Harriet Cummings - We All Begin As Strangers - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169048
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169079
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169178
    • Publication date:20 Apr 2017

We All Begin As Strangers

A gripping novel about dark secrets in an English village

By Harriet Cummings

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

An atmospheric and dark mystery perfect for fans of Joanna Cannon's The Trouble with Goats and Sheep and Liane Moriarty's Truly Madly Guilty. Inspired by true events, this is a vibrant debut about an English village pushed to the brink, and the secrets its residents are desperate to protect.

***SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAMB READERS AWARD 2017***

Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty's Truly Madly Guilty and Joanna Cannon's The Trouble with Goats and Sheep - a vibrant debut about an English village pushed to the brink, and the secrets its residents are desperate to protect.

HOW WELL DO YOU REALLY KNOW YOUR NEIGHBOURS?

In the English village of Heathcote the temperature - and the sense of unease - is rising.

It started with small things - a perfume bottle being moved, a photograph left behind in someone's house. But now Anna is missing.

As the search for Anna gathers pace, suspicions grow and secrets are revealed. Surely one of the villagers can't be responsible? But then can you ever really know what's going on behind closed doors...

**********

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS - a quirky, darkly atmospheric novel:

'Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very read' THE POOL

'A dazzling debut...beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange' DAILY MAIL

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409169062
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Orion

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS by Harriet Cummings, a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone - for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Jessie Burton:

Wonderful... Full of surprising twists, right up until the final revelations

— Caroline Lea, author of WHEN THE SKY FELL APART
A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange — DAILY MAIL
A great summer read... Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very end — THE POOL
Explores ideas of loneliness and longing — The i Newspaper
I so enjoyed WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS. No 'characters' in sight - just meticulous, tender, complex portraits of people — Emylia Hall, author of THE BOOK OF SUMMERS
I was reminded of William Golding's 'The Lord of The Flies'... A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken — WRITING.IE
Cummings' talent as a writer is unarguably remarkable, and her future in the literary arts looks bright — THE PLATFORM
Skilfully and satisfying done... It's a good story well told. — TRING LIVING