Donald MacKenzie - Zaleski's Percentage - Orion Publishing Group

Zaleski's Percentage

By Donald MacKenzie

  • Paperback
  • £18.99

'Donald MacKenzie is a born storyteller' Guardian

Zaleski is a middle-aged philanderer determined to retrieve the Virgin's Dowry, a jeweled monstrance worth £500,000, which has reappeared for display in an art gallery in Conduit Street in London.

This ageing Polish patriot carries out the crime but in doing so becomes the target for Detective Inspector John Raven of the CID - one of the most ruthless and capable policemen on the force.

'Perfectly fascinating and perfectly written' Chicago Sun Times

Biographical Notes

Donald MacKenzie (1908-1994) was born in Ontario, Canada, and educated in England, Canada and Switzerland. For twenty-five years MacKenzie lived by crime in many countries. 'I went to jail,' he wrote, 'if not with depressing regularity, too often for my liking.' His last sentences were five years in the United States and three years in England, running consecutively. He began writing and selling stories when in American jail. 'I try to do exactly as I like as often as possible and I don't think I'm either psychopathic, a wayward boy, a problem of our time, a charming rogue. Or ever was.'
He had a wife, Estrela, and a daughter, and they divided their time between England, Portugal, Spain and Austria.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781471904974
  • Publication date: 14 Jul 2013
  • Page count: 216
  • Imprint: The Murder Room
W&N

The River

Peter Heller
Authors:
Peter Heller
Gateway

Paroxysm

Matthew Hughes
Authors:
Matthew Hughes
Gollancz

Elysium Fire

Alastair Reynolds
Authors:
Alastair Reynolds

Featuring Inspector Dreyfus - one of Alastair Reynolds most popular characters - this is a fast paced SF crime story, combining a futuristic setting with a gripping tale of technology, revolution and revenge.One citizen died a fortnight ago. Two a week ago. Four died yesterday . . . and unless the cause can be found - and stopped - within the next four months, everyone will be dead. For the Prefects, the hunt for a silent, hidden killer is on . . .Alastair Reynolds has returned to the world of The Prefect for this stand-alone SF mystery in which no one is safe. The technological implants which connect every citizen to each other have become murder weapons, and no one knows who or what the killer is - or who the next targets will be. But their reach is spreading, and time is not on the Prefects' side.

Orion

In a House of Lies

Ian Rankin
Authors:
Ian Rankin
Orion

The Grave's a Fine and Private Place

Alan Bradley
Authors:
Alan Bradley
Orion

Magpie Murders

Anthony Horowitz
Authors:
Anthony Horowitz

THE NUMBER ONE EBOOK BESTSELLER'Want to read a great whodunnit? Anthony Horowitz has one for you: MAGPIE MURDERS. It's as good as an Agatha Christie. Better, in some ways. Cleverer.' Stephen King'The finest crime novel of the year' Daily Mail***** Seven for a mystery that needs to be solved . . . Editor Susan Ryland has worked with bestselling crime writer Alan Conway for years. Readers love his detective, Atticus Pünd, a celebrated solver of crimes in the sleepy English villages of the 1950s.But Conway's latest tale of murder at Pye Hall is not quite what it seems. Yes, there are dead bodies and a host of intriguing suspects, but hidden in the pages of the manuscript lies another story: a tale written between the very words on the page, telling of real-life jealousy, greed, ruthless ambition and murder.From the creator of Midsomer Murders comes a fiendish mystery perfect for fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple and Hercule Poirot.*****Praise for Magpie Murders - the gripping Sunday Times bestselling crime thriller:'Ingenious' Sunday Times'Thrilling and compelling with a stunning twist' Daily Mail'A stylish thriller' Sunday Mirror'A cunning reinvention of the thriller' Mail on Sunday

Orion

The Plea

Steve Cavanagh
Authors:
Steve Cavanagh
The Murder Room

Nowhere to Go

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie

Paul Gregory, a Canadian confidence trickster operating in London, targets a wealthy Canadian woman in Britain to sell her collection of valuable coins. When she agrees to give him legal control over the sale, he completes the deal without her knowledge, stashes the proceeds in a safe deposit box, and then deliberately waits to be caught by the police. Gregory plans on getting a five-year sentence, with time off for good behaviour, and then collecting his loot when he is released.But when the judge hands Gregory a ten-year term, his only way out is escape...

The Murder Room

The Scent of Danger

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie

It was a dazzling two-man jewel robbery that went like clockwork, but when Arran and his confederate, Bain, fall out the plot takes a sinister turn. Bain learns that Arran has left with the take, and without his wife, Caroline, for Gibraltar. With Caroline as bait, and a false passport, Bain follows Arran - but his single-minded desire for retribution is weakened by his attraction to Caroline, which, for the first time, threatens his criminal existence. And Bain can secure revenge only at the expense of his freedom . . .

The Murder Room

The Genial Stranger

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie

Beware of the Genial Stranger.Confidence tricksters are operating throughout Europe! Be on your guard against the man wanting to reward you for returning his dropped wallet. Before parting with money to strangers on any pretext check with your banker or with the local policeThus read the warning posters...

The Murder Room

Double Exposure

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie

Kit Hendry has several criminal convictions, but now he is given the choice of a twelve-year sentence or a government mission to trace the security leakage from a Dusseldorf installation. Kit can crack safes - he can also speak German.Under the vigilant surveillance of Gaunt and also of Bernadette, with whom he is infatuated, he crosses the channel and is exposed to a smallpox victim, but the film he secures becomes the final double take . . .

The Murder Room

The Lonely Side of the River

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie
The Murder Room

Postscript to a Dead Letter

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie

Ross Macintyre is a tough Canadian journalist in Paris on a routine mission when he finds himself deeply involved in the consequences of the wrongful imprisonment of Radnor Brown; Radnor is charged with rape, for which the scenario and the evidence have been carefully set up by people who want him out of the way.

The Murder Room

Deep, Dark and Dead

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie

The charge against Shane Stafford was assault occasioning actual bodily harm. Stafford had attacked gossip columnist Gavin Legge. Legge had been engaged to Shane's twin sister. In Shane's view Legge had not just let down his sister, but had hounded her to suicide.It was the custom of the Stafford clan to stick together. Shane's attack on Legge had been public and conspicuous. The police believed they had an open-and-shut case. But did they?

The Murder Room

The Last of the Boatriders

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie

At the age of 63, Philip Drury was 25 years away from his days as a 'boatrider' - a conman afloat. At that time his criminal partner had been a man called Mark Russell. In the years in between Drury had built up a hugely successful stud, and become involved in property speculation - and in doing so had lost virtually everything.Drury was not a man to accept defeat. He needed to locate Mark Russell and give 'boatriding' one last go. A cruise liner is selected, but in the Caribbean where the ship will cruise, two young American conmen have exactly the same idea . . .

The Murder Room

Salute from a Dead Man

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie
The Murder Room

Death is a Friend

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie

'Donald MacKenzie is a born storyteller' GuardianEvery thief dreams of committing the perfect crime. Cameron, Thorne and Gun are convinced that the jewel robbery they have planned cannot possibly go wrong, but jealousy mistrust and fear doom the enterprise from the start.One of them dies a slow, hideous death; the other two find they have walked into hell. Soon, a beautiful woman and two desperate men find themselves trapped by their own actions. And when the thread of tension snaps they learn that death can indeed be a friend.

The Murder Room

Sleep is for the Rich

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie

Paul Henderson is a big time jewel thief on a run of bad luck. He has a seven-year-old daughter to support, so when he's offered a partnership in the biggest heist of all time he decides to try to take the baubles and run.He reaches Switzerland, where the crime is to take place, and wangles an invitation to a gala only to be confronted by a double threat, a double cross and a kidnapping. And all this is before the night of the burglary arrives . . .'Donald MacKenzie is a born storyteller' Guardian

The Murder Room

Loose Cannon

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie
The Murder Room

Raven in Flight

Donald MacKenzie
Authors:
Donald MacKenzie

John Raven - the ex-cop with a taste for exotic adventures and voluptuous adventurers - is unexpectedly thrust into the thick of the action. His Andalusian holiday turns out to be no picnic when he finds himself at the crossroads of the snow-white heroin trail and the blood-red trail of international murder . . .'A swift, stylish novel' Publishers Weekly