Tim MacGabhann - Call Him Mine - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781474610445
    • Publication date:27 Jun 2019
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781474610476
    • Publication date:27 Jun 2019

Call Him Mine

By Tim MacGabhann

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A gritty literary crime novel set in the dark heart of Mexico.

Jaded reporter Andrew and his photographer boyfriend, Carlos, are sick of telling just another story. From cartel massacres to corrupt politicians, sifting the dregs of Mexico's drug war, they think they've seen it all. But when they find a body even the police are too scared to look at, what started out as just another reportage becomes the sort of story all reporters dream of.


Until Carlos pushes for answers too fast, and winds up murdered, leaving Andrew grief-stricken and flailing for answers, justice, and revenge. Caught in a web of dirty money that stretches from the boardrooms of the United States to the death squads of El Salvador, Andrew must decide whether to save himself - or find out who killed the man he loves, and destroyed the only home he's ever known.

(p) Orion Publishing Group Ltd 2019

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409183501
  • Publication date: 27 Jun 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: W&N
This audacious and ingenious combination of hardcore reporting and genre fiction gives the clearest account and synthesis I've read anywhere of the staggering horror that has befallen contemporary Mexico. If a young journalist really were to investigate the murder in Mexico of another daring journo and justice warrior who was also his lover, this terrifying, riveting, emotionally wrenching narrative is a realistic account of how that might go. But Call Him Mine gives the reader more than that, because Macgabhann is a writer of gritty poetic genius. This is the wired fevered enthralling Mexico City I live in. This is the most beautiful writing about Mexico in an English-language novel since Malcolm Lowry's Under the Volcano. — Francisco Goldman, author of Say Her Name and The Interior Circuit: A Mexico City Chronicle
This gritty crime novel set in Mexico follows reporter Andrew as he investigates the murder of his own boyfriend. Brilliantly plotted, with a strong sense of the vibrant and violent setting, Call Him Mine is a must-read for those who were glued to Narcos and Sicario. — Dead Good (Debut crime novels to watch out for in 2019)
Orion

Host

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Gollancz

The Hatching Trilogy

Ezekiel Boone
Authors:
Ezekiel Boone
Trapeze

The School Run

Helen Whitaker
Authors:
Helen Whitaker
Orion

Mine

Clare Empson
Authors:
Clare Empson

On the surface, Luke and his girlfriend Hannah seem to have a perfect life. He's an A&R man, she's an arts correspondent and they are devoted to their newborn son Samuel. But beneath the gloss Luke has always felt like an outsider. When he finds his birth mother Alice, the instant connection with her is a little like falling in love.So when Hannah goes back to work, Luke asks Alice to look after their son. But Alice - deranged with grief when her baby was taken from her 27 years ago - starts to fall in love with Samuel, and starts to pretend their child is hers...

Orion

Inspection

Josh Malerman
Authors:
Josh Malerman

Gollancz

Replay

Ken Grimwood
Authors:
Ken Grimwood
Orion

Revolution

Megan DeVos
Authors:
Megan DeVos

THIRTY MILLION READERS WORLDWIDE. INCLUDES EXCLUSIVE NEVER BEFORE SEEN CHAPTER.'The Hunger Games meets The Road' MTVYou fight, you kill, you steal, you lie.... or you die. As war breaks out between Blackwing and Greystone, Grace's allegiance becomes clear. But that doesn't make her task any easier.Hayden knows that war is coming. That these raids are just the beginning, and there is something else coming for them. But can he save his camp and free himself at the same time?Welcome to the revolution.

Orion

The Light Over London

Julia Kelly
Authors:
Julia Kelly

A forgotten diary, a forbidden love affair, a desperate fight to save her country2017 When Cara Hargreaves discovers a diary from the 1940s, its contents will change her life forever...1941 When Louise Keene meets dashing RAF pilot, Paul Bolton, she is swept off her feet. Then Paul is sent to war and Louise, defying her mother's wishes, ends up a gunner girl in London.Watching the pitch-black skies for bombers, Louise finds comfort recording her dreams in her diary. And as Cara reads her words, decades later, she learns that hope can be found even in the darkest of times, she just needs to take a chance...Discover the story of the remarkable World War Two gunner girls in this entrancing and heartbreaking novel, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly's The Lilac Girls and Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale.Praise for The Light Over London'a heartbreaking romance that will grip you from the very beginning.' Washington Post

Orion

The Golden Tresses of the Dead

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley
W&N

Black Water Lilies

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Orion

Dead Simple

Harry Bingham, Mark Billingham, Angela Marsons, Jane Casey, James Oswald, Antonia Hodgson, Clare Mackintosh, C L Taylor
Authors:
Harry Bingham, Mark Billingham, Angela Marsons, Jane Casey, James Oswald, Antonia Hodgson, Clare Mackintosh, C L Taylor
Orion

Even Dogs in the Wild

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
W&N

The Maker of Swans

Paraic O’Donnell
Authors:
Paraic O’Donnell

'Compulsive reading . . . rich, strange, beautiful' Helen Macdonald, author of H is for Hawk'A strange, new and captivating look at a magical realm . . . Lavishly entertaining' Independent'Enthralling . . . a literary feast' StylistThe world had forgotten Mr Crowe and his mysterious gifts. Until he killed the poet. He lived a secluded life in the fading grandeur of his country estate. His companions were his faithful manservant and his ward, Clara, a silent, bookish girl who has gifts of her own. Now Dr Chastern, the leader of a secret society, arrives at the estate to call Crowe to account and keep his powers in check. But it is Clara's even greater gifts that he comes to covet most. She must learn to use them quickly, if she is to save them all.

The Murder Room

Treason in my Breast

Anthony Gilbert
Authors:
Anthony Gilbert
Gollancz

The Riddle-Master's Game

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip

In a land where wizards have long since vanished, Morgon, Prince of Hed, is confronted with a challenge much different from that faced by his land-bound predecessors. Although he wants only to rule and work the land of his birth, Morgon must search out a very different destiny - one dictated since birth by the mark of three stars imprinted on his forehead. He must wander strange, foreign lands full of untamed magic in the form of riddling wraiths, mysterious harpists, a lost crown, a magical sword and an all-knowing High One who rules over all. In his quest for a new life for himself and his people, he must face great dangers - not only to himself but to his promised bride, his land and his very way of life . . .This volume contains The Riddle-Master of Hed, Heir of Sea and Fire and Hugo and World Fantasy Award-shortlisted Harpist in the Wind - the complete Riddle-Master trilogy, which is among the most respected and popular fantasies of recent years.

Gateway

Heir of Sea and Fire

Patricia A. McKillip
Authors:
Patricia A. McKillip
Orion

The Great Zoo Of China

Matthew Reilly
Authors:
Matthew Reilly

The Chinese government has been keeping a secret for forty years: they have found a species of animal no one believed even existed that will amaze the world.Now the Chinese are ready to unveil their astonishing discovery within the greatest zoo ever constructed. A small group of VIPs and journalists has been brought to the zoo deep within China to see its fabulous creatures for the first time. Among them is Dr Cassandra Jane 'CJ' Cameron, a writer for NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC and an expert on reptiles.The visitors are assured by their Chinese hosts that they will marvel at these beasts, that they are perfectly safe, that nothing can go wrong . . .

Orion

Blood Work

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

Terry McCaleb, one of the most effective serial-killer investigators in the history of the FBI, hunts down his heart donor's killer. An unputdownable story from the award-winning No. 1 bestselling author.'Blood Work' - that's what Terry McCaleb used to call his job at the FBI. Eight weeks ago he was a dead man, but now someone else's heart is keeping him alive. Then a newspaper report of his brush with death brings him an unwanted visitor. Graciela Rivers reveals to McCaleb that the anonymous donor of his heart was her murdered sister, and that the police investigation into the case is going nowhere. McCaleb feels he has no choice but to take on the investigation.Nothing about the seemingly random killing makes sense. McCaleb realises that someone is watching his every move - someone who has killed before and will kill again...

Orion

Dead Souls

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

Faith

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James