Harriet Cummings - The Last of Us - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409170952
    • Publication date:06 Sep 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409169116
    • Publication date:06 Sep 2018

The Last of Us

By Harriet Cummings

  • Hardback
  • £19.99

82-year-old Nettie's memory is failing - so how can she be certain she did the terrible things they said she did? The second novel from the BAMB Reader Award shortlisted author, for fans of Anita Shreve and Maggie O'Farrell.

Eighty-two-year-old Nettie lives alone in a run-down farmhouse and surrounds herself with memories of her late husband and estranged daughter, Catherine.

Her fellow villagers avoid eye contact in the street, and she never gets any visitors. Except for the children who throw eggs at her windows.

So when Catherine's friend James appears out of the blue, Nettie is initially grateful for the company, and keen to learn more about her absent daughter.

But James' questions begin to drag up memories from the past - things about her husband she can't quite remember, and others she's tried to forget.

And if Nettie can't remember clearly, how can she be certain what they say about her is true?

Biographical Notes

Harriet Cummings' debut novel, We All Begin as Strangers, was shortlisted for the Books are my Bag Reader Award 2017. She is a freelance writer with a background in history of art and gender studies. As a script writer, she has had work performed at Edinburgh Fringe Festival, as well as independent venues around London.

A graduate of the prestigious Faber Academy creative writing course, Harriet now lives in Leamington Spa with her husband and springer spaniel.

Follow Harriet on Twitter @HarrietWriter or find out more at www.harrietcummingsauthor.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409169086
  • Publication date: 06 Sep 2018
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Orion