Christian Cameron - Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part Five - Orion Publishing Group

Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part Five

By Christian Cameron

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The latest instalment of the Tom Swan adventures - the fast-paced serialised novel set in the turbulent Europe of the fifteenth century.

The latest instalment of the Tom Swan adventures - the fast-paced serialised novel set in the turbulent Europe of the fifteenth century.

Available exclusively in eBook.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409165897
  • Publication date: 25 May 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Bear Grylls: The Hunt

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

Someone has stolen uranium, hidden for decades, from a secret Nazi hideout. When Will Jaeger finds the murder scene covering it up, he knows he's caught the scent of something important.But he's lost something precious, too. His wife Ruth, whom he spent four years searching for, has been kidnapped. Someone clearly has it in for Jaeger, and the only thing to do is hunt them down.The trail takes him around the world, from South America to deepest China, in his search for answers. There's only one thing someone could want that much uranium for, and Jaeger knows the world is counting on him to stop them.But all is not as it seems. As Jaeger - the hunter - closes in, he must accept the truth might worse than he could ever imagine.And some old enemies might not be as finished as he thought.

Orion

Clash of Empires

Ben Kane
Authors:
Ben Kane

Orion

The Spark Girl's Promise

Fiona Ford
Authors:
Fiona Ford

'A compelling first novel which I promise you won't be able to put down' Daisy Styles on The Spark GirlJanuary 1941. Peggy Collins has learned a lot during her time as a Spark Girl. Posted to Swansea, as a driver to the squadron leader, she often hears things she shouldn't and she knows to be discreet, understanding how serious the phrase, loose lips sink ships really is. Peggy meets and falls in love with pilot Jim Hudson, but her heart is broken when he becomes missing in action and Peggy is left fearing the worst. That isn't the end of the shocks in store for Peggy and she is forced to remember a promise made long ago. But can she keep her word while the bombs fall?Full of wartime adventure, romance and heartbreak, The Spark Girl's Promise is perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Ellie Dean.Praise for The Spark Girl, Fiona Ford's heart-warming debut:'a fabulous debut from an immensely talented author' Annie Groves 'Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak.' Lancashire Post 'an enjoyable read with a twist towards the end to keep the reader engaged until the next one!' Jera's Jamboree

Gollancz

The Night Lies Bleeding

M.D. Lachlan
Authors:
M.D. Lachlan

The world is at war again. London is suffering from the German Blitz. For one immortal werewolf, the war means little. He knows he will soon have to give up his identity once more, begin a new life. Before the wolf emerges.But a chance conversation leads him to the scene of a gruesome murder, and the realisation that another war is being fought. The runes want to be together, and the when they are the wolf's story will end. And in Germany, one weak-willed doctor finds himself caught up in the Third Reich's fascination with the occult and the Norse myths. They believe that the runes will bring them power, and wish to abuse them for their own ends. And if they succeed, Ragnarok will come.

Orion

The Green Count

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron

One of the finest historical fiction writers in the world - Ben KaneAfter the bloody trials of Alexandria, Sir William Gold is readying for a pilgrimage to Jerusalem to ease the burden on his soul. He hopes, too, that the Holy City might allow his relationship with Emile, cousin of the Green Count of Savoy, to develop.But the Roman Emperor of Constantinople has been taken hostage by an unknown enemy, and the Green Count is vital to the rescue effort. It is up to Sir William to secure his support, but he soon finds that his past, and his relationship with Emile, might have repercussions he had not foreseen...Suddenly thrust onto the stage of international politics, Sir William finds himself tangled in a web of plots, intrigue and murder. He must hold true to his chivalric principles, and to his knights, if he is to save the Emperor and survive to tell the tale.

W&N

Istanbul

Bettany Hughes
Authors:
Bettany Hughes

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER'Life-filled and life-affirming history, steeped in romance and written with verve' GUARDIAN'Richly entertaining and impeccably reserached' Peter FrankopanIstanbul has always been a place where stories and histories collide and crackle, where the idea is as potent as the historical fact. From the Qu'ran to Shakespeare, this city with three names - Byzantium, Constantinople, Istanbul - resonates as an idea and a place, and overspills its boundaries - real and imagined. Standing as the gateway between the East and West, it has served as the capital of the Roman, Byzantine, Latin and Ottoman Empires. For much of its history it was known simply as The City, but, as Bettany Hughes reveals, Istanbul is not just a city, but a story. In this epic new biography, Hughes takes us on a dazzling historical journey through the many incarnations of one of the world's greatest cities. As the longest-lived political entity in Europe, over the last 6,000 years Istanbul has absorbed a mosaic of micro-cities and cultures all gathering around the core. At the latest count archaeologists have measured forty-two human habitation layers. Phoenicians, Genoese, Venetians, Jews, Vikings, Azeris all called a patch of this earth their home. Based on meticulous research and new archaeological evidence, this captivating portrait of the momentous life of Istanbul is visceral, immediate and scholarly narrative history at its finest.

Gollancz

God's Last Breath

Sam Sykes
Authors:
Sam Sykes
Gollancz

Fair Rebel

Steph Swainston
Authors:
Steph Swainston

In the fifth book in the Castle series, Steph Swainston returns to her uniquely imagined fantasy world.Fifteen years after the last devastating Insect attack, the immortal Circle is finally ready to launch an offensive against their implacable enemies. This time they have a new weapon - gunpowder. Hopes are high. But the Circle's plans are threatened when the vital barrels of gunpowder go missing. Jant, the Circle's winged messenger, is tasked to investigate. Soon it becomes clear that the theft is part of a deadly conspiracy . . . and Jant and his friends are among the targets. As tensions rise, Jant races to foil the conspirators. Can he expose them in time - or will the crisis blow the Fourlands apart?

Orion

Thin Air

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver
W&N

The Mountain Between Us

Charles Martin
Authors:
Charles Martin

Now a film starring Idris Elba and Kate WinsletWhat if your survival depended on a stranger? On a stormy winter night, two strangers wait for a flight at the Salt Lake City airport. Ashley Knox is an attractive, successful writer, who is flying East for her wedding. Dr Ben Payne has just wrapped up a medical conference and is also eager to return home. When the last outgoing flight is cancelled because of a storm, Ben charters a small plane that can fly around the weather front. And when the pilot says the single engine prop plane can fit one more passenger, Ben offers the seat to Ashley. Then the unthinkable happens and the plane crashes into the High Uintas Wilderness. Ben, who has broken ribs, and Ashley, who suffers a terrible leg fracture, along with the pilot's dog, are faced with a battle to survive. How will they make it out of the wilderness and if they do, will they ever be the same again?

Gollancz

Son of the Night

Mark Alder
Authors:
Mark Alder

'Guardian Science Fiction and Fantasy Best of 2017' Following on from the success of Son of the Morning, which saw him compared to both Bernard Cornwell for the flair of his historical writing and to George RR Martin for his gripping plotting, Mark Alder takes his history of the 100 years war into France as the war between Heaven and Hell swallows up the ambitions of both the French and English crowns.As the armies mass around Crecy the rivalries between Lucifer, Satan and God become ever deeper and more violent. Combining a cast of larger than life (yet real) characters and a truthful, deeply researched take on the religious beliefs of the time Mark Alder is embarked on a truly unique historical fantasy that will ensure you never see the 100 Years War and the history of medieval Europe in the same way again.

Orion

The Four Legendary Kingdoms

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Orion

Burning Angels

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

A prehistoric corpse entombed within an Arctic glacier, crying tears of blood.A jungle island overrun by rabid primates - escapees from a research laboratory's Hot Zone.A massive seaplane hidden beneath a mountain, packed with a Nazi cargo of mind-blowing evil.A penniless orphan kidnapped from an African slum, holding the key to the world's survival.Four terrifying journeys. One impossible path.Only one man to attempt it. Will Jaeger. The Hunter.

Orion

Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part Four

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron
Orion

Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part Three

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron

The latest instalment of the Tom Swan adventures - the fast-paced serialised novel set in the turbulent Europe of the fifteenth century.

Orion

Rage of Ares

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron

Arimnestos of Plataea was one of the heroes of the Battle of Marathon, in which the heroic Greeks halted the invading Persians in their tracks, and fought in the equally celebrated naval battle at Salamis. But even these stunning victories only served to buy the Greeks time, as the Persians gathered a new army, returning with overwhelming force to strike the final killing blow. For the Greeks, divided and outnumbered, there was only one possible strategy: attack. And so, in the blazing summer of 479 BC, Arimnestos took up his spear one final time at the Battle of Plataea.

Orion

Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part Two

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron
Orion

Tom Swan and the Last Spartans: Part One

Christian Cameron
Authors:
Christian Cameron

Fifteenth-century Europe. Tom Swan is not a professional soldier. He's really a merchant and a scholar looking for remnants of Ancient Greece and Rome - temples, graves, pottery, fabulous animals, unicorn horns. But he also has a real talent for ending up in the midst of violence when he didn't mean to. Having used his wits to escape execution, he begins a series of adventures that take him to street duels in Italy, meetings with remarkable men - from Leonardo Da Vinci to Vlad Dracula - and from the intrigues of the War of the Roses to the fall of Constantinople.

Gollancz

The City Stained Red

Sam Sykes
Authors:
Sam Sykes
Gollancz

Twelve Kings

Bradley Beaulieu
Authors:
Bradley Beaulieu