Steve Cavanagh - Thirteen - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409170679
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409170686
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018

Thirteen

The serial killer isn’t on trial. He’s on the jury

By Steve Cavanagh
Read by Adam Sims

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Eddie Flynn returns in a case that is unlike any he has ever tried before, where the killer isn't on the stand - he's on the jury. Fans of Michael Connelly, John Grisham and Lee Child will devour this book.

'Plotting that takes the breath away' Ian Rankin

'Steve is a fantastic thriller writer' Mark Billingham

Hollywood actor Robert Soloman stands accused of the brutal stabbings of his wife and her lover but he is desperately pleading that he had nothing to do with it. This is the trial of the century and the defence want Eddie Flynn on their team.

The biggest case Eddie has ever tried before, he decides to take it on despite the overwhelming evidence that Robert is guilty. As the trial starts, Eddie becomes sure of Robert's innocence but there's something else he is even more sure of - that there is something sinister going on in the jury box. Because of this, he is forced to ask the question:

What if the killer isn't on the stand? What if he's on the jury?
Read by Adam Sims
(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Biographical Notes

Steve Cavanagh was born and raised in Belfast before leaving for Dublin at the age of eighteen to study Law. He currently practices civil rights law and has been involved in several high profile cases; in 2010 he represented a factory worker who suffered racial abuse in the workplace and won the largest award of damages for race discrimination in Northern Ireland legal history. He holds a certificate in Advanced Advocacy and lectures on various legal subjects (but really he just likes to tell jokes). He is married with two young children.

Find out more at www.stevecavanaghbooks.com or follow Steve on Twitter @SSCav

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409170655
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
An oh so clever hook for an oh so clever, gripping book. THIRTEEN is courtroom drama at its finest, blended with page-turning twists and characters you can't get enough of. Steve Cavanagh is the John Grisham for a new generation. Slick, thrilling and unique, THIRTEEN is my favourite read of the year. — Sarah Pinborough
Outstanding - an intriguing premise, a tense, gripping build-up, and a spectacular climax. This guy is the real deal. Trust me. — Lee Child
Smart and original. This is a belter of a book. — Clare Mackintosh
I've been tracking Steve Cavanagh for a few years now and Thirteen is his best, a dead bang beast of a book that expertly combining his authority on the law with an absolutely great thrill ride. Books this ingenious don't come along very often. — Michael Connelly
A brilliant, twisty, ingeniously constructed puzzle of a book. Steve Cavanagh pulls off an enviable premise with panache. — Ruth Ware
Great hook. Great plot. Great book. Thirteen is a real page turner and one you won't want to put down. — Simon Kernick
Great hook and the book lives up to it! — Ian Rankin
An absolute rollercoaster of a read. Thrilling. — Cass Green
Quite simply deserves to be HUGE. If you read a thriller as good this year, it's only because you've read this one twice. — Mark Billingham
Tore through this between dusk and dawn. Absolute 5-star cracker from Steve Cavanagh, who's gotta be among top legal thriller writers out there nowadays. A powerhouse of a book that's much more than its high-concept hook. — Craig Sisterson
Wow! This book is friggin' awesome! Utterly immersive. — Emma Kavanagh
Fantastically gripping? Guilty as charged! — Angela Clarke
Guilty of thrills, twists, and expertly manipulating the reader. — Mason Cross
A superbly intriguing, hooky, grippy, twisty, clever thriller that kept me up all night. — Liz Nugent
Superb, fast-paced legal thriller. So well-plotted (I LOVED the court/jury details). Hints of Lee Child. BRILLIANT. — Will Dean, author of Dark Pines
Twisty, clever and beautifully written, a book this good deserves the highest praise possible. That's why I'm giving it 13/10. — Simon Toyne
What a book! I loved it so much. — Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle and The Collector
Believe the hype, folks. This is one of the most mercilessly compelling thrillers you will read this decade. — Chris Brookmyre
Smells like a best seller to me. I read it in 2 sittings ... LOVED it. — Adrian McKinty
This incredibly skilful novel deserves nothing less than five stars. It would be a crime to miss it. — The Sun
Cavanagh sets a cracking pace ... a genuine, read-in-one-sitting page-turner. — Guardian
This dazzling serial killer thriller set in Manhattan is written by a Dublin-based civil rights lawyer. One of the most accomplished legal dramas I have read this year, it reminds me of Scott Turow's stunning Presumed Innocent. The trial itself reveals Cavanagh's astonishingly sure touch for character and the skill of his serpentine plotting. — Daily Mail
That central hook along with Cavanagh's breakneck prose pace and expert plotting make for a white-knuckle ride of a story. It's something of a high-wire act, blending the machinations of a courtroom drama with the high-octane cat and mouse of a serial killer plotline, but Cavanagh delivers on both counts in spades, expertly cranking up the tension towards an explosive finale that will take thereader's breath away. Cracking stuff. — Big Issue
An adrenaline-fuelled thrill ride. Thirteen is courtroom drama at its finest. An outstanding legal thriller, so original, clever and accomplished that it should not be missed. It marks out Cavanagh as the heir apparent to John Grisham. — Daily Express
Witty and clever ... irresistible. — Daily Telegraph
Fans of John Grisham and Lee Child will enjoy this book. — Independent
Grisham-on-steroids. — Irish Independent
This is a heart-racing novel with vertiginous twists and turns. A winning mix of glamour and gruesomeness. — The Lady
A blisteringly exciting thriller, with a chilling killer. — Sunday Express
A fast-paced and absorbing thriller. Prepare to buckle up as a smattering of seemingly isolated events spiral into a twist-laden read. — The Herald
A cracking premise. — Sunday Independent
A truly first-class US courtroom drama. — The Times
A twisty clever read. — Woman's Way