Jean Fullerton - A Glimpse at Happiness - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409113218
    • Publication date:19 Nov 2009

A Glimpse at Happiness

By Jean Fullerton

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409178132
  • Publication date: 03 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti
Gollancz

Dragon Heart

Peter Higgins
Authors:
Peter Higgins
Orion

Our Life in a Day

Jamie Fewery
Authors:
Jamie Fewery
Orion

25 Days Till Christmas

Poppy Alexander
Authors:
Poppy Alexander

A contemporary, emotional, but ultimately feel-good, festive up-lit novel for fans of Jenny Colgan, Debbie Johnson, and Holly Martin.Kate Potter used to love Christmas. A few years ago she would have been wrapping her presents in September and baking mince pies on Halloween, counting down to the countdown to Christmas. But a few years ago, everything was different. That was before Kate's husband went away with the army and didn't come home. Now she can hardly stand December at all.Kate's lonely. She doesn't think she's ready for romance, but she needs more than this, and her son Jack needs a Christmas to remember. What Kate needs is a Christmas miracle, and if there isn't one on its way, she'll just have to make her own.So begins Kate's advent countdown to the best Christmas ever. She has it all planned out, but you can't plan for the unexpected, and when the path of the loneliest woman in town crosses with that of the loneliest man, she just might find a way to save Christmas for all of them...

W&N

Night Soldiers

Alan Furst
Authors:
Alan Furst

'Complex, intelligent, hugely intriguing - Alan Furst is in a class of his own' William Boyd 'Intelligent, ambitious, absorbing' New York TimesChosen as one of the 50 Best Modern Crime Novels by Marcel Berlins, crime reviewer, The TimesBulgaria, 1934. Khristo Stoianev sees his brother kicked to death by a gang of fascist thugs. Taking a risk on the promise of Communism, he flees to Moscow and is trained as an agent of the NKVD, the Soviet secret intelligence service. His first mission is to go to Catalonia, where he is soon caught up in the bloody horrors of the Spanish Civil War. Warned that he is about to become a victim of Stalin's purges, Khristo must again take flight, this time to Paris, where he is a small player on the wrong end of a social scene that is simultaneously decadent and doomed. One of the twentieth century's greatest spy novels, Night Soldiers is a thrilling portrait of one man's extraordinary adventures and of Europe teetering on the brink of the Second World War. 'Alan Furst's mastery of the espionage novel puts him beyond any would-be rival' Literary Review 'A spy novel, a war story, an adventure, a survivor's tale - Night Soldiers is all this and more' Seattle Times

Gollancz

The Dream Gatherer

Kristen Britain
Authors:
Kristen Britain
Orion

The Three Secret Cities

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly
Orion

An Unreliable Man

Jostein Gaarder
Authors:
Jostein Gaarder

From the creative genius of Jostein Gaarder comes a beautiful novel about loneliness and the power of words.Jakop is a lonely man. Divorced from his wife, with no friends apart from his constant companion Pelle, he spends his life attending the funerals of people he doesn't know, obscuring his identity in a web of improbable lies. As his addiction to storytelling spirals out of control, he is forced to reconcile his love of language and stories with the ever more urgent need for human connection. An Unreliable Man is a moving and thought-provoking novel about loneliness and truth, about seeking a place in the world, and about how language and storytelling give our lives meaning.Decades after his global bestseller Sophie's World, Jostein Gaarder has written a poignant and funny book for our times - full of life and hope.(p) Orion Publishing Group 2018

Orion

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit
Authors:
Dirk Kurbjuweit

READ THE MOST CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER OF 2018:'You'll never see your neighbours in the same light again' OBSERVER'Beautifully written, frightening and absorbing' THE TIMES'As intellectually stimulating as it is gripping *****' DAILY TELEGRAPH'[An] uncomfortably close-to-home thriller' - SUNDAY TIMES'Something we've not see before in contemporary crime fiction' GUARDIAN'Takes you right into the heart of darkness' MAIL ON SUNDAY'There's a twist at the end that is worth waiting for' INDEPENDENT'A terrifying study of a family threatened by the tenant living downstairs' WOMAN&HOME'If you liked WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN, try FEAR' - BBC NEWS'This creepy tale of obsession will make you wonder 'what would I do?' SUNDAY MIRROR'A gripping tale of domestic terror' IRISH TIMES'A must have new read' DAILY EXPRESSYou'd die for your family. But would you kill for them?Family is everything. So what if yours was being terrorised by a neighbour - a man who doesn't listen to reason, whose actions become more erratic and sinister with each passing day?You go to the police, but they can't help you. You become afraid to leave your family at home alone. But there's nothing more you can do to protect them.Is there?FEAR is the most original thriller of 2018 - for fans of LULLABY, THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW, ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL and THE GUILTY WIFE.************What people are saying about FEAR:'I'm intrigued by Dirk Kurbjuweit's novel FEAR, about a stalker living downstairs' - LIONEL SHRIVER, THE OBSERVER'Brilliantly done to play on every parents' deepest fears' - FIONA BARTON, bestselling author of THE WIDOW'Thought-provoking, intelligent and genuinely chilling' - ELIZABETH HAYNES, author of INTO THE DARKEST CORNER'A terrific, original thriller - I loved it' JOANNE HARRIS'FEAR makes us sympathetic to violent revenge, accessories to murder' - HERMAN KOCH, author of THE DINNER'I loved it. So rich and claustrophobic' - RENEE KNIGHT, author of DISCLAIMER'The most original thriller of the year' - NETGALLEY'Expertly constructed, highly entertaining and thought-provoking' - Cloggie, Amazon reviewer'If you're looking for a thriller with psychological insight, I highly recommend this one' - Marjorie, Amazon reviewer'Not your usual thriller' - Fiona, Amazon reviewer-------------------------FEAR is translated from the German by Imogen Taylor

Orion

Depth of Winter

Craig Johnson
Authors:
Craig Johnson
W&N

The Necessary Marriage

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato

'Elegant, subtle and tender, with a sharp sting in the tale' Sunday Mirror 'A captivating novel which gets to the core of lust, love and commitment' Irish Times'Gripping and atmospheric, this book will knock you sideways' Fiona Mitchell, author of The Maid's RoomJane is sixteen when she falls in love with her teacher. Leonard Campbell is everything she has ever wanted: handsome, intelligent and attentive. He singles Jane out, giving her novels to read and discuss over long walks and cosy dinners. It is only once married, tied down and tied down with two children in 1980s suburbia that Jane realises she might have settled too early, losing much of herself in the process.Then Marion and Andrew, a couple whose passion frequently tips into violence, move in next door, forcing Jane to confront feelings she didn't know she could have. And when Marion abandons her family, Jane steps in to help with the couple's two boys, setting in motion a series of events, all of which expose the push and pull within every relationship. As desire and loyalty are blurred, it becomes clear that nobody can escape the devastating impact of a family falling apart.The Necessary Marriage is an intense, intimate portrait of how couples come together and grow apart, and the passions that drive us to do crazy things.

W&N

The Lightkeeper's Daughters

Jean Pendziwol
Authors:
Jean Pendziwol

LONGLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN 2018*** A RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK ***Elizabeth grew up in a lighthouse, inseparable from her enigmatic twin sister Emily. Their father, the lightkeeper, kept a journal of his observations and their daily life. When those journals are discovered on a shipwrecked boat, many decades later, Elizabeth is living in a retirement home and her eyesight is failing. She enlists the help of a troubled teenager, Morgan, to read to her, and an unlikely friendship grows between the two. But as Morgan reads on, Elizabeth discovers that the past revealed is not as she remembers it, and that the journal may contain answers to unexplained events that have haunted her all her life . . .

Orion

The House of Shadows

Kate Williams
Authors:
Kate Williams
Orion

Death in Provence

Serena Kent
Authors:
Serena Kent

Orion

Sweet Heart

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Gollancz

Xeelee: Vengeance

Stephen Baxter
Authors:
Stephen Baxter
Trapeze

The After Wife

Cass Hunter
Authors:
Cass Hunter
Orion

The Wrong Child

Barry Gornell
Authors:
Barry Gornell

How far would you go to protect your child?When tragedy strikes in a small Scottish village, everyone in the community is affected.Most people believe one child is to blame for what happened.But could a young boy really be responsible? And what lengths will his parents go to protect him?THE WRONG CHILD is the most thought-provoking novel of 2018, perfect for fans of WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN by Lionel Shriver and MY ABSOLUTE DARLING by Gabriel Tallent.****************READERS ARE CALLING THE WRONG CHILD 'UNFORGETTABLE':'Amazing' - Amazon 5* review'A great page-turner!' Amazon 5* review'Hopefully it will receive the wider audience it so richly deserves' - Amazon 5* review'Challenges your notions and ideals of morality' - Amazon review'Will stick with you long after you finish it!' Amazon review****************What the critics are saying about THE WRONG CHILD:'A thought-provoking read' - THE SUN'Genuinely gripping' - THE HERALD'A study of guilt and grief' - DAILY MAIL'Brilliant, but dark as hell' - METRO'Astonishing' - PSYCHOLOGIES'So visceral it seeps into your pores' - DAILY RECORD'Stunning. Macabre, unsettling and beautifully poetic' - BRIAN CONAGHAN, Costa Award winning author

Orion

Tell It To The Skies

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Orion

No Cure for Love

Jean Fullerton
Authors:
Jean Fullerton