Simon Kuper - Ajax, The Dutch, The War - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409136477
    • Publication date:21 Jul 2011

Ajax, The Dutch, The War

Football in Europe During the Second World War

By Simon Kuper

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The Holocaust, Dutch football and World War II - from the bestselling author of the award-winning FOOTBALL AGAINST THE ENEMY. Updated with a new afterword.

The Holocaust, Dutch football and World War II - from the bestselling author of the award-winning FOOTBALL AGAINST THE ENEMY.

In FOOTBALL AGAINST THE ENEMY Simon Kuper crossed the globe in search of the links between football, politics and culture. In AJAX, THE DUTCH, THE WAR he skilfully pieces together an alternative account of World War II. He looks at the lives of the footballers who played for the Dutch club, the officials and the ordinary fans during this tumultuous period and challenges the accepted notion of the War in occupied Europe. With almost 80 per cent of Amsterdam's Jewish Corner wiped out during the war, the long-held belief that, by and large, half the Dutch population had some kind of link to the Resistance has, of late, come into question.

Kuper explores this issue and looks deeper into the role of football across Europe in the years both preceding and following the War. The result is a compelling and controversial account of the War, seen through the lens of football.

Biographical Notes

Simon Kuper's first book, FOOTBALL AGAINST THE ENEMY, won the WILLIAM HILL SPORTS BOOK OF THE YEAR in 1994, and went on to become an international bestseller. Born in Uganda in 1969, he spent most of his childhood in Holland. He is a sports columnist for the FINANCIAL TIMES.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409137863
  • Publication date: 21 Jul 2011
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
W&N

Building the Yellow Wall

Uli Hesse
Authors:
Uli Hesse
W&N

Welcome to Hell?

John McManus
Authors:
John McManus
W&N

The Reader

Bernhard Schlink
Authors:
Bernhard Schlink

For fifteen-year-old Michael Berg, a chance meeting with an older woman leads to far more than he ever imagined. The woman in question is Hanna, and before long they embark on a passionate, clandestine love affair which leaves Michael both euphoric and confused. For Hanna is not all she seems. Years later, as a law student observing a trial in Germany, Michael is shocked to realize that the person in the dock is Hanna. The woman he had loved is a criminal. Much about her behaviour during the trial does not make sense. But then suddenly, and terribly, it does - Hanna is not only obliged to answer for a horrible crime, she is also desperately concealing another deep secret.

Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

If the truth doesn't get him - the lies will.'Two Kinds of Truth is as brilliant as anything Connelly has written. A super-gripping thriller' Evening Standard* * * * *Harry Bosch works cold cases, helping out the under-funded San Fernando police department. When a double murder at a local pharmacy is called in, Bosch is the most seasoned detective on the scene.But with experience, come the ghosts of long-forgotten crimes. A death row inmate claims Bosch framed him, and that new DNA evidence proves it. The LAPD investigators say the case is watertight, leaving Bosch out in the wilderness to clear his name and keep a sadistic killer behind bars.There's only one person he can trust to help prove his innocence: Mickey Haller, The Lincoln Lawyer...As both cases tangle around him, Bosch learns there are two kinds of truth: the kind that won't die and the kind that kills.* * * * *CRIME FICTION DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER THAN BOSCH.'One of the world's greatest crime writers' Daily Mail'Harry Bosch: one of the finest minds in crime fiction' Evening Standard'Crime thriller writing of the highest order' Guardian'A master of the genre' Stephen King'Harry Bosch: one of the most iconic protagonists in crime fiction' Irish Times 'A crime writing genius' Independent on Sunday'Michael Connelly's detective Harry Bosch has been in 19 novels of exceptional quality' The Times'America's greatest living crime writer' Daily Express

W&N

Brave New World

Guillem Balague
Authors:
Guillem Balague
W&N

White Hart Lane

Martin Lipton
Authors:
Martin Lipton

For a football supporter, a real fan, there is nothing more evocative and emotional than the journey to their home ground, a place where they have experienced the highs and lows that the game brings - delight, despair, hope, pain and, occasionally, pure joy. But while those stadiums seem permanent and concrete, they are not.In May 2017, White Hart Lane, the backdrop to more than a century of Spurs history, staged its final game before the club was due to make the short - very short - journey to Tottenham's new home.With the active support and endorsement of the club, who have granted him exclusive access to senior figures, current employees at all levels and historical documents, Martin Lipton pays fitting tribute to the glory days at the Lane. He has talked to, among others, Jimmy Greaves, Martin Chivers, Pat Jennings, Glenn Hoddle, Ossie Ardiles, Chris Waddle, Teddy Sheringham, Jurgen Klinsmann, David Ginola, Gareth Bale and Harry Kane. And he has also interviewed fans, support staff, managers and board members in order to provide the complete and definitive story of White Hart Lane.

W&N

The Anatomy of Manchester United

Jonathan Wilson
Authors:
Jonathan Wilson
W&N

The Woman on the Stairs

Bernhard Schlink
Authors:
Bernhard Schlink
Orion

Cristiano Ronaldo

Guillem Balague
Authors:
Guillem Balague
W&N

The Life and Times of Herbert Chapman

Patrick Barclay
Authors:
Patrick Barclay
W&N

Spies of the Balkans

Alan Furst
Authors:
Alan Furst
W&N

Death To The French

C. S. Forester
Authors:
C. S. Forester
W&N

Nazism and War

Richard Bessel
Authors:
Richard Bessel

A chilling and powerful account of the rise and fall of the Nazis, emphasising their beliefs in race and war which produced the most terrible killing frenzy in the history of humanityAs this book shows, Nazi ideology was based on two central beliefs: in war and race. Peace was merely a preparation for war, war which would redraw the racial map of Europe. The author begins with the aftermath of the First World War and the corrosive myth-building which substituted memories of senseless slaughter with the myth of a meaningful and even sacred event. It moves on steadily through the 1920s and the Nazi seizure of power, to the economic boom, massive rearmament and government-sponsored anti-Semitism of the 1930s. And then on to the war itself and the Nazis' racist war of extermination.The author pays particular attention to the chaos and extreme violence of the last months of the war, so catastrophic for the German people that they came to believe that they too had been victims of the war. Finally he describes the aftermath of the Second World War and the wreckage left behind by the Nazis which affected the lives of Germans and Europeans far beyond May 1945.

W&N

Summer Lies

Bernhard Schlink
Authors:
Bernhard Schlink

From the author of the internationally acclaimed and bestselling novel, THE READER, a mesmerising collection of stories about about love in all its guises.A conversation between strangers on a long-haul flight will change lives for ever; one night in Baden-Baden will threaten to tear a couple apart; a meeting with an ex-lover will give a divorcee a second chance; holiday lovers will struggle in the harsh reality of daily routine...As Schlink's characters navigate their lives, we discover the many faces of love: the small betrayals, hidden truths and abiding affections. In Schlink's trademark spare prose, we come face to face with the desires and jealousies that define our daily lives, with the fragility of happiness and with the abiding possibility of hope. Tender yet unsentimental, achingly personal yet utterly universal, SUMMER LIES asks what it means to love, to deceive and, ultimately, to be human.

W&N

The Puppet Boy of Warsaw

Eva Weaver
Authors:
Eva Weaver
Orion

The Blood Gospel

James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrell
Authors:
James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrell

A modern gothic thriller, perfect for fans of Dan Brown's THE DA VINCI CODESent to explore a subterranean temple revealed after a devastating earthquake in Israel, a trio of experts discover the mummified remains of a crucified girl. But as they excavate, a brutal attack sets them on the run and they're thrust in to a race to recover what was once preserved in the sarcophagus. A book rumoured to have been written by Christ's own hand.Hunted by a force of ancient evil, Dr Erin Granger and her two companions must follow the trail back thousands of years, to a time when ungodly beasts hunted the dark spaces of the world. And here they stumble across a secret sect within the Vatican, one whose existence was painted by Rembrandt himself. A shadowy order known simply as The Sanguines.

W&N

All I Did Was Shoot My Man

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

An electric new novel starring PI Leonid McGill from the inimitable Walter Mosley, creator of the Easy Rawlins series.Seven years ago Zella Grisham was arrested for illegal possession of a firearm, assault with a deadly weapon, attempted murder and grand theft. After two years of fruitless negotiations Zella was sentenced to 25 years in prison, mainly because she refused to give up her accomplices in a $6.8 million heist from Rutgers Assurance Corp. But Zella had played no part in that heist. PI Leonid McGill had planted the evidence. All Zella had done was shoot her man, her cheating husband Harry Tangelo, when she'd caught him in bed with her best friend. That was a long time ago, and McGill has regrets. So he hires a hotshot attorney to set her free. Zella's big regret is that she tried to kill Tangelo. McGill agrees to track him down, but the trail leads back to Rutgers Assurance, and the man who paid McGill to plant the evidence is found dead. As Zella is hounded and an attempt is made on McGill's life, the detective realises the case is more complicated than he had ever imagined - but can he live long enough to sort it out?

W&N

Hitler and the Holocaust

Robert Wistrich
Authors:
Robert Wistrich
Orion

The Devil Colony

James Rollins
Authors:
James Rollins
Orion

The Outsider

Jonathan Wilson
Authors:
Jonathan Wilson