dana is still physically, emotionally, and psychologically scarred.She thought it was over. In an attempt to put herself back together, Dana returns to her hometown. But it doesn't provide the comfort she expects: she struggles to recognize family and childhood friends and begins experiencing dark flashbacks. But she's not sure if they're truly memories or side effects of her brain injury.She was wrong.Dana decides to use her investigative skills to piece together her past and the event that made her become a reporter in the first place: the disappearance of her best friend, Casey Grant, the summer after high school graduation.But now, old friends seem to be suspects, authority figures part of a cover-up. Dana begins to question everything she knows. And is the truth really something too terrible to be believed?New York Times bestseller Tami Hoag takes the reader behind the picket fences of small-town America, she finds the most gruesome killers and twisted predators. Gripping to the end, and full of tension and suspense.

W&N

Cool Repentance

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

An atmospheric and gripping mystery from Lady Antonia Fraser's Jemima Shore series.'Was that what you thought - that you would come back, come back here to beautiful Lark, and get away with it, did you expect that? I can hardly believe it, even of you...'A series of murders have shocked the sleepy, rural village of Lark. The deaths all coincide with the reappearance of actress Christabel Herriot - it is clear that someone has decided her return is not to be tolerated.Amidst the gossip surrounding her reckless affair, Christabel decides to resume her theatrical career, joining a company performing at the Larminster Festival. Jemima Shore has been asked to present a programme on the Festival, so when it becomes clear that Christabel's life is in serious danger, Jemima is on the case again.

Orion

Watcher in the Shadows

Geoffrey Household
Authors:
Geoffrey Household
W&N

Quiet as a Nun

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

One of Lady Antonia Fraser's gripping Jemima Shore mysteries, set in a secluded nunnery.'I lit the candle and began rather gingerly to climb up the ladder. Then I heard a distinct sound above my head. A scrape on the floor, an irregular jarring on the floor above my head, like something rocking . . .'A nun is dead - her emaciated corpse has been discovered locked in the tower of Blessed Eleanor's Convent. The tragic consequence of a neurotic young woman committing to a life of isolation and piety, the inquest concludes. But this young woman held unusual power over the convent - power she was planning to use.Jemima Shore tries to keep her distance from the case, but when her lover cancels their holiday she finds herself reluctantly getting involved. A violent attack in the dead of night and another death convinces her that the convent is not the haven of peace it appears to be. Suspicion and fear hang heavy in the air but how do you solve a murder no-one will admit happened?

Orion

A Child's Game

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor