Terry Wogan - Something for the Weekend - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409148807
    • Publication date:15 Jan 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409148814
    • Publication date:07 Nov 2013

Something for the Weekend

The Collected Columns of Sir Terry Wogan

By Terry Wogan

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A collection of Terry Wogan's best TELEGRAPH columns, with his trademark wry take on life.

A collection of Terry Wogan's best TELEGRAPH columns, with his trademark wry take on life.

'It's my feeling that whatever's bothering you, you ought to be able to say it in less than 500 words. The rest is window-dressing ... Probably explains why I didn't write War and Peace ...'

Sir Terry Wogan has been busy over the past 10 years writing his ever-popular SUNDAY TELEGRAPH column.

In this first collection of the very best of his weekly musings, Terry delivers his distinctively dry and amusing views on life. From the disappointment of the declining years, the ubiquity of TV cooks ('Nowadays, you can't throw a stone in a country road without hitting a television chef, in full colour'), to vanity and those little daily annoyances that drive you to drink - and never fails to entertain - Terry's modern grumbles, gentle social commentary and witty observations make for a delightful assortment of reading.

Charming and wry, with not a hint of lickspittle, this is Wogan's World at its most entertaining.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409148791
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 2013
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Orion
Terry's blend of homespun wisdom and irreverence is a necessary tonic to our frenetic, celebrity-fixated culture, and this timeless tome contains the pick of his 'pithy pars'. — Choice
Full of characteristic bonhomie, it's an uplifting and philosophical read, perfect for dipping into at leisure. — GOOD BOOK GUIDE
Orion

Two Kinds of Truth

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Concrete Blonde

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

From the bestselling author of The Lincoln Lawyer and The Gods of Guilt. When LAPD detective Harry Bosch shot and killed Norman Church - the 'Dollmaker' - the police were convinced it marked the end of the search for one of the city's most bizarre serial killers.But four years later, Norman Church's widow is taking Bosch to court, accusing him of killing the wrong man. To make matters worse, Bosch has just received a note, eerily reminiscent of the ones the Dollmaker used to taunt him with, giving him a location where a body can be found.Is the Dollmaker still alive? Or is this the work of a vicious copycat killer, determined to repeat the Dollmaker's grisly feats and destroy Bosch's career in the process?

Orion

The Little Book of Common Sense

Terry Wogan
Authors:
Terry Wogan

Sir Terry Wogan shares his opinion on just about everything from money, relationships, manners, fame, to life in general.This little work is designed to bring you back, again and again, to refresh your view and attitude to life, living and everything in between. You will find no easy answers to your dilemmas here, rather an alternative view of how to approach them. Or to be honest, just Sir Terry's view. You never know, you might even agree with him...THE LITTLE BOOK OF COMMON SENSE will cover Sir Terry's views on:Life: One day at a time. But look where you're going. Particularly on a bike...Talk: Keep it short and to the point. You don't want people to think you're a politician. The most popular person at a party is the good listener. Particularly at an Irish party.Money: Save or spend? Risk is for derivative and hedge-fund wonks. And it's not their money, anyway. Hold on to your hard-earned ha'pennies - your children are going to need them.And everything else in-between...

W&N

Spies of the Balkans

Alan Furst
Authors:
Alan Furst
W&N

Death To The French

C. S. Forester
Authors:
C. S. Forester
Orion

Trust Your Eyes

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

What would you do if you witnessed a murder - but no one believed you . . .? Another masterful suspense novel from the bestselling author of the Richard & Judy summer read winner, NO TIME FOR GOODBYE.Map-obsessed Thomas spends his days and nights on a virtual tour of the world through his computer screen, believing he must store the details of every town and city in his head. Then one day, while surfing a street view program, he sees something that shouldn't be there: a woman being murdered behind a window on a New York street. When Thomas tells his brother Ray what he has witnessed, Ray humours him with a half-hearted investigation - until he realises Thomas may have stumbled onto a deadly conspiracy, which puts them both in danger . . .With enough suspense to rival a Hitchcock film, this is a thriller with edge.

W&N

Summer Lies

Bernhard Schlink
Authors:
Bernhard Schlink
Orion

The Blood Gospel

James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrell
Authors:
James Rollins, Rebecca Cantrell
W&N

All I Did Was Shoot My Man

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Orion

The Devil Colony

James Rollins
Authors:
James Rollins
W&N

Season of Light

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon

Two lives torn apart by the French Revolution...1788. Asa Ardleigh, the impressionable daughter of a country squire, has travelled to Paris with her sister Philippa and Philippa's new husband. In the heady days before the Revolution, they find a city fizzing with new ideas - and Asa meets and falls in love with a dashing revolutionary, Didier Paulin. When Asa is forced to return to England, their affair is curtailed, but they continue to exchange letters as storm clouds gather over France and war with England looms.Back in England, no one knows of Asa's liaison as the family's financial worries put pressure on her to marry. But then disturbing news reaches Asa from France, and she must decide whether to follow her head or her heart...

W&N

Valdez is Coming

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard

No writer chronicles the battles of misfits, underdogs and renegades like Elmore Leonard ...VALDEZ IS COMING is a stunning stale of morality and justice in which a simple, honest man is transformed into a killer - and begins a long journey of revenge against those who scarred his soul for ever.Elmore Leonard's Western novels stand as some of the most vivid writing of his career. With all of his trademark sharp dialogue and set against a beautifully evoked landscape, this is a classic work that captures the wild and glorious spirit of the American West.

W&N

Scream of Eagles

Robert K Wilcox
Authors:
Robert K Wilcox
W&N

The Translation of the Bones

Francesca Kay
Authors:
Francesca Kay

A searingly powerful novel about passion and isolation, about the nature of belief, about love and motherhood, for fans of Ali Smith and Maggie O'FarrellIn a church in Battersea, Mary-Margaret O'Reilly sees blood on her hands and believes she has witnessed a miracle. The consequences are both profound and devastating - not just for her but for others, too: Father Diamond, the parish priest, struggling with his own faith. Stella, adrift in her marriage and aching for her ten-year old son, away at boarding school. Alice, counting the days until her soldier son comes home. And Mary-Margaret's mother, imprisoned in a tower block with nothing but her thoughts for company... What happens to Mary-Margaret will send ripples through this tight community, raising questions about the nature of devotion - in all its forms - and the cost of loving in a confusing world.'Unfailingly gripping, filled with the essential ingredients - tension and emotion.' Patricia Duncker, LITERARY REVIEW'Beautifully musical sentences with carefully judged rhythms.' Philip Womack, DAILY TELEGRAPH'Skillfully constructed and beautifully written.' Peter Parker, SUNDAY TIMES

W&N

When the Thrill is Gone

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
W&N

The Lighted Rooms

Richard Mason
Authors:
Richard Mason
W&N

The Wind from the East

Almudena Grandes
Authors:
Almudena Grandes
W&N

The Long Fall

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

'McGill is an engaging creation, saddled with a faithless wife, an adoring mistress and a son who appears to be planning a murder of his own . . . Mosley ensures the reader hopes to meet [him] again soon' Sunday TelegraphFrom the creator of Easy Rawlins, Walter Mosley's electric new novel introduces a brand new investigator - Leonid McGill - and a gripping new set of challenges.We follow former rule-breaker Leonid McGill as he's buffeted between the overlords of New York's underbelly, desperate to turn straight, but unable to say no to a nicely paid job. When we're introduced, he's calling in old favours and greasing NYPD palms to uncover seemingly harmless information for a high-paying client. But when the former schoolmates on his list are bludgeoned to death one by one, McGill realises that a friendly reunion wasn't quite what his taskmaster had in mind. And the awkward questions that follow seem almost welcome in comparison to a visit from Willie Sanderson, a trained killer and 'modern-day Frankenstein', now primed to ensure that McGill breathes his last.THE LONG FALL shows Walter Mosley at the height of his powers, breathing new life into American crime writing with sassy dialogue and unflinching social truths. Vividly capturing a city not nearly as cleaned up as its politicians would have us believe, this is new Mosley - and it's just as good as the vintage kind.

W&N

Known to Evil

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

Mosley and his new hero return, in a series that's already being hailed as a classic of contemporary noir.A mystery caller sends Leonid McGill to an uptown address 'just to check a girl's OK'. There's no explanation -- just a name, Angelique -- a reward, and the chilling knowledge that he's working for Rinaldo Alphonse, the most feared man in New York. What LT finds is a crime scene. A girl lies with her face blown off, her assassin felled by a knife. But the dead girl isn't the one LT was sent to find, and her killer's injuries don't make sense. The next day Alphonse comes calling: LT must find Angelique before the assassin's assassin tracks her down. Alphonse isn't the only one who wants a bit of LT's time -- the NYPD, finding his appearance too convenient, think they can finally put away the thorn in their side. But why do so many people want a piece of the apparently normal, clean-living Angelique? And why is the mafia coming after McGill, linking his sons -- shy Dmitri and streetwise Twill -- to the escape of a sex-trafficked Belarussian girl? As both plots career towards a thrilling finale, McGill must put his street know-how and book of lethal contacts to the test, while haunted by the reappearance of a face from his crooked past and his wife Katrina's continued infidelities.

Orion

Where Was I?!

Terry Wogan
Authors:
Terry Wogan