Jean Fullerton - A Glimpse at Happiness - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409113218
    • Publication date:19 Nov 2009

A Glimpse at Happiness

By Jean Fullerton

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409178132
  • Publication date: 03 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

Summer at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe
W&N

I Want What I Want

Geoff Brown
Authors:
Geoff Brown
Orion

The Hour of Separation

Katharine McMahon
Authors:
Katharine McMahon
Orion

Corkscrew

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester

Jenna Jenkins is in trouble. She's lost her job and it's make or break time with Angus. Frustrated at his lack of commitment - and desperately short of funds - she accepts a flirtatious friend's offer of work at the prestigious Carstairs & Co of Piccadilly, the oldest wine merchant in London and from there a summer secondment at the beautiful Chateau Montmorency. Organising the party of the century, dining out with suave Frenchmen and getting tempted among the vines seem all part of a day's work... but is there a secret lurking in the cellars of the glamorous chateau?Caught in a trap she can't talk - or drink - herself out of she's well and truly corkscrewed. Angus is nowhere to be found when she needs him, but a mysterious benefactor helps her out of her jam. Funny how he seems so familiar though?

Orion

Bear Grylls: The Hunt

Bear Grylls
Authors:
Bear Grylls

Someone has stolen uranium, hidden for decades, from a secret Nazi hideout. When Will Jaeger finds the murder scene covering it up, he knows he's caught the scent of something important.But he's lost something precious, too. His wife Ruth, whom he spent four years searching for, has been kidnapped. Someone clearly has it in for Jaeger, and the only thing to do is hunt them down.The trail takes him around the world, from South America to deepest China, in his search for answers. There's only one thing someone could want that much uranium for, and Jaeger knows the world is counting on him to stop them.But all is not as it seems. As Jaeger - the hunter - closes in, he must accept the truth might worse than he could ever imagine.And some old enemies might not be as finished as he thought.

Orion

A Family Recipe

Veronica Henry
Authors:
Veronica Henry
Orion

The Lido

Libby Page
Authors:
Libby Page

Meet Rosemary, 86, and Kate, 26: dreamers, campaigners, outdoor swimmers...Rosemary has lived in Brixton all her life. But now everything she knows is changing - the library where she used to work has closed, the family fruit and veg shop has become a trendy bar, and her beloved husband George is gone.Kate has just moved and feels alone in a city that is too big for her. She's at the bottom rung of her career as a journalist on a local paper, and is determined to make something of it. So when the local lido is threatened with closure, Kate knows this story could be her chance to shine. And Rosemary knows it is the end of everything for her. Together they are determined to make a stand, to show that the pool is more than just a place to swim - it is the heart of the community. Together they will show the importance of friendship, the value of community, and how ordinary people can protect the things they love.

Orion

A Year at Hotel Gondola

Nicky Pellegrino
Authors:
Nicky Pellegrino

'Recipe For Life pulls off the rare trick of being both gritty and lyrical, heartrending and compelling. A novel about how easy it is to become an observer in your own life, and the joy of learning to live again. It also made me very hungry!' JOJO MOYES on Recipe for LifeA woman swaps her far-flung travels for her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.Kat has never wanted to live a small life. She's an adventurer, a food writer who travels the world visiting far-flung places and eating unusual things. Now she is about to embark on her biggest adventure yet - a relationship. She has fallen in love with an Italian man and is moving to live with him in Venice where she will help him run his small guesthouse, Hotel Gondola. Kat has lined up a book deal and will write about the first year of her new adventure, the food she eats, the recipes she collects, the people she meets, the man she doesn't really know all that well but is going to make a life with. But as Kat ought to know by now, the thing about adventures is that they never go exactly the way you expect them to...

Trapeze

The After Wife

Cass Hunter
Authors:
Cass Hunter
Orion

Spring at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe

Orion

Valentine's Day at the Café at the End of the Pier

Helen Rolfe
Authors:
Helen Rolfe
Orion

Snowballs

Fliss Chester
Authors:
Fliss Chester
W&N

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato

'A haunting debut about grief, loss and motherhood - and a woman's identity beyond that role' The Pool'An intriguing tale of love, loss and missed opportunities . . . although infused with sadness, it is written with verve and delivers an amazing twist' Sunday Mirror'Tender and moving, this part-thriller, part-memoir will leave you floored' Emerald Street When Katharine is found dead at the foot of her stairs, it is the mystery of her life that consumes her daughter, Laura.The medical examiner's report, in which precious parts of Katharine's body are weighed and categorised, motivates Laura to write her own version of events; to bear witness to the unbearable blank space between each itemised entry.It forces her to confront a new version of the woman she knew only as her mother - a woman silenced by her own mother, and wronged by her husband. A woman who felt shackled by tradition and unable to love freely.With the heart of a memoir and the pace of a thriller, An Unremarkable Body reveals an overwhelming desire to make sense of an unfulfilled life - and to prove that an unremarkable body does not mean an unremarkable life.'Beautiful, sensitive, and poignant' Clarissa Goenawan, author of Rainbirds'Spare, confident and affecting. A compelling read' Joanna Barnard, author of Precocious and Hush Little Baby'An incredibly moving story of maternal love, sacrifice, and how little we know those closest to us' Chloë Mayer, author of The Boy Made of Snow

Orion

Music Across the Mersey

Geraldine O'Neill
Authors:
Geraldine O'Neill
Orion

Coming Home to Island House

Erica James
Authors:
Erica James
Gollancz

Oathbringer

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson

From the bestselling author who completed Robert Jordan's epic Wheel of Time series comes a new, original creation that matches anything else in modern fantasy for epic scope, thrilling imagination, superb characters and sheer addictiveness.In Oathbringer, the third volume of the New York Times bestselling Stormlight Archive series, humanity faces a new Desolation with the return of the Voidbringers, a foe whose numbers are as great as their thirst for vengeance.The Alethi armies commanded by Dalinar Kholin won a fleeting victory at a terrible cost: The enemy Parshendi summoned the violent Everstorm, and now its destruction sweeps the world and its passing awakens the once peaceful and subservient parshmen to the true horror of their millennia-long enslavement by humans. While on a desperate flight to warn his family of the threat, Kaladin Stormblessed must come to grips with the fact that their newly kindled anger may be wholly justified.Nestled in the mountains high above the storms, in the tower city of Urithiru, Shallan Davar investigates the wonders of the ancient stronghold of the Knights Radiant and unearths the dark secrets lurking in its depths. And Dalinar realizes that his holy mission to unite his homeland of Alethkar was too narrow in scope. Unless all the nations of Roshar can put Dalinar's blood-soaked past aside and stand together - and unless Dalinar himself can confront that past - even the restoration of the Knights Radiant will not avert the end of civilization.'I loved this book. What else is there to say?' Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times bestselling author of The Name of the Wind, on The Way of Kings

Gollancz

Seventh Decimate

Stephen Donaldson
Authors:
Stephen Donaldson
Orion

The Wrong Child

Barry Gornell
Authors:
Barry Gornell

What if your child committed the ultimate crime?When a village school building collapses, killing all but one of the children inside, an entire community is left devastated.The parents are convinced the sole survivor of the disaster - a boy named Dog Evans - is to blame.But could a child possibly be responsible? And can the parents' lust for his blood ever be justified?THE WRONG CHILD is the darkest, most thought-provoking novel of 2017, perfect for fans of WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN by Lionel Shriver and DEVIL'S DAY by Andrew Michael Hurley.****************What reviewers are saying about THE WRONG CHILD:'God, this is dark. A study of guilt and grief' - DAILY MAIL'A thought-provoking read' - THE SUN'Brilliant, but dark as hell' - METRO'Genuinely gripping' - THE HERALD'Astonishing' - PSYCHOLOGIES'So visceral it seeps into your pores' - DAILY RECORD'Stunning. Macabre, unsettling and beautifully poetic' - BRIAN CONAGHAN, Costa Award winning authorREADERS ARE CALLING IT 'UNFORGETTABLE':'Hopefully it will receive the wider audience it so richly deserves' - Mary P, Amazon reviewer'Challenges your notions and ideals of morality' - Jo, Amazon reviewer'Will stick with you long after you finish it!' Laura, Amazon reviewer

Orion

Shadow Man

Margaret Kirk
Authors:
Margaret Kirk
W&N

Edith & Oliver

Michèle Forbes
Authors:
Michèle Forbes

A SUNDAY TIMES MUST READ: 'A tender and vivid novel about a failing marriage set in the milieu of the Edwardian music hall'Edith was born into a different world. But her rebellious nature brought her to the seedy glamour of the music hall, where she plays the piano by night. Oliver is an illusionist. And he is a man of ambition. He wants to tour the world, to pioneer ground-breaking illusions. History and fate have other ideas. When Edith and Oliver meet they fall headlong in love. But their children arrive as the world begins to change, as cinemas crowd the high street and the draw of the music hall wanes. What follows is a struggle: against the trials of marriage, against the march of time, and against Oliver's flaws - flaws that may cost them everything.'A writer who is not afraid to address the so-called ordinary lives of real human beings' John Banville on Michèle Forbes