Margaret Kirk - What Lies Buried - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409188674
    • Publication date:13 Jun 2019
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781409188681
    • Publication date:13 Jun 2019

What Lies Buried

By Margaret Kirk

  • Paperback
  • £13.99

The second compulsive novel in the DI Lukas Mahler series set against the dark underbelly of Inverness's criminal world from the winner of the Good Housekeeping Novel Writing competition 2016.

'Shadow Man is a harrowing and horrific game of consequences' Val McDermid

THE BRILLIANTLY COMPELLING SECOND NOVEL IN THE DI LUKAS MAHLER SERIES

A skeleton is discovered, buried deep in the earth, on the Farr View Heights construction site. That's nothing new in the Highlands - bones are often discovered in the old graves of Picts and Vikings. But it's not the skull itself that makes the crew stop in horror - it's the bullet hole above the eye-socket.

So begins an investigation that takes DI Lukas Mahler deep into Inverness's criminal underworld - one of organised crime, murder and betrayal - and even deeper into his own harrowing past.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT MARGARET KIRK'S DEBUT NOVEL SHADOW MAN:

'Gripping'

'Kept me on my toes right to the end'

'Another great detective is born'

'Shadow Man has a taut plot, maintains suspense cleverly and is crisply written'

'The city of Inverness is almost a character in its own right'

'A top-notch crime thriller, full of intricate twists with a disturbing insight into the mind of a cold blooded killer'

'Dark and atmospheric, I just couldn't put it down'

Biographical Notes

Margaret Kirk is a Highland Scot and a graduate of Glasgow University. She is the winner of the Good Housekeeping Novel Competition 2016 which she won with Shadow Man, her debut novel featuring the brilliant Detective Lukas Mahler. Find her on Twitter @HighlandWriter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781409188650
  • Publication date: 13 Jun 2019
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Orion
Orion

The Darker Arts

Oscar de Muriel
Authors:
Oscar de Muriel

Madame Katerina, Detective 'Nine Nails' McGray's most trusted clairvoyant, hosts a séance for three of Edinburgh's wealthiest families.The following morning everyone is found dead, with Madame Katerina being the only survivor. When questioned she alleges a tormented spirit killed the families for revenge.McGray, even though he believes her, must find a rational explanation that holds up in court, else Katerina will be sentenced to death.Inspector Ian Frey is summoned to help, which turns out to be difficult as he is still dealing with the loss of his uncle, and has developed a form of post-traumatic stress (not yet identified in the 19th century).This seems an impossible puzzle. Either something truly supernatural has occurred - or a fiendishly clever plot is covering a killer's tracks...

W&N

The Reunion

Guillaume Musso
Authors:
Guillaume Musso

WELCOME TO THE SCHOOL REUNION FROM HELL FRENCH RIVIERA, WINTER 1992On a freezing night, as her high school campus is engulfed by a snowstorm, 19-year-old Vinca Rockwell runs away with Alexis, her philosophy teacher.No one will ever see them again.FRENCH RIVIERA, SPRING 2017Formerly inseparable, Thomas, Maxime and Fanny - Vinca's best friends - have not spoken in twenty-five years. But when they receive an invitation to their school's anniversary reunion, they know they must go back one final time.Because there is a body buried in that building... ...and they're the ones who put it there. THE #1 INTERNATIONAL SENSATION For fans of Joel Dicker's THE TRUTH ABOUT THE HARRY QUEBERT AFFAIR, Harlan Coben's TELL NO ONE and Gillian Flynn's GONE GIRL. With the atmosphere of Donna Tartt's THE SECRET HISTORY and David Lynch's TWIN PEAKS

Orion

Inspection

Josh Malerman
Authors:
Josh Malerman
W&N

Call Him Mine

Tim MacGabhann
Authors:
Tim MacGabhann
Gollancz

The October Man

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
Trapeze

Degrees of Guilt

HS Chandler
Authors:
HS Chandler
Orion

A Child's Game

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

In the early hours of the morning in a luxury Leeds penthouse, a terrified victim is doused with petrol, set alight, and thrown out of a ninth-floor window. The victim is a wealthy property developer - but his lover and her daughter have both gone missing.Meanwhile, security services are looking for DC Karen Sharpe who walked out eighteen months ago. But they are not the only ones desperate to find her. She is being pursued by some of the most dangerous people she has ever encountered - and to them, human life means nothing at all . . .

Orion

Falling

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor

A stunning thriller that sees Yorkshire-based DC Karen Sharpe brought to the very edge of her sanity.A year and a half ago DC Karen Sharpe was the victim of a terrifying crime. Desperately trying to shelter from its effects she has been working simple fraud and theft cases in West Yorkshire CID. But the brutal murder of a young pregnant woman threatens the precarious wall she has built around herself. Drafted onto the squad to deal with the victim's six-year-old child, Karen finds herself overwhelmed by the devastating nature of the attack. As nightmares from her past start to reoccur, her relationships with those closest to her begin to crack under the strain. An illicit relationship with her boss promises escape: a new beginning without the trappings of past horrors and guilt. But life has a savage lesson in store for her. As West Yorkshire erupts in a summer of explosive race riots, events tip Karen into the depths of the very world she has been fleeing.

Orion

Unsafe

John Connor
Authors:
John Connor
Orion

Three Bullets

R.J. Ellory
Authors:
R.J. Ellory
Gollancz

From Divergent Suns

Sam Peters
Authors:
Sam Peters
W&N

Flowers Over the Inferno

Ilaria Tuti
Authors:
Ilaria Tuti
Orion

The New Iberia Blues

James Lee Burke
Authors:
James Lee Burke
W&N

The Man In My Basement

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

The man at Charles Blakey's door has a proposition almost too strange for words. The stranger offers him $50,000 in cash to spend the summer in Charles's basement, and Charles cannot even begin to guess why. The beautiful house has been in the Blakey family for generations, but Charles has just lost his job and is behind on his mortgage payments. The money would be welcome. But Charles Blakey is black and Anniston Bennet is white, and it is clear that the stranger wants more than a basement view. There is something deeper and darker about his request, and Charles does not need any more trouble. But financial necessity leaves him no choice. Once Anniston Bennet is installed in his basement, Charles is cast into a role he never dreamed of. Anniston has some very particular requests for his landlord, and try as he might, Charles cannot avoid being lured into Bennet's strange world. At first he resists, but soon he is tempted--tempted to understand a set of codes that has always eluded him, tempted by the opportunity to understand the secret ways of white folks. Charles's summer with a man in his basement turns into an exploration of inconceivable worlds of power and manipulation, and unimagined realms of humanity. Walter Mosley pierces long-hidden veins of justice and morality with startling insight into the deepest mysteries of human nature

W&N

RL's Dream

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley

Winner of the 1996 Black Caucus of the American Library Association Literary Award in FictionSoupspoon Wise is dying on the unforgiving streets of New York City, years and worlds away from the Mississippi delta, where he once jammed with blues legend Robert "RL" Johnson. It was an experience that burned indelibly into Soupspoon's soul - never mind that they said RL's gift came from the Devil himself. Now it's Soupspoon's turn to strike a deal with a stranger. An alcoholic angel of mercy, Kiki Waters isn't much better off than Soupspoon, but she too is a child of the South, and knows its pull. And she is determined to let Soupspoon ride out the final notes of his haunting blues dream, to pour out the remarkable tale of what he's seen, where he's been - and where he's going.

Gollancz

Lies Sleeping

Ben Aaronovitch
Authors:
Ben Aaronovitch
W&N

Black City

Boris Akunin
Authors:
Boris Akunin

The latest book in the internationally bestselling Erast Fandorin Mysteries series'Readers can expect prime Akunin - ingenious, twisty, exotic' Daily Mail Crimea, 1914. When the Tzar's head of security is assassinated, Fandorin is called to investigate: the killer has been overheard mentioning a 'black city' so Fandorin and his trusty companion, Masa, head to Baku, the burgeoning capital of oil. But as soon as they arrive, they are attacked and Fandorin almost drowns in an oil well. Saved by a stranger who hides him in the labyrinth of Baku's Old City, Fandorin begins to suspect the plot might be part of something larger - and much more dangerous. With war brewing in the Balkans, and Europe's empires struggling to contain the threat of revolution, Fandorin must try and solve his difficult case yet before time runs out.An explosive, edge-of-your-seat finale, filled with intrigue, wit and Boris Akunin's unforgettable characters.What readers are saying about the Erast Fandorin Mysteries:'Think Tolstoy writing James Bond with the logical rigour of Sherlock Holmes' Guardian'There's a dark twist at the end that has me anxious to continue in this series' Neil on Goodreads (five stars)'Erast Petrovich Fandorin is a man with lightning-fast reactions, a probing analytical mind and a great arsenal of concealed weaponry' Daily Telegraph'These books are a fun, riotous read that you don't want to put down' Jill on Goodreads (five stars)'Gloriously tounge-in-cheek but seriously edge-of-your-seat at the same time' Daily Express

Orion

You Can Run

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby

'Steve Mosby has become one of a handful of writers who make me excited about crime fiction' Val McDermid'Mosby has become renowned for thrillers that reach into dark places where most British crime writers are afraid to go' Sunday ExpressWhen a stolen car crashes into a house on a suburban street, the police are shocked to discover a woman being held captive inside the building. As the remains of many more victims are found in the house, it seems that the Red River Killer - who has been abducting women for twenty years and taunting the police with letters about his crimes - has finally been identified. As the hunt for the killer intensifies, DI Will Turner finds the investigation edging dangerously close to uncovering his own demons. He must be the one to catch the killer while keeping his own past buried. The clock is ticking, and there are lives at stake... A page-turning psychological thriller and a dark police procedural, the new novel from CWA Dagger winner Steve Mosby, explores the blurred lines between truth and fiction.'Up there with the Mark Billinghams of crime-horror' Metro

Orion

The Nightmare Place

Steve Mosby
Authors:
Steve Mosby

His break-ins are careful. His attacks are savage. His confidence is growing . . .DI Zoe Dolan is tracking a stalker who brutally attacks women in their own homes. With no idea how he gets in, or who he'll target next, the case is at a dead end - until a tip-off from a confidential helpline.But instead of helping, the new information drags Zoe deeper into the darkness. As the psyche of a vicious criminal threatens to drown her, the traumas of the past she's never escaped creep closer and closer.Now, for Zoe and the other women of the city, nowhere is safe. Particularly their own bedroom in the dead of night . . .

Orion

The Defence

Steve Cavanagh
Authors:
Steve Cavanagh