Amy MacKinnon - The Unforgotten - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Unforgotten

Previously published as Tethered

By Amy MacKinnon

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An unusual, hauntingly atmospheric crime novel from a stunning new talent.

PREVIOUSLY PUBLISHED AS TETHERED

An unusual, hauntingly atmospheric crime novel from a stunning talent.

Daisies for innocence; irises for hope; asphodel for eternal sorrow...

Clara Marsh is an undertaker. She spends her solitary life among the dead and bids them farewell with a bouquet from her own garden. But Clara's carefully structured life shifts when she discovers a neglected little girl, Trecie, playing in the funeral parlour, desperate for a friend.

It changes even more when Detective Mike Sullivan starts questioning her again about a body she prepared three years ago, an unidentified girl found murdered in a nearby strip of woods. Unclaimed by family, the community christened her Precious Doe. When Clara and Mike learn that Trecie may be involved with the same people who killed Precious Doe, Clara must choose between her solitary but steadfast existence and the perils of binding one's life to another.

Clara's search for the girl pulls her into a spiralling series of events that threaten to endanger the few people Clara has grown to love - and finally brings her own tragic and long-buried past to the surface.

Biographical Notes

Amy MacKinnon, a former congressional aide, is a freelance writer whose commentaries have appeared in theSeattle Times, Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Patriot Ledger and on National Public Radio and This American Life. She lives in Marshfield, Massachusetts with her husband and their three young children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409188643
  • Publication date: 25 Oct 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Trapeze
Orion

Now You See Me

Chris McGeorge
Authors:
Chris McGeorge

Six people went in. Only one came out...Introducing Standedge Tunnel: the longest canal tunnel in England. Last year six students went in, and two and a half hours later, the boat reappeared on the other side with only one of the students, unconscious, and the dog.The case of the Standedge Six was largely kept from the national media. The police investigation concluded that the only remaining student, Matthew, killed his friends, hid the bodies on the boat and returned later to move them to an undisclosed location. Matthew is in prison . . . but maintains he is innocent.Robert Ferringham is grieving for his missing wife, Sam. So when Matthew contacts him for help with his case, promising information on Sam, Robert has no choice but to help. But can he trust Matthew? And how will he solve the insolvable case?

Orion

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti
Orion

A Noise Downstairs

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Orion

To Catch a Killer

Emma Kavanagh
Authors:
Emma Kavanagh
Orion

The New Iberia Blues

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke
W&N

Time is a Killer

Michel Bussi
Authors:
Michel Bussi
Orion

For the Missing

Lina Bengtsdotter
Authors:
Lina Bengtsdotter
Orion

For Better and Worse

Margot Hunt
Authors:
Margot Hunt

'Margot Hunt's cleverly constructed thriller kept me guessing till the very end.' Peter SwansonOn their first date back in law school, Natalie and Will Clarke bonded over drinks, dinner and whether they could get away with murder. Now married, they'll put the latter to the test when an unchecked danger in their community places their son in jeopardy. Working as a criminal defense attorney, Nat refuses to rely on the broken legal system to keep her family safe. She knows that if you want justice...you have to get it yourself.Shocked to discover Nat's taken matters into her own hands, Will has no choice but to dirty his, also. His family is in way too deep to back down now. He's just not sure he recognizes the woman he married. Nat's always been fiercely protective, but never this ruthless or calculating. With the police poking holes in their airtight plan, what will be the first to fall apart: their scandalous secret - or their marriage?

W&N

RL's Dream

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

Winner of the 1996 Black Caucus of the American Library Association Literary Award in FictionSoupspoon Wise is dying on the unforgiving streets of New York City, years and worlds away from the Mississippi delta, where he once jammed with blues legend Robert "RL" Johnson. It was an experience that burned indelibly into Soupspoon's soul - never mind that they said RL's gift came from the Devil himself. Now it's Soupspoon's turn to strike a deal with a stranger. An alcoholic angel of mercy, Kiki Waters isn't much better off than Soupspoon, but she too is a child of the South, and knows its pull. And she is determined to let Soupspoon ride out the final notes of his haunting blues dream, to pour out the remarkable tale of what he's seen, where he's been - and where he's going.

W&N

Night Runners

Richard Crompton
Authors:
Richard Crompton
W&N

Black City

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

The latest book in the internationally bestselling Erast Fandorin Mysteries series Crimea, 1914. When the Tzar's head of security is assassinated, Fandorin is called to investigate: the killer has been overheard mentioning a 'black city' so Fandorin and his trusty companion, Masa, head to Baku, the burgeoning capital of oil. But as soon as they arrive, they are attacked and Fandorin almost drowns in an oil well. Saved by a stranger who hides him in the labyrinth of Baku's Old City, Fandorin begins to suspect the plot might be part of something larger - and much more dangerous. With war brewing in the Balkans, and Europe's empires struggling to contain the threat of revolution, Fandorin must try and solve his difficult case yet before time runs out.An explosive, edge-of-your-seat finale, filled with intrigue, wit and Boris Akunin's unforgettable characters.What readers are saying about the Erast Fandorin Mysteries:'Think Tolstoy writing James Bond with the logical rigour of Sherlock Holmes' Guardian'There's a dark twist at the end that has me anxious to continue in this series' Neil on Goodreads (five stars)'Erast Petrovich Fandorin is a man with lightning-fast reactions, a probing analytical mind and a great arsenal of concealed weaponry' Daily Telegraph'These books are a fun, riotous read that you don't want to put down' Jill on Goodreads (five stars)'Gloriously tounge-in-cheek but seriously edge-of-your-seat at the same time' Daily Express

Orion

The Insider

Mari Hannah
Authors:
Mari Hannah
Orion

The Dream Wife

Louisa de Lange
Authors:
Louisa de Lange

'That ending . . . It had me questioning everything! So clever and twisted and disturbing' Elle Croft, bestselling author of The Guilty Wife 'A startling and clever twist' Cara Hunter, bestselling author of In the Dark**********Annie is the dream wife. Mother to two-year-old Johnny and wife to David, she is everything her husband expects her to be - supportive, respectful and mild - but what he expects isn't who she truly is. Annie is a prisoner in her home. Her finances, her routine, her social life are all controlled by him. It's the love for her boy that she lives for, and at night she dreams of a world where she is free.But Annie is going to fight back. And you won't believe how she is going to do it . . .Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, Laura Marshall, Elle Croft, BA Paris, JP Delaney Teresa Driscoll and Claire Allan. ************* Readers LOVE The Dream Wife . . .'I absolutely raced through it and couldn't put it down! It was so unsettling and had me holding my breath the whole time. And then that ending . . . it had me questioning everything! So clever and twisted and disturbing' Elle Croft 'A hugely promising debut. Overturns every assumption you have at the beginning in a startling and clever twist' Cara Hunter'And of course, I was very surprised at the end too . . . there is no way you can see it coming' 'This was an absolute blinder and I loved it! Definite contender for my book club and one of my favourite reads this year!' 'Riveting and tense . . . Highly recommended''I couldn't put it down'**********A tense and electrifying novel with a twist that will break your heart. Fans of In the Dark by Cara Hunter, The Girl Before by JP Delaney, The Affair by Sheryl Browne, The Guilty One by Lisa Ballantyne, The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pakkanen, and Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris will love this.

Orion

In a House of Lies

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

Denial

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James
Orion

Faith

Peter James
Authors:
Peter James

Orion

The Other Sister

Elle Croft
Authors:
Elle Croft
Trapeze

Deep Dark Water

Lara Dearman
Authors:
Lara Dearman

'With a unique protagonist, and a brilliant setting, Lara Dearman creates more tension than a suspension bridge as you hold your breath through the book.' Helen Fields, author of Perfect SilenceAn atmospheric new crime series set in the Channel Islands, for readers of Ann Cleeves, Peter May and Elly Griffiths. Jennifer Dorey thinks she is safe. Following a traumatic incident in London, Jennifer has returned to her childhood home in Guernsey, taking a job as a reporter at the local newspaper. After the discovery of a drowned woman on a beach, she uncovers a pattern of similar deaths that have taken place over the past fifty years. Together with DCI Michael Gilbert, an officer on the verge of retirement, they follow a dark trail of island myths and folklore to 'Fritz', the illegitimate son of a Nazi soldier. His work, painstakingly executed, has so far gone undetected. But with his identity about to be uncovered, the killer now has Jennifer in his sights.And home is the last place she should be.DEEP DARK WATER introduces readers to returning characters journalist Jennifer Dorey and DCI Michael Gilbert. *************************'A dark, thrilling murder mystery in a richly-realised setting--the best debut I've read this year' Mason Cross, author of Don't Look for Me'Highly competent . . . and appealingly heartfelt' Kirkus Reviews'Atmospheric and tense. Superb!' Isabel Ashdown, author of Little Sister'A powerful debut. with smooth prose and engaging characters, Dearman draws her readers into a tangle web of secrets' Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's DaughterWhat readers have said about Deep Dark Water:'Atmospheric and superbly written' Amazon'A real page turner, keeping you guessing until the end' Amazon'Superb new series with great characters and amazing scenery. Loved it!' Amazon'A deadly mystery, with its roots in the historical past. I am so hooked!' Goodreads'This is a hugely assured and absorbing debut novel' Goodreads

Orion

Him

Clare Empson
Authors:
Clare Empson
Gollancz

Snapshot

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson