Libby Page - The Lido - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409175230
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2018
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409175353
    • Publication date:19 Apr 2018

The Lido

The feel-good debut of the year

By Libby Page

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A joyous feel-good debut novel about community, friendship and outdoor swimming. Perfect for fans of Joanna Cannon's The Trouble with Goats and Sheep and Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

THE SUNDAY TIMES TOP TEN BESTSELLER

'Feel-good and uplifting, this charming novel is full of heart' LUCY DIAMOND

'Tender, thought-provoking and uplifting' DAILY MAIL

Meet Rosemary, 86, and Kate, 26: dreamers, campaigners, outdoor swimmers...

Rosemary has lived in Brixton all her life, but everything she knows is changing. Only the local lido, where she swims every day, remains a constant reminder of the past and her beloved husband George.

Kate has just moved and feels adrift in a city that is too big for her. She's on the bottom rung of her career as a local journalist, and is determined to make something of it.

So when the lido is threatened with closure, Kate knows this story could be her chance to shine. But for Rosemary, it could be the end of everything. Together they are determined to make a stand, and to prove that the pool is more than just a place to swim - it is the heart of the community.

The Lido is an uplifting novel about the importance of friendship, the value of community, and how
ordinary people can protect the things they love.

'A standout hymn to female friendship and the power of collective action' STYLIST

'Did I #lovethelido? So much my heart broke a little turning the last page. A stunning debut' CLARE MACKINTOSH

'Joyous and uplifting debut - a testament to kindness and friendship' SARAH WINMAN

'Such a kind and lovely novel, The Lido has a heart that shines from every page' AJ PEARCE, author of DEAR MRS BIRD

'The next Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine' THE INDEPENDENT



'This debut is set to be one of the biggest of the year' GRAZIA



'A bright, uplifting tale of friendship and community resilience' IRISH INDEPENDENT



'Brimming with charm and compassion' DAILY EXPRESS



'A lavish depiction of an unlikely friendship, a London community and life-long love, all charmingly told in rich, yet gentle prose' CATHERINE ISAAC, author of You, Me, Everything




'An uplifting story about communities, kindness and compassion' LUCY MANGAN



Biographical Notes

Libby Page wrote The Lido while working in marketing and moonlighting as a writer. The Lido has sold in over twenty territories around the world and film rights have been sold to Catalyst Global Media. After writing, Libby's second passion is outdoor swimming. Libby lives in London where she enjoys finding new swimming spots and pockets of community within the city. Follow Libby on twitter @libbypagewrites

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409175209
  • Publication date: 19 Apr 2018
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Orion
A testament to kindness and friendship — RADIO TIMES
a joyful celebration of community and friendship — THE OBSERVER
The next Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine — THE INDEPENDENT
a timeless tale of friendship, love and chilly swims — SUNDAY EXPRESS
What will win you over is the story of two women and the strength of their friendship — GRAZIA
A beautifully written testament to unlikely friendship, the galvanising pursuit of common goals and lifelong passions which link individuals with their community — DAILY MAIL
A standout hymn to female friendship and the power of collective action — Stylist
Switching mainly between Rosemary and Kate's viewpoints, we quickly come to see that Rosemary is just as lonely as her new friend, steeped in a lifetime's memories of swimming in the lido — SUNDAY TIMES
A novel of friendship, love and the importance of community - this is an absolute pleasure — WOMAN AND HOME
Uplifting.. the pool is not just a place to swim - it's the heart of the community — BELLA
a feel-good novel about friendship and belonging — SUNDAY EXPRESS
A joyous and uplifting debut - a testament to kindness and friendship — SARAH WINMAN, author of When God Was a Rabbit and Tin Man
This is a wonderful story of friendship and believing in yourself — PRIMA
Feelgood and uplifting, this charming novel is full of heart — Lucy Diamond
Did I #lovethelido? So much my heart broke a little turning the last page. A stunning debut — Clare Mackintosh
This debut is set to be one of the biggest of the year — GRAZIA
A bright, uplifting tale of friendship and community resilience — IRISH INDEPENDENT
Brimming with charm and compassion — DAILY EXPRESS
A lavish depiction of an unlikely friendship, a London community and life-long love, all charmingly told in rich, yet gentle prose — CATHERINE ISAAC, author of You, Me, Everything
A beautiful book. Sweet and heartwarming but also wise with a strong message about the importance of community and friendship. It reminded me of a Richard Curtis film, life-affirming, romantic and impossible to resist. — Francesca Jakobi, author of Bitter
Heart-warming — GOOD HOUSEKEEPING
Such a kind and lovely novel, The Lido has a heart that shines from every page — AJ Pearce, author of Dear Mrs Bird
This lovely book is about the power of friendship and community.. Heartwarming and uplifting, The Lido is set to make quite a splash. — SUN ON SUNDAY