Daniel Keyes - Flowers For Algernon - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781857989380
    • Publication date:13 Jan 2000
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780575088498
    • Publication date:15 Nov 2012
Books in this series

Flowers For Algernon

By Daniel Keyes
Read by Adam Sims

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

One of the very best must-read SF novels of all time

'A masterpiece of poignant brilliance . . . heartbreaking' Guardian

Charlie Gordon, a floor sweeper born with an unusually low IQ, has been chosen as the perfect subject for an experimental surgery that doctors hope will increase his intelligence - a procedure that has been highly successful when tested on a lab mouse named Algernon. All Charlie wants is to be smart and have friends, but the treatement turns him into a genius.

Then Algernon begins to fade. What will become of Charlie?

Read by Adam Sims
(p) Orion Publishing Group 2017

Biographical Notes

Daniel Keyes was born in Brooklyn in 1927 and has worked as a merchant seaman, editor and university lecturer. He has published two other novels, but Flowers for Algernon remains his best known work.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409176305
  • Publication date: 17 Aug 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion
This is one of the greats: a story and a central character that have stayed with me for thirty years, from the first moment I picked it up — Conn Iggulden
A masterpiece of poignant brilliance . . . heartbreaking, and utterly, completely brilliant — Guardian
A timeless tearjerker — Independent
Excellent . . . extremely moving — The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
Unflinchingly honest . . . it will make you reflect on your own life . . . and completely and utterly break your heart — Guardian Online
A narrative tour de force, very moving, beautiful and remorseless in its simple logic — Science Fiction, 100 Best Novels
Strikingly original — Publishers Weekly
A tale that is convincing, suspectful and touching — New York Times
Trapeze

The Lonely Hearts Cinema Club

David M. Barnett
Authors:
David M. Barnett

Twenty-year-old Jenny is struggling to make friends at university, and moves in to Sunset Promenade to escape her problems. Her roommates are a little older than she was expecting - Sunset Promenade is a private nursing home, taking in students to save money. At first the new residents clash, but when Jenny introduces a movie night the group realise they have more in common than they think. In the spirit of his ebook bestseller Calling Major Tom, David M Barnett's second novel introduces a cast of quirky yet loveable characters, who explore the aches of being young and the pains of being old. The Lonely Hearts Cinema Club is an uplifting story about community and belonging that will leave you with a spring in your step no matter how old you are.

Orion

Chocolat

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris

When an exotic stranger, Vianne Rocher, arrives in the French village of Lansquenet and opens a chocolate boutique directly opposite the church, Father Reynaud denounces her as a serious moral danger to his flock - especially as it is the beginning of Lent, the traditional season of self-denial.As passions flare and the conflict escalates, the whole community takes sides. Can the solemnity of the Church compare with the sinful pleasure of a chocolate truffle?(p) 2018 Orion Publishing Group

Trapeze

The Other Couple

Sarah J. Naughton
Authors:
Sarah J. Naughton

This was meant to be the perfect honeymoon.A five-star beach resort in Vietnam, with white sands, private villas and world-class cuisine. A chance for newlyweds Amber and Ollie Graveney to recover from a tragedy that has left them on the verge of collapse.Except things don't go as planned.When Amber wakes up in hospital after a brutal attack, her husband is nowhere to be found.And paradise has turned into a nightmare...Praise for Sarah J. Naughton's Tattletale : 'A perfect example of how a psychological thriller should be written - intricately plotted and full of shocking surprises.' Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me'Like any great mystery, Tattletale would, at every twist, lead me to think I'd put the pieces together - only to turn the puzzle upside down.' Grazia'A twisty thriller that will leave you gasping your way through it as the story twists and turns.' Goodreads'This is a psychological thriller with a twist, and a very twisted heart. This story is what happens when two people from very broken beginnings are brought together. This story is what happens when fear eclipses the need for justice and fairness, when the strong and arrogant prey upon the weak. This book is one which deserves every bit of praise it is undoubtedly going to get.' Goodreads

Orion

Bitter

Francesca Jakobi
Authors:
Francesca Jakobi

It's 1969, the summer of love still lingers in London, but Gilda is haunted by her wartime past. She walked out on her son Reuben when he was just a boy and fears he'll never forgive her. When he marries a small, blonde gentile, she takes it as the ultimate rejection. Her cold, distant son seems transformed by love. What does his new wife have that she doesn't? As Gilda's obsession builds, she starts to follow her daughter-in-law, copies her hairstyle and breaks into the newlyweds' home. Watching her son and his wife stumble through their first few months of marriage, she is forced to reflect on how she ended up so alone. And when new and shocking truths come to light, she has the opportunity to put the past to rest. She must decide between doing what is right and the tantalising prospect of revenge.

Orion

The Year of Surprising Acts of Kindness

Laura Kemp
Authors:
Laura Kemp

Sometimes all it takes to make the world a better place is a small act of kindness...When Ceri Price arrives in the small seaside village of Dwynwen in West Wales, she only means to stay for a couple of nights - long enough to scatter her mother's ashes, and then go back to her life as a successful make-up entrepreneur. But a case of mistaken identities means she lands a job as the barmaid in the local pub, she unexpectedly finds friendship, and wonders if love might follow... But when the plans for a new housing estate put the local woodland under threat, she fears the way of life here could disappear.Then mysterious acts of kindness start springing up around the village - a string of bunting adorns the streets, a new village signpost appears out of nowhere and someone provides paint to spruce up the houses on the seafront. Who is behind these acts of kindness and can they help in the race to save the village from the faceless developers...?Welcome to Dwynwen: Village of Love. Where friendship flourishes and love blossoms...Read by Lowri Walton(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

W&N

I Want What I Want

Geoff Brown
Authors:
Geoff Brown

'I want what I want ... not what other people think I ought to want' Roy Clark insists to all those who attempt to help him: to the psychiatrist at the mental hospital in which he briefly finds himself; to his baffled but affectionate sister, whose clothes he has stolen; to his father, who is appalled that he has produced such a son.For Roy Clark wants to be Wendy Ross. When a small legacy enables him - not to have the operation on which he has set his heart - but at least to dress and live his life as a woman, he feels brilliantly alive for the first time. But then he meets a man called Frank and, realising he can't live without love, the stage is set for tragedy. I Want What I Want is an extraordinary portrait of a young man struggling with his gender identity. Devastating and deeply moving, it is a modern classic and was made into a film by the same title starring Anne Heywood.

Orion

Saturday Bloody Saturday

Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher
Authors:
Alastair Campbell, Paul Fletcher
Orion

Restless Souls

Dan Sheehan
Authors:
Dan Sheehan
Orion

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit
Authors:
Dirk Kurbjuweit
Orion

The Love of a Family

Rebecca Shaw
Authors:
Rebecca Shaw
Orion

The Night Market

Jonathan Moore
Authors:
Jonathan Moore

'Do you ever think there's maybe something that's gone wrong with the world?'A man is found dead in one of the city's luxury homes. Homicide detective Ross Carver arrives at the scene when six FBI agents burst in and forcibly remove him from the premises. Two days later...Carver wakes in his bed to find Mia a neighbor he's hardly ever spoken to, reading aloud to him. He has no recollection of the crime scene, no memory of how he got home, and no idea that two days have passed. Carver knows nothing about this woman but as he struggles to piece together what happened to him, he soon realizes he's involved himself in a web of conspiracy that spans the nation. And Mia just might know more than she's letting on...'Moore has a great gift for the macabre and the creepy.' The Times

W&N

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato
Orion

The Truth

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Gateway

The Fifth Sally

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes
Gateway

The Touch

Daniel Keyes
Authors:
Daniel Keyes

When Karen Stark becomes pregnant, she and Barney are overjoyed. They've wanted a baby for so long. After an industrial accident, Barney unknowingly spreads radioactive dust into his neighborhood, into his home, and onto his wife's body. As frightened friends and neighbors become enemies, the dream of becoming parents turns into a nightmare...

Orion

A Country Christmas

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Orion

Music Across the Mersey

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill

When a Dublin family is torn apart, can a new start in Liverpool help heal the wounds? 1940s DublinHandsome widower Johnny Cassidy is out of work and lost as to how to look after his four children. Broken-hearted, he's tempted to look for the answer at the bottom of a beer glass, and it takes another calamity for him to realise help sometimes comes from the strangest places.With Johnny's family over the sea in Liverpool, it's his wife's spinster cousin who comes to the rescue. Nora's well-ordered life is turned upside down by this brood of children to keep fed, schooled and out of trouble. But underneath the bustle of daily life, they all cherish secret dreams, some of which threaten to tear the family apart.With Nora around, Ella Cassidy can be a teenager again, rather than trying to raise her younger siblings, while her older brother, Sean, finds that music might be his salvation. But when he takes to the stage, it's the start of a journey that will take him far from home, and right to the kind of trouble he thought he'd outran.A warm and inviting story of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews.

Orion

Coming Home to Island House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Gollancz

Runelight

Joanne M Harris
Authors:
Joanne M Harris