Veronica Henry - The Apple Orchard - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Apple Orchard

A heart-warming short story to curl up with

By Veronica Henry

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The Apple Orchard is a truly feel-good short story about friendship and kindness. It's the perfect introduction to Veronica Henry and includes an extract of her upcoming novel The Forever House.

'Romantic and utterly heartwarming' Jenny Colgan on How To Find Love in a Bookshop

In the charming town of Peasebrook, there's a place for everyone. War vet Joe has made new friends and a new home for himself here, overlooking a beautiful apple orchard. But when tragedy strikes and Joe is left out in the cold, it will bring them all together in entirely unexpected ways . . .

The Apple Orchard is a truly feel-good short story about friendship and kindness and includes an extract of Veronica's upcoming novel The Forever House.

It's the perfect introduction to Veronica's stories - a very short sweet tale to enjoy with a cup of tea and a piece of cake!

Biographical Notes

Veronica Henry has worked as a scriptwriter for The Archers, Heartbeat and Holby City amongst many others, before turning to fiction. She won the 2014 RNA Novel of the Year Award for A Night on the Orient Express. Veronica lives with her family in a village in north Devon.

Find out more at www.veronicahenry.co.uk or follow her on Twitter @veronica_henry

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409175490
  • Publication date: 13 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
Veronica Henry writes like a dream — Jill Mansell
Orion

The Sound of Her Voice

Nathan Blackwell
Authors:
Nathan Blackwell
Orion

If Harry Met Sally Again

Annie Robertson
Authors:
Annie Robertson

Orion

A Child's Game

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
W&N

The River

Peter Heller
Authors:
Peter Heller

YOU CAN TRY TO OUTRUN NATURE... BUT WILL YOU SURVIVE ONE MAN'S FURY?TWO FRIENDSWynn and Jack have been best friends since their first day of college: a gentle giant from Vermont and a rugged kid raised on a ranch in Colorado, brought together by their shared love of literature and the great outdoors.THE ADVENTURE OF A LIFETIME When they decide to take time off university and canoe down the Maskwa River in northern Canada, they anticipate the ultimate wilderness experience: two young men navigating the rapids through the quiet, imposing landscapes of North America. No phones. No fellow travellers. No way of going back. A HELLISH RIDEBut as a raging wildfire starts to make its way towards them - reducing the towering trees to charred carcasses - their idyllic expedition becomes a desperate race for survival. And when a man suddenly appears, seemingly in a state of shock and claiming his wife has vanished, the fight against nature's destructive power becomes entangled with a much deadlier game of cat and mouse.Because the only thing more dangerous than a burning forest is a man's thirst for revenge...

Gollancz

Replay

Ken Grimwood
Authors:
Ken Grimwood
Trapeze

Bonnie and Stan

Anna Stuart
Authors:
Anna Stuart
Orion

Revolution

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

THIRTY MILLION READERS WORLDWIDE. INCLUDES EXCLUSIVE NEVER BEFORE SEEN CHAPTER.'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVYou fight, you kill, you steal, you lie.... or you die. As war breaks out between Blackwing and Greystone, Grace's allegiance becomes clear. But that doesn't make her task any easier.Hayden knows that war is coming. That these raids are just the beginning, and there is something else coming for them. But can he save his camp and free himself at the same time?Welcome to the revolution.

Orion

My Mother's Daughter

Ann O'Loughlin
Authors:
Ann O'Loughlin

County Wicklow, Ireland. Margo has just lost her husband Conor and is grieving his passing, unsure how she and her daughter Elsa will survive without him. Then she receives a letter that turns everything she thought she knew on its head. Not only has she lost her husband, but now Margo fears she could lose her daughter as well. Ohio, United States. Cassie has just split from her husband acrimoniously. Upset and alone she does not know how to move forward. Then her ex-husband demands a paternity test for their daughter Tilly and sorrow turns to anger as Cassie faces the frightening possibility of losing her daughter. A powerful, moving stories of family, resilience and compassion, and how women support each other through the most difficult times, My Mother's Daughter takes the issues closest to our hearts and makes us ask ourselves the most difficult questions - what would we do in Margo and Cassie's place?Praise for Ann's writing:'The Ludlow Ladies' Society brought me to a beautiful place and into a circle of friends that I didn't want to leave. Unputdownable' KATE KERRIGAN 'It's a heart-warming story ... but also an addictive page-turner with plenty of unexpected twists and reveals in store' READER'S DIGEST'A moving tale of loss, love and redemption' BELLA MAGAZINE'Deftly written, moving and courageous' THE SUNDAY TIMES'Slow-marching, romantic prose draws us into an old world that is rustic, genteel, quaint...[but] scandals lie in wait' IRISH INDEPENDENT'Highly engaging debut you will want to dive into' SUNDAY INDEPENDENT, IRELAND'A lovely story of two women with the courage to confront the injustices of the past, bringing light to a dark corner of Ireland s recent history' KATHLEEN MACMAHON, BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THIS IS HOW IT ENDS

Orion

The Light Over London

Julia Kelly
Authors:
Julia Kelly

A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever...1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London.Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance...Discover the story of the remarkable World War Two gunner girls in this entrancing and heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly's The Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale.

Orion

Only a Mother

Elisabeth Carpenter
Authors:
Elisabeth Carpenter

ONLY A MOTHERErica Wright lives a quiet, lonely life in her two-bed end of terrace. Her front door hasn't been graffitied in more than a year but that's soon about to change - her son, Craig, is being released from prison. COULD BELIEVE HIM Local journalist, Luke Harding is determined to warn the public. As the person who covered the arrest and trial all those years ago, he knows the kind of predator Craig really is. COULD BURY THE TRUTHWhen Luke's worst fears are realised after a woman is attacked days after Craig's release, he becomes obsessed with trying to prove that Craig was behind it. COULD FORGIVE WHAT HE HAS DONE.Erica is worried, too - but how can a mother turn her back on her son? And how far will she go to protect him?(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Orion

A Liverpool Secret

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

Christmas at the Beach Hut

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Orion

Bittersweet

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Orion

In a House of Lies

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

Violet's Children

Maureen Lee
Authors:
Maureen Lee
Orion

The House of Shadows

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams

'Downton fans will love the elegance, intrigue and drama of The House of Shadows' - Yours The final compelling historical saga concluding a trilogy that began with Storms of War and The Edge of the Fall, from popular TV historian and critically-acclaimed author Kate Williams. Celia De Witt is half-German, half-English and heir to her family's vast fortune. But it is 1929, the world is changing and her life seems less secure than ever. A shocking revelation from her father sends her far from England and the life she knew and headlong into New York, a city brimming with money and promise. Celia sets about saving the family firm by creating an innovative new range of convenience foods for the new generation of independent young women. But she also has other plans. The son she thought was dead is in America and the man she once thought she loved is nearby - but if she opens the Pandora's Box of the past, she may find other secrets will escape... As the shadow of war once again threatens to fall across Europe, Celia is determined to save those she loves, even if it comes at the highest price...'A beautifully conjured family saga. Fans of Downton Abbey will love it' - Alison Weir'This terrific saga comes with a fascinating twist ... Williams has a gift for showing how great movements in history affect the lives of people caught up in them' The Times'Brilliant - a passionate and poignant story of a glittering family on the precipice of a vanished world ... a must-read' Lisa Hilton

Orion

A Family Recipe

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Orion

With This Man

Jodi Ellen Malpas
Authors:
Jodi Ellen Malpas
Orion

The Passage

Justin Cronin
Authors:
Justin Cronin

An epic, awe-inspiring novel of good and evil - now a global bestseller.Amy Harper Bellafonte is six years old and her mother thinks she's the most important person in the whole world.She is.Anthony Carter doesn't think he could ever be in a worse place than Death Row.He's wrong.FBI agent Brad Wolgast thinks something beyond imagination is coming.It is.THE PASSAGE. Soon to be an epic drama on Fox from writer Elizabeth Heldens and executive producer Ridley Scott.

Gollancz

The Snow

Adam Roberts
Authors:
Adam Roberts

The new Adam Roberts novel is a story of global apocalypse, old hatreds and new beginnings. It is his best novel to date.And this is how the world will end ...'The snow started falling on the sixth of September, soft noiseless flakes filling the sky like a swarm of white moths, or like static interference on your TV screen - whichever metaphor, nature or technology, you find the more evocative. Snow everywhere, all through the air, with that distinctive sense of hurrying that a vigorous snowfall brings with it. Everything in a rush, busy-busy snowflakes. And, simultaneously, paradoxically, everything is hushed, calm, as quiet as cancer, as white as death.And at the beginning people were happy.'But the snow doesn't stop. It falls and falls and falls. Until it lies three miles thick across the whole of the earth. Six billion people have died. Perhaps 150,000 survive. But those 150,000 need help, they need support, they need organising, governing.And so the lies begin. Lies about how the snow started. Lies about who is to blame. Lies about who is left. Lies about what really lies beneath.