Davina McCall - Lessons I've Learned - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409165712
    • Publication date:29 Jun 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409165729
    • Publication date:22 Sep 2016

Lessons I've Learned

By Davina McCall
Read by Davina McCall

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

With her trademark honesty, warmth and humour, Davina McCall shares her life experiences.

Narrated with her trademark humour, warmth and honesty, Davina McCall shares her life experiences.


"I am a work in progress. There are times when I feel in control and like I know what I'm doing . . . and there are times (quite a few) (actually lots) when I've got no idea what's going on, where to turn, what to do, how to behave, and those are the times I've sought help!


I have been helped by some extraordinary people. I've been supported and counselled through my recovery from drugs and alcohol. I've been hypnotised to get me through my ultimate fears. I've read a squibillion (that's a lot) of fantastic self-help books and I have shared and shared with the greatest girlfriends and family of all time. These nuggets of wisdom have, at times, literally kept me going, so I thought I'd pay it forward and share them with you . . ."

In this long-awaited book, Davina McCall shares the tips and wisdoms learned on her 'work-in-progess' journey through life.

Warm, engaging, honest and generous, this book will make you laugh and cry in equal measure. Lessons I've Learned is the closest thing to a Davina hug and we all need one of those . . .

(p) 2016 Orion Publishing Group

Biographical Notes

Davina McCall is a TV British presenter who has been on our screens since 1992. She is best known for her work on BIG BROTHER and DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME. She has more recently presented MILLION POUND DROP and LONG LOST FAMILY. A strong advocate for a healthy lifestyle she has a successful range of fitness DVDs and raised millions through her Sport Relief challenge in 2013. She is the author of FIVE WEEKS TO SUGAR-FREE and DAVINA'S SMART CARBS.
She is very active on her Twitter account: @ThisIsDavina and has a Facebook page: www.facebook.com/DavinaMcCall . She also has a webiste at: http://thisisdavina.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409165798
  • Publication date: 29 Sep 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Spring
From drug addiction and the death of her sister to living with her husband's infuriating habits, Davina McCall has a wealth of hard-earned wisdom to share. Here, with brutal honesty, she reveals the highs and lows of her world beyond the cameras. — MAIL ONLINE
With her glittering presenting career, incredible body and loving family, it would be easier to think Davina McCall has it all. But her journey hasn't been without its challenges and, in this refreshing honest collection of life lessons, the former Big Brother presenter shares what she's learned - sometimes the hard way - with her trademark warmth and humour. If you're feeling a little far from your goals, down-to-earth Davina gives a much-needed reminder that we are all a 'work in progress'. — OK!
Hands up, how many times have you felt a little lost in life? You're not alone. TV favourite Davina McCall opens up about the challenges she has faced and shares the self-love lessons she has uncovered in the process. — SOUL & SPIRIT
Gollancz

The Girl King

Mimi Yu
Authors:
Mimi Yu

Two sisters become unwitting rivals in a war to claim the title of Emperor in this sweeping tale of ambition, sacrifice and betrayal for readers of Tomi Adeyemi, Sabaa Tahir and Alwyn Hamilton.All hail the Girl KingSisters Lu and Min have always understood their places as princesses of the Empire. Lu knows she is destined to become the dynasty's first female ruler, while Min is resigned to a life in her shadow. Then their father declares their male cousin Set the heir instead - a betrayal that sends the sisters down two very different paths. Determined to reclaim her birthright, Lu goes on the run. She needs an ally - and an army - if she is to succeed. Her quest leads her to Nokhai, the last surviving wolf shapeshifter. Nok wants to keep his identity secret, but finds himself forced into an uneasy alliance with the girl whose family killed everyone he ever loved . . . Alone in the volatile court, Min's hidden power awakens - a forbidden, deadly magic that could secure Set's reign . . . or allow Min to claim the throne herself. But there can only be one Emperor, and the sisters' greatest enemy could turn out to be each other.

Orion Spring

Lose Weight Now!

Glenn Harrold
Authors:
Glenn Harrold
Orion Spring

De-stress Your Life: In Seven Easy Steps

Glenn Harrold
Authors:
Glenn Harrold
Gollancz

Dragon Heart

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins
Orion Spring

Calm: The Journal

Fearne Cotton
Authors:
Fearne Cotton

Welcome to CALM The Journal. A place for you to relax, take time out, de-stress and mute the encircling 'noise' of today's always-on world. Dip into its beautiful pages as often and for as long as you like - whilst this book is open it's all about YOU!' *** * You can choose when to start your journal on any day, in any year * Beautifully designed to be ready whenever you are! * Enjoy little prompts to help you let go of anxiety and appreciate the small things that matter most to your wellbeing In Fearne Cotton's CALM: The Journal, discover new ways to get a better perspective on life and creative prompts and motivational musings to help you write a little peace into every day of the year and nurture the calmness within your heart.

Orion

The Caged Queen

Kristen Ciccarelli
Authors:
Kristen Ciccarelli
Orion

How Does It Feel?

Mark Kermode
Authors:
Mark Kermode

Following a formative encounter with the British pop movie Slade in Flame in 1975, Mark Kermode decided that musical superstardom was totally attainable. And so, armed with a homemade electric guitar and very little talent, he embarked on an alternative career - a chaotic journey which would take him from the halls and youth clubs of North London to the stages of Glastonbury, the London Palladium and The Royal Albert Hall.HOW DOES IT FEEL? follows a lifetime of musical misadventures which have seen Mark striking rockstar poses in the Sixth Form Common Room, striding around a string of TV shows dressed from head to foot in black leather, getting heckled off stage by a bunch of angry septuagenarians on a boat on the Mersey, showing Timmy Mallet how to build a tea-chest bass - and winning the International Street Entertainers of the Year award as part of a new wave of skiffle. Really. Hilarious, self-deprecating and blissfully nostalgic, this is a riotous account of a bedroom dreamer's attempts to conquer the world armed with nothing more than a chancer's enthusiasm and a simple philosophy: how hard can it be?Written and Read by Mark Kermode(P) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Orion

Autumn at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe
Orion

The Pianist

Wladyslaw Szpilman
Authors:
Wladyslaw Szpilman
Trapeze

Part-Time Working Mummy

Rachaele Hambleton
Authors:
Rachaele Hambleton

Want to know the truth about what life is like as a mum and step-mum with a chaotic patchwork family?This book is everything I've been through that's made me who I am, plus the lessons I've learned from many mistakes. I hope that it will make you laugh as well as give you strength to keep going when times get tough. After all, we are all in this together...Rachaele, aka Part-Time Working MummyHundreds of thousands of fans flock to the PTWM page online and now, in this book, Rachaele shares her behind-the-scenes experiences with single parenthood, unexpected pregnancy, domestic violence, relationships, bullying and much more - spreading kindness amidst the craziness along the way!

W&N

Hometown Tales: Glasgow

Kirsty Logan, Paul McQuade
Authors:
Kirsty Logan, Paul McQuade

Original tales by remarkable writersHometown Tales is a series of books pairing exciting new voices with some of the most talented and important writers at work today. Some of the tales are fiction and some are narrative non-fiction - they are all powerful, fascinating and moving, and aim to celebrate regional diversity and explore the meaning of home. In these pages on Glasgow, you'll find two unique memoirs. 'The Old Asylum in the Woods' is an intimate, intensely moving account of growing up in the shadow of Woodilee Hospital by author of The Gracekeepers and The Gloaming, Kirsty Logan. 'Glasgow Sang' is a deeply personal journey on foot through the city, from Kelvin Way Bridge to George Square to the statue of La Pasionaria, by Paul McQuade.

W&N

Hometown Tales: South Coast

Gemma Cairney, Judy Upton
Authors:
Gemma Cairney, Judy Upton
W&N

Hometown Tales: Wales

Tyler Keevil, Eluned Gramich
Authors:
Tyler Keevil, Eluned Gramich

Original tales by remarkable writersHometown Tales is a series of books pairing exciting new voices with some of the most talented and important writers at work today. Some of the tales are fiction and some are narrative non-fiction - they are all powerful, fascinating and moving, and aim to celebrate regional diversity and explore the meaning of home. In these pages on Wales, you'll find two unique short stories. 'Last Seen Leaving' is a gripping account of the days following the disappearance of a local man by award-winning writer Tyler Keevil. 'The Lion and the Star' by Eluned Gramich is a vivid retelling of the Welsh language protests that electrified Cardiganshire in the 1970s and the impact of the protests on ordinary lives.

Orion Spring

Fear Less

Lou Hamilton
Authors:
Lou Hamilton

A unique guide to taking control of your imagination, confronting your fears and finding your true purpose.When we lose touch with our imaginations, we can become paralysed by fear, doubt and anxiety. But if we take back control of the imagination, our creativity becomes an amazingly powerful tool for identifying, confronting and controlling our fears. Artist and creative life coach Lou Hamilton guides you through a series of insights and simple creative exercises which gradually build your creative confidence while encouraging you to express your thoughts and ideas, giving you deeper understanding of your fears and your dreams.The book draws upon Hamilton's own experiences, scientific studies of creativity and happiness, conversations with successful artists and business owners, and the wisdom of world-famous innovators like Elon Musk, Steve Jobs and Richard Branson, whose ability to think unconventionally made them billionaires.This is a unique self-help guide offering no-nonsense expert advice and a clear path to confidence, creativity and self-discovery.

Orion

The Memory Shop

Ella Griffin
Authors:
Ella Griffin
Orion Spring

The Seven Principles For Making Marriage Work

John Gottman
Authors:
John Gottman
Seven Dials

Davina's Kitchen Favourites

Davina McCall
Authors:
Davina McCall
W&N

Making a Noise

John Tusa
Authors:
John Tusa
W&N

Heal Me

Julia Buckley
Authors:
Julia Buckley
W&N

The Book of Emma Reyes

Emma Reyes
Authors:
Emma Reyes