Geraldine O'Neill - Tara Flynn - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Tara Flynn

By Geraldine O'Neill

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An enthralling Irish saga from a talented new voice in women's fiction.

An enthralling Irish saga from a talented new voice in women's fiction.

It's the 1950s and for Tara Flynn, red-haired, bright and ambitious, Ballygrace House represents everything she hopes for - beautiful, elegant and a world away from the small village where she lives with her grandfather. But the wealthy Fitzgeralds who live at Ballygrace have little time for village girls, until Madeleine, their unstable, delicate daughter, meets Tara.

Tara is everything Madeleine isn't, yet the two girls find themselves becoming firm friends. When Tara meets Gabriel, Madeleine's older brother, she becomes painfully aware of the differences between the Fitzgeralds and the Flynns. Without a wealthy family behind her, Tara will have to work her way to the life she dreams of.

Then Tara finds herself with a heartbreaking decision to make, and must leave the world of Ballygrace behind her and flee to England . . .

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409140351
  • Publication date: 30 Dec 2010
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Cry for Help

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby
Orion

Swallowtail Summer

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

A Liverpool Secret

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

The Love of a Family

Rebecca Shaw
Authors:
Rebecca Shaw

A heart-warming standalone novel from Sunday Times bestseller Rebecca Shaw about the importance of family and being there for one another - perfect for fans of Lilian Harry, Rosie Clark, Alexandra Brown and Cathy Woodman.'A very gifted storyteller and that is quite an art' Sunday Telegraph *Myra and Graham Butler lead the kind of lives where everything is neat, tidy and predictable. That is until they're named guardians to their young nephews.Myra makes it clear she doesn't want the responsibility. After a terrible loss early in their marriage, she vowed never to open her heart again, and has turned her back on friends and family since. Now she has two children and a rabbit turning her house - and her heart - upside down.It will take danger, more heartbreak and a small dog for Myra and Graham to realise that, even if you don't know what you're doing, sometimes love is enough. That they're going to need help to muddle through. That, sometimes, it takes a village.*

Orion

Presumed Dead

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross

'I absolutely LOVED it, move over Reacher, I have a new favourite hero.' Jenny Blackhurst'A driving thriller about loyalty and lies in small town America.' Eva Dolan***********'What do you know about the Devil Mountain Killer?'THENAdeline Connor was the Devil Mountain Killer's final victim. After she was gunned down, the murderer disappeared and the killing spree ended.NOWCarter Blake has been hired to do what he does best: to find someone. But this time he's hunting a dead girl - Adeline Connor's brother is convinced she's still alive.But this town doesn't want an outsider digging up old business. And as Blake gets deeper into the case, it starts to become clear that the murders didn't ju st stop fifteen years ago.The killer is on the hunt again.***************Praise for race against time thriller writer Mason Cross:'Mason Cross is a thriller writer for the future who produces the kind of fast-paced, high octane thrillers that I love to read.' Simon Kernick'Terrific stuff!' Ian Rankin'So pacy I'm exhausted! Definitely one to read if you like your thrillers thrilling' Emma Kavanagh

Orion

Music Across the Mersey

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

It Started With Paris

Cathy Kelly
Authors:
Cathy Kelly
Orion

Chestnut Street

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
Orion

A Cornish Stranger

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick

For fans of Rosamunde Pilcher, a heart-warming romantic novel set in Cornwall from the bestselling author of THE CORNISH HOUSE and A CORNISH AFFAIR.There's an old Cornish saying: 'Save a stranger from the sea, he'll turn your enemy . . .'When her reclusive grandmother becomes too frail to live alone, Gabriella Blythe moves into the remote waterside cabin on Frenchman's Creek which has been her grandmother's home for decades. Once a celebrated artist, Jaunty's days are coming to a close but she is still haunted by events in her past, particularly the sinking of Lancasteria during the war. Everything is fine until a handsome stranger arrives in a storm, seeking help. Fin has been left a family legacy: a delicate watercolour of a cabin above the creek which leads him to this beautiful stretch of Cornish water. As Fin begins to pick at the clues of the painting, he is drawn into the lives of Gabe and Jaunty, unraveling a remarkable story of identity and betrayal . . .In this delightful novel, Liz Fenwick weaves a spell-binding tale of romance and intrigue, set against the gorgeous Cornish coast.

W&N

Night Soldiers

Alan Furst
Authors:
Alan Furst
Orion

Tara's Fortune

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

A gorgeous, all-consuming saga from a rising star in women's fictionTara Flynn has come a long way since she was a little girl growing up in the village of Ballygrace. Now mistress of Ballygrace House, the beautiful mansion overlooking the Tullamore countryside, Tara has everything she's always wanted - security, a beautiful home, and the love of a good man. But the Irish have an expression - 'the two days', meaning good and bad fortune. Tara may have everything she's ever dreamed of, but can she hold on to it? In Stockport, Tara's dear friend Biddy has problems of her own. She too has escaped a troubled past and built a new life. But when her husband is seriously injured, Biddy must once again begin taking care of herself. As Tara's half-sister arrives at her boarding-house, Biddy realises she'll need eyes in the back of her head if she's to keep both Angela and herself out of trouble . . .

Orion

The Grace Girls

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

In 1950s Scotland, everything is changing for the Grace girls... A wonderful, all-consuming saga from a rising star in women's fiction.Heather and Kirsty Grace are sisters growing up in Rowanhill, near Glasgow, surrounded by a big Irish family and a host of friends and neighbours. Older sister Heather has everything that should make her happy - a steady job, good friends and a boyfriend who wants to marry her. Why then does she long to escape her small town and find love and excitement among the bright lights of the city? Kirsty, two years younger, also yearns for a different kind of life. Although she works in a local chemist, at nights she sings with a band in church halls and clubs. When a charismatic Irishman, Larry Delaney, spots her singing one evening and offers to become her manager, Heather wonders whether Larry has his sights set on more than just Kirsty's singing talents.The Grace girls are lucky to have such a caring family around them. It's a dangerous world out there and there are plenty of pitfalls and temptations ahead of two young women in search of adventure¿

Orion

Cara Gayle

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

A Country Affair

Rebecca Shaw
Authors:
Rebecca Shaw
Orion

The Flowers Of Ballygrace

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

An enchanting story of life and love in 1950s Ireland from one of the best saga writers around.Kate Flowers has spent all her young life by the banks of the Grand Canal in Ballygrace. Her dreams of becoming a nurse and leaving the quiet countryside of her home have been put aside to concentrate instead on looking after Mary, her widowed mother, as well as keeping an eye on her volatile brother, Brendan, who works on the barges. Kate's life seems set to be run by the rhythms of the canal. Her days are spent keeping house for the family, with occasional nights out dancing with her friends. But when Brendan introduces her to handsome young boatman, Michael O'Brien, a new life beckons.Life for the whole Flowers family is about to change - but in ways they could never have imagined, as both joy and tragedy are close at hand. Kate, Mary and Brendan must learn to look again at themselves - and each other - and find love and strength in the most unexpected of places for their family to bloom.

Orion

Thrush Green

Miss Read
Authors:
Miss Read
Orion

Winter in Thrush Green

Miss Read
Authors:
Miss Read

The wonderfully nostalgic second novel in the bestselling THRUSH GREEN series, from the author of THE VILLAGE SCHOOL.The arrival of a stranger in the village of Thrush Green stirs up ripples of speculation and interest.Not only does the village find itself paying tribute to this stranger's hero - a missionary born and bred in Thrush Green - but his presence has a dramatic affect on Miss Dimity Dean's romantic prospects...As the story plays out, Miss Read succeeds in portraying village life with all its often unexpected incidents, and her unwavering eye for detail beautifully captures the character of a gradually disappearing aspect of rural English life.

Orion

The Secret Shopper Unwrapped

Kate Harrison
Authors:
Kate Harrison

Because shopping is for life, not just for Christmas...Christmas is coming, and while the bells are ringing, the tills aren't. But Sandie - the rising star of the retail spying world - is busier than ever, rooting out the best and worst in festive customer care through her company. The former Charlie's Shopping Angels are helping out, too. Glamorous widow Grazia is going undercover under the duvet at boutique hotels, in between dating a succession of toyboys and trying to remember which lie she's told about her age. Meanwhile, not-quite-yummy mummy Emily investigates the child-friendliness of the high street with the help of three-year-old Freddie, when she's not working flat out with her partner to save their fledging village shop from the un-festive credit crunch. The shoppers are back, but is the happiness they've worked so hard for, about to disappear faster than a Louis Vuitton handbag in the Harrod's sale?

Orion

The Secret Shopper's Revenge

Kate Harrison
Authors:
Kate Harrison
Orion

Country Wives

Rebecca Shaw
Authors:
Rebecca Shaw

There's a new vet in Barleybridge, and before long the usually calm practice is rife with anxiety and tension...There's trouble afoot in Barleybridge. The vets' practice, which normally runs so smoothly, is disrupted by the new locum, Dan, who seems to be annoying just about everyone with his abrupt manner and unreasonable demands. And when he succeeds in losing an important client through his arrogant attitude, the wives connected to the practice are determined that something has to be done.But Kate, who works at the practice, finds she rather likes Dan's no-nonsense approach, despite what everyone thinks of him. Then, when she is suddenly confronted by a devastating tragedy at home, it is Dan, with a sad secret of his own, who helps her come to terms with her new situation...