Joanne M Harris - Runelight - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473217089
    • Publication date:27 Jul 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781473217119
    • Publication date:27 Jul 2017

Runelight

By Joanne M Harris
Read by Rosie Jones

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A chilling prophecy from the Oracle. A conflict between two girls. And with just twelve days to stave off the Apocalypse, carnage is about to be unleashed . . .

The next gripping tale of magic, adventure and Norse mythology from the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of CHOCOLAT and THE GOSPEL OF LOKI.

The squabbling Norse gods and goddesses of Runemarks are back! And there's a feisty new heroine on the scene: Maggie, a girl the same age as Maddy but brought up a world apart - literally, in World's End, the focus of the Order in which Maddy was raised. Now the Order is destroyed, Chaos is filling the vacuum left behind... and is breaching the everyday world.
Six hundred miles apart, two girls each bear on their skin a runemark: a symbol of the Old Days when the known Worlds were ruled by the gods from their sky citadel, Asgard.

Now Asgard lies in ruins, and the power of the gods has long since been destroyed.

Or so everyone thinks.

But nothing is lost for ever, and the gods haven't given up yet (nor stopped squabbling!) and they want the power of the runes borne by Maddy and Maggie - these new runes, which carry huge potential, their runelight shining out as a portent to the future.

Soon both girls are swept into a maelstrom of cataclysmic events that are to draw them closer and closer to each other, and nearer and nearer to a horrific struggle where each must prove where their loyalty lies . . .

Filled with inventive and humorous detail, trickery and treachery, carnage and lunacy, Runelight is the second title - following Runemarks - in a series of gloriously imaginative and dramatic tales about the Norse gods.

Read by Rosie Jones

(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group Ltd

Biographical Notes

Joanne Harris is the author of the Whitbread-shortlisted CHOCOLAT (made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp) and many other bestselling novels. Her hobbies are listed in Who's Who as 'mooching, lounging, strutting, strumming, priest-baiting and quiet subversion'. She plays bass guitar in a band first formed when she was 16, is currently studying Old Norse, and lives with her husband and daughter in Yorkshire, about 15 miles from the place she was born.

Find out more at www.joanne-harris.co.uk or follow her on Twitter @Joannechocolat

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409165781
  • Publication date: 27 Jul 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Joanne Harris is one of those authors that you can count on to deliver incredibly detailed and rewarding worlds. — STARBURST
Orion

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe

The first book in a new crime series from bestselling author Tilly Bagshawe - a must-read for fans of Agatha Christie's Marple and Midsomer MurdersPORTRAIT OF A MURDER: THE MILL introduces readers to portrait painter and amateur sleuth Iris Grey, who sees the truths of others while struggling to find her own way. Grey arrives at The Mill in Hampshire, commissioned to paint a portrait of Dominic Wetherby, a celebrated author. She quickly herself drawn into a world of village gossip, romantic intrigue, buried secrets and a murder.(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Gollancz

Oathbringer

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
Orion

A Pocketful of Crows

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris
Orion

The Arrangement

Sonya Lalli
Authors:
Sonya Lalli
Orion

Angels' Flight

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

Warrior angels, vampire hunters and angels gone bad heat up this altogether sizzling paranormal alternate universe.This anthology of novellas features Angels' Wolf, Angels' Judgement, Angels' Pawn and the never-before-published Angels' Dance.Read by Justine Eyre(p) 2013 Tantor Media Inc

Orion

Wild Invitation

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh

A collection of short stories from the Psy-Changeling universeDiscover even more of Nalini Singh's world of breathtaking passion ...This collection contains four novellas, two of which have never been previously published.Read by Angela Dawe(p) 2013 Tantor Media Inc

Gollancz

Wild Embrace: A Psy-Changeling Collection

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Gollancz

The House of Binding Thorns

Aliette de Bodard
Authors:
Aliette de Bodard
Orion

You Can Run

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby
Trapeze

Tattletale

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton
Gollancz

Runemarks

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

It's been five hundred years since the end of the world and society has rebuilt itself anew. The old Norse gods are no longer revered. Their tales have been banned. Magic is outlawed, and a new religion - the Order - has taken its place.In a remote valley in the north, fourteen-year-old Maddy Smith is shunned for the ruinmark on her hand - a sign associated with the Bad Old Days. But what the villagers don't know is that Maddy has skills. According to One-Eye, the secretive Outlander who is Maddy's only real friend, her ruinmark - or runemark, as he calls it - is a sign of Chaos blood, magical powers and gods know what else...Now, as the Order moves further north, threatening all the Worlds with conquest and Cleansing, Maddy must finally learn the truth to some unanswered questions about herself, her parentage, and her powers.From the bestselling author of CHOCOLAT and THE GOSPEL OF LOKI comes a fantastical tale of magic, adventure and Norse mythology.

Gollancz

The Gospel of Loki

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris
Gollancz

Mirror Sight

Kristen Britain
Authors:
Kristen Britain

Karigan G'ladheon is a Green Rider - a seasoned member of the royal messenger corps whose loyalty and bravery have already been tested many times. And her final, explosive magical confrontation with Mornhavon the Black should have killed her.But rather than finding death, and peace, Karigan wakes to a darkness deeper than night. The explosion has transported her somewhere - and into a sealed stone sarcophagus - and now she must escape, somehow, before the thinning air runs out and her mysterious tomb becomes her grave.Where is she? Does a trap, laid by Mornhavon, lie beyond her prison? And if she can escape, will she find the world beyond the same - or has the magic taken her out of reach of her friends, home and King forever...?'Kristen Britain is one of the most astonishing fantasy writers working today' Tess Gerritsen, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author.

Orion

The Food of Love Cookery School

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino

In the sun-drenched Sicilian hills, four women learn the lessons of a lifetime at the Food of Love Cookery School.In a remote Sicilian mountain town, four women arrive at a cookery school, each at a turning point in their lives.Moll is a foodie and an exhausted working mum on the holiday of a lifetime. Tricia, a top London lawyer is taking a break from the demands of her job and her family. Valerie, consumed by grief following the death of her partner, is trying to figure out how to live a life without him. And recently divorced Poppy has come to Sicily to learn about the place that her grandfather was born before emigrating to Australia.Luca Amore runs the school, using the recipes passed down to him by generations of Amore women. He expects this course to be much like all the others - but as sparks fly, friendships are made and secrets are shared. And for each of them nothing will ever be the same.

Gollancz

Wild Cards: Aces Abroad

George R.R. Martin
Authors:
George R.R. Martin
Gollancz

Dwarves War-Fighting Manual

Den Patrick
Authors:
Den Patrick

A manual, complete with illustrations, that looks at the dwarvish race and the way they fight war. With a history of the race, an assessment of the legendary courage and fortitude of the dwarves in war, and accounts of famous engagements, this is the perfect companion for any fantasy wargamer or roleplayer, as well as being a door into a wonderful and original fantasy world.

Gollancz

The Last Dark

Stephen Donaldson
Authors:
Stephen Donaldson
Orion

The Nicky Pellegrino Collection

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino

Four delicious novels of love, food and Italy...This collection comprises DELICIOUSSUMMER AT THE VILLA ROSATHE ITALIAN WEDDINGRECIPE FOR LIFE

Gollancz

The Reluctant Vampire

Lynsay Sands
Authors:
Lynsay Sands

Harper lost his lifemate, Jenny, during her turn and has blamed himself for her death ever since, so he's rather happy for the distraction when Tiny and Mirabeau arrive with a young immortal in tow. Stephanie McGill is a young newly turned, immortal who is being hunted by a mad no-fanger named Leonius. When Anders and Drina Argenis (Argeneau) arrive to help, Harper finds himself working with the beautiful young Spanish woman. But things get interesting when Stephanie decides to take on the role of cupid and bring Drina and a reluctant Harper together. How much trouble could a newly turned teenage vamp be?

Gollancz

The River of Shadows

Robert V.S. Redick
Authors:
Robert V.S. Redick