Hannah Richell - Secrets of the Tides - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409138037
    • Publication date:30 Aug 2012
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409142973
    • Publication date:12 Apr 2012

Secrets of the Tides

By Hannah Richell
Read by Emilia Fox

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Every family has a secret: a dramatic family saga with a dark thread of suspense lurking at its heart. Unabridged edition.

The Tides are a family with dark secrets. Haunted by the events of one tragic day ten years ago, they are each, in their own way, struggling to move forwards with their lives.

Dora, the youngest daughter, lives in a ramshackle East End warehouse with her artist boyfriend Dan. Dora is doing a good job of skating across the surface of her life - but when she discovers she is pregnant the news leaves her shaken and staring back at the darkness of a long-held guilt.

Returning to Clifftops, the rambling family house perched high on the Dorset coastline, Dora must confront her past. Clifftops hasn't changed in years and moving through its rooms and gardens, Dora can still feel the echo of that terrible summer's day when life changed forever for the Tides.

As Dora begins her search for clues surrounding the events of that fateful day, she comes to realise that the path to redemption may rest with her troubled sister, Cassie. If Dora can unlock the secrets Cassie swore she would take to her grave, just maybe she will have a shot at salvation.

But can long-held secrets ever really be forgiven? And even if you do manage to forgive and forget, how do you ever allow yourself to truly love again?

Read by Emilia Fox

(p) 2012 Orion Publishing Group

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409143307
  • Publication date: 12 Apr 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Not Just for Christmas

Natalie Cox
Authors:
Natalie Cox

Charlie hates the holidays, and this year is shaping up to be her worst yuletide ever. Her boyfriend has left her for his personal trainer, her flat is out of bounds after a gas leak, and her mother has gone to spend Christmas in Melbourne with her fifth husband. Finding herself single, mildly concussed and temporarily homeless, Charlie hesitantly agrees to dust off her wellies and spend the festive season in Devon, looking after Cosy Canine Cottages, her cousin Jez's dog-care centre. However, her plans for a quiet rural Christmas with only the four-legged friends for company are dashed as soon as she meets Malcolm the deaf Great Dane, Hugo, his gorgeous (but engaged) owner, and Cal, the undeniably attractive but unbearably haughty and patronising local vet...

Orion

In a House of Lies

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

The iconic Ian Rankin returns with a new Detective John Rebus novel - this year's essential must-read bestseller.* * * * *IN A HOUSE OF LIES...Everyone has something to hideA missing private investigator is found, locked in a car hidden deep in the woods. Worse still - both for his family and the police - is that his body was in an area that had already been searched.Everyone has secretsDetective Inspector Siobhan Clarke is part of a new inquiry, combing through the mistakes of the original case. There were always suspicions over how the investigation was handled and now - after a decade without answers - it's time for the truth.Nobody is innocentEvery officer involved must be questioned, and it seems everyone on the case has something to hide, and everything to lose. But there is one man who knows where the trail may lead - and that it could be the end of him: John Rebus.

Gollancz

Legion: Lies of the Beholder

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

Already in development for television, Brandon Sanderson's Legion stories are gripping psychological thrillers, perfect for any fan of speculative fiction. They will resonate particularly strongly with fans of stories about that other tortured crime-fighting genius: Sherlock Holmes.Legion: Lies of the Beholder is an all-new, action-packed novella starring one of the most fascinating and charismatic heroes ever.

Orion

The Labyrinth of the Spirits

Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Authors:
Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Gollancz

An American Story

Christopher Priest
Authors:
Christopher Priest
Orion

The Night Market

Jonathan Moore
Authors:
Jonathan Moore
Orion

Annihilation

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

THIRTY MILLION READERS WORLDWIDE. INCLUDES EXCLUSIVE NEVER BEFORE SEEN CHAPTER.'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVThis is the end of us all.For Hayden and Grace, the threat of war has become a reality. The world is running out of resources, driving the survivors to drastic, inhuman measures. Blackwing is the obvious target and physical attacks from enemies are accompanied by the devastating mental turmoil that cannot be fought off with weapons.This is life impacted by war with enemies, allies and oneself. Now, not much is certain, but a few things are guaranteed:There will be pain. There will be death. There will be annihilation.

Orion

Revolution

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

THIRTY MILLION READERS WORLDWIDE. INCLUDES EXCLUSIVE NEVER BEFORE SEEN CHAPTER.'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVYou fight, you kill, you steal, you lie.... or you die. As war breaks out between Blackwing and Greystone, Grace's allegiance becomes clear. But that doesn't make her task any easier.Hayden knows that war is coming. That these raids are just the beginning, and there is something else coming for them. But can he save his camp and free himself at the same time?Welcome to the revolution.

Orion

The Peacock Summer

Hannah Richell
Authors:
Hannah Richell
W&N

Neon in Daylight

Hermione Hoby
Authors:
Hermione Hoby
Orion

My Mamma Mia Summer

Annie Robertson
Authors:
Annie Robertson
Orion

Summer at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe

Searching for love this summer? You'll find it at The Café at the End of the Pier... A feelgood novella and the continuation of the Café at the End of the Pier series.Since moving to Salthaven-on-Sea to help her beloved grandparents run their charming little café at the end of the pier, Jo has blossomed. The café is at the heart of the community, and Jo is determined to serve up a little romance to her customers alongside her delicious cooking. As summer sizzles, her plans to bring the town's lonely hearts together on blind dates, each with a specially designed menu, are finally getting into full swing...Spring in Salthaven brought new friendships, lost loves, and a little flirtation... But as a fresh opportunity threatens to tempt Jo away from the town, will she find where she belongs - and her own love story - at The Café at the End of the Pier?A perfect feel-good summer novella, for fans of Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley*****Readers love The Cafe at the End of the Pier series:'A beautifully written feel-good story that will make you smile''Loved the characters and couldn't wait to turn the page''What an absolute delight!'

Orion

A Family Recipe

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Orion

One Cornish Summer

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick
W&N

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi

'Brilliantly paced, moving, thoughtful and sharp. Loved it.' Renée Knight, author of Disclaimer 'Bitter, yes, but also sweet - and moving, and searching, and quietly devastating: a novel to detonate the heart' A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window'Wonderful . . . It's a very painful story but told with a kind of lightness and grace. Francesca Jakobi completely inhabits Gilda, in all her pain and obsession, all her self-deception and self-sabotage. An absolutely astonishing first novel' Michael Frayn, author of Spies 'Bitter is stormingly good, deliciously addictive, as gripping as Zoe Heller's Notes on A Scandal. It's got to be the beach read of 2018!' Peter Bradshaw, Guardian Film Critic 'Gloriously sinister and yet heartbreaking. Brilliant' Nicci Cloke, author of Close Your EyesIt's 1969, and while the summer of love lingers in London, Gilda is consumed by the mistakes of her past. She walked out on her beloved son Reuben when he was just a boy and fears he'll never forgive her. When Reuben marries a petite blonde gentile, Gilda takes it as the ultimate rejection. Her cold, distant son seems transformed by love - a love she's craved his entire adult life. What does his new wife have that she doesn't? And how far will she go to find out? It's an obsession that will bring shocking truths about the past to light . . .Bitter is a beautiful and devastating novel about the decisions that define our lives, the fragility of love and the bond between mother and son.

W&N

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato
Trapeze

Mirror, Mirror

Cara Delevingne
Authors:
Cara Delevingne

From international supermodel and actress Cara Delevingne comes a powerful debut novel about friendship, identity and the fact that appearances can be deceiving...*****'Impressive, with an absolute knockout twist' Cosmopolitan'A riveting page-turner of a thriller...a book with dark passion and heart' The Herald'May well become the most influentialthing Delevingne has ever done' The Edit'With dark twists and turns, this is a great read' Closer'Smart, twisty, poignant and engaging' **** Heat'A fizzing coming-of-age tale with dark themes' Glamour'Bold, brave and fierce...[Delevingne's] ability to empathise with some of the deeper struggles youngsters face is impressive' Independent'Captures the rhythms and textures of teenage lives' Metro'A great read' Bella'Engaging' Daily Telegraph*****FRIEND. LOVER. VICTIM. TRAITOR. WHEN YOU LOOK IN THE MIRROR, WHAT DO YOU SEE? Sixteen-year-old friends Red, Leo, Rose, and Naomi are misfits; still figuring out who they are and who they want to be. Life isn't perfect, but music unites them, and they're excited about what the future holds for their band, Mirror, Mirror. That is until Naomi vanishes before being pulled unconscious out of the river.She's left fighting for her life in a coma. The police claim it was a failed suicide attempt, but her friends aren't convinced. Will Naomi ever wake? What -­ or perhaps who - led her to that hospital bed? How did her friends fail to spot the warning signs?While Rose turns to wild partying and Leo is shrouded by black moods, Red sets out to uncover the truth. It's a journey that will cause Red's world to crack, exposing the group's darkest secrets. Nothing will ever be the same again, because once a mirror is shattered, it can't be fixed. Cara Delevingne, the voice of her generation, explores identity, friendship and betrayal in this gripping and powerful coming-of-age story. For fans of WE WERE LIARS, THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and THE GIRLS. * * * * * What readers have to say about Mirror Mirror: 'Super twisty - read this in one night.' Amazon'Loved this - read the whole thing in one day! Amazon'Loved this book - such a gripping read with an amazing twist I did not see coming.' Amazon

W&N

Now Let's Dance

Karine Lambert
Authors:
Karine Lambert
W&N

Sharp Objects

Gillian Flynn
Authors:
Gillian Flynn
W&N

The Singapore Grip

J.G. Farrell
Authors:
J.G. Farrell