Anthony Horowitz - Magpie Murders - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • CD-Audio £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409167372
    • Publication date:06 Oct 2016
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409161714
    • Publication date:06 Oct 2016

Magpie Murders

the Sunday Times bestseller crime thriller with a fiendish twist

By Anthony Horowitz

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Author of MORIARTY and TRIGGER MORTIS, Anthony Horowitz offers up a whodunit like no other in this fiendishly clever new novel.

THE NUMBER ONE EBOOK BESTSELLER

'Want to read a great whodunnit? Anthony Horowitz has one for you: MAGPIE MURDERS. It's as good as an Agatha Christie. Better, in some ways. Cleverer.' Stephen King

'The finest crime novel of the year' Daily Mail

*****

Seven for a mystery that needs to be solved . . .


Editor Susan Ryland has worked with bestselling crime writer Alan Conway for years. Readers love his detective, Atticus Pünd, a celebrated solver of crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s.
But Conway's latest tale of murder at Pye Hall is not quite what it seems. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but hidden in the pages of the manuscript lies another story: a tale written between the very words on the page, telling of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition and murder.
From the creator of Midsomer Murders comes a fiendish mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot.

*****

Praise for Magpie Murders - the gripping Sunday Times bestselling crime thriller:
'Ingenious' Sunday Times

'Thrilling and compelling with a stunning twist' Daily Mail

'A stylish thriller' Sunday Mirror

'A cunning reinvention of the thriller' Mail on Sunday

Biographical Notes

Anthony Horowitz is one of the UK's most prolific and successful writers. His novels The House of Silk and Moriarty were Sunday Times Top 10 bestsellers and sold in more than thirty-five countries around the world. His bestselling Alex Rider series for children has sold more than nineteen million copies worldwide. He is also the author of a James Bond novel, Trigger Mortis.

As a TV screenwriter he created both Midsomer Murders and the BAFTA-winning Foyle's War; other TV work includes Poirot, the widely-acclaimed mini-series Collision and Injustice and most recently, New Blood for the BBC. Anthony sits on the board of the Old Vic and regularly contributes to a wide variety of national newspapers and magazines. In January 2014 he was awarded an OBE for services to literature. Anthony Horowitz lives in London.

www.anthonyhorowitz.com

@AnthonyHorowitz

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409158394
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Want to read a great whodunnit? Anthony Horowitz has one for you: MAGPIE MURDERS. It's as good as an Agatha Christie. Better, in some ways. Cleverer.
An ingenious novel-within-a-novel whodunit about the death of a crime writer . . . Part crime novel, part pastiche, this magnificent piece of crime fiction plays with the genre while also taking it seriously
A cunning re-invention of the thriller formula
Superbly written, with great suspects, a perfect period feel and a cracking reveal at the end
A stylish, multi-layered thriller - playful, ingenious and wonderfully entertaining
Brilliant. Really, really brilliant. I loved it.
Putting two books in one with their plots running side by side makes Magpie Murders difficult to put down and Horowitz fans will thoroughly enjoy a cracking good read
Although at first glance Horowitz's latest offering appears to be a classic whodunit novel, it will almost certainly prove to be unlike anything you've ever read before, and will have you mulling over its various intrigues in between sittings.
Anthony Horowitz's new novel is at once a brilliant pastiche of the English village mystery and a hugely enjoyable tale of avarice and skulduggery in the world of publishing . . . a compendium of dark delights
We loved this Agatha Christie-esque crime novel. A fiendish mystery within a mystery that will have you hooked from page one
A highly enjoyable twist on the classic whodunnit
Horowitz is a superb pasticheur.
Want to read a great whodunnit? Anthony Horowitz has one for you: MAGPIE MURDERS. It's as good as an Agatha Christie. Better, in some ways. Cleverer. — Stephen King
An ingenious novel-within-a-novel whodunit about the death of a crime writer . . . Part crime novel, part pastiche, this magnificent piece of crime fiction plays with the genre while also taking it seriously — Sunday Times
A cunning re-invention of the thriller formula — Thriller of the Week, Mail on Sunday
Superbly written, with great suspects, a perfect period feel and a cracking reveal at the end — Spectator
A stylish, multi-layered thriller - playful, ingenious and wonderfully entertaining — Sunday Mirror
Brilliant. Really, really brilliant. I loved it. — Sophie Hannah, author of The Monogram Murders
Putting two books in one with their plots running side by side makes Magpie Murders difficult to put down and Horowitz fans will thoroughly enjoy a cracking good read — Daily Express
Although at first glance Horowitz's latest offering appears to be a classic whodunit novel, it will almost certainly prove to be unlike anything you've ever read before, and will have you mulling over its various intrigues in between sittings. — Scotsman
Anthony Horowitz's new novel is at once a brilliant pastiche of the English village mystery and a hugely enjoyable tale of avarice and skulduggery in the world of publishing . . . a compendium of dark delights — Irish Times
We loved this Agatha Christie-esque crime novel. A fiendish mystery within a mystery that will have you hooked from page one — Good Housekeeping
A highly enjoyable twist on the classic whodunnit — Metro
Horowitz is a superb pasticheur. — Guardian