Davina McCall - Lessons I've Learned - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409165729
    • Publication date:22 Sep 2016

Lessons I've Learned

By Davina McCall

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

With her trademark humour, warmth and honesty, Davina McCall shares her life experiences.

"I am a work in progress. There are times when I feel in control and like I know what I'm doing...and there are times (quite a few)(actually lots) when I've got no idea whats going on, where to turn, what to do, how to behave, and those are the times I've sought help! I have been helped by some extraordinary people. I've been supported and counselled through my recovery from drugs and alcohol. I've been hypnotised to get me through going to the bottom of the sea in a sub (life at the extreme). I've read a squibillion (that's a lot) of fantastic self help books and I have shared and shared with the greatest girlfriends and family of all time. These nuggets of wisdom have at times literally kept me going, so I thought I'd pay it forward and share them with you."

Presenter, wife, mother, fundraiser, fitness inspiration and now bestselling author,is there nothing Davina McCall cannot do? But success didn't come easy for Davina, and she has faced many challenges along the way. In this long-awaited book, she shares all the tips and wisdom she has picked up on her 'work-in-progress' journey.

Written in the accessible, easy-going and humorous way that Davina has become famous and loved for, Lessons I've Learned will motivate readers to reach their goals, find happiness and fulfillment, and feel more confident.

Biographical Notes

Davina McCall is a TV presenter who has been on our screens since 1992. She is best known for her work on BIG BROTHER and DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME. She has more recently presented MILLION POUND DROP, LIFE AT THE EXTREME, THE JUMP and LONG LOST FAMILY. A strong advocate for a healthy lifestyle she has a successful range of fitness DVDs and raised millions through her Sport Relief challenge in 2013. She is the author of DAVINA'S FIVE WEEKS TO SUGAR-FREE and DAVINA'S SMART CARBS.
She is very active on her Twitter account: @ThisIsDavina and has a Facebook page: www.facebook.com/DavinaMcCall . She also has a webiste at: http://thisisdavina.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409165712
  • Publication date: 29 Jun 2017
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Orion Spring
From drug addiction and the death of her sister to living with her husband's infuriating habits, Davina McCall has a wealth of hard-earned wisdom to share. Here, with brutal honesty, she reveals the highs and lows of her world beyond the cameras. — MAIL ONLINE
With her glittering presenting career, incredible body and loving family, it would be easier to think Davina McCall has it all. But her journey hasn't been without its challenges and, in this refreshing honest collection of life lessons, the former Big Brother presenter shares what she's learned - sometimes the hard way - with her trademark warmth and humour. If you're feeling a little far from your goals, down-to-earth Davina gives a much-needed reminder that we are all a 'work in progress'. — OK!
Hands up, how many times have you felt a little lost in life? You're not alone. TV favourite Davina McCall opens up about the challenges she has faced and shares the self-love lessons she has uncovered in the process. — SOUL & SPIRIT
Trapeze

The Electricity of Every Living Thing

Katherine May
Authors:
Katherine May

In August 2015, Katherine May set out to walk the 630-mile South West Coast Path. She wanted to understand why she had stopped coping with everyday life; why motherhood had been so overwhelming and isolating, and why the world felt full of inundation and expectations she can't meet. Setting her feet down on the rugged and difficult path by the sea, the answer begins to unfold. It's a chance encounter with a voice on the radio that sparks a realisation that she has Asperger's Syndrome. The Electricity of Every Living Thing tells the story of the year in which Katherine comes to terms with her diagnosis. It leads to a re-evaluation of her life so far - a kinder one, which finally allows her to be different rather than simply awkward, arrogant or unfeeling. The physical and psychological journeys become inextricably entwined, and as Katherine finds her way across the untameable coast, she also finds the way to herself.This book is a life-affirming exploration of wild landscapes, what it means to be different and, above all, how we can all learn to make peace within our own unquiet minds.

W&N

How to Think Like a Fish

Jeremy Wade
Authors:
Jeremy Wade
Seven Dials

Authentic Gravitas

Rebecca Newton
Authors:
Rebecca Newton
Seven Dials

Mummy and Me

Rebecca Meldrum
Authors:
Rebecca Meldrum
W&N

The River

Peter Heller
Authors:
Peter Heller
Orion

Maid

Stephanie Land
Authors:
Stephanie Land

'My daughter learned to walk in a homeless shelter.'As a struggling single mum, determined to keep a roof over her daughter's head, Stephanie Land worked for years as a maid, working long hours in order to provide for her small family. In Maid, she reveals the dark truth of what it takes to survive and thrive in today's inequitable society. As she worked hard to climb her way out of poverty as a single parent, scrubbing the toilets of the wealthy, navigating domestic labour jobs as a cleaner whilst also juggling higher education, assisted housing, and a tangled web of government assistance, Stephanie wrote. She wrote the true stories that weren't being told. The stories of the overworked and underpaid. Written in honest, heart-rending prose and with great insight, Maid explores the underbelly of the upper-middle classes and the reality of what it's like to be in service to them. 'I'd become a nameless ghost,' Stephanie writes. With this book, she gives voice to the 'servant' worker, those who fight daily to scramble and scrape by for their own lives and the lives of their children.(p) Hachette Book Group US 2019

Orion

The Girl King

Mimi Yu
Authors:
Mimi Yu

Two sisters become unwitting rivals in a war to claim the title of Emperor in this sweeping tale of ambition, sacrifice and betrayal for readers of Sabaa Tahir and Alwyn Hamilton.All hail the Girl KingSisters Lu and Min have always understood their places as princesses of the Empire. Lu knows she is destined to become the dynasty's first female ruler, while Min is resigned to a life in her shadow.Then their father declares their male cousin Set the heir instead - a betrayal that sends the sisters down two very different paths. Determined to reclaim her birthright, Lu goes on the run. She needs an ally - and an army - if she is to succeed. Her quest leads her to Nokhai, the last surviving wolf shapeshifter. Nok wants to keep his identity secret, but finds himself forced into an uneasy alliance with the girl whose family killed everyone he ever loved . . . Alone in the volatile court, Min's hidden power awakens - a forbidden, deadly magic that could secure Set's reign . . . or allow Min to claim the throne herself. But there can only be one Emperor, and the sisters' greatest enemy could turn out to be each other.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2019

Orion Spring

Lose Weight Now!

Glenn Harrold
Authors:
Glenn Harrold
Orion Spring

De-stress Your Life: In Seven Easy Steps

Glenn Harrold
Authors:
Glenn Harrold
Orion Spring

Look Young, Live Longer

Glenn Harrold
Authors:
Glenn Harrold
W&N

We Are Displaced

Malala Yousafzai
Authors:
Malala Yousafzai
Orion Spring

Calm

Fearne Cotton
Authors:
Fearne Cotton

THE FOLLOW UP TO THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER, HAPPY: FINDING JOY IN EVERY DAY AND LETTING GO OF PERFECT'Calm for me is less about thought and much more about feeling. It is a stillness that allows my lungs to expand like hot air balloons. It is an acceptance of the noise around me. It is a magic alchemy that might last a second or a whole day, where I feel relaxed yet aware; still yet dynamic; open yet protected . . . '***In today's always-on world, for many of us it seems impossible to relax, take time out or mute the encircling 'noise'. It is easy to feel trapped in this frenzied state of mind: we are surrounded by negative stories in the press, weighed down by pressures from work, family life or school and subject to constant scrutiny under the all-seeing eye of social media. As a result, mental health illnesses are on the rise in every age group, and more of us than ever before yearn for silence, peace and calm.CALM is Fearne's mission to find the simple things that can inch us away from stress and over to the good stuff. Including expert advice, conversations with wise friends from all walks of life, easy ideas to try, activities to complete - and the little things that have made a difference to her own, sometimes-bumpy life - this book is a friendly reminder that Calm is a place that exists in us all, we just have to find our way back to it.

Orion

A Liverpool Secret

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion Spring

How To Keep Your Marriage From Sucking

Greg Behrendt, Amiira Ruotola
Authors:
Greg Behrendt, Amiira Ruotola
Trapeze

Part-Time Working Mummy

Rachaele Hambleton
Authors:
Rachaele Hambleton
Seven Dials

Davina's Kitchen Favourites

Davina McCall
Authors:
Davina McCall
Trapeze

Wild Embers

Nikita Gill
Authors:
Nikita Gill
W&N

Rise

Sian Williams
Authors:
Sian Williams

'A week after my 50th birthday and just as our family was about to move home, something happened that changed the way I looked at life. I spoke to others about how they rebuilt their shattered worlds after very different personal traumas, emerging stronger than before. I hope our experiences, together with the latest science on resilience, will help guide all those going through tough times. This book says that it's possible not just to survive them, but to thrive. To rise.'Renowned as a much-loved and highly respected journalist and broadcaster with thirty years' experience, Sian Williams has studied the impact of acute stress for many years and is also a trained trauma assessor.In RISE, she explores the science of resilience and growth after trauma, offers advice from the experts, and learns from those who have emerged from horrific experiences, feeling changed yet stronger, with a new perspective on their life, their relationships and their work. She also documents her own path through breast cancer, with candid and unflinching honesty. Her story provides a narrative thread through a book designed to help others deal with all manner of adversity, including physical or mental ill health; loss of a loved one; abuse and post-traumatic stress.RISE is a deeply researched exploration of trauma, grief and illness, and most importantly resilience in the darkest of days. It is an inspiring and powerful piece of work, full of honesty, warmth and wisdom.

Orion

Davina's Sugar-Free in a Hurry

Davina McCall
Authors:
Davina McCall
Orion

Sleep Well Every Night

Glenn Harrold
Authors:
Glenn Harrold

A good nights sleep for every reader - guaranteed!Sleep - or lack of it - is one of the most common 21st century health complaints. Only 1 in 10 of us say we always sleep well; 1 in 5 suffer from lack of sleep; and two-thirds say we get less sleep now than we did a few years ago - around 90 minutes less, according to one leading American sleep expert.There are many reasons why people cannot get a good night's sleep, but a solution to many of these problems lies in hypnosis, a wonderful tool for quietening the mind and relaxing the body. Hypnosis helps to slow brainwaves and naturally guide you into a state that is ideal for deep, restful sleep. Whatever your particular sleep problem, this book and CD will promote a deep, restful sleep every night.