Dan Kavanagh - Duffy - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409150190
    • Publication date:10 Apr 2014
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409151883
    • Publication date:10 Apr 2014

Duffy

By Dan Kavanagh

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The first novel in a darkly humorous London-based crime series featuring bisexual private detective Duffy.

The first novel in a darkly humorous London-based crime series featuring bisexual private detective Duffy.

When Brian McKechnie finds his wife attacked, his cat killed, and himself blackmailed by a man with a suspiciously erratic accent, he engages the services of London's most unusual private eye - Duffy.

A bisexual ex-policeman with a phobia of ticking watches and a love of Tupperware, Duffy is anything but orthodox. But he's street smart, savvy and takes no nonsense from anyone. Intrigued by McKechnie's case and the ineptitude of his ex-colleagues on the police force, Duffy heads to his old patch - the seedy underbelly of Soho - to begin inquiries of his own.

Helped by some shady characters from his past, Duffy discovers that while things have changed in his old stomping ground, the streets are still mean and the crooks walk arm in arm with the blues.

Full to bursting with sex, violence and dodgy dealings, DUFFY is a gripping and entertaining crime novel with a distinctly different and entirely lovable anti-hero.

Biographical Notes

Dan Kavanagh was born in County Sligo in 1946. Having devoted his adolescence to truancy, venery and petty theft, he left home at 17 and signed on as a deckhand on a Liberian tanker. After jumping ship at Montevideo, he roamed across the Americas taking a variety of jobs: he was a steer-wrestler, a waiter-on-roller-skates at a drive-in eatery in Tucson, and a bouncer in a gay bar in San Francisco. He is currently working in London at jobs he declines to specify, and lives in north Islington.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409150183
  • Publication date: 09 Oct 2014
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Orion
"Duffy is a wonderfully appealing character who could never be anything but the creation of a top-flight imagination." — DAILY MAIL
Funny, sleazy, fast-paced and written with brio — GUARDIAN
"Barnes takes Duffy into the dark underbelly of Soho, with his customary wit." — CATHOLIC HERALD
It is bleak, but it is good. Really good. — Scott Pack, ME AND MY BIG MOUTH
Duffy is not your typical detective - and this is not your typical detective novel. It's gripping, witty and sometimes horrible and hysterical at the same time...Julian Barnes's foray into the crime genre is an absolute riot - and the good news is there are three more reissues featuring Nick Duffy to look forward to over the next 12 months. — CRIME FICTION LOVER
There is plenty of goodwill for his witty books featuring his bisexual sleuth, even though the lashing of sex and violence are a world away from Barnes' customary endeavors. — INDEPENDENT
Exciting, funny and refreshingly nasty — Martin Amis
The characterization is exact, the action gripping, and the writing pleasantly ironic — THE TIMES
Dan Kavanagh effortlessly jumped to the top of the crime writer's league — SPECTATOR
Treat yourself. One of the most colourful and entertaining English thrillers — EVENING STANDARD
The laughs are as many as the gasps — FINANCIAL TIMES
Marvellously aerated by bubbles of Mr Kavanagh's very dry, sly, wide-ranging and Eighties humour — SUNDAY TIMES
Orion

Denial

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James

Orion

Putting the Boot In

Dan Kavanagh
Authors:
Dan Kavanagh

Wickedly funny, this is the third novel in the elusive Dan Kavanagh's London-based crime series featuring bisexual private detective Duffy.Things are hotting up in the Third Division and it seems someone's nobbling players. Following the loss of one of his best strikers, Jimmy Lister, former England player and now ineffectual club manager, calls on the expertise of the inimitable Duffy.Duffy must investigate the troubled world of lower-league football while also facing questions of his possible encounter with AIDS, whether he's cooked his frozen pizza for too long and whether he's too short to be a decent goalkeeper.

Orion

Going to the Dogs

Dan Kavanagh
Authors:
Dan Kavanagh
Orion

Fiddle City

Dan Kavanagh
Authors:
Dan Kavanagh

There's suspicion, smuggling and shady goings-on galore in the second novel in Dan Kavanagh's darkly humorous series, featuring bisexual private detective Duffy.Everyone knows a bit of petty theft goes on in the freight business at Heathrow - it is fiddle city, after all. But things have gone beyond a joke for Roy Hendrick and he suspects someone who works for him is helping themselves to more than they should. That's when he sets Duffy on the case.A bisexual ex-policeman, Duffy runs a struggling security firm, has an obsessive attitude to cleanliness and can often be found propping up the bar at the Alligator. Duffy agrees to work for Hendrick and goes undercover to try and root out the culprit.But things aren't all they're cracked up to be. What's the story behind the imperious HR manager Mrs Boseley with her permanently frosty demeanour? And is Hendrick really as honest as he claims to be? Duffy's up to his neck in it.

Gollancz

Rivers of London

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Orion

The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley

Pigtails, poisons and murder-most-foul A travelling puppet show arrives in the sleepy village of Bishop's Lacey - and a shocking murder takes place. For eleven-year-old Flavia de Luce, the crime will test her precocious powers of deduction to the limit - particularly when she discovers that the murder echoes a tragedy which occurred many years before...Praise for the historical Flavia de Luce mysteries: 'The Flavia de Luce novels are now a cult favourite' Mail on Sunday 'A cross between Dodie Smith's I Capture The Castle and the Addams family...delightfully entertaining' Guardian Fans of M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin, Frances Brody and Alexander McCall Smith will enjoy the Flavia de Luce mysteries: 1. Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie 2. The Weed That Strings the Hangman's Bag 3. A Red Herring Without Mustard 4. I Am Half Sick of Shadows 5. Speaking From Among the Bones 6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches 7. As Chimney Sweepers Come To Dust 8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd 9. The Grave's a Fine and Private Place If you're looking for a cosy crime series to keep you hooked then look no further than the Flavia de Luce mysteries. * Each Flavia de Luce mystery can be read as a standalone or in series order *

W&N

The Labyrinth Makers

Anthony Price
Authors:
Anthony Price
W&N

The Long Fall

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
Orion

Turnstone

Graham Hurley
Authors:
Graham Hurley

A city that refuses to die, a policeman who will not yield - the first DI Faraday novel.Portsmouth is a city on the ropes, a poor, dirty but spirited city, with a soaring crime rate. And it is home for DI Joe Faraday. Now Emma Maloney's dad has gone missing. Faraday thinks he may have been murdered. But these days, a hunch is not enough. Faraday's squad of detectives are battling with an ever-growing caseload of a city torn by violence, poverty, drug-dealing and petty crime. Who can spare the time and resources for an investigation unsupported by hard evidence? Joe Faraday is struggling with his own demons, and finding Stuart Maloney, dead or alive, develops into a battle not simply for justice, but for sanity.

Orion

A Cool Head

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

Written specially for the World Book Day Quick Reads promotion."My dad used to say to me, 'Try to keep a cool head and a warm heart'. At least I think it was my dad. I don't really remember him."Gravy worked in the graveyard - hence the name. He was having a normal day until his friend Benjy turned up in a car Gravy didn't recognise. Benjy had a bullet hole in his chest, but lived just long enough to ask Gravy to hide him and look after his gun. Gravy had looked after things for Benjy before, but never a gun. When Gravy looked in the car he found blood, a balaclava and a bag stuffed with money. Gravy's not too bright but he wants to help his friend.So Gravy finds himself caught up in the middle of a robbery gone wrong, a woman who witnessed a murder, and some very unpleasant men who will do anything to get back the money Benjy stole...

W&N

Up In Honey's Room

Elmore Leonard
Authors:
Elmore Leonard
Orion

Exit Music

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

Mortal Causes

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

The sixth Inspector Rebus novel - 'an outstanding creation' SUNDAY TELEGRAPHIt is August in Edinburgh and the Festival is in full swing... A brutally tortured body is discovered in one of the city's ancient subterranean streets and marks on the corpse cause Rebus to suspect the involvement of sectarian activists. The prospect of a terrorist atrocity in a city heaving with tourists is almost unthinkable. When the victim turns out to be the son of a notorious gangster, Rebus realises he is sitting atop a volcano of mayhem - and it's just about to erupt.

Orion

Let It Bleed

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin

The seventh Inspector Rebus novel from 'Britain's No.1 crime writer' DAILY MIRROR.Struggling through another Edinburgh winter Rebus finds himself sucked into a web of intrigue that throws up more questions than answers. Was the Lord Provost's daughter kidnapped or just another runaway? Why is a city councillor shredding documents that should have been waste paper years ago? And why on earth is Rebus invited to a clay pigeon shoot at the home of the Scottish Office's Permanent Secretary?Sucked into the machine that is modern Scotland, Rebus confronts the fact that some of his enemies may be beyond justice...

Orion

Pegasus Descending

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke
Orion

The Choirboys

Joseph Wambaugh
Authors:
Joseph Wambaugh

The classic novel of the LA PoliceThey are the Choirboys - the patrol squad of the LA Police attempting to stay sane in an insane world. The Choirboys are five sets of partners on the night-watch, all men of varying temperaments and backgrounds, but they are joined together by the job, and they have elected to spend their pre-dawn hours in MacArthur Park in relaxing drink and sex sessions they call "choir practice". This is the story of men endangered ultimately not by the violence of their jobs but by their choice of off-duty entertainment. Simultaneously darkly funny and terrifying, this is as chillingly authentic as only a veteran police officer could make it.

Orion

The Killer Inside Me

Jim Thompson
Authors:
Jim Thompson

THE KILLER INSIDE ME has been a cult classic since its first publication in 1952. Also a major motion picture starring Casey Affleck, directed by Michael Winterbottom.Deputy Sheriff Lou Ford is a pillar of the community in his small Texas town, patient and thoughtful. Some people think he's a little slow and boring but that's the worst they say about him. But then nobody knows about what Lou calls his 'sickness'. It nearly got him put away when he was younger, but his adopted brother took the rap for that. Now the sickness that has been lying dormant for a while is about to surface again - and the consequences are brutal and devastating. Tense and suspenseful, THE KILLER INSIDE ME is a brilliantly sustained noir crime masterpiece.

W&N

Turkish Gambit

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin
Orion

Darkly Dreaming Dexter

Jeff Lindsay
Authors:
Jeff Lindsay
Orion

Faith

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James