Raymond Khoury - The Devil's Elixir - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409114079
    • Publication date:29 Dec 2011

The Devil's Elixir

By Raymond Khoury

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

FBI agent Sean Reilly has just received a call from his past - and finds himself in a desperate race against time to save a woman he once loved and her four-year-old child.
From the bestselling author of the TEMPLAR thrillers.

FBI agent Sean Reilly has just received a call from his past - and finds himself in a desperate race against time to save a woman he once loved and her four-year-old child.
From the bestselling author of the TEMPLAR thrillers.

[Published in hardback as THE DEVIL'S ELIXIR.]

'I'm in trouble. Something terrible has happened ... I didn't know who else to call'

An unexpected phone call from three thousand miles away.
A voice he hadn't heard in more than five years.
A desperate cry for help that he couldn't ignore.
And two small words that would change everything about his life.

FBI agent Sean Reilly and archaeologist Tess Chaykin are back in another edge-of-your-seat thriller that reaches from the present day back to 1700s Mexico and, quite possibly, far beyond...

Biographical Notes

Raymond Khoury is the internationally-bestselling author of the Sean Reilly novels: THE LAST TEMPLAR, THE TEMPLAR SALVATION, SECOND TIME AROUND (THE DEVIL'S ELIXIR), RASPUTIN'S SHADOW and THE END GAME, as well as two stand-alone thrillers, THE SIGN and THE SANCTUARY. Also an acclaimed screenwriter, his credits include the BBC Television series SPOOKS and WAKING THE DEAD.
Find out more at www.raymondkhoury.com or follow him on Twitter @RaymondKhoury

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409143468
  • Publication date: 19 Jan 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

All the Flowers in Paris

Sarah Jio
Authors:
Sarah Jio

There is always hope, even in the darkest of times...When Caroline Williams wakes up in a hospital bed in Paris with no memory of her past, she finds that returning to the life she has forgotten is harder than she thought. Ever though her feet know where to go, her cavernous apartment on the Rue de Cler seems devoid of any memories... Taking her mind off her foggy past is the discovery of a stack of world war two love letters written by a young mother named Celine to her beloved, Luc, found in a box in the spare room. The haunting descriptions of Paris during the occupation and Celine's own desperate love for her missing lover and young daughter capture Caroline's heart, distracting her from her own confusing world.Soon Caroline learns that she may have more in common with Celine than she could ever imagine, but also that the walls of her picture-perfect Parisienne apartment may harbour dark and dangerous secrets...Can uncovering the truth about Celine help Caroline find a way back to her past? The compelling and evocative new historical novel from the international bestselling author Sarah Jio. Perfect for fans of The Key by Kathryn Hughes and The Paris Secret by Lily Graham.

Gateway

The Painted Bride

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher
Gateway

Red, Red Robin

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

When Ruth Lasseter hires an escort to cover for a workplace affair, she lets a deeply disturbed young man into her life. Though she survives the consequence, she's left with the lingering suspicion that he hasn't simply disappeared. He's still out there, taking out his problems on other woman just like her.There was a moment when Ruth had her chance to stop him for good. But she didn't take it.Now she sees that closure-for both of them-lies on the other side of that line.

Gateway

Nightmare, with Angel

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

After rescuing Marianne Cadogan from an incoming tide on a lonely and forgotten part of Britain's coast, ex-con Ryan O'Donnell is cornered into helping her escape a supposedly abusive father to reach the safety of her mother. Too late, he finds himself compromised, the subject of a trans-European manhunt while he struggles to deliver the child and prove his motives pure/ The deeper in he gets, the more trapped he will become.

Gateway

Bound in Time

D. F. Jones
Authors:
D. F. Jones

Modern man's most persistent and powerful dream is about to come true. He is ready to travel through time. And who better to take the leap than Mark Elverson, a man with an inoperable heart condition? The far future can only be an improvement for him ... or can it?

Gateway

9 Tales of Raffalon

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
Gollancz

From Divergent Suns

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters

The thrilling conclusion to the brilliant trilogy set on a distant world among the stars.A MISSING NUCLEAR WARHEAD. AN INTERSTELLAR CONSPIRACY. A DOOMSDAY CULT. In a remote city, a renowned performance artist commits suicide on video; from a long-abandoned space station comes impossible footage of a dead body; and in an isolated outpost, a secretive cult believes they are communing with the ancient alien Masters. How are they connected? Inspector Keon is trying to investigate, but once again his life has been flipped upside down. His wife, Alysha, is alive. His long search is over. Or, so he thinks. But his investigation is leading to a grand conspiracy by a powerful cabal and the forces of distant Earth reaching into every level of Magentan society. Is she involved? As he tries to learn the truth, the AI construct of his wife he created searches for her own place in this world and Magenta faces an existential threat. On the run, and with nowhere to turn Keon must decide who to trust: The wife he loves or the AI who loves him.

Gateway

Oktober

Stephen Gallagher
Authors:
Stephen Gallagher

An apparently fatal incident occurs when schoolteacher Jim Harper is skiing near a small research station owned by the giant multinational Risinger-Genoud. Even treatment with their new, untried and experimental superdrug cannot save his life.Or so it seems. For Jim Harper, though left for dead, has survived. But in the long haul back to health and sanity, he begins to realise that something terrible has happened to him. Now the only way in which he can unravel the mystery in his mind is to go back to the point where it began to develop - back to Risinger-Genoud and their Oktober programme. And Risinger Genoud are going to be very interested to see him.Oktober is a frightening journey into a world of greed and lies, a world in which the cover-up is not only a way of life, but something planned ahead of time. Step by horrifying step, Jim Harper unravels what has been done to him, and then designs the perfect act of vengeance, an act that teeters on the brink of madness...

W&N

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide
Gollancz

No Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden
W&N

Wrecked

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide

Isaiah Quintabe - IQ for short - has never been more successful, or felt more alone. A series of high-profile wins in his hometown of East Long Beach have made him so notorious that he can hardly go to the corner store without being recognized. Dodson, once his sidekick, is now his full-fledged partner, hell-bent on giving IQ's PI business some real legitimacy: a Facebook page, and IQ's promise to stop accepting Christmas sweaters and carpet cleanings in exchange for PI services.So when a young painter approaches IQ for help tracking down her missing mother, it's not just the case Isaiah's looking for, but the human connection. And when his new confidant turns out to be connected to a dangerous paramilitary operation, IQ falls victim to a threat even a genius can't see coming.Waiting for Isaiah around every corner is Seb, the Oxford-educated African gangster who was responsible for the death of his brother, Marcus. Only, this time, Isaiah's not alone. Joined by a new love interest and his familiar band of accomplices, IQ is back - and the adventures are better than ever.'With writing so sharp you may cut your fingers on the pages, Joe Ide's latest IQ novel, Wrecked, is outrageous and laugh-out-loud funny, a page-turner with devastating observations about the dangers of state-sanctioned violence and its consequences. The characters are unforgettable, none more so than IQ himself. Like the previous books, IQ's tender intelligence and his tight moral compass are what make this series so stirring... and touching.' Attica Locke, Edgar Award-winning author of Bluebird, Bluebird'Having read all three of Joe Ide's novels about the young Sherlock Holmes of the 'hood, Isaiah Quintabe, I am pleased to say that his third novel, Wrecked, is the best one yet. The stakes are higher, the suspense more intense, and the addition of a budding romance provides more character depth. Read it, enjoy it, and then impatiently wait around for the next one like the rest of us.' Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, author of Mycroft Holmes and Coach Wooden and Me

W&N

Black City

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
Gollancz

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
Authors:
Chris Wooding
Gollancz

One Way

S.J. Morden
Authors:
S.J. Morden
Gollancz

By the Pricking of Her Thumb

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts

Private Investigator Alma is caught up in another impossible murder. One of the world's four richest people may be dead - but nobody is sure which one. Hired to discover the truth behind the increasingly bizarre behaviour of the ultra-rich, Alma must juggle treating her terminally ill lover with a case which may not have a victim.Inspired by the films of Kubrick, this stand-alone novel returns to the near-future of THE REAL-TOWN MURDERS, and puts Alma on a path to a world she can barely understand. Witty, moving and with a mystery deep at its heart, this novel again shows Adam Roberts' mastery of the form.

W&N

All The World's A Stage

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

Eliza Altairsky-Lointaine is the toast of Moscow society, a beautiful actress in an infamous theatre troupe. The estranged wife of a descendant of Genghis Khan, her love life is as colourful as the parts she plays: her ex-husband has threatened to kill anyone who courts her. He appears to be making good on his promise. Fandorin is contacted by concerned friend - the widowed wife of Chekhov - who asks him to investigate an alarming incident involving Eliza. But when he watches Eliza on stage for the first time, he falls desperately in love . . . Can he solve the case - and win over Eliza - without attracting the attentions of the murderer he is trying to find?

W&N

The Vanity Fair Diaries: 1983–1992

Tina Brown
Authors:
Tina Brown
Gollancz

Season of Storms

Andrzej Sapkowski
Authors:
Andrzej Sapkowski

The Witcher returns! A brand new novel set in the early days of The Witcher saga - the inspiration behind the bestselling series of games!Geralt. The witcher whose mission is to protect ordinary people from the monsters created with magic. A mutant who has the task of killing unnatural beings. He uses a magical sign, potions and the pride of every witcher - two swords, steel and silver. But what would happen if Geralt lost his weapons? Andrzej Sapkowski returns to his most popular hero in a stand-alone novel where Geralt fights, travels and loves again, Dandelion sings and flies from trouble to trouble, sorcerers are scheming ... and across the whole world clouds are gathering - the season of storms is coming...

Orion

Presumed Dead

Mason Cross
Authors:
Mason Cross
Gollancz

Seventh Decimate

Stephen Donaldson
Authors:
Stephen Donaldson