Laurence Meynell - The Lost Half Hour - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781471901058
    • Publication date:14 Aug 2013

The Lost Half Hour

By Laurence Meynell

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'Meynell's voice is something to cherish' The Times

Oliver Seaton was an up-and-coming Labour MP when his mother committed suicide by gassing herself. Oliver had lived at his mother's house and the inquest judge was keen to know what time he got home to find his mother dying. He had called an ambulance at 9.26pm.

Among the crowd at the inquest is Alan Strang. Oliver and Strang have had a private relationship in the past, a relationship that, if it came to light, could ruin the fast-developing career of the MP, not to mention his marriage.

When a muck-raking journalist elicits from Strang that he saw Oliver reach his mother's house at 8.55pm on the night she died there is a missing half hour to account for, and the danger for Seaton starts growing ...

Biographical Notes

Laurence Meynell was born in Wolverhampton and educated at St Edmund's College, Hertfordshire. He served in the Artillery during WW1, and after leaving the army in 1919 taught for a short time, before working as a land agent in the Midlands. He had always wanted to write, however, and after winning the publisher Harrap's novel competition in 1924 became a successful and prolific author who, although best known for his crime fiction, also wrote non-fiction and children's books. He was married twice, to writer Shirley Darbyshire, with whom he had a daughter, Ann, and to Joan Belfrage.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471901041
  • Publication date: 14 Aug 2013
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Trapeze

The Woman Inside

E. G. Scott
Authors:
E. G. Scott

For better, for worse... marriage can be a dangerous game.'From its seize-you-by-throat opening to that jack-in-the-box finale, this slick, sleek thriller held me breathless. Psychological suspense at its brightest and boldest.' - A. J. Finn, author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOWA page-turning thriller about secrets and revenge, told from the perspectives of a husband and wife who are the most perfect, and the most dangerous, match for each other.******Rebecca didn't know love was possible until she met Paul, a man with a past as dark as her own. Their demons drew them together, but twenty years later, the damage and secrets that ignited their love begin to consume their marriage.When Paul catches the attention of the police after two women go missing, Rebecca discovers his elaborate plot to build a new life without her. And though Rebecca is quickly spiralling out of control, it doesn't stop her from coming up with her own devastating plan for revenge... they made a promise to each other, afterall. Til death do us part. ******With a Shakespearean twist that rivals the best books in the genre, THE WOMAN INSIDE is the unmissable thriller of 2019.Perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us, and of TV shows Big Little Lies and The Affair.

W&N

Jemima Shore at the Sunny Grave

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

From treachery in the Caribbean to mischief in the Mediterranean, from murderous drama to sleek black comedy, from a baffling number of suspects to a single confrontation with a maniacal rapist, here is a tantalising and varied excursion round motives and methods in the realm of crime - a collection of wittily told and deftly turned stories, with a twist.

W&N

Woman of the Dead

Bernhard Aichner
Authors:
Bernhard Aichner
Orion

The Night Falling

Katherine Webb
Authors:
Katherine Webb
W&N

Oxford Blood

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
W&N

Your Royal Hostage

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser
W&N

Cool Repentance

Antonia Fraser
Authors:
Antonia Fraser

An atmospheric and gripping mystery from Lady Antonia Fraser's Jemima Shore series.'Was that what you thought - that you would come back, come back here to beautiful Lark, and get away with it, did you expect that? I can hardly believe it, even of you...'A series of murders have shocked the sleepy, rural village of Lark. The deaths all coincide with the reappearance of actress Christabel Herriot - it is clear that someone has decided her return is not to be tolerated.Amidst the gossip surrounding her reckless affair, Christabel decides to resume her theatrical career, joining a company performing at the Larminster Festival. Jemima Shore has been asked to present a programme on the Festival, so when it becomes clear that Christabel's life is in serious danger, Jemima is on the case again.

Orion

Where's Boris?

Various
Authors:
Various

Search for Boris Johnson in this eye-boggling illustrated adventure!Greetings citizens! Can you spot Boris?In an array of crowded scenes, from zip wires and bikes to Beijing and the Bullingdon Club, search for Boris amongst the masses. Anyone for wiff-waff?With oodles of in-jokes and bonus material to find, plus cameo appearances from some old chums, this book provides hours of fun for both the lovers and loathers of the blonde-mop-topped phenomenon that is... BoJo.A classic and fun gift book, tracking Boris down around the world will be endless amusement for all the family.

W&N

Rose Gold

Walter Mosley
Authors:
Walter Mosley
The Murder Room

The Affair at Barwold

Laurence Meynell
Authors:
Laurence Meynell
The Murder Room

Hooky Catches a Tartar

Laurence Meynell
Authors:
Laurence Meynell

Hooky Hefferman, amiable old Etonian, womaniser, layabout and occasional private eye is despatched by his formidable aunt to discover what a not-so-young woman, Monica, in Buckingham has been up to. When Hooky arrives at Cropover Farm he finds eccentrics are three-a-penny, including Monica herself. Then there's Jill Dawson, a woman on a quest for money. This young gold-digger is using her sexual magnetism to gain some. And when a violent death occurs and money goes missing, Hooky is on the case.

The Murder Room

Hooky on Loan

Laurence Meynell
Authors:
Laurence Meynell

A tiny Sussex village harbours a motley collection of inhabitants. Millerscroft, the big house, is now an expensive school, run by the flamboyant and promiscuous Raymond Montague. Hooky Hefferman is introduced into the community supposedly as a temporary teacher at Millerscroft, but in reality to investigate the theft of £500 from one of the students. It doesn't take Hooky long to discover that underneath the outwardly tranquil veneer of the village there's a tangle of adultery, debt and venomous hatred. But before Hooky can identify the thief a body is found in a stream. Did he fall or was he pushed?

The Murder Room

Hooky Hooked

Laurence Meynell
Authors:
Laurence Meynell

Hooky Hefferman is commanded to spend his forty-first birthday with his aunt, the formidable Theresa Page-Foley. While there, the occasional private eye is directed to look into the affairs of the devastatingly beautiful Lois Girling, who appears to have walked off with a piece of his aunt's jewellery, given to her by a maharajah in the days of the Raj.Never averse to investigating a female, Hooky arranges to meet Lois, and quickly realises that she is embroiled in greater crimes than theft. Soon he unveils a web of fraud and deception that threatens the standing of a major public company ...

The Murder Room

The Creaking Chair

Laurence Meynell
Authors:
Laurence Meynell
The Murder Room

The Breaking Point

Laurence Meynell
Authors:
Laurence Meynell
The Murder Room

The House in Marsh Road

Laurence Meynell
Authors:
Laurence Meynell

When Arthur meets the lovely but evil Valerie Stockley, after he and his new wife move into the house his wife has inherited, he soon becomes possessed by a force he cannot fight. Alongside Valerie, lust, greed and weakness led him deeper into depravity until he is finally committed to murder. But the house is strangely haunted - things move of their own accord, curtains draw themselves, and bells ring. As the murder plot thickens, Arthur is forced to face the power which occupies the house - and by now there is no going back ...

The Murder Room

One Step From Murder

Laurence Meynell
Authors:
Laurence Meynell
The Murder Room

Hooky Goes to Blazes

Laurence Meynell
Authors:
Laurence Meynell

The man in the dock up on an arson charge considers that Sebastian Wrighton, who owned the building, is responsible for his daughter committing suicide. What he's done, he says, is an act of justice.Sebastian next turns up as an antiques dealer in the Cotswold village of Bardbury. Once again he has a young woman in tow and therefore (some think) in danger. Spurred on by his terrifying aunt, Hooky Hefferman finds himself in Bardbury too, and soon he is investigating another case of arson ...

The Murder Room

Silver Guilt

Laurence Meynell
Authors:
Laurence Meynell

Roddy Stanhope Elworthy earns a modest income but yearns for the Dolce Vita. A win on the Premium Bonds gives him the chance to pose as Captain Ellerson at the grandest local hotel, where there is also a roulette room and a gaming table. After one or two weekends in true 'Ellerson' style, Roddy runs short of cash, but 'Ellerson' must be kept in the manner he's rapidly becoming accustomed to. A simple burglary is all it will take ...'An amusing, neat and unpretentious novel - a thoroughly professional piece of work' TLS'Sheer good humour shines out of Mr Meynell's books' Scotsman

The Murder Room

The Open Door

Laurence Meynell
Authors:
Laurence Meynell

Stella Brendan was accustomed to a comfortable unearned income and she was fifty-two years old when it vanished. How could she survive? She could survive by marrying Sir Loder Cholerton, tycoon and ageing bachelor. But Stella has skeletons in her past, skeletons that would not appeal to Sir Loder should they come out. When that threat occurs Stella calls Hooky Hefferman, who finds himself trying to protect Stella's interests. Then there's a murder. A man has been shot and there are several people who could have fired the fatal bullet ...'Thoroughly civilised writing, managing to up-date the easy, humorous, engaging mood of pre-war days, floods this pleasant country house mystery with a sunny glow' Glasgow Herald