Lia Louis - Somewhere Close to Happy - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409184140
    • Publication date:13 Jun 2019
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409184188
    • Publication date:13 Jun 2019

Somewhere Close to Happy

By Lia Louis

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'A thought-provoking, beautifully observed study of love and real life, social issues and mental health' - Jill Mansell. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Jojo Moyes and anyone looking for a satisfying page-turner.

'A wonderfully written, funny and moving debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart... Unforgettable.' - Sunday Times bestselling author, Claire Douglas

Lizzie James is happy.

She has a steady office job (with a steady stream of snacks), has had the same best friend since school, and she sees her family every Thursday night for take-away and trashy TV. Lizzie likes her uncomplicated life.

Then a letter arrives one day from her first love, Roman. A letter dated the day he disappeared, 12 years before. As Lizzie uncovers the secrets of the letter, she discovers what really happened the year her life fell apart - and all avenues lead back to Roman.

Lizzie James thought she was happy, or somewhere close to happy, anyway. Now she's not so sure.

'A funny and heart-warming story of first loves and the importance of friendship, but also a moving and wise exploration of mental health, childhood, self-discovery and - ultimately - the importance of being brave.' - Sunday Times bestselling author, Gillian McAllister

*Perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Mhairi McFarlane and Cecelia Ahern and Kate Eberlen's Miss You. This is a novel you won't soon forget.*

Biographical Notes

Lia Louis is a writer from Hertfordshire where she lives with her partner and three young children. In 2015, she won ELLE magazine's annual talent competition with her contemporary love letter, #RelationshipGoals. Lia's fascination with letters doesn't stop with her writing: she also has a varied collection of old letters which are a source of inspiration to her. Somewhere Close to Happy is her first novel. Lia can be found tweeting at @LisforLia.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409184171
  • Publication date: 13 Jun 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Trapeze
This book is beautiful. The writing is generous and kind and funny. I fell in love with the story and the characters, it made me feel hopeful, and I cried. Lia is such a talented, wonderful writer. — Hayley Webster
A wonderfully written, funny and moving debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart. I laughed, cried and was completely swept away by Lizzy and Roman's story. Unforgettable. — Claire Douglas
I thought it was both a funny and heart-warming story of first loves and the importance of friendship but also a very moving and wise exploration of mental health, childhood, self-discovery and - ultimately - the importance of being brave. Louis's is a bold, standout voice in the women's fiction genre and Somewhere Close To Happy deserves to be huge. — Gillian McAllister
I loved it. I want more. It is just exquisitely written. So tender and packed with emotion but also great humour. It deserves to soar. — Claire Allan
Honest and brave, Somewhere Close to Happy is a thought-provoking, beautifully observed study of love and real life, social issues and mental health — Jill Mansell
Oh my god, I LOVED Somewhere Close to Happy. It made me cry several times but was also really funny. It is so incredibly good. — Laura Marshall
Beautiful, raw, emotional, gripping. Roman and Lizzie will burrow into your hearts and never leave. — Lynsey James