Dirk Kurbjuweit - Fear - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409172031
    • Publication date:06 Sep 2018
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409172048
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409172055
    • Publication date:25 Jan 2018

Fear

The gripping thriller that has everyone talking

By Dirk Kurbjuweit

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

The most original psychological thriller of 2018, for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW and WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN. How do you protect your family when the law's not on your side?

READ THE MOST CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED THRILLER OF 2018:

'You'll never see your neighbours in the same light again' OBSERVER
'Beautifully written, frightening and absorbing' THE TIMES
'As intellectually stimulating as it is gripping *****' DAILY TELEGRAPH
'[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller' - SUNDAY TIMES
'Something we've not see before in contemporary crime fiction' GUARDIAN
'Takes you right into the heart of darkness' MAIL ON SUNDAY
'There's a twist at the end that is worth waiting for' INDEPENDENT
'A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs' WOMAN&HOME
'If you liked WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN, try FEAR' - BBC NEWS
'This creepy tale of obsession will make you wonder 'what would I do?' SUNDAY MIRROR
'A gripping tale of domestic terror' IRISH TIMES
'A must have new read' DAILY EXPRESS

You'd die for your family. But would you kill for them?

Family is everything. So what if yours was being terrorised by a neighbour - a man who doesn't listen to reason, whose actions become more erratic and sinister with each passing day? And those you thought would help - the police, your lawyer - can't help you.

You become afraid to leave your family at home alone. But there's nothing more you can do to protect them.

Is there?

FEAR is the most original thriller of 2018 - for fans of LULLABY, THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL and THE GUILTY WIFE.

************

What people are saying about FEAR:

'I'm intrigued by Dirk Kurbjuweit's novel FEAR, about a stalker living downstairs' - LIONEL SHRIVER, THE OBSERVER

'Brilliantly done to play on every parents' deepest fears' - FIONA BARTON, bestselling author of THE WIDOW

'Thought-provoking, intelligent and genuinely chilling' - ELIZABETH HAYNES, author of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER

'A terrific, original thriller - I loved it' JOANNE HARRIS

'FEAR makes us sympathetic to violent revenge, accessories to murder' - HERMAN KOCH, author of THE DINNER

'I loved it. So rich and claustrophobic' - RENEE KNIGHT, author of DISCLAIMER

'The most original thriller of the year' - NETGALLEY

'Expertly constructed, highly entertaining and thought-provoking' - Cloggie, Amazon reviewer

'If you're looking for a thriller with psychological insight, I highly recommend this one' - Marjorie, Amazon reviewer

'Not your usual thriller' - Fiona, Amazon reviewer

-------------------------

FEAR is translated from the German by Imogen Taylor

Biographical Notes

Dirk Kurbjuweit is deputy editor-in-chief at German current affairs magazine Der Spiegel, where he has worked since 1999, and divides his time between Berlin and Hamburg. He has received numerous awards for his writing, including the Egon Erwin Kisch Prize for journalism, and is the author of seven critically acclaimed novels, many of which, including FEAR, have been adapted for film, television and radio in Germany. FEAR is the first of his works to be translated into English.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409172024
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Orion

Praise for FEAR, the most original thriller of 2018 for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW by A.J. Finn, LULLABY by Leila Slimani and ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL by Sarah Vaughan:

A terrific, original thriller, and a marvellous exploration of the psychology of menace - I loved it

Five stars - as intellectually stimulating as it is gripping
Wonderfully sinister. . . You'll never see your neighbours in the same light again
Beautifully written, frightening and absorbing
Something we've not seen before in contemporary crime fiction
Kurbjuweit takes you right into the heart of darkness
I'm intrigued by Dirk Kurbjuweit's novel FEAR, about a stalker living downstairs
If you liked WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN, try FEAR by Dirk Kurbjuweit... Claustrophobic and unsettling
[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller... A powerfully disturbing read
Its layers of paranoia and memories are brilliantly done to play on every parents' deepest fears - including mine
Addictive... There's a twist at the end that is worth waiting for
This creepy tale of obsession will make you wonder 'what would I do?'
FEAR shifts our moral codes. It makes us sympathetic to violent revenge, accessories to murder. Do we want the victim to survive? No, we don't. Long after I had put this book down I still didn't. A great achievement
A must-have new read
I loved it. So rich and claustrophobic. An unsettling tale of merciless self-scrutiny
A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs
FEAR grips you from the get-go. A creeping, creepy and darkly-hued tale of family, fatherhood and failure, it is also a deliciously suspenseful thriller, an intelligent investigation into guilt and a superb slice of bourgeois domestic noir
Thought-provoking and intelligent, calling into question our own values when dealing with those on the fringes of society.. Genuinely chilling, and a compelling read
FEAR is a smart, psychologically complex and morally acute fable decked out in the garb of an intricate thriller... [and] a wry, complex, at times disturbing survey of middle-class life
The most original thriller of the year
Highly original and chilling

Praise for FEAR, the most original thriller of 2018 for fans of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW by A.J. Finn, LULLABY by Leila Slimani and ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL by Sarah Vaughan:

A terrific, original thriller, and a marvellous exploration of the psychology of menace - I loved it

— JOANNE HARRIS
Five stars - as intellectually stimulating as it is gripping — Jake Kerridge, DAILY TELEGRAPH
Wonderfully sinister. . . You'll never see your neighbours in the same light again — THE OBSERVER
Beautifully written, frightening and absorbing — THE TIMES
Something we've not seen before in contemporary crime fiction — GUARDIAN
Kurbjuweit takes you right into the heart of darkness — MAIL ON SUNDAY
I'm intrigued by Dirk Kurbjuweit's novel FEAR, about a stalker living downstairs — LIONEL SHRIVER, Observer's Best Holiday Reads 2017
If you liked WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN, try FEAR by Dirk Kurbjuweit... Claustrophobic and unsettling — BBC NEWS
[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller... A powerfully disturbing read — SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB
Its layers of paranoia and memories are brilliantly done to play on every parents' deepest fears - including mine — FIONA BARTON, bestselling author of THE WIDOW
Addictive... There's a twist at the end that is worth waiting for — INDEPENDENT
This creepy tale of obsession will make you wonder 'what would I do?' — SUNDAY MIRROR
FEAR shifts our moral codes. It makes us sympathetic to violent revenge, accessories to murder. Do we want the victim to survive? No, we don't. Long after I had put this book down I still didn't. A great achievement — HERMAN KOCH, bestselling author of THE DINNER
A must-have new read — DAILY EXPRESS
I loved it. So rich and claustrophobic. An unsettling tale of merciless self-scrutiny — RENEE KNIGHT, Sunday Times bestselling author of DISCLAIMER
A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs — WOMAN & HOME
FEAR grips you from the get-go. A creeping, creepy and darkly-hued tale of family, fatherhood and failure, it is also a deliciously suspenseful thriller, an intelligent investigation into guilt and a superb slice of bourgeois domestic noir — STAV SHEREZ, author of A DARK REDEMPTION
Thought-provoking and intelligent, calling into question our own values when dealing with those on the fringes of society.. Genuinely chilling, and a compelling read — ELIZABETH HAYNES, bestselling author of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER
FEAR is a smart, psychologically complex and morally acute fable decked out in the garb of an intricate thriller... [and] a wry, complex, at times disturbing survey of middle-class life — SYDNEY MORNING HERALD
The most original thriller of the year — NETGALLEY
Highly original and chilling — BOOKRIOT.COM