Candice Carty-Williams - Queenie - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409180098
    • Publication date:11 Apr 2019
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409180050
    • Publication date:11 Apr 2019

Queenie

By Candice Carty-Williams

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A darkly comic and unflinchingly raw depiction of a young woman trying to navigate her way in the world, QUEENIE is about identity, independence and carving your own path. For fans of Dolly Alderton, Bryony Gordon and Dawn O'Porter, and anyone who loved Fleabag and Dear White People.

'Inspirational, funny and wise' - Kit de Waal, author of My Name is Leon.

Queenie Jenkins can't cut a break. Well, apart from one from her long term boyfriend, Tom. That's definitely just a break though. Definitely not a break up. Stuck between a boss who doesn't seem to see her, a family who don't seem to listen (if it's not Jesus or water rates, they're not interested), and trying to fit in two worlds that don't really understand her, it's no wonder she's struggling.

She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

A darkly comic and bitingly subversive take on modern life, QUEENIE will have you nodding in recognition, crying in solidarity, and rooting for this unforgettable character every step of the way.

Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Bryony Gordon and Dawn O'Porter, and anyone who loved Fleabag and Dear White People.

Biographical Notes

Candice Carty-Williams is a marketer, author and journalist based in London. Born in 1989, the result of an affair between a Jamaican cab driver and a Jamaican-Indian dyslexic receptionist, Candice worked in the media before moving into publishing aged 23. In 2016, Candice created and launched the Guardian and 4th Estate BAME Short Story Prize, is a Penguin Books Write Now mentor, and she also contributes regularly to Refinery29, BEAT Magazine, Guardian Guide and i-D. QUEENIE is her first novel. She can be found on Twitter at @CandiceC_W.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409180081
  • Publication date: 11 Apr 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Trapeze
Queenie has all the things you want in a debut novel - a startlingly fresh voice, characters you fall in love with from the very first page, and a joyous turn of phrase that makes this book almost impossible to put down. In turns hilariously funny and quietly devastating, Queenie is an important, timely story. — Louise O'Neill
Candice Carty-Williams is a fantastic new writer who has written a deliciously funny, characterful, topical and thrilling novel for our times. — Bernardine Evaristo
Brilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking — Jojo Moyes
Funny, wise and of the moment, this book and this writer are the ones to watch — Kit de Waal
Queenie is the sort of novel you just can't stop talking about and want everyone you know to read. Snort your tea out funny one moment and utterly heart-breaking the next ... I absolutely loved it — AJ Pearce
Hilarious and off the wall and tender — Nikesh Shukla
Candice gives so generously with her joy, pain and humour ... a beautiful and compelling book — Afua Hirsch
I ate this up in one greedy, joyous gulp. I loved Queenie and was cheering her on all the way — Cathy Rentzenbrink
I was engrossed and loved Queenie - her humour, her pain, her politics, her friends, her family! — Diana Evans
A really special book with much to say about black female identity, sexual politics, group chats & emotional becoming in a way that feels totally unforced. Filthy, funny & profound — Sharlene Teo
Queenie is the best mate we all want - funny, sharp and more than a little vulnerable. I loved climbing inside her mind and wish I could have stayed longer. I adored this novel — Stacey Halls