Steve Cavanagh - The Plea - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409152354
    • Publication date:06 Apr 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409152361
    • Publication date:19 May 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409161172
    • Publication date:19 May 2016
Books in this series

The Plea

Eddie Flynn Book 2

By Steve Cavanagh

  • Paperback
  • £12.99

A must-read for fans of Lee Child, John Grisham and Michael Connelly. Combining gripping action and ingenious plotting, THE PLEA is the brilliant new legal thriller from the author of THE DEFENCE.

'A gripping, twisty thriller' Ian Rankin

When David Child, a major client of a corrupt New York law firm, is arrested for murder, the FBI ask con-artist-turned-lawyer Eddie Flynn to secure Child as his client and force him to testify against the firm.

Eddie's not a man to be coerced into representing a guilty client, but the FBI have incriminating files on Eddie's wife, and if Eddie won't play ball, she'll pay the price.

When Eddie meets Child he's convinced the man is innocent, despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary. With the FBI putting pressure on him to secure the plea, Eddie must find a way to prove Child's innocence while keeping his wife out of danger - not just from the FBI, but from the firm itself.

Biographical Notes

Steve Cavanagh was born and raised in Belfast before leaving for Dublin at the age of eighteen to study Law. He currently practices civil rights law and has been involved in several high profile cases; in 2010 he represented a factory worker who suffered racial abuse in the workplace and won the largest award of damages for race discrimination in Northern Ireland legal history. He holds a certificate in Advanced Advocacy and lectures on various legal subjects (but really he just likes to tell jokes). He is married with two young children.

Find out more at www.stevecavanaghbooks.com or follow Steve on Twitter @SSCav

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409152347
  • Publication date: 19 May 2016
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Orion
A gripping, twisty thriller — Ian Rankin
Lively, clever and enjoyable . . . Cavanagh writes vividly about American injustice . . . The constant action is interrupted only by absorbing courtroom scenes — THE TIMES
The Plea reads like an idiosyncratic cross between Elmore Leonard and John Grisham, but bursts with its own individual flavour. — FINANCIAL TIMES
'Fast-moving, low-punching, street-hustling adventure... Seriously superior airport read.' — TIMES CRIME BOOK CLUB
Legal thrillers are my blind spot, but I'll always make an exception for Steve Cavanagh. Quite simply, THE PLEA is one of the most purely entertaining books you'll read this year. It's a blast — John Connolly
'In the crowded field of legal thrillers, Steve Cavanagh stands head and shoulders above the competition, with his skilfully plotted, action-packed and big-hearted Eddie Flynn novels . . . highly intelligent, twist-laden and absolutely unputdownable' — Eva Dolan
A cleverly constructed legal thriller combined with a classic locked-room mystery. Eddie Flynn is fast becoming one of my favourite fictional heroes and Cavanagh one of my favourite thriller writers — S.J.I. Holliday
Raymond Chandler could have created Eddie Flynn. THE PLEA is Phillip Marlowe and Michael Connolly's Mickey Haller combined, with a bit of Jim Thompson's THE GRIFTERS thrown in. A superb read with a main character destined to be one of the most talked about in crime fiction — Howard Linskey
One of the most breathtakingly exciting crime novels I've read this year, a gripping combination of courtroom drama, locked-room mystery and conspiracy theory. — MORNING STAR
The Plea is explosive, nail-bitingly tense and hilarious by turns; once I started, I just kept reading, and could hardly bear to put it down. Eddie Flynn has the potential to become one of the stars of courtroom drama, and I for one can't wait to see what he will get up to next. — LIZZIE HAYES
Every so often, a book comes along that makes me giddy! ...Deception, fraud, murder. THE PLEA has it all, and as usual, Steve Cavanagh has written an absolute ripper of a novel! — BIBLIOPHILE BOOK CLUB
If you don't normally read court room dramas, you must make an exception. These books are just full of intelligent wheeling and dealing. Top notch storytelling... Superb, in a 'I must not move a muscle til I have finished this book' way. Eddie Flynn, you beauty! — NORTHERN CRIME
The jacket blurb describes The Plea as this year's must-read thriller. Based on what's between the covers there's little reason to argue with this statement. This is a well-written and pacy page-turner... This is a thoroughly enjoyable thriller and it would be a surprise if, in a few years' time, Steve Cavanagh wasn't a huge name in the industry. — CRIME FICTION LOVER
Pretty perfect really, a story you can enjoy on many levels.Overall a WHOLE load of fun. Head clutching, breathless, edge of the seat fun. More please. Highly Recommended. — LIZ LOVES BOOKS
So Hollywood, punchy and cool and pacy as hell. — Eva Dolan