Kitty Danton - Evie's Victory - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409164883
    • Publication date:06 Apr 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409164975
    • Publication date:06 Apr 2017
Books in this series

Evie's Victory

Evie's Dartmoor Chronicles, Book 3

By Kitty Danton

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

The third in the Evie's Dartmoor Chronicles series. A heart-warming, nostalgic trilogy of World War Two sagas.

'1942 was going to be a very different type of year to its predecessor, she decided resolutely. Gone would be the feckless Evie, mooning over one faithless man after another, and in would come a bolder and more positive Evie '

As a new year begins and the world is at war, Evie Yeo is turning over a new leaf. Her nearest and dearest in the little Devon village of Lymbridge, the war effort for the boys on the front, and her class of infant pupils will be getting all of her attention this year and nothing will soften her resolve.

Though rations are slim, and work is hard with the men away, Evie knows she's lucky to have her friends and family around her - even if they don't always agree on each other's choices in fashion, hobbies or love. They have supported her through a broken heart more than once so she knows they'll stick together even when there are new suitors, new babies or new jobs to contend with.

But as the snow falls, Evie realises it might be harder than she thought to put the past behind her and find her happy ending. And when the trauma of war is felt even in the usually peaceful village, will Evie and those she cares about emerge unscathed?

Biographical Notes

Kitty Danton was born and grew up in Devon where her books are set. She spent time as a news journalist and a mature student before working in publishing. She lives in Kent.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409164876
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

The Hour of Separation

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon

March 1939Christa is the only child of middle-class parents, living a protected life in the London suburbs. She longs for adventure and to break free from the life expected of her. Estelle is the headstrong daughter of a heroine of the Resistance - a woman who disappeared during the Great War, supposedly killed while she was helping two airmen to escape. One of those airmen was Christa's father. But when Estelle goes looking for answers about the mother she never really knew, she finds something unexpected. An intense friendship grows between the two young women and Estelle invites Crista to spend the summer at De Eikenhove, the family farm in Belgium. During that long hot summer, passions run high. Christa meets Estelle's two brothers - steady, dependable golden-haired Pieter and his tempestuous brooding brother Robbe. When war breaks out Christa is forced to return home, but not before she has done something she will regret for the rest of her life. Christa returns to England a changed woman. As the conflict escalates, Estelle decides to follow in her mother's footsteps and joins the Resistance. But what she doesn't know is that her mother was betrayed by someone close to them at De Eikenhove, and that person may betray them once more...(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Ocean Light

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh dives beneath the surface of her Psy-Changeling world into a story of passionate devotion and selfless love . . .Security specialist Bowen Knight has come back from the dead. But there's a ticking time bomb in his head: a chip implanted to block telepathic interference that could fail at any moment - taking his brain along with it. With no time to waste, he should be back on land helping the Human Alliance. Instead, he's at the bottom of the ocean, consumed with an enigmatic changeling . . . Kaia Luna may have traded in science for being a chef, but she won't hide the facts of Bo's condition from him or herself. She's suffered too much loss in her life to fall prey to the dangerous charm of a human who is a dead man walking. And she carries a devastating secret that Bo could never imagine . . . But when Kaia is taken by those who mean her deadly harm, all bets are off. Bo will do anything to get her back - even if it means striking a devil's bargain and giving up his mind to the enemy. 'Paranormal romance at its best' Publishers Weekly 'Singh continues to be one of the most prolific and consistently excellent writers on the scene today' Romantic Times

W&N

Popski's Private Army

Vladimir Peniakoff
Authors:
Vladimir Peniakoff

In October 1942, with the sanction of the army, Vladimir Peniakoff (nicknamed Popski) formed his own elite fighting force. By befriending and enlisting desert Arabs, he was able to penetrate deep into German territory without being detected - over the next year, 'Popski's Private Army' carried out a series of raids behind the German lines that were truly spectacular. A bestseller since its first publication in 1950, POPSKI'S PRIVATE ARMY describes the war in the desert, and later in Italy, as seen through the eyes of a maverick soldier, hailed as the Second World War's answer to T.E. Lawrence.

Orion

Music Across the Mersey

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

When a Dublin family is torn apart, can a new start in Liverpool help heal the wounds? 1940s DublinHandsome widower Johnny Cassidy is out of work, broken-hearted and lost as to how to look after his four children. At his lowest ebb, he's forced to realise that help sometimes comes from the strangest places. With Johnny's family over the sea in Liverpool, it's his wife's spinster cousin Nora who comes to the rescue and has her life turned upside down by this brood of children. With Nora around, Ella Cassidy can be a teenager again rather than trying to raise her younger siblings, while older brother, Sean, finds that music might be his salvation. It seems that each member of the Cassidy family cherishes secret dreams, but will they bring them together or tear them apart?A warm and inviting story of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews.

Orion

Chocolat

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

When an exotic stranger, Vianne Rocher, arrives in the French village of Lansquenet and opens a chocolate boutique directly opposite the church, Father Reynaud denounces her as a serious moral danger to his flock - especially as it is the beginning of Lent, the traditional season of self-denial.As passions flare and the conflict escalates, the whole community takes sides. Can the solemnity of the Church compare with the sinful pleasure of a chocolate truffle?(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

One Cornish Summer

Liz Fenwick
Authors:
Liz Fenwick

A moving story of two women struggling with their past: one cannot remember hers, the other cannot forget...When Hebe receives a life-changing diagnosis at only 53, she struggles to make sense of what it will mean for her, her job and the man she loves. With memories slipping away by the day, she flees to the one place she has always felt safe and peaceful - Cornwall, and the house her family spent so many summers in. Lucy is having her own crisis, and seizes the chance to follow her aunt to Cornwall. Curious about what has driven Hebe there after so many years, she also has to battle with the secret she has kept since her family's last summer there more than ten years ago. Both women will learn that memories live in our hearts and that sharing secrets can set you free... But can they find their way back to the things that are truly important to them? The perfect escapist read for fans of Rachel Hore, Lucinda Riley and Rosanna Ley.

Orion

With This Man

Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas
Orion

The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

Laura Kemp
Authors:
Laura Kemp
Gollancz

The Belles

Dhonielle Clayton
Authors:
Dhonielle Clayton
Orion

A Country Life

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Orion

A Country Christmas

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
W&N

The Boy Made of Snow

Chloe Mayer
Authors:
Chloe Mayer

'THE BOY MADE OF SNOW had me compulsively turning the pages to find out the fate of Daniel and his mother. A haunting and thrilling read. I absolutely loved it' Kate Hamer, author of THE GIRL IN THE RED COAT'An evocative and stunning debut' Jane Harris, author of GILLESPIE AND I'Original and unsettling - and just a little bit heartbreaking' Rachel Rhys, author of DANGEROUS CROSSING'A beautiful and evocative debut' STYLIST'Affecting' DAILY MAIL In a sleepy English village in 1944, Annabel and her son Daniel live in the shadow of war. With her husband away, an increasingly isolated Annabel begins to lose her grip on reality.When mother and son befriend Hans, a German PoW consigned to a nearby farm, their lives are suddenly filled with thrilling secrets. To Annabel, Hans is an awakening from the darkness that has engulfed her since Daniel's birth. To her son, a solitary boy caught up in the magical world of fairy tales, he is perhaps a prince in disguise. But Hans has plans of his own and will soon set them into motion with devastating consequences.

Gollancz

The Last Namsara

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Gollancz

Archangel's Viper

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
W&N

The Mountain Between Us

Charles Martin
Authors:
Charles Martin

Now a film starring Idris Elba and Kate WinsletWhat if your survival depended on a stranger? On a stormy winter night, two strangers wait for a flight at the Salt Lake City airport. Ashley Knox is an attractive, successful writer, who is flying East for her wedding. Dr Ben Payne has just wrapped up a medical conference and is also eager to return home. When the last outgoing flight is cancelled because of a storm, Ben charters a small plane that can fly around the weather front. And when the pilot says the single engine prop plane can fit one more passenger, Ben offers the seat to Ashley. Then the unthinkable happens and the plane crashes into the High Uintas Wilderness. Ben, who has broken ribs, and Ashley, who suffers a terrible leg fracture, along with the pilot's dog, are faced with a battle to survive. How will they make it out of the wilderness and if they do, will they ever be the same again?

Orion

The Forbidden

Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas
Orion

Hot Mess

Lucy Vine
Authors:
Lucy Vine
Gollancz

Silver Silence

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh returns to her extraordinary Psy-Changeling world with a story of wild passion and darkest betrayal . . . Control. Precision. Family. These are the principles that drive Silver Mercant. At a time when the fledgling Trinity Accord seeks to unite a divided world, with Silver playing a crucial role as director of a worldwide emergency response network, wildness and chaos are the last things she needs in her life. But that's exactly what Valentin Nikolaev, alpha of the StoneWater bears, brings with him. Valentin has never met a more fascinating woman. Though Silver is ruled by Silence - her mind clear of all emotion - Valentin senses a whisper of fire around her. That's what keeps him climbing apartment buildings to be near her. But when a shadow assassin almost succeeds in poisoning Silver, the stakes become deadly serious . . . and Silver finds herself in the heart of a powerful bear clan. Her would-be assassin has no idea what their poison has unleashed . . .

W&N

A Hero in France

Alan Furst
Authors:
Alan Furst