Richard Morgan - Thin Air - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575075146
    • Publication date:25 Oct 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575085732
    • Publication date:25 Oct 2018

Thin Air

From the author of Netflix's Altered Carbon

By Richard Morgan
Read by Colin Mace

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

An atmospheric tale of corruption and abduction set on Mars, from the author of the award-winning science fiction novel Altered Carbon, out now on Netflix.

Richard Morgan has always been one of our most successful SF authors with his fast-moving and brutal storylines, blistering plots and a powerful social conscience behind his work.

And now he's back, with his first SF novel for eight years . . . and it promises to be a publication to remember.

An ex-corporate enforcer, Hakan Veil, is forced to bodyguard Madison Madekwe, part of a colonial audit team investigating a disappeared lottery winner on Mars. But when Madekwe is abducted, and Hakan nearly killed, the investigation takes him farther and deeper than he had ever expected. And soon Hakan discovers the heavy price he may have to pay to learn the truth.

Read by Colin Mace
(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Biographical Notes

Richard Morgan was, until his writing career took off, a tutor at Strathclyde University in the English Language Teaching division. He has travelled widely and lived in Spain and Istanbul. He is a fluent Spanish speaker. Winner of the Athur C. Clarke, John W. Campbell and Philip K. Dick Awards his books are published around the world. He lives in Norwich with his family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409161639
  • Publication date: 25 Oct 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
A hugely entertaining and smartly written book. — SFX MAGAZINE
A sheer pyrotechnic triumph: wonderfully imaginative, written in overdrive, mercilessly violent... A twisted conundrum and a hell of a ride! — CRIME TIME
Super fluid action thriller... amped-up Chandler in space. — GUARDIAN
Gateway

The High Place

James Branch Cabell
Authors:
James Branch Cabell

In the sulphurous The High Place, the amoral hero Florian enters the sleeping-beauty story and (unlike Jurgen with Helen) does not draw back at the sight of excessive beauty. Complications ensue: Beauty is realistically diminished during pregnancy, the first-born child is forfeit to Satan under the pact that guaranteed Florain's success, and an irascible saint is eager to call down holy fire on transgressors. Florian treads close to damnation and is saved only when Satan and the angel Michael conspire to let recent events become, again, a dream: he has a rare second chance and learns better.

Gollancz

Thirteen

Richard Morgan
Authors:
Richard Morgan

One hundred years from now, and against all the odds, Earth has found a new stability; the political order has reached some sort of balance, and the new colony on Mars is growing. But the fraught years of the 21st century have left an uneasy legacy ...Genetically engineered alpha males, designed to fight the century's wars have no wars to fight and are surplus to requirements. And a man bred and designed to fight is a dangerous man to have around in peacetime. Many of them have left for Mars but now one has come back and killed everyone else on the shuttle he returned in.Only one man, a genengineered ex-soldier himself, can hunt him down and so begins a frenetic man-hunt and a battle survival. And a search for the truth about what was really done with the world's last soldiers.BLACK MAN is an unstoppable SF thriller but it is also a novel about predjudice, about the ramifications of playing with our genetic blue-print. It is about our capacity for violence but more worrying, our capacity for deceit and corruption.This is another landmark of modern SF from one of its most exciting and commercial authors.

Gollancz

Xeelee: Redemption

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli

'Kristen Ciccarelli is now my favourite author' Tomi Adeyemi, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Children of Blood and Bone Now includes exclusive new content!****************************** ASHA IS A DRAGON SLAYERSince she was a young princess, Asha has killed to protect her father's kingdom. She longs to atone for the terrible deed she committed as a child - one that almost destroyed her city, and left her with a terrible scar.But no matter how many dragons she kills, her people still think she's wicked.So now she plans to slay the most powerful dragon of all. And the only person standing in her way is a defiant slave boy, leading a rebellion she can't possibly be a part of . . . THE LAST NAMSARA is an extraordinary story about courage, loyalty and star-crossed love, set in a kingdom that trembles on the edge of war. For fans of Madeline Miller, Katherine Arden, Laini Taylor and Tomi Adeyemi. **********************************'An accomplished fantasy novel . . . I'll definitely be looking out for the next one' Joanne Harris'The most simply thing I can say is this is the best book I have ever read and Kristen Ciccarelli is now my favourite author . . . your soul has been waiting for a story this beautiful' Tomi Adeyemi'It's always refreshing to see a non-traditional fantasy setting. And a kickass princess . . . a dash of Arabian Nights story magic, plus dragons? Yes please! Elspeth Cooper'The Last Namsara is easily one of my favourite fantasy books of this year . . . It's fast paced, action packed, filled with a diverse cast . . . Fans of An Ember in the Ashes, Seven Realms, and the Shattered Realms series will devour this' YABooksCentral

Gollancz

The Bastard Legion: Friendly Fire

Gavin G. Smith
Authors:
Gavin G. Smith
Gollancz

The Smoke

Simon Ings
Authors:
Simon Ings
Gollancz

Sweet Dreams

Tricia Sullivan
Authors:
Tricia Sullivan
Gollancz

The Switch

Justina Robson
Authors:
Justina Robson
Gollancz

The Dark Defiles

Richard Morgan
Authors:
Richard Morgan
Gollancz

Windhaven

George R.R. Martin, Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
George R.R. Martin, Lisa Tuttle
Gateway

Islands in the Sky

Arthur C. Clarke
Authors:
Arthur C. Clarke

When young Roy Malcolm won the aviation quiz contest, his prize should have meant an ordinary sight-seeing jaunt on one of the man-made space stations that circled the earth. But instead the trip turned into a terrifying journey as misadventure after misadventure plagued the artificial satellite. The climatic moment came when one of the crew pushed the wrong button and rocketed the runaway ship into outer space...

Gollancz

The Complete SF Collection

Richard Morgan
Authors:
Richard Morgan

Richard Morgan blazed onto the SF scene in 2002 with ALTERED CARBON, which won the Philip K. Dick award and was optioned by Hollywood. He followed this up with two further novels continuing the adventures of Takeshi Kovacs - BROKEN ANGELS and WOKEN FURIES. He also wrote two further standalone SF novels, MARKET FORCES and BLACK MAN (which won the Arthur C. Clarke award).All five of these novels are collected here as the perfect introduction to Richard's work, or a welcome reminder of his power as a writer. Richard has also written two computer games (CRYSIS 2 and SYNDICATE), comics for MARVEL and is currently working on a fantasy trilogy comprising OF THE STEEL REMAINS, THE COLD COMMANDS, THE DARK DEFILES.

Gateway

E.E. 'Doc' Smith SF Gateway Omnibus

E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Authors:
E.E. 'Doc' Smith
Gateway

Ash

Mary Gentle
Authors:
Mary Gentle

For the beautiful young woman Ash, life has always been arquebuses and artillery, swords and armour and the true horrors of hand-to-hand combat. War is her job. She has fought her way to the command of a mercenary company, and on her unlikely shoulders lies the destiny of a Europe threatened by the depredations of an Infidel army more terrible than any nightmare.Winner of the BSFA Award for best novel, 2000

Gateway

The Mirror of Her Dreams

Stephen Donaldson
Authors:
Stephen Donaldson
Gateway

To Your Scattered Bodies Go

Philip Jose Farmer
Authors:
Philip Jose Farmer
Gollancz

Under a Vampire Moon

Lynsay Sands
Authors:
Lynsay Sands
Gollancz

The Red Knight

Miles Cameron
Authors:
Miles Cameron
Gollancz

The Cold Commands

Richard Morgan
Authors:
Richard Morgan
Gateway

Dangerous Visions

Harlan Ellison
Authors:
Harlan Ellison

Anthologies seldom make history, but Dangerous Visions is a grand exception. Harlan Ellison's 1967 collection of science fiction stories set an almost impossibly high standard, as more than a half dozen of its stories won major awards - not surprising with a contributors list that reads like a who's who of 20th-century SF: Evensong by Lester del Rey | Flies by Robert Silverberg | The Day After the Day the Martians Came by Frederik Pohl | Riders of the Purple Wage by Philip José Farmer | The Malley System by Miriam Allen deFord | A Toy for Juliette by Robert Bloch | The Prowler in the City at the Edge of the World by Harlan Ellison | The Night That All Time Broke Out by Brian W. Aldiss | The Man Who Went to the Moon - Twice by Howard Rodman | Faith of Our Fathers by Philip K. Dick | The Jigsaw Man by Larry Niven | Gonna Roll the Bones by Fritz Leiber | Lord Randy, My Son by Joe L. Hensley | Eutopia by Poul Anderson | Incident in Moderan and The Escaping by David R. Bunch | The Doll-House by James Cross | Sex and/or Mr. Morrison by Carol Emshwiller | Shall the Dust Praise Thee? by Damon Knight | If All Men Were Brothers, Would You Let One Marry Your Sister? by Theodore Sturgeon | What Happened to Auguste Clarot? by Larry Eisenberg | Ersatz by Henry Slesar | Go, Go, Go, Said the Bird by Sonya Dorman | The Happy Breed by John Sladek | Encounter with a Hick by Jonathan Brand | From the Government Printing Office by Kris Neville | Land of the Great Horses by R. A. Lafferty | The Recognition by J. G. Ballard | Judas by John Brunner | Test to Destruction by Keith Laumer | Carcinoma Angels by Norman Spinrad | Auto-da-Fé by Roger Zelazny | Aye, and Gomorrah by Samuel R. DelanyUnavailable for 15 years, this huge anthology now returns to print, as relevant now as when it was first published.