Ella Griffin - A Little Bit of Summer - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

A Little Bit of Summer

By Ella Griffin

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

At Dublin florist "Blossom & Grow", life's loves, joys and sorrows are expressed through the language of flowers.

The stories of three women's lives are tied together as they grapple with the thorny issue of love.

Ciara spends her third wedding anniversary alone, wondering if she will ever mend her broken heart.
Seven years into a relationship, Katy isn't looking for someone - until he appears.
Lara, still getting over a broken marriage, is trying not to fall for a much younger man...


For a bouquet of sunshine, romance - and surprises - pick A LITTLE BIT OF SUMMER. The perfect holiday read.

Biographical Notes

Ella Griffin was born in Dublin. She was an award-winning advertising copywriter before she took the leap into fiction. She has written three novels since 2011. She writes about love and loss and loves making readers laugh and cry (sometimes on the same page.) Ella lives with her husband in County Wicklow in Ireland.

You can find Ella at www.ellagriffin.com, Facebook/EllaGriffinAuthor and @EllaGriffin1

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409148401
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Written with warmth and humour Irish authors appear so good at — Sarah Broadhurst, BOOKSELLER
A brilliant debut novel (4 stars) — HEAT
A fresh, funny new voice. Ella Griffin can make you laugh and then cry in the turn of a page. — Marian Keyes
A touching story that reminds us all that love's never as simple as it sounds. — WOMAN
This thrilling story of romance and deceit is too good to put down. — CLOSER
As debut novels go this is one stomping entry into the world of storytelling. Like all good romcoms, Postcards from the Heart is a love story with a twist, but its also got the added element of wit, humour and the odd tear here and there. A fabulous read. — RTE GUIDE
A smart portrayal of four friends' efforts to find a path through the undergrowth of thirtysomething life. — DAILY TELEGRAPH
Following the lives of four thirty-something friends, it has all the elements of great chick-lit: think the humour of Marian Keyes, the warmth of Cathy Kelly, with just a sprinkling of Jackie Collins naughtiness thrown in for good measure. — IRISH INDEPENDENT
Ella Griffin's hugely enjoyable debut ... deftly mixes light and shade, humour and conflict ... like Allison Pearson in I don't know how She Does It, Griffin puts a fresh spin on the having-it-all conundrum of juggling relationships and caring from children and parents with the demands of a career. — IRISH SUNDAY INDEPENDENT
A brilliant read which I found it hard to put down. — SOUTH WALES ARGUS
packed with characters, plot twists and humorous incident ... a journey on which many readers will be happily swept away — IRISH TIMES
A funny, zany romp through the glitzier side of Dublin — IRISH EXAMINER
Orion

The Memory Shop

Ella Griffin
Authors:
Ella Griffin

The most important things in life . . . are not things at all.Nora is fleeing London for her childhood home in Dublin after her heart is suddenly torn apart. Back home, she learns she has inherited all of her grandmother's worldly belongings - a feather shrug, a Tiffany mirror, a gold locket, and many more precious things besides.With no means of keeping them, and not able to bear auctioning everything off, Nora decides to open The Memory Shop so each object is matched to a perfect new owner. Soon Nora begins transforming the lives of those around her through the items she pairs them with, helping them find new happiness in unexpected ways. Now if she can only let go of her own past, she might just surprise herself . . . An uplifting novel set in a charming Irish community, about love, family and finding your way. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Emma Hannigan and Carole Matthews.

Orion

The Flower Arrangement

Ella Griffin
Authors:
Ella Griffin
Orion

Chestnut Street

Maeve Binchy
Authors:
Maeve Binchy
Orion

The Heart Whisperer

Ella Griffin
Authors:
Ella Griffin
Orion

Postcards from the Heart

Ella Griffin
Authors:
Ella Griffin
Orion

Tara Flynn

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

Tara's Fortune

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

The Grace Girls

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

Cara Gayle

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

An enchanting story of life and love in 1960s Ireland and beyond, from one of the best saga writers around.Cara Gayle is one of life's pleasers. A young, country school-teacher in 1960s Ireland, she spends her life looking after her philandering husband and her pious mother. When her husband's latest infidelity is revealed, Cara decides it's time to do something for herself. Offered the chance to escape for a few weeks at a family wedding in New York, she's only too keen to accept. There she meets Jameson Carroll, a reclusive artist, and Cara embarks on a once-in-a-lifetime passionate affair. Yet in the background, her return to Ireland looms. Can Cara find the courage, at long last, to finally please herself?

Orion

The Flowers Of Ballygrace

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

An enchanting story of life and love in 1950s Ireland from one of the best saga writers around.Kate Flowers has spent all her young life by the banks of the Grand Canal in Ballygrace. Her dreams of becoming a nurse and leaving the quiet countryside of her home have been put aside to concentrate instead on looking after Mary, her widowed mother, as well as keeping an eye on her volatile brother, Brendan, who works on the barges. Kate's life seems set to be run by the rhythms of the canal. Her days are spent keeping house for the family, with occasional nights out dancing with her friends. But when Brendan introduces her to handsome young boatman, Michael O'Brien, a new life beckons.Life for the whole Flowers family is about to change - but in ways they could never have imagined, as both joy and tragedy are close at hand. Kate, Mary and Brendan must learn to look again at themselves - and each other - and find love and strength in the most unexpected of places for their family to bloom.

Orion

Tara's Destiny

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

Brenda Reid

Brenda Reid was an award winning producer at the BBC before becoming Head of Drama at Anglia Television. She worked with, amongst others, Rose Tremain, Alan Bennett, Jilly Cooper, P.D. James, Fay Weldon and Lynda la Plante. She was also the executive producer of the popular series Ballykissangel. Brenda now divides her time between the Welsh borders, her children's houses in London and her village house in Crete.

Britta Rostlund

Britta Röstlund has lived in Paris for fifteen years. She is a freelance journalist covering everything from the Paris Fashion Week to French politics.

Brooke Magnanti

Brooke Magnanti received a Ph.D. in Forensic Pathology from the University of Sheffield, where she studied in the Medico Legal Centre and specialised in the identification of decomposed human remains. She later worked for the NHS in child health research and cancer epidemiology, before being revealed in 2009 as the anonymous author of the award-winning blog Belle de Jour and bestselling Secret Diary of a Call Girl series of books. She lives on the West Coast of Scotland with her husband and hardly ever sees dead people any more. Visit her website at http://www.brookemagnanti.com, and follow her on Twitter @belledejour_uk

Carole Boyd

A Carleton Hobbs Award Winner, Carole Boyd has worked extensively in radio drama and features, and is famously known as Lynda Snell in The Archers. In 1998 she won an APA Audio Award for The Land Girls and a British Talkie Award for The God of Small Things. In 2001 she won an SWPA Silver Award for Middlemarch. Carol has read numerous Miss Read titles for Orion Audiobooks.

Chris Wooding

Chris Wooding is a full time, award-winning novelist, a YA novelist, and a professional script writer for film and TV. He has travelled extensively, plays bass and guitar (and has recorded several albums) and his novels have been published all over the world.He has penned the Braided Path trilogy, a standalone novel (The Fade) and the Tales of the Ketty Jay series for Gollancz, all of which were critical and commercial successes.Chris Wooding lives in Kent, and you can learn more at www.chriswooding.com.

Dylan Thomas

Dylan Thomas was born in Swansea on 27 October 1914, the son of a senior English master. On leaving school he worked on the South Wales Evening Post before embarking on his literary career in London. Not only a poet, he wrote short stories, film scripts, features and radio plays, the most famous being Under Milk Wood. On 9 November 1953, shortly after his thirty-ninth birthday, he collapsed and died in New York city. He is buried in Laugharne, Carmarthenshire, which had become his main home since 1949. In 1982 a memorial stone to commemorate him was unveiled in 'Poet's Corner' in Westminster Abbey.www.discoverdylanthomas.com

Ella Griffin

Ella Griffin was born in Dublin. She was an award-winning advertising copywriter before she took the leap into fiction. She has written three novels since 2011. She writes about love and loss and loves making readers laugh and cry (sometimes on the same page.) Ella lives with her husband in County Wicklow in Ireland.You can find Ella at www.ellagriffin.com, Facebook/EllaGriffinAuthor and @EllaGriffin1

Elmore Leonard

Elmore Leonard was born in New Orleans in 1925. He wrote forty-five books during his phenomenal career, including the bestsellers Mr Paradise, Tishomingo Blues, Be Cool and The Hot Kid. Many have been made into successful movies, including Get Shorty with John Travolta, Out of Sight with George Clooney and Rum Punch, which became Tarantino's Jackie Brown. He is the recipient of the Cartier Diamond Dagger Award and the PEN USA Lifetime Achievement Award. He died in 2013 in Detroit.www.elmoreleonard.com

Geoffrey Household

Geoffrey Household (1900-1988)Geoffrey Household was a prolific novelist of political thrillers and suspense stories, most notably the classic Rogue Male, which, The Times recently declared, 'remains as exciting and probing as ever'. He was as widely travelled as the settings of his books suggest: after graduating from Magdalen College, Oxford, with a first in English literature he worked abroad for 25 years, and served in British Intelligence during World War II in Greece and the Middle East. He married twice and eventually settled in the English countryside with his wife and three children.