David Gemmell - Stormrider - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Stormrider

By David Gemmell
Read by Adjoa Andoh

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

David Gemmell's classic Rigante series, available in audio for the first time.

Centuries after Connavar's triumphant battles against the invading army of Stone gained the Rigante their freedom, the clan finds itself oppressed once again. Magic that once flourished has been all but snuffed out. The Varlish king and his barons have stolen Rigante lands and robbed the people of their culture and liberty. From the Rigante's former seat of power the black-hearted Moidart rules; only in the north are the clansmen free. There, in the Druagh mountains, the magic still reigns, strengthened by bold, brilliant victories of the outlaw leader known as Ravenheart. In the south, civil war has drenched the land in blood, and the armies of destruction are slowly creeping north where Ravenheart waits, believing the armies of hated Moidart will come, led by the brutal ruler's only son, Stormrider.

Ravenheart and Stormrider: enemies of uncommon courage, are unaware that the fate of their world lies in their hands. Both are destined to be heroes, but one of them is doomed. For a secret lost in the uncharted past has returned to haunt these two warriors as they face, not only the malice of powerful men, but the vengeance of an ancient evil, rising from the bloodshed to slake its thirst. As immense armies of darkness advance, it seems as if nothing will stop them. They crush their enemies with ease, until only a few thousand highlanders stand before them, with no help in sight.

But these are not ordinary men. They are clansmen, and more than that, they are Rigante.

Read by Adjoa Andoh
(p) 2017 Orion Publishing Group

Biographical Notes

David Andrew Gemmell (1948-2006) was the UK's number one fantasy author, penning more than 30 novels since his writing career began in 1984. The author of the ground-breaking Legend as well as the Drenai novels, the Rigante series, the Troy sequence and the hit Jon Shannow sequence, he is one of the most influential novelists in the genre.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409173250
  • Publication date: 23 Nov 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Summer at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe

W&N

I Want What I Want

Geoff Brown
Authors:
Geoff Brown
W&N

The Hour of Separation

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon

March 1939Christa is the only child of middle-class parents, living a protected life in the London suburbs. She longs for adventure and to break free from the life expected of her. Estelle is the headstrong daughter of a heroine of the Resistance - a woman who disappeared during the Great War, supposedly killed while she was helping two airmen to escape. One of those airmen was Christa's father. But when Estelle goes looking for answers about the mother she never really knew, she finds something unexpected. An intense friendship grows between the two young women and Estelle invites Crista to spend the summer at De Eikenhove, the family farm in Belgium. During that long hot summer, passions run high. Christa meets Estelle's two brothers - steady, dependable golden-haired Pieter and his tempestuous brooding brother Robbe. When war breaks out Christa is forced to return home, but not before she has done something she will regret for the rest of her life. Christa returns to England a changed woman. As the conflict escalates, Estelle decides to follow in her mother's footsteps and joins the Resistance. But what she doesn't know is that her mother was betrayed by someone close to them at De Eikenhove, and that person may betray them once more...

Orion

Ravencry

Ed McDonald
Authors:
Ed McDonald
Orion

Ocean Light

Nalini Singh
Authors:
Nalini Singh
Orion

Corkscrew

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester
Orion

Bear Grylls: The Hunt

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls
Orion

A Family Recipe

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry

'A delight from start to finish' Jill MansellTruly blissful escapism' Lucy DiamondLaura Griffin is preparing for an empty nest. The thought of Number 11 Lark Hill falling silent - a home usually bustling with noise, people and the fragrant smells of something cooking on the Aga - seems impossible. Laura hopes it will mean more time for herself, and more time with her husband, Dom.But when an exposed secret shakes their marriage, Laura suddenly feels as though her family is shrinking around her. Feeling lost, she turns to her greatest comfort: her grandmother's recipe box, a treasured collection dating back to the Second World War. Everyone has always adored Laura's jams and chutneys, piled their sandwiches high with her pickles . . . Inspired by a bit of the old Blitz spirit, Laura has an idea that gives her a fresh sense of purpose. Full of fierce determination, Laura starts carving her own path. But even the bravest woman needs the people who love her. And now, they need her in return . . .A deliciously feel-good story from bestseller Veronica Henry about the heart of the house: the kitchen. Pure food for the soul!

Orion

The Lido

Libby Page
Authors:
Libby Page
Orion

Echoes of the Great Song

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Orion

Dark Moon

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

The peaceful Eldarin were the last of three ancient races. The mystical Oltor, healers and poets, had fallen before the dread power of the cruel and sadistic Daroth. Yet in one awesome night the invincible Daroth had vanished from the face of the earth. Gone were their cities, their armies, their terror. The Great Northern Desert was their only legacy. Not a trace remained for a thousand years...The War of the Pearl had raged for seven years and the armies of the four Duchies were exhausted and weary of bloodshed. But the foremost of the Dukes, Sirano of Romark, possessed the Eldarin Pearl and was determined to unravel its secrets.Then on one unforgettable day a dark moon rose above the Great Northern Desert, and a black tidal wave swept across the land. In moments the desert had vanished beneath lush fields and forests and a great city could be seen glittering in the morning sunlight.From this city re-emerged the blood-hungry Daroth, powerful and immortal, immune to spear and sword. They had only one desire: to rid the world of humankind for ever.Now the fate of the human race rests on the talents of three heroes: Karis, warrior-woman and strategist; Tarantio, the deadliest swordsman of the age; and Duvodas the Healer, who will learn a terrible truth.Read by Homer Todiwala(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Orion

A Year at Hotel Gondola

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino
Orion

Spring at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe

Gollancz

The Night Lies Bleeding

M.D. Lachlan
Authors:
M.D. Lachlan

The world is at war again. London is suffering from the German Blitz. For one immortal werewolf, the war means little. He knows he will soon have to give up his identity once more, begin a new life. Before the wolf emerges.But a chance conversation leads him to the scene of a gruesome murder, and the realisation that another war is being fought. The runes want to be together, and the when they are the wolf's story will end. And in Germany, one weak-willed doctor finds himself caught up in the Third Reich's fascination with the occult and the Norse myths. They believe that the runes will bring them power, and wish to abuse them for their own ends. And if they succeed, Ragnarok will come.

Orion

Valentine's Day at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe
Orion

Troy: Lord of the Silver Bow

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell
Orion

Troy: Shield of Thunder

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

The war of Troy is looming, and all the kings of the Great Green are gathering, friends and enemies, each with their own dark plans of conquest and plunder. Into this maelstrom of treachery and deceit come three travellers; Piria, a runaway priestess nursing a terrible secret, Kalliades, a warrior with a legendary sword, and Banokles who will carve his own legend in the battles to come.Shield of Thunder takes the reader back into the glories and tragedies of Bronze Age Greece, reuniting the characters from Lord of the Silver Bow; the dread Helikaon and his great love, the fiery Andromache, the mighty Hektor and the fabled storyteller, Odysseus.Read by Thomas Judd(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Troy: Fall of Kings

David Gemmell
Authors:
David Gemmell

Darkness falls on the Great Green, and the Ancient World is fiercely divided.On the killing fields outside the golden city of Troy, forces loyal to the Mykene King mass. Among them is Odysseus, fabled storyteller and reluctant ally to the Mykene, who knows that he must soon face his former friends in deadly combat.Within the city, the Trojan king waits. Ailing and bitter, his hope is pinned on two heroes: his favourite son Hektor, and the dread Helikaon who will wreak terrible vengeance for the death of his wife at Mykene hands.War has been declared.As enemies, who are also kinsmen, are filled with bloodlust, they know that many of them will die, and that some will become heroes: heroes who will live for ever in a story that will echo down the centuries.Read by Thomas Judd(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

Snowballs

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester

Escape to the glamorous resort of Val d'Argent for a snowy week of fun, fondue and frivolity. It's going to be an unforgettable Christmas!Join old university friends Jenna, Max, Angus, Bertie, Hugo and Sally as they jet off to the French Alps for a week of festive fun.On the agenda: flirting, drinking, dancing - and a bit of skiing along the way.But once they arrive they are soon waylaid by secret passions, chairlift shenanigans, sexy ski-instructors and the sort of social climbing that requires more effort and planning than a solo ascent of Mont Blanc!Will it all snowball into disaster or will there be someone waiting under the mistletoe this Christmas?Clip on your skis, dig out your salopettes, and get ready for some fun on the slopes...If you're looking for a sweep-you-off-your-feet romance that will get you in the festive spirit, then get ready for some Winter Fun on the Slopes! Perfect for fans of Shari Low, Sarah Morgan, Heidi Swain and Jilly Cooper. Readers are loving this festive holiday read: 'A fast-paced and fun romp on the pistes, Snowballs is the perfect romantic read for those long winter evenings! Five stars.' Nicky Crosskey, Amazon reviewer'A delicious modern day Jilly Cooper set on the slopes...Delicious winter bonkbuster - couldn't put it down! Five stars.' Jules Miller-Bakewell'Fun and frothy!' Glibster

W&N

Edith & Oliver

Michèle Forbes
Authors:
Michèle Forbes

A SUNDAY TIMES MUST READ: 'A tender and vivid novel about a failing marriage set in the milieu of the Edwardian music hall'Edith was born into a different world. But her rebellious nature brought her to the seedy glamour of the music hall, where she plays the piano by night. Oliver is an illusionist. And he is a man of ambition. He wants to tour the world, to pioneer ground-breaking illusions. History and fate have other ideas. When Edith and Oliver meet they fall headlong in love. But their children arrive as the world begins to change, as cinemas crowd the high street and the draw of the music hall wanes. What follows is a struggle: against the trials of marriage, against the march of time, and against Oliver's flaws - flaws that may cost them everything.'A writer who is not afraid to address the so-called ordinary lives of real human beings' John Banville on Michèle Forbes