James Hadley Chase - You Have Yourself a Deal - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781471903571
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2013

You Have Yourself a Deal

By James Hadley Chase

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'Master of the art of deception' New Statesman

Mark Girland's problems begin when a beautiful blonde is found lying on a dark deserted quai in Paris - the initials of the top Chinese atomic scientist tattooed on her upper thigh.

The girl is suffering from acute amnesia. Girland, desperate for money, is ordered by the CIA to get any information he can - by posing as her husband.

But the appeal of the mission begins to wear thin when Girland discovers he has involved himself in a life and death race to extract vital atomic secrets from the scientist's beautiful mistress.

Biographical Notes

Born René Brabazon Raymond in London, the son of a British colonel in the Indian Army, James Hadley Chase was educated at King's School in Rochester, Kent, and left home at the age of 18. He initially worked in book sales until, inspired by the rise of gangster culture during the Depression and by reading James M. Cain's The Postman Always Rings Twice, he wrote his first novel, No Orchids for Miss Blandish. Despite the American setting of many of his novels, Chase (like Peter Cheyney, another hugely successful British noir writer) never lived there, writing with the aid of maps and a slang dictionary. He had phenomenal success with the novel, which continued unabated throughout his entire career, spanning 45 years and nearly 90 novels. His work was published in dozens of languages and over thirty titles were adapted for film. He served in the RAF during World War II, where he also edited the RAF Journal. In 1956 he moved to France with his wife and son; they later moved to Switzerland, where Chase lived until his death in 1985.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471903564
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2013
  • Page count: 168
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Orion

I, Witness

Niki Mackay
Authors:
Niki Mackay
Gollancz

The Night Lies Bleeding

M.D. Lachlan
Authors:
M.D. Lachlan

The world is at war again. London is suffering from the German Blitz. For one immortal werewolf, the war means little. He knows he will soon have to give up his identity once more, begin a new life. Before the wolf emerges.But a chance conversation leads him to the scene of a gruesome murder, and the realisation that another war is being fought. The runes want to be together, and the when they are the wolf's story will end. And in Germany, one weak-willed doctor finds himself caught up in the Third Reich's fascination with the occult and the Norse myths. They believe that the runes will bring them power, and wish to abuse them for their own ends. And if they succeed, Ragnarok will come.

Orion

Fear

Dirk Kurbjuweit
Authors:
Dirk Kurbjuweit
W&N

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato
Gollancz

Seventh Decimate

Stephen Donaldson
Authors:
Stephen Donaldson
Orion

The Wrong Child

Barry Gornell
Authors:
Barry Gornell

What if your child committed the ultimate crime?When a village school building collapses, killing all but one of the children inside, an entire community is left devastated.The parents are convinced the sole survivor of the disaster - a boy named Dog Evans - is to blame.But could a child possibly be responsible? And can the parents' lust for his blood ever be justified?THE WRONG CHILD is the darkest, most thought-provoking novel of 2017, perfect for fans of WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN by Lionel Shriver and MY ABSOLUTE DARLING by Gabriel Tallent.****************What reviewers are saying about THE WRONG CHILD:'God, this is dark. A study of guilt and grief' - DAILY MAIL'A thought-provoking read' - THE SUN'Brilliant, but dark as hell' - METRO'Genuinely gripping' - THE HERALD'Astonishing' - PSYCHOLOGIES'So visceral it seeps into your pores' - DAILY RECORD'Stunning. Macabre, unsettling and beautifully poetic' - BRIAN CONAGHAN, Costa Award winning authorREADERS ARE CALLING IT 'UNFORGETTABLE':'Hopefully it will receive the wider audience it so richly deserves' - Mary P, Amazon reviewer'Challenges your notions and ideals of morality' - Jo, Amazon reviewer'Will stick with you long after you finish it!' Laura, Amazon reviewer

Trapeze

My Little Eye

Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb
Authors:
Stephanie Marland, Stephanie Broadribb

The first novel in what promises to be a riveting new series, My Little Eye is a one-sitting read: gripping, clever and worryingly plausible. - Mick Herron * * * Can a group of true crime addicts take on the police to catch a serial killer? KISS THE GIRLS AND MAKE THEM DIE...A young woman is found dead in her bedroom surrounded by rose petals - the latest victim of 'The Lover'. Struggling under the weight of an internal investigation, DI Dominic Bell is no closer to discovering the identity of the killer and time is running out.As the murders escalate, Clementine Starke joins an online true crime group determined to take justice in their own hands - to catch the killer before the police. Hiding a dark secret, she takes greater risks to find new evidence and infiltrate the group. As Starke and Bell get closer to cracking the case neither of them realise they're being watched. The killer is closer to them than they think, and he has his next victim - Clementine - firmly in his sights. Perfect for fans of Sweet Little Lies, Friend Request and Follow You Home. The thriller with twists you'll never see coming! * * * * *'My Little Eye is an enthralling, intriguing and twisty tale for all of us armchair detectives who think we know it all.' Liz Nugent, author of Lying In Wait and Unravelling Oliver'A masterclass in pacing & such an original take on the serial killer thriller.' - Eva Dolan, author of This Is How It Ends* * * * * What readers are saying about My Little Eye: 'This book is AMAZING!!!' Goodreads'Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' - Goodreads 'My Little Eye is a bang on psychological thriller of the most addictive kind.' Goodreads'Beautifully paced writing that had me speeding through every chapter at a rate of knots. Easily one of my favourite reads this year so far.' Goodreads

Orion

Thin Air

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver

The Himalayas, 1935.Kangchenjunga. The sacred mountain. Biggest killer of them all.Five Englishmen set out to conquer it. But courage can only take them so far. And the higher they climb, the darker it gets.

W&N

Dinner at the Centre of the Earth

Nathan Englander
Authors:
Nathan Englander
The Murder Room

We'll Share a Double Funeral

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase
The Murder Room

Hit Them Where it Hurts

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase

Dirk Wallace is handed a simple assignment - find out who's blackmailing Mrs Thorsen's daughter. Before long, Wallace realises that he's up against some very organised crime.And when things turn nasty, there's only one thing to do. Wallace and his assistant quit the Acme Detective Agency and go it alone. There's a score to be settled. And Dirk Wallace doesn't want to have to play by the rules.

The Murder Room

I Would Rather Stay Poor

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase
The Murder Room

Have this One on Me

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase
The Murder Room

Knock, Knock, Who's There?

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase

Johnny Bianda is a man with a dream. He wants to own a boat off the coast of Florida and he only needs $186,000 to buy it. He steals the money from his firm, knowing that one day they'll notice and one day they'll kill him for it - after all, it is the Mafia.But for Johnny Bianda, the risk is worth taking and he knows it will be at least a year before they catch up with him. Unfortunately for Bianda, the knock on his door comes sooner than he thinks ...

The Murder Room

I Hold the Four Aces

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase

Helga Rolfe is blonde, beautiful, and bright enough to control her own multi-million pound empire. But not to control her secret weakness: sex. Former lover, Archer, knows it. He has an old score to settle with her and he needs cash. When handsome gigolo Christopher Greenville crosses his path, he's found the way to both.With Archer's coaching, Chris cons Helga into wanting him badly enough to propose marriage, and when Archer fakes Chris's kidnapping, she is ready to pay the huge ransom. But events take a frightening twist when the local Mafia join the action ...

The Murder Room

My Laugh Comes Last

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase

Farrell Brannigan, President of the National Californian Bank, is an extremely successful man. So when he builds another bank in an up-and-coming town on the Pacific coast, he is given worldwide publicity, and this new bank is hailed as the 'safest bank in the world'.But Brannigan's success comes at a price and he makes enemies on his way up the ladder. It seems one of them is now set on revenge and determined to destroy both the bank and Brannigan himself.

The Murder Room

An Ear to the Ground

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase
The Murder Room

Like a Hole in the Head

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase

Jay Benson had been one of the US Army's top snipers. In Vietnam he'd killed 82 Vietcong. But making the School of Shooting he'd taken over outside Paradise City pay was a tougher proposition than the Vietnamese jungle.So when the sinister Augusto Savanto turns up with an offer of $50,000 if Jay turns his gun-shy son into an expert shot - in just nine days - he accepts. Then he discovers the horrific reason why Savanto wants his son made into a marksman. But by now there is no backing out for Jay ...

The Murder Room

Just a Matter of Time

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase
The Murder Room

Have a Change of Scene

James Hadley Chase
Authors:
James Hadley Chase

Larry Carr is a diamond expert in need of a break. So when his psychiatrist suggests he has a change of scene, he jumps at the opportunity to move to Luceville, a struggling industrial town, and become a social worker. This, he thinks, will give him all the rest he needs.But soon he runs into Rhea Morgan, a ruthless, vicious thief who also happens to be extremely attractive. He falls headlong into the criminal world and embarks upon a thrilling, rapid and dastardly adventure ...