Harriet Cummings - We All Begin As Strangers - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169079
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169178
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169062
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018

We All Begin As Strangers

By Harriet Cummings

  • Hardback
  • £14.99

Inspired by real events - a beautiful debut about an English village pushed to the brink, and the secrets its residents are desperate to protect. If you loved THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP by Joanna Cannon, ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emma Healey and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY by Rachel Joyce, you'll adore this wonderful debut novel.

If you loved THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP by Joanna Cannon, ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emma Healey and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY by Rachel Joyce, you'll adore this wonderful British debut novel.

1984, England

Someone is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows in the village of Heathcote. What's more, the perpetrator knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.

When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community fears she's been kidnapped.

But as the villagers search for Anna, it's their own darkest secrets they're desperate to keep hidden...

Inspired by real events, and with a brilliant cast of characters, WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS is a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone.

*******

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS:

'A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange' - DAILY MAIL

'I can see why it has been compared to THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP as it has such a warm but heartbreaking feel to it' - Kate, Amazon reviewer

'A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken' - WRITING.IE

'Explores ideas of loneliness and longing' - THE i NEWSPAPER

Biographical Notes

Harriet Cummings is a freelance writer with a background in history of art and gender studies. As a script writer, she has had work performed at Edinburgh Fringe Festival, as well as independent venues around London.

While studying at Faber Academy, Harriet threw herself into her first novel and hasn't looked back since.

She lives in Leamington Spa with her husband and springer spaniel.

Follow Harriet on Twitter @HarrietWriter or find out more at www.harrietcummingsauthor.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409169048
  • Publication date: 20 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Orion

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS by Harriet Cummings, a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone - for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Jessie Burton:

Wonderful... Full of surprising twists, right up until the final revelations

— Caroline Lea, author of WHEN THE SKY FELL APART
A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange — DAILY MAIL
A great summer read... Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very end — THE POOL
Explores ideas of loneliness and longing — The i Newspaper
I so enjoyed WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS. No 'characters' in sight - just meticulous, tender, complex portraits of people — Emylia Hall, author of THE BOOK OF SUMMERS
I was reminded of William Golding's 'The Lord of The Flies'... A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken — WRITING.IE
Cummings' talent as a writer is unarguably remarkable, and her future in the literary arts looks bright — THE PLATFORM
Skilfully and satisfying done... It's a good story well told. — TRING LIVING