Liz Fenwick - One Cornish Summer - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409162162
    • Publication date:08 Mar 2018
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409162155
    • Publication date:12 Jul 2018

One Cornish Summer

By Liz Fenwick
Read by Penelope Freeman

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A life-affirming novel about the importance of family, set against the backdrop of the beautiful Cornish coast.

A moving story of two women struggling with their past: one cannot remember hers, the other cannot forget...

When Hebe receives a life-changing diagnosis at only 40, she struggles to make sense of what it will mean for her, her job and the man she loves. With memories slipping away by the day, she flees to the one place she has always felt safe and peaceful - Cornwall, and the house her family spent so many summers in.

Lucy is having her own crisis, and seizes the chance to follow her aunt to Cornwall. Curious about what has driven Hebe there after so many years, she also has to battle with the secret she has kept since her family's last summer there more than ten years ago.

Both women will learn that memories live in our hearts and sharing secrets sets you free... so can they find their way back to the things that are truly important to them?

The perfect escapist read for fans of Rachel Hore, Lucinda Riley and Rosanna Ley.

(p) Isis Publishing 2018

Biographical Notes

Author, ex-pat expert, wife, mother of three, and dreamer turned doer. Liz was born in Massachusetts, but fell in love with an Englishman and now happily resides in Cornwall with her husband and three children. Author of novels The Cornish House, A Cornish Affair, A Cornish Stranger and Under A Cornish Sky.

Find out more at www.lizfenwick.com or follow her on Twitter @liz_fenwick

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409162957
  • Publication date: 08 Mar 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

A Suitable Boy

Vikram Seth
Authors:
Vikram Seth

A Suitable Boy took the world by storm when it was first published. Twenty years later this beautiful, epic novel retains its power to delight and amaze. Vikram Seth's novel is, at its core, a love story: the tale of Lata - and her mother's - attempts to find her a suitable husband, through love or through exacting maternal appraisal. At the same time, it is the story of India, newly independent and struggling through a time of crisis as a sixth of the world's population faces its first great general election and the chance to map its own destiny.'A Suitable Boy may prove to be the most fecund as well as the most prodigious work of the latter half of this century - perhaps even the book to restore the serious reading public's faith in the contemporary novel ... You should make time for it. It will keep you company for the rest of your life' Daniel Johnson, The Times

Gollancz

Seven Blades of Black

Sam Sykes
Authors:
Sam Sykes

For readers of Ed McDonald's BLACKWING, Scott Lynch and Joe Abercrombie, SEVEN BLADES OF BLACK is a fast-paced fantasy adventure from an author who has won high praise from Robin HobbSet in the Scar, where the magical, decadent Imperium battles the upstart, technologically-savvy Revolution, SEVEN BLADES OF BLACK follows the exploits of Sal the Cacophony, the most famous and dangerous of all the rogue mages. Sal is being interrogated by her captors about the events leading up to her capture: every answer she gives is half-truth and half-lie as we find out exactly how much of her terrible legend she lives up to. Written in a very accessible and engaging style, this is a story packed with attitude, a brilliant first-person POV, and a clever narrative structure. Sykes has also created one of the most satisfying and original magical systems to match the story. Full of energy, this is a positive and fun fantasy tale for the post-grimdark generation of readers.

Orion

Not Just for Christmas

Natalie Cox
Authors:
Natalie Cox
Orion

I See Through You

Daisy McNally
Authors:
Daisy McNally

There is more than one way to stay close to someone... if you're prepared to do whatever it takes. Skye meets the feckless but handsome Johnny Strachan in the Alps where she reluctantly falls into a heady love affair. At home, Johnny has promised to call her, this is just the beginning after all. But when Skye hears nothing from him, it seems it's actually the end. Broken by his treatment of her and unable to return to her former self, Skye finds another way back into Johnny's life and the people in it. When she meets Anna, Johnny's best friend, she soon discovers that Anna has always been in love with Johnny, and always been taken for granted by him. Then the women decide that enough is enough, and set out together to right a few wrongs... A twisty tale of deceit and obsession, where female friendship turns out to be the thing worth fighting for.

W&N

A Double Life

Flynn Berry
Authors:
Flynn Berry
W&N

Neon in Daylight

Hermione Hoby
Authors:
Hermione Hoby

Orion

Annihilation

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVThis is the end of us all.For Hayden and Grace, the threat of war has become a reality. The world is running out of resources, driving the survivors to drastic, inhuman measures. Blackwing is the obvious target and physical attacks from enemies are accompanied by the devastating mental turmoil that cannot be fought off with weapons.This is life impacted by war with enemies, allies and oneself. Now, not much is certain, but a few things are guaranteed:There will be pain. There will be death. There will be annihilation.

Orion

Revolution

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVYou fight, you kill, you steal, you lie.... or you die. As war breaks out between Blackwing and Greystone, Grace's allegiance becomes clear. But that doesn't make her task any easier.Hayden knows that war is coming. That these raids are just the beginning, and there is something else coming for them. But can he save his camp and free himself at the same time?Welcome to the revolution.

Orion

Loyalty

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos
Orion

Anarchy

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVThe world is different now. There are no rules, no governments, and no guarantees that you'll be saved.Rival factions have taken over, fighting each other for survival with no loyalty to anyone but their own. At 21, Hayden has taken over Blackwing and is one of the youngest leaders in the area. In protecting his camp from starvation, raids from other factions and the threat of being kidnapped, he has enough to worry about before he finds Grace. The daughter of the head of the rival camp Greystone, she is slow to trust anyone, much less the leader of those she has been trained to kill. This is danger. This is chaos. This is anarchy.

W&N

The Hour of Separation

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon
Trapeze

The Lonely Hearts Cinema Club

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett
Trapeze

We Own The Sky

Luke Allnutt
Authors:
Luke Allnutt
Gollancz

Oathbringer

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

W&N

The Vanity Fair Diaries: 1983–1992

Tina Brown
Authors:
Tina Brown
Trapeze

Mirror, Mirror

Cara Delevingne
Authors:
Cara Delevingne

From international supermodel and actress Cara Delevingne comes a powerful debut novel about friendship, identity and the fact that appearances can be deceiving...*****'Impressive, with an absolute knockout twist' Cosmopolitan'A riveting page-turner of a thriller...a book with dark passion and heart' The Herald'May well become the most influentialthing Delevingne has ever done' The Edit'With dark twists and turns, this is a great read' Closer'Smart, twisty, poignant and engaging' **** Heat'A fizzing coming-of-age tale with dark themes' Glamour'Bold, brave and fierce...[Delevingne's] ability to empathise with some of the deeper struggles youngsters face is impressive' Independent'Captures the rhythms and textures of teenage lives' Metro'A great read' Bella'Engaging' Daily Telegraph*****FRIEND. LOVER. VICTIM. TRAITOR. WHEN YOU LOOK IN THE MIRROR, WHAT DO YOU SEE? Sixteen-year-old friends Red, Leo, Rose, and Naomi are misfits; still figuring out who they are and who they want to be. Life isn't perfect, but music unites them, and they're excited about what the future holds for their band, Mirror, Mirror. That is until Naomi vanishes before being pulled unconscious out of the river.She's left fighting for her life in a coma. The police claim it was a failed suicide attempt, but her friends aren't convinced. Will Naomi ever wake? What -­ or perhaps who - led her to that hospital bed? How did her friends fail to spot the warning signs?While Rose turns to wild partying and Leo is shrouded by black moods, Red sets out to uncover the truth. It's a journey that will cause Red's world to crack, exposing the group's darkest secrets. Nothing will ever be the same again, because once a mirror is shattered, it can't be fixed. Cara Delevingne, the voice of her generation, explores identity, friendship and betrayal in this gripping and powerful coming-of-age story. For fans of WE WERE LIARS, THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and THE GIRLS. * * * * * What readers have to say about Mirror Mirror: 'Super twisty - read this in one night.' Amazon'Loved this - read the whole thing in one day! Amazon'Loved this book - such a gripping read with an amazing twist I did not see coming.' Amazon

W&N

The Child Finder

Rene Denfeld
Authors:
Rene Denfeld
Orion

The Lightkeeper's Daughters

Jean Pendziwol
Authors:
Jean Pendziwol
Orion

This Much is True

Jane Sanderson
Authors:
Jane Sanderson
Gollancz

The Name of the Wind

Patrick Rothfuss
Authors:
Patrick Rothfuss

'I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep. My name is Kvothe.You may have heard of me'So begins the tale of Kvothe - currently known as Kote, the unassuming innkeepter - from his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, through his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-riddled city, to his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a difficult and dangerous school of magic. In these pages you will come to know Kvothe the notorious magician, the accomplished thief, the masterful musician, the dragon-slayer, the legend-hunter, the lover, the thief and the infamous assassin.The Name of the Wind is fantasy at its very best, and an astounding must-read title.