Donald Thomas - Money With Menaces - Orion Publishing Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781471904509
    • Publication date:14 Jul 2013

Money With Menaces

By Donald Thomas

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'Strong on city life and the interplay between policemen and local politics' Independent

Wednesday 5 January is a black day in the police calendar of dockland Canton and its Art Deco resort of Ocean Beach. It dawns in freezing mist and icy roads. It ends with a vanload of drugs hijacked, two policemen dead, and gunfire on the motorway. DCI Sam Hoskins and his sergeant, Jack Chance, are meanwhile embroiled in a fruitless investigation of Billy Catte, seaside arcade proprietor and club-owner.

In a political storm that pits zealous social workers against municipal gangsters, as well as police against revenge and kidnap, Hoskins holds the tenuous thread on which several lives depend ...

Biographical Notes

Richard Dacre (a pen name of Donald Thomas) was born in Somerset and educated at Queen's College, Taunton, and Balliol College, Oxford. He holds a personal chair in the University of Wales, Cardiff, now Cardiff University. His numerous crime novels include two collections of Sherlock Holmes stories and a hugely successful historical detective series written under the pen name Francis Selwyn and featuring Sergeant Verity of Scotland Yard, as well as gritty police procedurals written under the name of Richard Dacre. He is also the author of seven biographies and a number of other non-fiction works, and won the Gregory Prize for his poems, Points of Contact. He lives in Bath with his wife.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471904516
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2013
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
Orion

A Noise Downstairs

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Gollancz

Mistborn: Secret History

Brandon Sanderson
Authors:
Brandon Sanderson
W&N

Five Days of Fog

Anna Freeman
Authors:
Anna Freeman
Trapeze

Hangman

Daniel Cole
Authors:
Daniel Cole
Orion

The Love of a Family

Rebecca Shaw
Authors:
Rebecca Shaw

A heart-warming standalone novel from Sunday Times bestseller Rebecca Shaw about the importance of family and being there for one another - perfect for fans of Lilian Harry, Rosie Clark, Alexandra Brown and Cathy Woodman.'A very gifted storyteller and that is quite an art' Sunday Telegraph *Myra and Graham Butler lead the kind of lives where everything is neat, tidy and predictable. That is until they're named guardians to their young nephews.Myra makes it clear she doesn't want the responsibility. After a terrible loss early in their marriage, she vowed never to open her heart again, and has turned her back on friends and family since. Now she has two children and a rabbit turning her house - and her heart - upside down.It will take danger, more heartbreak and a small dog for Myra and Graham to realise that, even if you don't know what you're doing, sometimes love is enough. That they're going to need help to muddle through. That, sometimes, it takes a village.*

W&N

An Unremarkable Body

Elisa Lodato
Authors:
Elisa Lodato
Trapeze

Murder at the Mill

M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Authors:
M. B. Shaw, Tilly Bagshawe
Orion

The Black Echo

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly
Orion

The Cold Dish

Craig Johnson
Authors:
Craig Johnson

The first book in the New York Times bestselling Longmire series, featuring Sheriff Walt LongmireAfter twenty-five years as Sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire's hopes of ending his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody was one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear and Deputy Victoria 'Vic' Moretti, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

The Murder Room

The Victorian Underworld

Donald Thomas
Authors:
Donald Thomas

'Donald Thomas introduces us to the slums and fetid courtyards of nineteenth-century London and in doing so provides a sweeping portrait of the vast world that did not accept "Victorian Values". The villainy is outstanding. It is also entertaining. The author has a practised eye for the best anecdotes and presents amazing characters, some of whom come equipped with names that sound positively Dickensian . . . a wonderful profile of Victorian London' The Spectator

The Murder Room

Villains' Paradise

Donald Thomas
Authors:
Donald Thomas

With the war over, the forties, fifties and sixties have the aura of a golden age. But nostalgia is deceptive. From teenage Teddy Boy razor gangs and casual stabbings at dance halls to the psychopathic Krays, 'Mad' Frankie Fraser and Ronnie Biggs, Villains' Paradise reveals the chilling true story of the crimes of postwar Britain.With the narrative pace of the best detective fiction, Donald Thomas creates a thrilling journey into the heart of postwar Britain's secret history.

The Murder Room

An Underworld at War

Donald Thomas
Authors:
Donald Thomas
The Murder Room

Dark Duet

Peter Cheyney
Authors:
Peter Cheyney
The Murder Room

The Stars Are Dark

Peter Cheyney
Authors:
Peter Cheyney
Orion

Nick's Trip

George Pelecanos
Authors:
George Pelecanos

A stylish and gripping crime novel from one of the acclaimed writers of THE WIRE.Part-time PI Nick Stefanos doesn't tail wives anymore. But when a childhood friend steps into Nick's bar after 15 years and asks for help locating his wife April, he feels obliged to do some digging.After a visit to the small-time crime boss with whom April was supposedly having an affair, Nick realises there is far more to this story than a missing wife. There is missing money. Lots of it. And some very powerful enemies...

Orion

A Firing Offense

George Pelecanos
Authors:
George Pelecanos
The Murder Room

Death Without Company

Craig Johnson
Authors:
Craig Johnson

The second book in the New York Times bestselling Longmire series, featuring Sheriff Walt Longmire.When Mari Baroja is found poisoned at the Durant Home for Assisted Living, Sheriff Longmire is drawn into an investigation that reaches fifty years into the mysterious woman's past. Her connections to Wyoming's Basque community, the lucrative coal-bed methane industry, and the personal life of the previous sheriff, Lucian Connally, lead to a complex web of half-truths and assumed alliances. Aided by his friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti and newcomer Santiago Saizarbitoria, Sheriff Longmire must connect the present with the spectre of the past to find the killer.

The Murder Room

Scream Blue Murder

Donald Thomas
Authors:
Donald Thomas
The Murder Room

The Secret Cases of Sherlock Holmes

Donald Thomas
Authors:
Donald Thomas

For more than two decades, Sherlock Holmes played a vital, though secret, role in solving the major crimes and scandals of his day - some too damaging to the monarchy, the government or the security of the nation to be fully revealed at the time. Compiled in narrative form by Dr Watson soon after the great detective's death, Holmes's notes have been kept under lock and key at the Public Record Office in Chancery Lane. Now, seventy years later, we can finally open the secret casebook of Sherlock Holmes.'Seven stories about the greatest of all fiction detectives . . . all told by Dr Watson in a very credible imitation of the original style' Birmingham Post

The Murder Room

Sherlock Holmes and the Running Noose

Donald Thomas
Authors:
Donald Thomas

Relating Sherlock Holmes's part in real-life crimes of the day, Donald Thomas brings the Great Detective to life once again in six narratives that display Holmes at his most determined, inventive and downright devious.What were Holmes's views on Dr Crippen? And what happened when Oscar Wilde visited Baker Street to seek advice? How did Holmes uncover a loving husband as one of the most dangerous psychopaths of modern times? And just what horrors await Holmes in the darkened slums of Waterloo Road?'Thomas's imitation is wryly and subtly done' Guardian